Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4

Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4

Item# 170306
Ideal for farm, construction and industrial use. Water-blocking fuel filter features a filter media that absorbs and removes all water from fuel. Can be used with gasoline, diesel, gasohol and other fuels. Element contains a water-absorbing polymer which absorbs and traps water as it passes through the filter element. Impact-resistant see-through bowl. U.S.A. Hose Fitting Size in. NPT 3/4, Application Fuel storage, Height in. 9 1/2, Filtration Microns 17, Head ft. 2, Flow GPM 5, Diameter in. 4. Heavy-duty zinc top cap provides durability and and excellent bowl-to-top cap seal Easy-to-use sediment drain valve Alcohol- and impact-resistant see-through bowl has working pressure of 150 PSI Recommend using Fuel Filter Wrench Item# 17050, sold separately to easily remove filter bowl in the field
Average Customer Rating:
4.744 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (39 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
38 of 39(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Review 1 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

as promised

,
April 23, 2013
By mctooth
from WA
"immediately upon use cleaned up fuel being dispensed both of particles and water, have not had any problem with dirty filters on equipment since I began use, old style filter from brand X (cheeper) caused many problem by not being efficient."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fuel filter

,
November 18, 2010
By Twobarrel
from Shreveport, Louisiana
"Exellent product, stops the water in fuel from going into your tank."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
hondacat
chicago 
 
Please wait while more information about hondacat is loaded.
Additional information about hondacat could not be loaded.
bowls crack
October 3, 2011
"i have had two Bowls crack now
they crack at the bottom where the drain fitting screws and drip
next time i will change the housing back to a steel spin on filter its nice to be able to view whats in the filter but a pain when it starts dripping you smell it in the cab all the time and it get on the cab rear window
filter itself works great
"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

get extra filters

,
July 24, 2009
By JW101
from Montgomery, AL
"These things work great at getting the water out of your fuel but keep extra elements handy because the water they collect will plug them up quickly. Mine stays out in the sun/heat and cold/rain and it holds up well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
July 13, 2009
By Anonymous
from Van, Texas
"I use it on a gas transfer tank and it works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

didn't work well for me

,
March 23, 2009
By tomohio
from Ohio
"I bought this to use as a final filter for waste veg oil. I wanted to use the waterblock element to make sure there was no water in the oil before putting into my tank. I used a turtil DC powered gear pump and blew several fuses. It seems like others have successfully used this filter, but maybe I did not have the oil heated enough. I don't think there is enough filter media surface area to be useful in this application."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

golden rod water block filter

,
January 1, 2009
By randystew
from south alabama
"This filter works well. It will completely shut off your flow if the water content is high. So let your veg. oil settle before pouring it up to filter."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

filers

,
November 22, 2008
By WTFer
from rural AK
"Works good & gives you a piece-of-mind; not worrying about H2O."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

water block filter

,
November 18, 2008
By therapydave
from north florida
"seems to work fine. tend to saturate quickly with biodeisel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works!

,
November 18, 2008
By justatom
from nwnj
"had problem with ext oil tank & condensation
now, no problem.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Goldenrod water block filter

,
November 17, 2008
By StarMark
from Phoenix, AZ
"I have used this with the Tuthill fuel pump, and both work great. I have not seen any water collection in the resevoir that I have used, but I have it for extra protection, just in case.
We had some problems with a fuel pump on a John Deere tractor this summer, due to water accumulation, and as a result, have put this on every transfer station we have. It is cheap insurance, as the fuel pump was $2000 to have rebuilt. Not to mention that these are easier to work with.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

496-3/4

,
November 17, 2008
By Ern377
from Ohio
"This water filter does the job like no other can!. I have a few other brands and this one is the best."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Jerry7111
Houston 
 
Please wait while more information about Jerry7111 is loaded.
Additional information about Jerry7111 could not be loaded.
Great item.
June 13, 2011
"Had mine for 5 years with no problems. I change the filter ever 3 years and can view water or problems in the fuel before I have a problem. I would by this item again."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

water filter

,
November 17, 2008
By rick
from Forest Grove, Oregon
"installed on our 550 gallon diesel tank, didn't leak, and has functioned perfect for both dirt and water."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BIO Desiel

,
August 18, 2008
By Stewbailey
from Georgia
"This is a great product to ensure that you completely eliminate water from bio diesel prior to pumping it into your vehicle. When an excessive amount of water is passed through the filter it fails to allow any fluid to pass. This is a great final filter which will prolong injector life and ensure that your fuel is not contaminated by water."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fuel filter review

,
August 15, 2008
By ClosetmakerinVA
from Spotsylvania, VA
"With the high price of heating oil some homeowners are switching over to propane gas or heat pumps here in Virginia. I am buying that oil for a discounted price and using it to heat my woodworking shop. Since I am often pumping the oil from old rusting tanks that may have who knows how much water and rust in the bottom of the tank I bought two of these filters. I've pumped over 400 gallons with one filter and I am very pleased with the results. It blocks all the water and other debris with ease and the fuel is clean for my burning. Great buy!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trust this filter It won't let you down

,
August 12, 2008
By ecoalternative1
from Woodstock, NY
"I have used this filter for over 2 months and have filtered over 200 gallons of WVO. I expect it to last for another 800 gallons. What I have seen so far. This filter is working great. I would recommend it to anyone. I trust it so much, I am running not 1 but 2 Mercedes 300 turbo diesels on the fuel I run through this incredible filter. GREAT JOB GOLDEN ROD!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
August 11, 2008
By Bull
from Alabama
"I've been using this product for almost 2 months and it is working Great! I use it in the process of turning cooking oil into deseil fuel. It is the last filter in the process insuring no water into the fuel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Goldenrod filter

,
August 11, 2008
By walton
from Alabama
"This filter works great! It really filters out the water. I like the drain valve on the bottom to remove water."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but pplastic housing cracked over time

,
August 11, 2008
By FinestRacing
from NJ
"I am using the filter for alternative fuel. The housing cracked on the bottom where the drain valve is. Other then that, It works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Biodiesel filter

,
August 11, 2008
By jschwalb
from Houston, TX
"Fast shipping, work exactly as stated. I use this as a fueling station filter for my Biodiesel. After processed, i transfer to a fuel cell and use this filter along with transfer pump, hose, and nozzle from Northern to fill my cars. Works great. No spillage."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 3/4in. Fittings, Model# 496-3/4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Goldenrod Filter REALLY Work

,
August 11, 2008
By WPGK
from Baltimore
"There are several filters out there that claim to block water. The Goldenrod actually does. I use it as the final filter in a WVO conversion system and my car runs perfectly. Prior to getting the Goldenrod I was getting water all the time and my car ran very poorly. If you running Biodiesel or WVO conversion, I would HIGHLY recommend this filter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.