Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"

"Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"

Item# 170728
"The Honda self-propelled mower offers outstanding and dependable performance with a 3-in-1 system that allows you mulch, bag and discharge without additional tools or attachments. Auto Choke system eliminates need to choke the engine prior to starting. 6-position height adjustment from 1 1/8in. to 4in. allows plenty of flexibility. 8-in. rear ball bearing wheels provide smooth operation. 3-year limited warranty. Bagger Volume bushels 2.4, Blade Brake Flywheel brake, Cutting Width in. 21, Deck Material Steel, Dimensions L x W x H in. 44 x 24 x 41, Cutting Speeds Variable-5 speeds, Engine Honda, Engine Displacement cc 160, Engine Model GCV160, Front Tire Size in. 8, Discharge Rear, Drive Self-propelled, Rated Power HP 4.4, Rear Tire Size in. 8 ball bearing supported, Start Type Recoil, Fuel Tank Capacity qt. 1, Max. Cutting Speed MPH 3.8, Transmission Rear wheel, Blade Type Standard twin QuadraCut, Cutting Height in. 1 1/8-4, Cutting Styles Mulch, leaf shred, Engine Type Honda Auto Choke, Torque ft./lbs. 6.9 @ 2,500 RPM. Powered by quick starting Honda GCV engine with Auto Choke Smart Drive speed control with ergonomic paddle-style control Variable speed from 0 to 4 mph Flywheel brake system stops engine when lever is released QuadraCut twin blade system uses 4 cutting surfaces for ultra fine clippings 16-gauge, 21in. steel mowing deck 2-position folding handles Comfortable foam grips EPA and CARB compliant"
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Review 1 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good basic honda rear drive mower

,
July 8, 2014
By dcgaustin
from Austin,tx
"Starts well, twin blade, has surprising power for a mulcher, easy adjustment of propel assist."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Lawnmower

,
July 2, 2014
By Amonnies
from WI
"Lawnmower has a great solid build to it. Feels like it will last many many years. Started on the 2nd pull when I pulled it out of the box. I'm glad I got a Rear Wheel Self Propelled instead of a front! I originally borrowed a friend's lawnmower that had front propelled and it just kept slipping and could never really get any good traction.
The other features on this lawnmower was very easy to use or figure out. If my wife actually did not sort of physical labor around the house, I would assume she'd do fine with this lawnmower.
The only con I have is that maybe the mulch bag needs to be a bit bigger."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Mower Model# HRR216K9VKA

,
May 31, 2014
By JVerhoff
from Columbia, SC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've been in the market for a new mower for the past couple of years, I looked at all brands and finally settled on the Honda. From all of the reviews I've read, the Honda motors are second to none and are very reliable compared to Briggs & Stratton, Kohler, etc.
I got this mower home, unboxed it, added the supplied oil, and gassed it up all within 2 minutes. Pulled the string and it started on the first pull. No priming, no choke, just pull the string and go.
The features, aside from the motor, that sold me on this mower were the variable speed Smart Drive, the twin blade cutting system, and the Clip Director that allows you to switch between bagging and mulching within seconds and with no extra parts. The Smart Drive is awesome, it goes pretty fast when you push it all the way down, much better than my old, single speed, mower that felt like I was pushing it more than it was propelling itself.
Pros: Honda Motor, Smart Drive RWD, Clip Director, plenty of power, 3 year warranty (actually mine was extended to 4 years because I bought it during a promotional period), very lightweight, Twin Blades cut up the grass into very small pieces, priced right for a mower of this quality.
Cons: None so far
I would definitely recommend this mower to anyone looking for something of excellent quality and reputation that has nice features at a good price point.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good..

,
May 6, 2014
By DJTEXAS
from Fortworth,TX
"easy start, run, cut, function... all perfect for now..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower, Cut my mowing time in 1/2

,
April 25, 2014
By mhxr
from Humble.TX
"I dont know why people complain about the thumb drive triggers, they are great. The mower is very fast, it will pull you around yard if you want it to by pushing the triggers down all the way. The mower starts perfect on the first pull everytime. (only cut my yard twice now) But this thing is a HUGE improved over my old FWD 18yr old mower. I would def recommend RWD mowers to anyone who has a big yard. The mulcher works great too. Prob one of the best mulching mowers on the market."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Honda

,
February 4, 2014
By MilitaryMan9mm
from Tulsa, Okla
"I've owned several mowers but this is the first one that starts every time on the first pull (have had it two years now). Its quiet and doesn't use much fuel compared to my other mowers. When i called Honda to register it for the 3 year warranty they said that I had purchased it during "Honda month" which upgraded it to a 4 year warranty."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HONDA SELF-PROPELLED MOWER 160cc

,
September 17, 2013
By ELK22
from SOLOMONS ISLAND, MD
"I have owned this mower for 3 years. It starts and runs with a single yank of the pull cord. The deck has superior paint and corrosion resistance. This mower has many metal small parts with less use of plastic. Quality engineering with the use of high grade materials results in this mower being as reliable as the day I bought it. I would buy this again but it appears it is going to last a long time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
20out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Honda Self-Propelled Mower - 160cc Honda GCV Engine, 21in. Deck, Model# HRR216K9VKA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

reloable just as any other honda

,
April 14, 2011
By digdug18
from Bristol, PA
"I've owned this mower for 2 years now, last year being my first year, started up first pull after this past winter.
I have a pretty flat yard, about 3/4 of an acre, no real hills. Like any push mower you'll find yourself having to muscle it to turn and reverse but otherwise its great.
I'm not a fan of mowing my yard, don't get any pleasure out of it, I wait until my lawn is 5 inches high before I cut. I use this mower on the 3" height, and use it without the bag. And it works great has never shut off in high brush. I find it VERY fuel efficient as well, I refill every 3rd time or so that I cut my lawn.
I wanted the 190cc really over this 160cc, but couldn't justify spending more money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
55out of 90found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.