Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"

"Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"

Item# 170728
"The Honda self-propelled mower offers outstanding and dependable performance with a 3-in-1 system that allows you mulch, bag and discharge without additional tools or attachments. Auto Choke system eliminates need to choke the engine prior to starting. 6-position height adjustment from 1 1/8in. to 4in. allows plenty of flexibility. 8-in. rear ball bearing wheels provide smooth operation. 3-year limited warranty. Blade Brake Flywheel brake, Engine Type Honda Auto Choke, Cutting Speeds Variable-5 speeds, Engine Displacement cc 160, Blade Type Standard twin QuadraCut, Max. Cutting Speed MPH 3.8, Cutting Width in. 21, Transmission Rear wheel, Front Tire Size in. 8, Rear Tire Size in. 8 ball bearing supported, Cutting Height in. 1 1/8-4, Dimensions L x W x H in. 44 x 24 x 41, Torque ft./lbs. 6.9 @ 2,500 RPM, Engine Honda, Drive Self-propelled, Bagger Volume bushels 1.9, Deck Material Steel, Engine Model GCV160, Rated Power HP 4.4, Start Type Recoil, Fuel Tank Capacity qt. 1, Discharge Rear, Cutting Styles Mulch, leaf shred. Powered by quick starting Honda GCV engine with Auto Choke Smart Drive speed control with ergonomic paddle-style control Variable speed from 0 to 4 mph Flywheel brake system stops engine when lever is released MicroCut System twin blade uses 4 cutting surfaces for ultra fine clippings 16-gauge, 21in. steel mowing deck 2-position folding handles Comfortable foam grips EPA and CARB compliant"
Average Customer Rating:
4.895 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Review 1 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Mower

,
June 23, 2015
By DKH63
from Plano, TX
" The mower has started on first pull every time. No throttle or chock to mess with, just crank and go. I use the mulch option and it does a great job. It replaced a 20+ year old Honda push mower. This mower is self propelled and works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Self Propelled Mower

,
June 23, 2015
By VK354
from Houston, TX
" Took out of box and added fluids, started on first pull as it has at every time since then. Allowed my daughter to use the new tool and it almost drug her across the lawn at full speed, it was very entertaining watching her mow. Have not had an issue with sore thumbs as some have complained about since you can adjust the angle of the speed lever. The dual blades cut about the same as our old one blade. It does get clogged up when you are not using the bag, but you just stop and knock the grass out, not a big deal breaker. Only owned it for about a month so I can't comment on its longevity. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda HRR216K9VKA mower

,
June 13, 2015
By Lufeco
from Kissimmee, FL
" This is my first Honda mower. It has taken me a little bit to get used to the rear wheel drive. This is the heaviest of all mowers that I have owned and all were self propelled.
I have always bagged the clippings but with this mower it is not necessary. It mulches very thinly, no need to use the bag at all.
The speed on the self propelled system is the fastest I've seen in 10 yrs. If you are not careful the mower will definitely make you run after it.
I would definitely recommend this product to a friend.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

,
June 5, 2015
By PSobby
from Virginia Beach
" I have been cutting grass for over 30 years and this is the best push mower I have ever used. The grass looked beautiful after the cut and the self propelled feature was fast and easy to control. I have owned Craftsman, MTD, Trot Built and even a John Deer and this is the best! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

,
June 4, 2015
By MyMower
from TX
" Honda mower is the best, I don't bag it because the mulch function mulched so fine. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Mower a great value.

,
April 30, 2015
By OldCrow61
from Allen, TX
" Received my Honda on the first day that I was told it would be available. Mower started on the second pull right out of the box. Just added gas and oil. Mowed my lawn perfectly. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful mower, easy to start

,
April 27, 2015
By ThisIsMyNickname
from Kansas City, MO
" Just replaced my previous mower with this mower. The recoil starter is easy to start, started first pull. I didn't pull very hard either, because I was testing starting it with very little effort. The thumb controls (smartdrive) feel very natural and intuitive when using them, and they can be calibrated to the person who is mowing. The mulcher is all that I have used so far, but it does a great job. I would recommend. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

honda mower

,
April 16, 2015
By plymocar
from ky
" This is a good mower. I am buying it to replace one like it that was melted in a barn fire. I like it enough to buy it again. It is far superior in reliabilty to mowers from the local stores "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Mower For Your Money

,
April 5, 2015
By KaTex
from Katy, TX
" I can't believe how good the mower works. I've bagged with this mower 3 times now, to remove dead leaves, grass and weeds from the winter, and from years of mulching only. It is like using a vacuum cleaner for the yard. The first time I filled 6, 33 gal. bags, now I'm down to 1 bag for about 5000 sq. ft. and ready to start mulching.
It is so easy to use the self propel, and starts on the first pull every time, so long as you don't forget to pull the blade control handle, before raising the handlebar into position. It is also as easy to push, pull, and turn without using the self propel.
I wish you could raise and lower all wheels with one lever, but they are easy to adjust, if you give a little lift to the mower when adjusting. I have St. Augustine in the front and Bermuda in the back, so I change heights several times.
The right front wheel does not touch the ground all the time like the other ones do. I read about others having this problem, but it is not hurting the handling and performance at all.
It has a very solid built feel. I was looking for a mower that would be a big step up from all the other mowers I've had, without having to go to a commercial mower, and I believe this is it.
I expect to get many years of good service from this mower, and I'm very happy about my Honda Mower.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda mower

