Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R

Item# 17278
Installs into flue of your wood, oil or coal furnace or heater except Item# 172781 which is only for use with gas stoves. Magic Heat Reclaimer consists of 10 heat-exchanger tubes and a thermostatically controlled fan to blow warmed air into the room. Turns on at 150 and off at 110F. 115 Volts. Produces 225 CFM and 8000 to 30,000 BTU. Peak performance is maintained by the use of Flue Stove Pipe cleaner our Item# 172801. 18 1/4in.H x 10 5/8in.W x 14 1/4in.D. Please measure flue before ordering. U.S.A. Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 1/4 x 10 5/8 x 14 1/4, Volts 115, CFM 225, Includes 1 Reclaimer, Common Usage Heat reclaimer, Works With Wood, oil, coal stove, Auto On/Off Turns on at 150 and off at 110F, Flue Collar Size in. 6, BTU Output 8,000-30,000, Mount Type Vertical mounting only. 120 V Blower Fan has 6 ft. cord, 3 prong plug Note Allow 18in. clearance between stove and heat reclaimer Crimp on the bottom
Average Customer Rating:
4.791 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(182 Reviews) 182
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (182 reviews)
5 stars
150
4 stars
29
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
180 of 182(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Review 1 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heat reclaimer

,
February 4, 2014
By JDP1
from Missouri
"this was easy to install, it is effectively pushing heat out into the room rather than letting it escape up flue. Can actually feel a difference in the stove pipe above and below the unit. Economically good decision as wood heat is our sole heat so, this should help keep the room warmer with less wood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic Heat Reclaimer

,
February 4, 2014
By 1DickNH
from NH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Magic Heat Reclaimer for your wood stove are the best things ever. You get so much extra Heat from you wood stove. It saves all that heat from just going up the chimmey. I have 3 one on each stove and have been using them for years, I would buy another one in a heart beat. I'm always telling my friends to buy one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Excellent

,
January 14, 2014
By Jagzoo1
from Illinois
"This is a must with any type of woodstove....works excellent, very quiet & easy to install...absolutely love it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product - Performs as advertised

,
April 26, 2013
By 01Nelson
from Lexington, NC
"I've been using the Magic Heat Reclaimer for the past 2 years. It has far exceeded my expectations. I attached the Magic Heat to my wood burning stove in my 1800 sq/ft hobby shop. The ceiling is open to the rafters and at the peak the height is 20 ft. Before the Magic Heat the stove failed to heat the entire building on cold days. With the Magic Heat I can keep the building toasty. Money well spent!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heat exchanger

,
April 26, 2013
By Montanabill
from Belgrade,Mt
"I had been using a different heat exchanger with moderate satisfaction , But when it failed I purchased the "Magic heat" exchanger . I was very surprised at how much better this unit was compared to the other one. The Magic Heat has twice the heating tubes as the other one and I particularly like the function that lets you clean off the tubes keeping the heat reclamation at an efficient level. Also the fan seems to be stronger and heats up my 1600sf + shop much quicker. I should have gotten this unit first as the few extra bucks I spent payed for itself the first time I used it. Thanxs "Magic Heat""
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

,
April 23, 2013
By CatHerder
from Northern New Mexico, 8035 ft above sea level
"If you have a stove with a pipe buy a Magic Heat. If you don't know the difference now you will after you have installed it. I am burning about 1/3 less wood and my home is warmer than before. So glad I bought it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood is Great!

,
April 23, 2013
By Streakndeacon
from Billings, MT
"I have purchased and installed several of these reclaimers. They are easy to install and work great.
It is amazing how much heat is saved from going up the stove pipe. Maintenance is easy and ours work as hoped.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

stack heater

,
April 23, 2013
By kevner
from pa.
"installed the reclaimer and works great, glad to know SOMEBODY sells them.... thanks"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
December 23, 2012
By Anonymous
from Saskatchewan Canada
"Pricing was awesome shipping was very quick to Canada . I was so impressed with the speediness in which I received the product . I have the Magic Heat
re-claimer installed on my wood stove in my shop and am so impressed on the heat that is recovered resulting in a warmer shop and using substantially less wood to do so . I will be purchasing another one for my house in the new year .
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great but a little noisy.

,
October 18, 2012
By JohntheEngineer
from Hopewell, NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The Magic Heat works great but it would be a little noisy for your Living Room.
I installed a new Wood Stove in my Basement. I added the Magic Heat and I'm really glad I did. I ran some ductwork to help direct the heat to the first floor. The fan moves 200 cfm so I installed one register in my Living Room and another in the main Hallway. The stove does a nice job of heating the Basement and the Magic Heat does anice job of heating the first floor. The entire set up works great !!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product walks the talk.

