Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Brass Propane Filler Coupler

Brass Propane Filler Coupler

Item# 17264
Solid brass propane filler coupler is designed to be used with refillable and disposable single use cylinders. Works with the new OPD valves in all the new grilling tanks 20 lbs. Fill propane cylinders FAST from your 20, 30 or 40-lb. propane tank. No need to buy a new replacement cylinder when you can refill it in a minute. with about 30 cents worth of gas from your large tank. Material Type Brass, Product Style Hardware, Fuel Type Propane, Dimensions O.D. x L in. 1 1/8 x 2 1/2, Compatible With Refillable and disposable single use cylinders. Note Coupler may not work with certain Blue Rhino tanks
Average Customer Rating:
4.931 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (29 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 29(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Review 1 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have!

,
April 6, 2014
By FloridaCamper
from Florida
""This filler coupler works great, saves money, and is almost a necessity for those living in rural areas. As one cylinder empties out I release any pressure inside the 1 lb cylinder and chill it in my fridge. You Tube even has videos on doing this. A worthwhile investment for sure."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tank filler

,
January 10, 2012
By modracer70
from Florida
"Works great, just follow directions about cooling the small tank."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is almost too easy

,
March 20, 2011
By Argus
from North east Texas
"Following the instructions on how to use the EZ Propane Coupler could not be easier.The cautionary instructions are very clear and to the point. The economical value of this coupler will pay for itself in with just a few refills. I am glad I purchased this unique devise and would recommend it to anyone that loves the outdoors."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
March 15, 2011
By hunterjch
from Jefferson, OH
"This filler coupler works great, and saves bunches of money. Prior to doing this, I release any pressure inside the 1 lb cylinder and chill it in my freezer or cooler. This process works great on the edge of a porch or picnic table. Just screw the adapter on a 20 or 30 lb tank, turn the tank upside down, thread the 1 lb cylinder on, turn the valve on for about 1 minute, turn the tank valve off and remove the 1lb cylinder and check for leaks. You will not get as long of a burn time with the refilled cylinders, but it is worth it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

brass propane filler

,
March 14, 2011
By mwr121
from Athens, Georgia
"For camping, shop use and emergencies, I have found that the adapter fitting for filling small 1 lb canisters with propane from a 20 lb bottle is fantastic. I have only found this fitting at NORTHERN TOOL and have purchased several to give to friends and relatives.
Great way to get the most of the small cylinders and keep them out of the landfill.
It takes hardly any time to refill a dozen bottles and I'm ready for anything that requires them. I use them primarily for space heaters but they work just as well for torches and grills too.
And NORTHERN will get one to you in no time at all for a great price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool Coupler

,
March 14, 2011
By SLICK123
"This is a must have! Easy to use, if you follow the simple directions provided. A real money saver."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money saved

,
March 14, 2011
By 2guns
from florida
"Paid for itself the first time i filled my empty tanks. plus i can fill the tanks for my portable propane gas grill,when we head off for a day of having a picnic. plus keeps my tanks ready for the cold nights to fuel my gas ventless fireplace."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says

,
November 23, 2010
By Tugg
"The only hints I can give are to chill the small bottles in the freezer before filling and make sure the tank is room temp. This will help you get a good fill. The brass storage caps for the small bottles are useful too. They will protect the small bottles delicate threads and keep them from rusting. Also, I wouldn't store any refilled bottles indoors, just in case they leak slightly. The filler device works well and should last forever if you don't damage the threads by throwing it in your tool box."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD VALUE

,
November 16, 2010
By joaquin1910
from RURAL EAST TEXAS
"THIS LITTLE ADAPTER WORKS EXACTLY AS DESCRIBED. I AM FILLING AND USING MY SMALL PROPANE CANS. THERE HAS NOT BEEN A SINGLE PROBLEM. WITH THIS ADAPTER I AM ABLE TO PAY ABOUT 30 CENTS FOR A CAN OF PROPANE RATHER THAN THE $2.50 THEY CHARGE AT THE STORE.
A TIP THAT MAY HELP A NEW USER GET A BETTE FILL:
I PUT MY SMALL CAN IN THE FREEZER AND GET IT COLD, AND I PLACE THE 40 POUND BOTTLE IN THE SUN TO GET IT AS WARM AS I CAN. A FULL LITTLE CAN HAPPENS EVERY TIME!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have!!

,
February 24, 2010
By tw213
from ky
"For any one who has a heater or camping stove thet uses a 1lb gas cylender ,this is a must have you can eather pay 6 dollers for 2 cylenders , or refill you'r own for a few cents. it pays for it's self!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Porpane filler coupler

,
February 22, 2010
By sebagobear
from Sebago, Maine
"Works great if fuel is at room temp. I filled 10 in just a few min.Paid for itself the first time I used it. I should of purchased it years ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
February 16, 2010
By KFVT1
from Charlotte,VT
"Easy to use & payed for its self the first time I used it.
Filled 5 cylinders in 10 min.
Sincerely, KFVT1
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Finally I don't feel guilty!

,
November 3, 2009
By duffSB
from South Bend, IN
"I have always felt guilty tossing those 1lb. propane cylinders in the landfill. Between our camp stove and tent heaters we could go through 2-4 of them in a long weekend of camping. While the cylinders don't seem to get as full as when purchased new (3-4 hours of use compared to 5-6 hours) the cost to our wallet and our environment is definitely worth the money spent. I have, and will continue to recommend this product to friends."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Environmentally sound

,
November 2, 2009
By LisaLove
from Sebastopol, CA
"I do all my cooking for my family of 5 on a two burner camping stove! This little gadget has saved me sooo much money and discarded propane cylinders. It is easy to use, the only disadvantage is that it only fills the cylinders about half way full. I might be doing something wrong??? Regardless, I rave about this thing to anyone who will listen because I love it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Taking Gas

,
October 19, 2009
By UZIGUN
from central vermont
"A simple attachment between the small propane cylinders and the 20 lb. tanks that allows you to refill the small cylinder at small cost and reuse the the small cylinder. A win win for you and the environment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
July 20, 2009
By pmarme
from Coastal Maine
"This item saves me a lot of money in propane bottles. I just use my gas grill bottle to fill a small bottle whenever I need it. Simple to use as well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little invention

,
March 23, 2009
By lrenskers
from Blaine, WA
"This is one of the great little inventions. It helps cut down on wastes, and makes using the little propane bottle stoves and heaters easier. Its really easy to use and in no time you can fill all your little propane bottles."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brass Propane Filler coupler

,
March 17, 2009
By Dove38
from Kerrville, TX
"The greatest invention.....this is so simple to use with a stop watch and by simply counting to 55 seconds while filling your 1# bottle.... you are ready to go grilling, camping or whatever you use it for. It is so convenient and a whole lot less expensive than purchasing the 1# bottles individually. I give it 5 stars."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane Filler

,
November 18, 2008
By MRC13
from Lake George, NY
"We go camping a lot and between our portable grill, stove and lanterns we use a huge amount of the propane canisters. By using the Propane Filler Coupler and a 20Lb tank of propane we always have a good supply of filled 1lb cans. I just pop a couple of cans in our freezer for 15 minutes, connect the can to my 20lb tank and in a minute it's filled."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brass Propane Filler Coupler
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real money saver

,
November 17, 2008
By BillD
from SE Michigan
"I have several propane heaters that use these disposable 1 lb tanks of propane. I can now refill one for one third the price of buying a new one and also feel like I'm doing my part to recycle. A great product and very easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.