Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R

Item# 17278
Installs into flue of your wood, oil or coal furnace or heater except Item# 172781 which is only for use with gas stoves. Magic Heat Reclaimer consists of 10 heat-exchanger tubes and a thermostatically controlled fan to blow warmed air into the room. Turns on at 150 and off at 110F. 115 Volts. Produces 225 CFM and 8000 to 30,000 BTU. Peak performance is maintained by the use of Flue Stove Pipe cleaner our Item# 172801. 18 1/4in.H x 10 5/8in.W x 14 1/4in.D. Please measure flue before ordering. U.S.A. Volts 115, CFM 225, Includes 1 Reclaimer, Common Usage Heat reclaimer, Works With Wood, oil, coal stove, Auto On/Off Turns on at 150 and off at 110F, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 1/4 x 10 5/8 x 14 1/4, BTU Output 8,000-30,000, Mount Type Vertical mounting only. 120 V Blower Fan has 6 ft. cord, 3 prong plug Note Allow 18in. clearance between stove and heat reclaimer Crimp on the bottom
Average Customer Rating:
4.791 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(182 Reviews) 182
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (182 reviews)
5 stars
150
4 stars
29
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
180 of 182(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Review 1 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic Heat--Best idea since swamp coolers!

,
November 16, 2006
By Daniel
from Pine, CO
"Wonderful product. Easy to install, but poor support from manufacturer.
Once installed, I was AMAZED at how well this thing works. I am re-couping a great deal of lost heat and at the same time, the fan forces that heat out into the room, etc. I find I am using 75% less wood as I do not need to keep the stove blazing hot to radiate--Magic heat does this. Once at temp. a relatively small burn will keep the tubes plenty hot. As a result, I do not have a "hot spot" in the room where the stove is--the room heats up evenly and then seems to stay relatively stable. The Magic Heat fan itself turns on and off based on on preset tube temperature, though one can turn the fan on manually--say for Summer cooling use, or whatever.
Only recommendation I would make is to plug Magic Heat into an outlet controlled by a light dimmer. I did this by making a box with a pig-tale which plugs into the wall. In the box is a dimmer and a plug. This is important to me as the Magic Heat fan is MORE than adequate. I find that it is more comfortable and less noisy (~~75% of fan noise is created in the last ~~10% of top fan speed with any fan) to turn the fan down to about 60% of its capability. This is a modification which the manufacturer suggested, so if its done safely, its kosher. If making one of these is not in your game plan, and you want one, write me and I will make one up and sell it to you.
The product seems to be made well and is easy enough to clean--looks like it belongs, does not take up much space and has powered our heating bill substantially. The fact that I am using MUCH less wood, is a big plus for my back. Since the unit is completely sealed, ALL smoke goes up the pipe and none escapes into the house. About the only requirement which is not explicitly stated in their advertising is that, for best performance, the unit should be mounted no less than 12" off of the stove.
I do not work for these folks, I just happen to live in the CO mountains, where it gets cold. I REALLY like it when I can order a product and it works better than expectation. For me, that is a rarity, and it is for this reason that I so highly recommend this unit. Why waste heat when a fan is SO cheap to run?!?
Dan"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great but a little noisy.

,
October 18, 2012
By JohntheEngineer
from Hopewell, NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The Magic Heat works great but it would be a little noisy for your Living Room.
I installed a new Wood Stove in my Basement. I added the Magic Heat and I'm really glad I did. I ran some ductwork to help direct the heat to the first floor. The fan moves 200 cfm so I installed one register in my Living Room and another in the main Hallway. The stove does a nice job of heating the Basement and the Magic Heat does anice job of heating the first floor. The entire set up works great !!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic Heat Reclaimers really work!!!

