Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Merry Mac Chipper/Shredder - 249cc Briggs & Stratton OHV Engine, 2 7/8in. Capacity, Model# LSC1100M

Merry Mac Chipper/Shredder - 249cc Briggs & Stratton OHV Engine, 2 7/8in. Capacity, Model# LSC1100M

Item# 170565
Powerful Briggs & Stratton OHV engine and other great features in this chipper/shredder make quick work of branches, brush, leaves and yard debris. Accepts branches up to 2 7/8in. thick, chipping them into thumbnail-size pieces for use as mulch or decorative landscape accents. Max. Cutting Thickness in. 2 7/8, Bagger Volume bushels 2 1/2, Displacement cc 249, Shredder Yes, Engine Briggs & Stratton, Application Chipper/shredder, Engine Type OHV, Chipper Yes, Walk or Pull Pull, Material Type Steel. 11 ft.-lbs. Gross Torque 1in. solid steel direct power drive Heavy steel impeller with five serrated fins for 81 reduction Sturdy leg folds back for ground-level leaf feed Flexible safety guard Large semi-pneumatic tires for easy mobility Steel chipper tube and steel chute Stores upright and takes less space than a push mower
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merry Mac Chipper/Shredder - 249cc Briggs & Stratton OHV Engine, 2 7/8in. Capacity, Model# LSC1100M
Review 1 for Merry Mac Chipper/Shredder - 249cc Briggs & Stratton OHV Engine, 2 7/8in. Capacity, Model# LSC1100M
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little chipper

,
February 4, 2014
By dakotabuilder
from South Dakota
"This little chipper does a good job of turning a big pile of branches into a usable pile of wood chips! Always starts and runs good and very fuel efficient. Have not had any problems. Only complaint is that it is a little hard to feed branches in the chute."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Merry Mac Chipper/Shredder - 249cc Briggs & Stratton OHV Engine, 2 7/8in. Capacity, Model# LSC1100M
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value and Quality

,
July 7, 2012
By APSmith
from Charlotte, NC
"First all I did my research before I invested the money for this machine. It was a tough decision, but I am glad I made it. The purchase is worth the premium cost over other models. It is all steel and very durable. Assembly is about 10 minutes and operation is easy. I would recommend tightening the nuts on the collapsable stand. It has a tendancy to fold up due to vibration/uneven ground. I rated it 5 stars given that little glitch. It runs great, even though it takes a bit of muscle to crank the 249cc with chopping blade. I wish the manufacturer would have made a piece to push shorter limbs(less than 18") into the chute. The machine chips limbs and leaves very well and doesn't clog much at all. I have an acre with lots of oak trees, its perfect for the homeowner. Well built machine, made in the USA."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Merry Mac Chipper/Shredder - 249cc Briggs & Stratton OHV Engine, 2 7/8in. Capacity, Model# LSC1100M
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Chipper works as designed

,
July 20, 2009
By Shreddemall
from Kent, WA
"I bought this shredder originally for my father 4years ago, he unexpectedly passed on this year and left it to me. He was so thrilled with it, he transformed his back yard from a jungle to a a serene landscape. "What to do with all those branches" seemed to be the only thing holding him back.
This chipper ran for hours and hours for many days without a hiccup. It would handle some of the nearly 3" diameter hardwood a little reluctantly but my father simply set those aside and processed them when he had more leisure time. To him, running this chipper WAS leisure time. I give it 5 stars for how it handled everything my dad trew at it and I'd give it 10 stars if I could, for the smile he wore when he pulverized some of the biggier stuff. Thanks Merry Mac for a great machine the works as designed and for the hours of fun that it provided for my Dad."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
23out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Merry Mac Chipper/Shredder - 249cc Briggs & Stratton OHV Engine, 2 7/8in. Capacity, Model# LSC1100M
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for making mulch!

,
August 15, 2008
By DanielJ
from Seattle, WA
"I purchased this unit to chip branches from my Cedar and fir trees, and it works very nicely. The chipper part works great, but when pushing branches through the chute, your whole arm will shake and rattle from the vibrations of the blade and engine. The only cons I can see from the chipper portion is that when the branch gets shorter than the chute itself, there is no way to continue feeding it into the chipper blade except for gravity and/or using another branch to push the existing one further down. Whatever you do, keep your hands out of the chute, not because your hand will likely touch the blade, but because the branches spin violently within the chute and will smack your fingers very hard (personal experience).
The shredder works okay (I don't have nice fluffy leaves to shred), but with small cedar branches and twigs, the shredder sort of half-heartedly tries to chop down on them without much success. The resulting mass is sort of like running celery through the garbage disposal.
The bagging chute (output) could be better designed. In order to prevent clogging, I just ended up taking the bag and blade guard off the unit and let the debris hit the ground. Be aware that the force of the output will dig a shallow hole in the ground (from the flying debris) if you remove the bag, but the unit no longer clogs up. It goes without saying that make sure you keep away from the output chute (arms, legs, kids, pets) because the force is very great!
I've used it for about 10-12 hours and it still runs like a charm! I did get a defective blade on the chipper portion, but NT was very cooperative and sent a replacement for it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
22out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Merry Mac Chipper/Shredder - 249cc Briggs & Stratton OHV Engine, 2 7/8in. Capacity, Model# LSC1100M
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Village Parcel with Large Garden