,
October 15, 2012
By AndyZP
from Warren VT
"I needed to circulate heat from my downstairs woodstove between two parts of the house. I bought this from Northern Tool in 2003 and never had the chance to put it in, until this past weekend. Yes, I know, 9 years. Well, long story short, this was the best investment I have ever made in terms of heat circulation, EVER. This is heat that otherwise would have been lost to the outside. I took my sweeet time putting this together, getting the right sheet metal screws, cutting the proper length on the stovepipes, etc. and it took a total of 35 min to put in. Within an hour, the temperature in the room next door, up by 5 degrees, within the next three hours, up by 15 degrees making it equal with the other room and the bonus was it pushed the heat upstairs and got to the back corner of the house.. I am very impressed and this will be standard issue on all my houses! Thank you for carrying this product Northern Tool!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

magic heat

,
October 9, 2012
By ambmom
from ohio
"great product have used these before It save a lot of heat that used to go up the chimney"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

,
September 22, 2012
By decathlon2468w
from Northern California
"After reading the previous reviews I had high hopes and this product delivers.
Pros: It produces a lot more heat than our wood stove with just a fan ever did. It cut our fuel use by about 35%.
Cons: It's a little on the noisy side. As another reviewer wrote, it produces nasty smoke the first time you fire it (so pick a day you can open the windows!).
After 3 years we'd never go back to heating without it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep the heat in the house, not out the stack

,
May 18, 2012
By 1garageman
from Tehachapi, Ca
"From the first time using the "Magic Heat" we were sold on this product. The house started to warm up almost immediately from the fan blowing the heat into the room that would normally be lost to the vent outdoors. We did our own self test of how much heat we were reclaiming. The stack temperature below the "Magic Heat unit read 450 degrees and the stack temperature above the unit read 200 degrees. We live in the Tehachapi mountains at 4600 foot level and get snow in winter. We never used our furnace once this year, thanks to the vastly improved heating of our wood stove! The amount of wood we had to use to keep the house warm was also considerably less this winter.
The instructions that come with the unit are very complete, which includes sensible safety precautions. It took one hour to install since it comes as a complete unit. Basically, it was measure, cut the existing pipe, insert the unit and plug in the electrical cord to run the fan.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Things that are good

,
May 7, 2012
By Ron98
from Sturgis so.dak
"The magic heat does a great job of adding unclaimed heat into the room. it also does a great job circulating the heat. if there is any down fall it would be that it does such a good job taking out the heat that it can cause a creosote build up if you don't watch it."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great to take off the chill

,
April 15, 2012
By AlanWB
from Mountains in SE Mexico
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"When I ordered the Magic Heat I expected it to just circulate the heat so you didn't have to be so near the old wood stove on chilly nights. We installed it on a small wood stove in a large 800 square foot room we use as a 'rec room' in a 300 year old hacienda in the mountains in Mexico. We don't get snow, but it can go as low as the 20's Fahrenheit. The unit increases the efficiency so that with just a small fire the whole room is comfortable even on the coldest nights."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

died after one season

,
January 17, 2012
By fc103
from Aiken, SC
"This device worked fine for one season. The fan is non-functional now. Resetting the switch did nothing. I would not recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Magic Heat Reclaimer works great

,
January 17, 2012
By LtDan100
from Buffalo, NY
"This is the second Magic Meat Reclaimer I have purchased. The first one I used for 17 years to help heat my 2300 sq ft house. With this unit added, it did so with only a wood stove that was rated to heat 1000 sq ft. I then purchased one for my 1500 sq. ft. Olympia Steel 2 story Man Cave/Workshop. Combined with a old Ficsher wood stove, it heats the entire building! It almost seems to put out as much heat as the wood stove - if not more. The fan kicks on and off as the temp rises and falls in the pipe. This is nice because it is a reminder to put wood in the stove. On the negative side the fan is loud. If you want to sit and watch TV the fan is annoying. Instead of a bladed fan it could use a more quieter squirrel cage type. The exterior case starts squeeking once in a while but a good slap on the side fixes that. The price seems quite high and I believe should be around 100 bucks. Despite the high price, I would definitely recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
January 16, 2012
By KenF
from Limestone TN
"This thing is great puts out good heat and is fairly quiet but don't forget to clean the tube with the knob as it will jamb after learning that haven't had any problems heat out put is great and now I wont be buying a new stove because of increased output Great Unit"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 16, 2012
By craigrf
from Highly competent with home repairs
"I work at home and enjoy a wood fire instead of the gas heat. When I installed the Magic Heat I reduced the amount of wood I burned by 1/3. I have recommended this product to everyone who uses a wood stove."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.