Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Merry Mac PTO Chipper/Shredder - 3 1/2in. Capacity, Model# TPH-122M"

"Merry Mac PTO Chipper/Shredder - 3 1/2in. Capacity, Model# TPH-122M"

Item# 170554
"Shredder has 24 free-swinging reversible hardened steel hammers. Chipper has hardened, special steel blade on heavy flywheel. Hopper opening is 18in. Screens include 1in. standard bar and 1/4in., 1/2in., 3/4in. perforated as options. Includes PTO shaft and fits all Category 0 & 1 tractors having a 1 3/8in., 6-spline PTO with clockwise rotation. Application Chipper/shredder, Max. Cutting Thickness in. 3 1/2, Shredder Yes, Walk or Pull Pull, Chipper Yes, HP 10-30. Requires 540 RPM PTO speed Requires 10 HP minimum and 30 HP maximum PSC Tractor-mount unit chips 3 1/2 in. thick dry or green logs at 10+ FPM Shredder uses hammermill action to handle all yard and garden Includes Free operators kit Safety glasses, ear protection and gloves"
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Merry Mac PTO Chipper/Shredder - 3 1/2in. Capacity, Model# TPH-122M"
Review 1 for "Merry Mac PTO Chipper/Shredder - 3 1/2in. Capacity, Model# TPH-122M"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for chipping, so-so for shredding

,
April 29, 2013
By MistyRidgeMan
from Southeastern Ohio
"I have had this for two years, and use it a lot during spring pruning/cleaning and again in the fall for cleaning up the garden. I run it on a 35-HP Kubota, which is a bit over the manufacturer's rating, but have had no problems with that arrangement.
For chipping branches, it's a champ, especially if the material is still a bit green and not too big. 3-1/2 inch material should be fed slowly (don't let the chipper pull it in too fast), but 2-inches and down just let it roll. Shredder does fine with twigs and small sticks.
For shredding green garden waste (tomato vines, dead asparagus, old broccoli, etc.), it's not so great. The screen plugs very quickly and has to be removed and cleaned often. Fortunately, the design allows that to be done pretty quick after shutdown -- just remove the top pin, let the screen drop down, and scrape it free with a hand hoe. With patience, it still gets the job done.
The only complaint is that the grease-gun notch in the front is much too small. I had to enlarge the notch to be able to access the zerk. All other zerks are very easy to access, which is good, because it does use grease!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Merry Mac PTO Chipper/Shredder - 3 1/2in. Capacity, Model# TPH-122M"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

After about 200 hours of use.

,
October 18, 2012
By wap54
from Ozarks
"I have been shoving limbs and sticks into this thing for about 3 months now with few problems. The wood I have been chipping is hickory and oak so it's not the softest stuff around and the machine has handled it admirably. As a rancher I am use to messing around with heavy equipment and get very irritated when I find myself having to use an over hyped piece of junk. Not so in this case, the machine does what is says it will do and if I haven't broken it by now then it's a probably good for the long run. I was really impressed with the reduction in the mass of limbs I have shoved into the chipper. Takes a pile of limbs the size of a pickup truck and reduced to a couple of wheel barrows full of mulch. Only problem I've run across is the drive shaft keeps falling off of the chipper when the harder, bigger limbs cause higher vibration levels. Not a big problem if I stop now and then and re-tighten the set screws. All in all, a very good product for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Merry Mac PTO Chipper/Shredder - 3 1/2in. Capacity, Model# TPH-122M"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wish it were bigger

,
November 20, 2010
By shortT
from Maryland
"For the price, it does a pretty good job with my Deere 4310 (25 PTO HP), but I wish the chipper were just a little bigger. The belt did really well with all the stuff I threw in the shredder, but sometimes it would jam and start smoking; I would have to stop everything and clear the jam about once/hour, usually in the shredder area because something larger than an inch crept in. When the chipper jammed, it was more involved trying to clear it out....but again, the price was pretty good and it seemed fine for residential use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Merry Mac PTO Chipper/Shredder - 3 1/2in. Capacity, Model# TPH-122M"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

No chute

,
October 17, 2010
By SealZ
from minnesota
"This chipper dumps the chips on the ground therefore taking another step in order to complete your job. If you do not care about that then this would work for you"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
5out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Merry Mac PTO Chipper/Shredder - 3 1/2in. Capacity, Model# TPH-122M"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merry Mac PTO Chipper/Shredder

