Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160"

"Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160"

Item# 17151
"The Handi-Heat Magnum provides 300F to 400F heat for heating or thawing engine blocks, oil pans and transmissions on trucks, tractors and other large vehicles. Watts 300, Heat Settings Thermostatically controlled, Volts 110. Two powerful magnets offer 2 1/2 times the heating surface of Item# 17101 Allows faster, easier cold-weather starting Also for tanks, snowblowers and snowmobiles For warming hydraulic systems For thawing frozen pipes and gutters Non-metallic grip"
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 9(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160"
Review 1 for "Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works fine !!

,
December 31, 2014
By
from amarillo, texas
" Needed a heater for my tractor motor, this was on sale and better than not having one !! Easy to attach to oil pan !! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kats Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater

,
March 14, 2011
By
" Works Well I Use it on My Tractor I use to plow snow with. On for an hour before use starts right up. "
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kats Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater

,
February 16, 2010
By
from Georgia
" Works as stated. Heaters are being used on two diesel generators (100,000 and 193,000 watts). Both units now start easily in the coldest weather for this area. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magnetic Engine Heater

,
February 15, 2010
By
from Northern California
" I got my Kats 300 watt heater a couple months ago. I use it on a 20 kW stationary engine generator. I was having trouble with the engine getting to the correct speed, (about one and a half minutes). After installing the Kats heater the engine gets to the correct speed in 30 seconds or less. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great!

,
February 15, 2010
By
from Henniker,NH
" this heater gets the oil hot fast,i dropped once it and it still works,be careful not to touch the heated surface...or you'll get burned!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

higher expectations

,
December 6, 2009
By
from central texas
" I purchased the magnum magnetic heater to help start a farm tractor which does not any type of cold weather start. Afters placing the heater on the oil pan for several hours the oil and dipstick was only slightlywarm. I then left the heater on over night. The temp. was still only noticeably warner than having no heater at all. I took the heater and placed it in a real small 1 inch thick walled styrofoam box . The heater was compeletly enclosed in a well insulated container. I then affixed an oven therometer completely metal except for dial, to the magnets, After two hours the heater never got hotter than 150 degrees. I was expecting a much higher temp. as it is advertised 300 to 400 degrees. I intend to try another unit as this one could well be defective. Should the same results occur I feel the product to be almost worthless. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for multi purpose

,
March 23, 2009
By
from Lancaster, PA
" I needed a way to heat my parts washer, couldn't get anyone to help me find a cheap way untill i came across this product. It works it warmed 20 gal of water to a withstandable temp when it was freezing outside and heat was off. I ordered another one hoping to bring the water temp up even more. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kats magnetic block heater

,
January 14, 2008
By
from Gray, ME
" Nice quality, very good product - works as advertised, strong magnet, heats very well, excellent product at a reasonable price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Kat's Handi-Heat Magnetic Heater - 300 Watt, Model# 1160"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hot Stuff!....BUT, Slow.

,
October 29, 2007
By
from Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin
" I've used several models of KAT"S heaters over the past 30 years; magnetic, in-hose & block. With realistic expectations, they perform the jobs they were designed for quite well.
This 300 WATT MAGNETIC HEATER is great for use with vehicles which do not have a plug-in engine heater, but like those heaters, it works best if given sufficient time to transfer heat thru the magnet into the metal it is attatched to(usually, the oil pan). In the coldest weather I usually attach it to a recently driven car whenever possible - it costs much less to maintain the heat of the oil, than to heat the sub-zero lubricant.
A couple of helpful hints for cold weather vehicle use:
> USE A HEAVY DUTY EXTENSION CORD!!!
> PARK THE VEHICLE IN AS PROTECTED A LOCATION AS POSSIBLE.
Sometimes the packaging may indicate that this is NOT designed for outdoor use: there must be a "liability" reason behind this. I have ALWAYS used these for outdoor purposes, but ALWAYS also use a HEAVY DUTY CORD designed for OUTDOOR USE.
These are also very helpful in thawing frozen pipes, etc.
REMEMBER! This heater WILL NOT warm your car's oil in 30 minutes at 30 below! Plug it in 5-8 hours in advance as you would an engine heater, or give it a "head start "on an already warm engine.
I will have a couple of these around as long as I can purchase them. I've given several to friends down through the years.
KAT"S used to make a heated "BATTERY BLANKET' which also worked well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.