,
June 16, 2011
By fivestarheating
from New Hampshire
"I have been a technician in the oil and propane industry for over fifteen years. I have worked on thousands of oil and propane heating /hot water units for home and business owners and the one thing EVERYONE is looking for is WAYS TO SAVE MONEY! I am here to tell you that the Magic Heat Reclaimers really work. I have used/recommended this device on many ocassions for oil fired units with a stack temperature of OVER 550 degrees ferenheit at the chimney. This is a common problem with older heating units as these units weren't designed for high efficiencies, they were designed to burn oil and these units have large smooth passages for the heat to pass through. I have seen many older units with a stack temperature of over 650 degrees at the chimney, (that is a huge heat loss). If you just cannot afford to replace your heating unit, then the next best thing is installing the Magic Heat Reclaimer on these older units with extremely high stack temps. By installing a magic heat reclaimer two things will happen, you will increase your efficiencies of your boilers/heating appliance, (stack temperature readings are one of the four readings needed to calculate your efficiencies on your heating appliance and a high stack temp reading means a low efficiency rating and the second thing is by installing one of these magic heat reclaimers is it will give you a warmer/drier basement. I have seen in all applications with units with a stack temperature of 650 degrees at the chimney before installation of a magic heat reclaimer dropped a minimum of 100 to 200 degrees ferenheit cooler at the chimney. This means not nearly as much heat lose and in many cases getting the stack temps into the ideal range for a good efficiency rating. The only thing I would recommend is having your heating technician either install the magic heat reclaimer or at the very least have them come to your home and perform an efficiency test after you install the reclaimer. This will ensure two things; the first, that the reclaimer was properly installed and the second is in all cases you will need some adjustments performed to your heating appliance to include properly setting the draft at the chimney. (with all this being said on all the units I have recommended/ or installed the Magic Heat Reclaimers, it was only after a proper cleaning of the heating appliance and the burner adjustments were set for maximum efficiencies and I still got excessively high stack temperature readings. (This is due mainly because of the design of these old heating appliances.)"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got Heat?

,
March 7, 2007
By UpNorth
from Northern NH
"Recently I purchased the Magic Heat Reclaimer and added it to the operation of my wood stove. Prior to adding the Magic Heat Recaimer My wood stove would perform to a lower than average heat output. Constantly having to stoke the wood stove, allowing the wood to burn at faster and hotter temps in order to get more heat from it. Then I installed the Magic Heat Reclaimer! Now my wood stove has become vitually the primary heating source for my home. I am able to run the stove with a longer & lower burn, recapturing the heat that would normally be lost. This has added many BTU to the stove. The Magic Reclaimer is the best money I ever spend!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heat exchanger

,
April 26, 2013
By Montanabill
from Belgrade,Mt
"I had been using a different heat exchanger with moderate satisfaction , But when it failed I purchased the "Magic heat" exchanger . I was very surprised at how much better this unit was compared to the other one. The Magic Heat has twice the heating tubes as the other one and I particularly like the function that lets you clean off the tubes keeping the heat reclamation at an efficient level. Also the fan seems to be stronger and heats up my 1600sf + shop much quicker. I should have gotten this unit first as the few extra bucks I spent payed for itself the first time I used it. Thanxs "Magic Heat""
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

REGRET

,
March 23, 2011
By jmfire
from Cold, North Dakota
"I have been running wood stoves for about 8-9 years and I just learned about the Magic Heat while searching for a wood furnace. I ordered the Magic Heat and installed it the day I got it. It was 10 degrees outside with 20-25 wind speed that night and usually the oil furnace had been running over half the time with those sort of conditions. From 6:00 until at least 10:30 it did not run beyond that I was asleep. I regret not having one sooner, it would have saved me alot of work as far as paying the utility bill. AAAA++++
PS about 900 sq ft home"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

,
April 23, 2013
By CatHerder
from Northern New Mexico, 8035 ft above sea level
"If you have a stove with a pipe buy a Magic Heat. If you don't know the difference now you will after you have installed it. I am burning about 1/3 less wood and my home is warmer than before. So glad I bought it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product walks the talk.

,
October 15, 2012
By AndyZP
from Warren VT
"I needed to circulate heat from my downstairs woodstove between two parts of the house. I bought this from Northern Tool in 2003 and never had the chance to put it in, until this past weekend. Yes, I know, 9 years. Well, long story short, this was the best investment I have ever made in terms of heat circulation, EVER. This is heat that otherwise would have been lost to the outside. I took my sweeet time putting this together, getting the right sheet metal screws, cutting the proper length on the stovepipes, etc. and it took a total of 35 min to put in. Within an hour, the temperature in the room next door, up by 5 degrees, within the next three hours, up by 15 degrees making it equal with the other room and the bonus was it pushed the heat upstairs and got to the back corner of the house.. I am very impressed and this will be standard issue on all my houses! Thank you for carrying this product Northern Tool!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic Heat