,
August 29, 2010
By Trafficman
from Washington Grove, Md
"Fantastic Product!!!! I shopped for a PTO chipper to replace a 10HP gas chipper for 2 years. It took about 2 weeks to arrive, 1 Hr to assemble, & the Cat 1 bushing was the wrong size. I made a replacement & was in business. My area had a series of severe thunderstorms & a tornado that downed hundreds of trees. 10 of them were mine & ranged from 6in to 18in in Diam. all Hardwood (Oak, & Choke Cherry) This chipper ate everything 3" or smaller including Grape Vines, Honey Suckle, English Ivy & Poison Ivy. All of these are chipper killers. I was able to reduce a 30ft x 40ft pile of brush into a pile of chips 4ft high & 8ft in diam. in 3 days. This will be mulch next year. Keep the Kids & Animals well AWAY! This has NO MERCY & will not even slow down! But will eat everything you can fit in the throat or hopper."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Merry Mac PTO Chipper/Shredder - 3 1/2in. Capacity, Model# TPH-122M"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3 pt chipper

,
June 1, 2010
By tilt
from Westmoreland, New Hampshire
"I did considerable research on wood chippers that could be powered from my sub-compact tractor. There are several on the market rated for my horsepower range. After a month or more of research I decided the Merry Mac model TPH-122M would be best for my application plus it is a shredder/chipper combination. I received the chipper and took less than an hour to assemble a few parts and make the necessary modification to the PTO driveshaft that was included. Instructions were good and complete. I immediately mounted the chipper to my tractor and went out and started work on my very large brush pile of maple, apple and cherry limbs. I am very happy with my choice, the shreader is awsome as it pulls brush and limbs 1" and smaller instantly in and spits the shreaded material out making a nice mulch. I then fed in some branches up to 3" in diameter and the chipper devoured the limbs. Impressive. I have days of material to chip and shread and I'm actually looking forward to cleaning up my yard using this chipper, then I'll start work at my sons house to rid him of his brush pile. The only problem I had was the hardware kit was missing the 1/4" key for the drive shaft and the bushings for the catagory 1 pins were incorrect. Fortunately I had a 1/4" key on hand and I'll make the right bushing for the pin. Minor problem for me but could be frustrating for someone who may not have a few pieces of steel lying around."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Merry Mac PTO Chipper/Shredder - 3 1/2in. Capacity, Model# TPH-122M"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product - Inspect Thoroughly

,
March 23, 2009
By Timpala
from Lexington, KY
"We had a major disaster ice storm here in Kentucky this year and lost the tops of lots of our trees. A local tree service wanted what this chipper costs for one day of work.
The chipper came very quickly after being ordered and was delivered by the local freight company. I didn't even have to pay for a lift truck as that was standard service in our area. I unfortunately did not inspect the chipper as closely as I should have before accepting it. I was actually excited to get it hooked up and running as I had weeks of work ahead of me. I noticed about an hour later that the chipper had not been secured in its crating and had rubbed a big bare spot in the paint on one side. There's no way I was going to have it picked up and reshipped etc. for that but it's like finding the first scratch on your new car before starting it the first time.
As far as functionality goes the chipper works like a champ. If the branch will fit down it's throat the chipper and shredder will turn it to dust in a moment. You can order smaller screens that will keep the material in the line of the hammers until it is smaller. This would be good for mulch or other fine fertilizer like material. Overall a great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Merry Mac PTO Chipper/Shredder - 3 1/2in. Capacity, Model# TPH-122M"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

love it

,
April 10, 2008
By macchippy
from Michigan
"I had this chipper for 2 weeks and have around 10-13 hours on it. I power it with and older kubota, and it just eats everthing I put at it. Through the hopper goes; grape vines, wild rose, small sticks, leaves, and grass. Through the chipper has gone autumn olive (lots), ash, oak, bundles of brush. The chips are small on average put most of the wood I put through it is 3" or smaller. It does pull stuff into the hopper quickly. The chipper will feed straight limbs with very little effort. Overall this is one great machine. I like having the shredder as well as the chipper."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.