,
August 14, 2008
By David2
from Pittsford
"We use the chipper/shredder for general yard cleanup and to make garden mulch. It works well for dry leaves up to small branches. It also does a fine job chopping bark into little bits. Grass and straw (especially wet) will clog the inside. It is best to leave the mulching to the lawn mower. The bagger attachment works, but it is sometimes stubborn to keep in place. We have found the pull start takes very little effort."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Merry Mac Chipper/Shredder - 249cc Briggs & Stratton OHV Engine, 2 7/8in. Capacity, Model# LSC1100M
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Merry Mac Shredder Chipper

,
April 22, 2008
By davidd116
from Highland Park IL
"I bought this shredder/chipper primarily to mulch the large quantity of leaves that fall all around my property in a heavily wooded area. The power of the Merry Mac is more than adequate to handle all that I feed into the large leaf shredder hopper and there is a well designed protective baffle that deals effectively with the "kick-back" of small stones that invariably find their way into the leaf pile. The engine starts easily and will run at full power for extended periods without strain or overheating. The low angle design of the leaf hopper is particularly well thought out.
I have noticed a few minor drawbacks:
- If you are shredding moist or wet leaves, the shredder unit tends to clog during extended use. This requires unbolting and removing the shredder baffle and cleaning out the accumulated gunk - not difficult, but a bit time consuming an annoying if you are trying to get through a lot of leaves. Best to turn over your pile a few days in advance and work with a reasonably dry base of material.
- All "homeowner" shredder/chippers have been designed in part with plaintiff lawyers in mind so that even the most simple minded of us will have to work really hard to feed our hands, feet or toes into the mill. This shows up mostly in the design of the wood chipper hopper which is quite narrow from top to bottom. There is also a permanently attached, scored rubber cover on the top of the hopper which makes it even more difficult for fools to stick their hands down into it when the machine is in operation. As a result, you will not be able to feed any branch that is not reasonably straight into the chipper. Thus, you will have to prepare all of your branches for chipping by breaking them into straight, feedable lengths.
On the balance, this is a great little machine that gives excellent and powerful performance at a very reasonable price ...... if your primary purpose is to mulch large quantities of leaves and chip small branches up to 2 to 2 1/2 inches in diameter.
If your primarly purpose runs more to heavier wood chipping, you are better advised to look to dedicated wood chippers - albeit at a much higher cost and with lots and lots of warning labels.
Order placement and delivery by Northern Tool was quick and efficient.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Merry Mac Chipper/Shredder - 249cc Briggs & Stratton OHV Engine, 2 7/8in. Capacity, Model# LSC1100M
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little powerhorse

,
July 9, 2007
By djb6969
from Long Island, NY
"Chipper works great, good power, doesn't clog often. Bag attachment could be improved a bit but minor detail."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Merry Mac Chipper/Shredder - 249cc Briggs & Stratton OHV Engine, 2 7/8in. Capacity, Model# LSC1100M
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

merry mac shredder/chipper

,
July 9, 2007
By markc15800
from olsburg, kansas
"easy to use, easy to transport and does a great job of chipping. The shredder seems to send waste thru in large pieces but overall I think it is a very good piece of equipment"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Merry Mac Chipper/Shredder - 249cc Briggs & Stratton OHV Engine, 2 7/8in. Capacity, Model# LSC1100M
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workhorse

,
March 9, 2007
By TimberJack
from Clayton, NC
"I bought this to assist in some land I am clearing. What a workhorse! Although this is probably classified as a homeowner unit, I have been running it 20+ hours a week for the past 5 weeks! I have just now needed to sharpen the chipping blade. Starts first pull every time. Even my wife can start it. (she's 110lbs) Chips the 2 5/8 max. dia. with no problem. (I have even fed it larger). I have yet to use the leaf shredder side. But if it works half as well as the chipper does, it will easily cover my needs. I do recommend tight fitting safety glasses or a full face shield and ear protection while using."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.