,
June 6, 2011
By rick4rj
from Cedar Grove WI
"Easy to install, throws a lot of heat. Pipe above can be touched indicatiing a lot of heat is now not going up the stack. Very satisfied with the product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

JIMMY

,
March 22, 2011
By snarleydavidson
from WADE MAINE
"THIS IS THE SECOND ONE I HAVE PURCHASED. ONE IS ON MY OIL FIRED HOT WATER HEATER. AND THE SECOND ONE I JUST PURCHASED I PUT ON MY PELLET STOVE. I WAS NOT SURE IT WOULD WORK ON THE STOVE AT FIRST BUT NOW I AN HEATING MY HOUSE FOR LESS.. THE HEAT SAVER PUTS OUT THE EXTRA AMOUNT OF HEAT JUST FROM THE STOVE PIPE THAT MY FURNACE DOES NOT RUN AT ALL. UP HERE IN NORTHERN MAINE FUEL OF ANY KIND IS EXPENSIVE AND THE SAVINGS WILL PAY FOR ITSELF."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Things that are good

,
May 7, 2012
By Ron98
from Sturgis so.dak
"The magic heat does a great job of adding unclaimed heat into the room. it also does a great job circulating the heat. if there is any down fall it would be that it does such a good job taking out the heat that it can cause a creosote build up if you don't watch it."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

,
September 22, 2012
By decathlon2468w
from Northern California
"After reading the previous reviews I had high hopes and this product delivers.
Pros: It produces a lot more heat than our wood stove with just a fan ever did. It cut our fuel use by about 35%.
Cons: It's a little on the noisy side. As another reviewer wrote, it produces nasty smoke the first time you fire it (so pick a day you can open the windows!).
After 3 years we'd never go back to heating without it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Magic Heat Reclaimer works great

,
January 17, 2012
By LtDan100
from Buffalo, NY
"This is the second Magic Meat Reclaimer I have purchased. The first one I used for 17 years to help heat my 2300 sq ft house. With this unit added, it did so with only a wood stove that was rated to heat 1000 sq ft. I then purchased one for my 1500 sq. ft. Olympia Steel 2 story Man Cave/Workshop. Combined with a old Ficsher wood stove, it heats the entire building! It almost seems to put out as much heat as the wood stove - if not more. The fan kicks on and off as the temp rises and falls in the pipe. This is nice because it is a reminder to put wood in the stove. On the negative side the fan is loud. If you want to sit and watch TV the fan is annoying. Instead of a bladed fan it could use a more quieter squirrel cage type. The exterior case starts squeeking once in a while but a good slap on the side fixes that. The price seems quite high and I believe should be around 100 bucks. Despite the high price, I would definitely recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic Heat Reclaimer (wood)

,
February 22, 2010
By JoeysDad
from Md
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"A friend of mine suggested this item. I stopped by to check it out and decided I had to have one. I subsequently purchased this after I got my VogelZang Frontiersman woodstove (*see my review on that). It was easy to install and works flawlessly. I even bought two temp gauges, one above and one below the device, to see if the description in the manual was accurate (ie: paraphrased...when the temp in the device gets to a certain temp, the reclaimer automatically turns on and blows out the heat...). When my gauge hits that temp, the blower gives a good steady flow of 'reclaimed' heat that would otherwise fly out your chimney. The noise level is not too much, just right I'd say. The only word of caution I have for others is if you experience a power outage and your stove is on, make sure you can get this device plugged into your generator or to your generator via the genlink so the blower will be operational. The manual states that during power outages, if the blower is not working the coils can overheat and cause damage. I haven't tested that and don't plan on it. Great value and best of all, lots of heat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
dakotatycoon
Northern great plains 
 
Please wait while more information about dakotatycoon is loaded.
Additional information about dakotatycoon could not be loaded.
December 15, 2010
"I don't believe the problem is with the coils during a power outage. I understood that the electric motor would get too hot and melt the insulation on the wiring if the fan was not running. The recommendation was to undo the ten screws and take the motor off. Then you could continue to use the wood stove during a power outage."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep the heat in the house, not out the stack