,
March 19, 2015
By Jet40
from texas
" All is as advertised. Easy start. Performs the task very well. Cuts beautifully. Love the self-propulsion. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

,
March 17, 2015
By LoopZ06
from Charlotte, NC
" Best price is at Northern Tool. Mower starts on the first try every time, easy to use, great speeds (slow and fast), good cut. Only thing I didn't see was there wasn't a blade shutoff feature, I think that's the higher end model, but this is totally worth getting for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good basic honda rear drive mower

,
July 8, 2014
By dcgaustin
from Austin,tx
" Starts well, twin blade, has surprising power for a mulcher, easy adjustment of propel assist. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Lawnmower

,
July 2, 2014
By Amonnies
from WI
" Lawnmower has a great solid build to it. Feels like it will last many many years. Started on the 2nd pull when I pulled it out of the box. I'm glad I got a Rear Wheel Self Propelled instead of a front! I originally borrowed a friend's lawnmower that had front propelled and it just kept slipping and could never really get any good traction.
The other features on this lawnmower was very easy to use or figure out. If my wife actually did not sort of physical labor around the house, I would assume she'd do fine with this lawnmower.
The only con I have is that maybe the mulch bag needs to be a bit bigger. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Mower Model# HRR216K9VKA

,
May 31, 2014
By JVerhoff
from Columbia, SC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I've been in the market for a new mower for the past couple of years, I looked at all brands and finally settled on the Honda. From all of the reviews I've read, the Honda motors are second to none and are very reliable compared to Briggs & Stratton, Kohler, etc.
I got this mower home, unboxed it, added the supplied oil, and gassed it up all within 2 minutes. Pulled the string and it started on the first pull. No priming, no choke, just pull the string and go.
The features, aside from the motor, that sold me on this mower were the variable speed Smart Drive, the twin blade cutting system, and the Clip Director that allows you to switch between bagging and mulching within seconds and with no extra parts. The Smart Drive is awesome, it goes pretty fast when you push it all the way down, much better than my old, single speed, mower that felt like I was pushing it more than it was propelling itself.
Pros: Honda Motor, Smart Drive RWD, Clip Director, plenty of power, 3 year warranty (actually mine was extended to 4 years because I bought it during a promotional period), very lightweight, Twin Blades cut up the grass into very small pieces, priced right for a mower of this quality.
Cons: None so far
I would definitely recommend this mower to anyone looking for something of excellent quality and reputation that has nice features at a good price point.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good..

,
May 6, 2014
By DJTEXAS
from Fortworth,TX
" easy start, run, cut, function... all perfect for now... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower, Cut my mowing time in 1/2

,
April 25, 2014
By mhxr
from Humble.TX
" I dont know why people complain about the thumb drive triggers, they are great. The mower is very fast, it will pull you around yard if you want it to by pushing the triggers down all the way. The mower starts perfect on the first pull everytime. (only cut my yard twice now) But this thing is a HUGE improved over my old FWD 18yr old mower. I would def recommend RWD mowers to anyone who has a big yard. The mulcher works great too. Prob one of the best mulching mowers on the market. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Honda

,
February 4, 2014
By MilitaryMan9mm
from Tulsa, Okla
" I've owned several mowers but this is the first one that starts every time on the first pull (have had it two years now). Its quiet and doesn't use much fuel compared to my other mowers. When i called Honda to register it for the 3 year warranty they said that I had purchased it during "Honda month" which upgraded it to a 4 year warranty. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HONDA SELF-PROPELLED MOWER 160cc

,
September 17, 2013
By ELK22
from SOLOMONS ISLAND, MD
" I have owned this mower for 3 years. It starts and runs with a single yank of the pull cord. The deck has superior paint and corrosion resistance. This mower has many metal small parts with less use of plastic. Quality engineering with the use of high grade materials results in this mower being as reliable as the day I bought it. I would buy this again but it appears it is going to last a long time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
24out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

reloable just as any other honda

,
April 14, 2011
By digdug18
from Bristol, PA
" I've owned this mower for 2 years now, last year being my first year, started up first pull after this past winter.
I have a pretty flat yard, about 3/4 of an acre, no real hills. Like any push mower you'll find yourself having to muscle it to turn and reverse but otherwise its great.
I'm not a fan of mowing my yard, don't get any pleasure out of it, I wait until my lawn is 5 inches high before I cut. I use this mower on the 3" height, and use it without the bag. And it works great has never shut off in high brush. I find it VERY fuel efficient as well, I refill every 3rd time or so that I cut my lawn.
I wanted the 190cc really over this 160cc, but couldn't justify spending more money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
57out of 95found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.