Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 1in. Fittings, Model# 496"

"Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 1in. Fittings, Model# 496"

Item# 17041
"Ideal for farm, construction and industrial use. Water-blocking fuel filter features a filter media that absorbs and removes all water from fuel. Element contains a water-absorbing polymer which absorbs and traps water as it passes through the filter element. Impact-resistant see-through bowl. U.S.A. Flow GPM 5, Head ft. 24, Diameter in. 4, Hose Fitting Size in. NPT 1, Filtration Microns 15, Height in. 9 1/2. Heavy-duty zinc top cap provides durability and and excellent bowl-to-top cap seal Easy-to-use sediment drain valve Alcohol- and impact-resistant see-through bowl has working pressure of 150 PSI Recommend using Fuel Filter Wrench Item# 17050, sold separately to easily remove filter bowl in the field"
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 1in. Fittings, Model# 496"
Review 1 for "Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 1in. Fittings, Model# 496"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ford F-350 Aux Tank Filter

,
May 11, 2015
By AVE8R
from Kingsland, GA
" I have a 50 gallon auxiliary diesel fuel tank in the bed of my 2010 F-350 King Ranch 6.4L Turbo Diesel, which pumps into the 38 gallon factory tank. I installed two of these Goldenrod filters in the line between the auxiliary tank and the main factory tank. The fuel that is now draining from the factory filter/water separator has never looked this clean. Had to use several step-down fittings, but well worth the work. I do not put any fuel in the main factory tank directly - only fill the auxiliary tank and let all fuel flow through these two Goldenrod filters to the main factory tank, then from the main tank, fuel flows through the two factory fuel filters. By the time the fuel reaches my injectors, it is absolutely pure diesel with no water or dirt. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 1in. Fittings, Model# 496"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Filter

,
October 10, 2014
By m111111
from washington
" Easy to install.I like the feature of being able to see the fuel being filtered.When I installed it,i immediately could see the trash that I suspected was in the tank being filtered out.Being a clear filter is better than an opaque one. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 1in. Fittings, Model# 496"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price

,
October 5, 2014
By SamnJoeysGrama
from Kansas
" Exactly as advertised. Great price. Got the entire setup for my diesel tank: Hose, nozzle, and filter. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 1in. Fittings, Model# 496"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Diesel filter

,
February 25, 2008
By ARCADave
from Charleston South Carolina
" I just purchased the Goldenrod #496 filter and it works GREAT!. It adds peace of mind in knowing that stored diesel in 55 gallon jugs can be used and be free of water and junk that would damage my truck's fuel system. Thanks for a great product....Dave "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 1in. Fittings, Model# 496"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for home use.

,
January 21, 2008
By Hotlink04
from Freeport, TX
" I use the Goldenrod water-block fuel filter on my home based bio-diesel station.
The filter has done what it is supposed to do and the replacement cartriges are relatively inexpensive. The big transparent bowl allows you to see any water/sediment at a glance.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 1in. Fittings, Model# 496"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GoldenRod Fuel Filter # 496

,
January 21, 2008
By radar1
from FL
" Have used the GoldenRod filter in the last step of an oil filtering process for
making Biodiesel. Seems to keep all water molecules in the mix for the past
year. Easy to install and check for water in fuel with petcock.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 1in. Fittings, Model# 496"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

BIO/diesel filter

,
July 10, 2007
By mikeA
from mechanc/expermeter
" this filter does not work with veg. oil. however it was not advertized as doing so it is not the company fault.but after emailing their tec. people they responded righaway.they could not offer any help or another filter . but they tried. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Goldenrod Water-Block Fuel Filter - 1in. Fittings, Model# 496"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Goldenrod Filter

,
November 18, 2006
By Tony
from Altadena , CA
" I am using Golden Rod filters as part of my waste vegetable oil to fuel processing system. They are well built and sturdy. Filters are a snap to change and it is nice to have the bleeder valve on the bottom of the filter cup. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.