,
May 18, 2012
By 1garageman
from Tehachapi, Ca
"From the first time using the "Magic Heat" we were sold on this product. The house started to warm up almost immediately from the fan blowing the heat into the room that would normally be lost to the vent outdoors. We did our own self test of how much heat we were reclaiming. The stack temperature below the "Magic Heat unit read 450 degrees and the stack temperature above the unit read 200 degrees. We live in the Tehachapi mountains at 4600 foot level and get snow in winter. We never used our furnace once this year, thanks to the vastly improved heating of our wood stove! The amount of wood we had to use to keep the house warm was also considerably less this winter.
The instructions that come with the unit are very complete, which includes sensible safety precautions. It took one hour to install since it comes as a complete unit. Basically, it was measure, cut the existing pipe, insert the unit and plug in the electrical cord to run the fan.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heat reclaimer

,
March 19, 2011
By ezpen210
"This product is easy to install make sure you read and follow the instructions. It reclaims alot of heat that was going up the chimney. I feel the cost is alittle high but should recover the cost in savings in the wood we burn. The heat reclaimed is about 5 to 10 degrees hotter than before installing the Magic Heat. Northern Tool Company was very quick in sending the product UPS no hassle. GOOD JOB
Mr.ezpen210
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

throws heat

,
March 14, 2011
By smurf67
from York, PA
"hooked up the heat exchanger, and within 1 hr the tem of my basement increased 10deg. The woodstove that I have currently is not the most efficient, but having this exchanger made it more benificial. It offset electricitywise by making my basement warmer heating up my floors so that my electric baseboard did not come on."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood is Great!

,
April 23, 2013
By Streakndeacon
from Billings, MT
"I have purchased and installed several of these reclaimers. They are easy to install and work great.
It is amazing how much heat is saved from going up the stove pipe. Maintenance is easy and ours work as hoped.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

magic heat- works EXCELLENT

,
March 15, 2011
By chev72
from central pa
"this thing works GREAT! heats my garage up in no time at all, never would have thought this would work as great as it does, have recommended this to people at work for their garages"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 6 in., Model# MH-6-R
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Magic Heat Reclaimer works like a charm!

,
November 18, 2008
By mab537
from Paris, AR
"This is my second winter using the Magic Heat Reclaimer and I'm sold on it's effectiveness. The first winter, it took a bit of getting used to, but that's to be expected. My wood stove is a very efficient Englander coal/woodburner and did a fine job all on its own. But when I added the Magic Heat Reclaimer it practically doubled the output using about 50% less wood. I burn a mix of woods including post oak, blackjack oak, red oak, hackberry and red cedar, and the majority of it is well seasoned. It doesn't seem to make much difference what kind of wood I burn, the Magic Heat Reclaimer pumps out more heat regardless of what I feed the stove.
Pros:
It works as advertised and requires very little maintenance during the heating season. The price is right and the quality is good.
Cons:
There are a few design flaws that didn't become apparaent to me until I cleaned it this fall before the heating season started. The inside of the 'box' is poorly designed and has lots of nooks and crannies for soot buildup to become a problem. The cleaning rod mechanism is limited by the fact that as the heating season progresses, soot builds up at the heat exchanger tube terminations and there's nothing you can do about it but wait till a warm day or until the end of the heating season to clean it. And cleaning it is a serious hassle if you don't have help.
The other design flaw has to do with the fan and the heat exchanger tubes. The fan has to work pretty hard to force air through the tubes because the entrance to the back of the tubes is too close to the fan and the tubes aren't inletted. What I mean is that the tubes are just welded to a flat piece of steel and the fan blows directly on that surface. Modifying the plate that the tubes are welded to would seriously increase the fans blowing capacity. Adding a venturi or funnel shape to the plate for each tube is all that would be required to make it much more efficient.
In conclusion, I have to say that the Magic Heat Reclaimer is a fantastic idea and a wonderful addition to any coal/gas/wood stove heating system. But you have to totally re-learn the art of heating with wood once you install the Magic Heat Reclaimer. So expect a learning curve and accept the extra maintenance that comes along with it and enjoy more heat from less wood. It's a pretty fair exchange and one that I'm willing to live with."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.