Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160

Item# 17151
The Handi-Heat Magnum provides 300F to 400F heat for heating or thawing engine blocks, oil pans and transmissions on trucks, tractors and other large vehicles. Heat Settings Thermostatically controlled, Volts 110, Watts 300. Two powerful magnets offer 2 1/2 times the heating surface of Item# 17101 Allows faster, easier cold-weather starting Also for tanks, snowblowers and snowmobiles For warming hydraulic systems For thawing frozen pipes and gutters Non-metallic grip
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160
Review 1 for Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kats Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater

,
March 14, 2011
By TLS5249
"Works Well I Use it on My Tractor I use to plow snow with. On for an hour before use starts right up."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kats Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater

,
February 16, 2010
By HenryS
from Georgia
"Works as stated. Heaters are being used on two diesel generators (100,000 and 193,000 watts). Both units now start easily in the coldest weather for this area."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magnetic Engine Heater

,
February 15, 2010
By EngineGenMan
from Northern California
"I got my Kats 300 watt heater a couple months ago. I use it on a 20 kW stationary engine generator. I was having trouble with the engine getting to the correct speed, (about one and a half minutes). After installing the Kats heater the engine gets to the correct speed in 30 seconds or less."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great!

,
February 15, 2010
By steelhoss
from Henniker,NH
"this heater gets the oil hot fast,i dropped once it and it still works,be careful not to touch the heated surface...or you'll get burned!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

higher expectations

,
December 6, 2009
By hkdirtfarmer
from central texas
"I purchased the magnum magnetic heater to help start a farm tractor which does not any type of cold weather start. Afters placing the heater on the oil pan for several hours the oil and dipstick was only slightlywarm. I then left the heater on over night. The temp. was still only noticeably warner than having no heater at all. I took the heater and placed it in a real small 1 inch thick walled styrofoam box . The heater was compeletly enclosed in a well insulated container. I then affixed an oven therometer completely metal except for dial, to the magnets, After two hours the heater never got hotter than 150 degrees. I was expecting a much higher temp. as it is advertised 300 to 400 degrees. I intend to try another unit as this one could well be defective. Should the same results occur I feel the product to be almost worthless."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for multi purpose

,
March 23, 2009
By DaleJr
from Lancaster, PA
"I needed a way to heat my parts washer, couldn't get anyone to help me find a cheap way untill i came across this product. It works it warmed 20 gal of water to a withstandable temp when it was freezing outside and heat was off. I ordered another one hoping to bring the water temp up even more."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kats magnetic block heater

,
January 14, 2008
By Mainepilot
from Gray, ME
"Nice quality, very good product - works as advertised, strong magnet, heats very well, excellent product at a reasonable price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hot Stuff!....BUT, Slow.

,
October 29, 2007
By kickapoogian
from Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin
"I've used several models of KAT"S heaters over the past 30 years; magnetic, in-hose & block. With realistic expectations, they perform the jobs they were designed for quite well.
This 300 WATT MAGNETIC HEATER is great for use with vehicles which do not have a plug-in engine heater, but like those heaters, it works best if given sufficient time to transfer heat thru the magnet into the metal it is attatched to(usually, the oil pan). In the coldest weather I usually attach it to a recently driven car whenever possible - it costs much less to maintain the heat of the oil, than to heat the sub-zero lubricant.
A couple of helpful hints for cold weather vehicle use:
> USE A HEAVY DUTY EXTENSION CORD!!!
> PARK THE VEHICLE IN AS PROTECTED A LOCATION AS POSSIBLE.
Sometimes the packaging may indicate that this is NOT designed for outdoor use: there must be a "liability" reason behind this. I have ALWAYS used these for outdoor purposes, but ALWAYS also use a HEAVY DUTY CORD designed for OUTDOOR USE.
These are also very helpful in thawing frozen pipes, etc.
REMEMBER! This heater WILL NOT warm your car's oil in 30 minutes at 30 below! Plug it in 5-8 hours in advance as you would an engine heater, or give it a "head start "on an already warm engine.
I will have a couple of these around as long as I can purchase them. I've given several to friends down through the years.
KAT"S used to make a heated "BATTERY BLANKET' which also worked well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.