Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Victor-Style Torch Kit with Tote

Northern Industrial Welders Victor-Style Torch Kit with Tote

Item# 171742
This Northern Industrial portable Victor-style oxyacetylene torch kit includes a torch handle, cutting attachment, rear entry oxygen and acetylene regulators all UL listed, along with 12.5-ft., 3/16in. twin line hose and #0 welding and #0 cutting tips, all in an easy-to-carry tote with waterproof storage compartment. Cylinders not included. Product Type Torch kit, Single, Pair, or System System, Degree of Angle 90, Welds Up To in. 3/8, Typical Application Welding/cutting, Cuts Up To in. 4, Regulator Included Yes, oxygen and acetylene, Tip Type #0 cutting tip, #0 welding tip, Hose Length ft. 12 1/2.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Victor-Style Torch Kit with Tote
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders Victor-Style Torch Kit with Tote
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beginners kit

,
September 17, 2013
By gatorintennessee
from Harrogate, TN
"i bought this set / kit when i needed to do some torch cutting rebuilding an old FJ40 Land Cruiser. I read several books about gas welding and cutting until i felt comfortable. This was the least expensive way to start and it has proven to be very well made and does everything i ask of it. Durable, quality materials, easy to set up and use, no failures as yet. Happy camper here."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders Victor-Style Torch Kit with Tote
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for small jobs, decent torch

,
April 23, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"If you want a low cost torch set for cutting and heating stuck bolts and similar torch tasks, this Victor-style kit is a good start. It uses the small tanks, comes with a portable cubby to carry them around and the hoses have a decent reach. I like that it comes with the clacker and multiple tips so it's versatile. If you find you use a torch often (more than a few times a week), you'll want to step up to the big tanks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders Victor-Style Torch Kit with Tote
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bad Hoses

,
December 12, 2012
By FarmerMike245
from Vassar, Mi
"Purchased last year notice hoses cracking called no replacement parts sold by Northern. Torches work good but hoses should last longer"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders Victor-Style Torch Kit with Tote
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small but Mighty

,
October 30, 2012
By rwaz
from Prescott Valley,AZ
"I have owned probably half a dozen torch kits in my life. I had moved from the Midwest to the Southwest, so I ended up selling a lot of tools before the move. I researched my options and chose the Northern "Torch Kit with Tote". I love it because it has the guts of a larger system with portability of a smaller kit. If I was still using a torch 3 or 4 times a day or week, I would have opted for a bigger unit. My first job with this was welding up trunk hinge mounting structure it worked great. The regulators, controls, tips and handling were perfect. I prefer a torch that has tips with threaded ferrules not just a copper tube with threads. There are cheaper ones and more costly kits. This is a very good value of price to performance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders Victor-Style Torch Kit with Tote
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GOOD SET

,
October 17, 2012
By KROC
from FLORIDA
"GOOD SET FOR SMALL QUICK JOBS. ANYTHING ELSE GO WITH FULL SET."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders Victor-Style Torch Kit with Tote
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good portable unit

,
October 15, 2012
By bj324
from Halstead, KS
"Beats dragging the full sized bottles around for a quick job. But if you want to use for more than a half an hour total time without having to have bottles filled/swapped, then I would suggest buying a full sized rig. When you are cutting with it, you will run out of Oxygen fast, but if you are heating to bend or something similar, it will last longer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders Victor-Style Torch Kit with Tote
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
August 14, 2012
By Dtate69
from Vermont
"Awesome set of torches. They work great. I have used many sets of torches these are right up at the top"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders Victor-Style Torch Kit with Tote
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Value

,
May 21, 2012
By Rangermutt
from Des Moines
"Purchased this for the removal of an exhaust system on my 2003 Maxima. Studs into the cat were rusted tight so I cut them off flush on the front and back of the flange then cut them through the hole. The process was pretty painless. Don't forget to factor in the cost of the two gas cylinders not included in the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders Victor-Style Torch Kit with Tote
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

torch set

,
March 22, 2011
By frtdog
from Bartlett tennessee
"This torch set is great for light duty work. I have used it on auto body work and no problem with warpage on 22 gauge sheet metal. I have also soldered heavy copper water lines faster than propane torch. This unit is worth the money,"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders Victor-Style Torch Kit with Tote
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Tools Victor-Style Torch Kit

,
March 21, 2011
By DC79
from Richmond, VA
"This is a "must have" item for any garage mechanic or metal fabricator. The cutting torch and welding tip are outstanding. The regulators are of top quality, as well. And the price cant be beat. I've looked for just a set of light/medium duty regulators and everything I've found was more expensive than this entire torch kit. If you are looking for a great portable torch kit, buy this one. You wont regret it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders Victor-Style Torch Kit with Tote
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tourch Kit w/ tote a great idea

,
June 1, 2010
By Iv68
from Powhatan, Va.
"This is a great product, especially for the HVAC Tech. It is compact and light enough to be carried to the job site. I like the way the hose has a place to be stored.
The kit comes with one welding tip. A choice of two or three different size tips would be nice.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+25points
35out of 45found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.