Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R

Item# 17279
Installs into flue of your wood, oil or coal furnace or heater, except item #172781 which is only for use with gas stoves. Magic Heat Reclaimer consists of 10 heat-exchanger tubes and a thermostatically controlled fan to blow warmed air into the room. Turns on at 150 and off at 110F. 115 Volts. Produces 225 CFM and 8000 to 30,000 BTU. Peak performance is maintained by the use of Flue Stove Pipe cleaner our Item# 172801. 10 5/8in. W x 14 1/4in.D x 18 1/4in.H. Please measure flue before ordering. U.S.A. CFM 225, Mount Type Vertical mounting only, Common Usage Heat reclaimer, BTU Output 8,000-30,000, Flue Collar Size in. 8, Works With Wood, oil, coal stove, Volts 115, Auto On/Off Turns on at 150 and off at 110F, Dimensions L x W x H in. 10 5/8 W x 14 1/4 D x 18 1/4 H, Includes 1 Reclaimer. Can not be used horizontally Blower fan has 6ft, 3 prong plug Allow 18in. clearance between stove and heat reclaimer Crimp on the bottom
Average Customer Rating:
4.849 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (86 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
86 of 86(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Review 1 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 16, 2012
By DJ911
from RI
" We have been using the Magic Heat Reclaimer on our wood stove for several years now. It is one of the best products we have ever purchased for heating assistance. You can almost immidiateIy see the difference in wood consumption and feel the difference in the air. It is amazing how much heat was lost out the chimney before we installed this product. By the way it's easy to clean too! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

,
October 15, 2012
By GUNNY1990
from lynn, Ma
" i used this on my wood burning stove a very good product heat the whole house. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Thing Ever

,
August 13, 2012
By WorkWork
from Beaver Utah
" Save me money. Very efficient and this is my 3rd one to put in. Would recommend this product to everyone that has a wood stove. Will put out more heat than the stove!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-6points
6out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the Job

,
January 16, 2012
By joesixcards
from North Babylon, NY
" Simple installation with some instant gratification(HEAT) Has been in service 2+ years and perform wonderfully. We notced a savings on oil our first season. The additional heat in our basement keeps the core of our house warm.Great Product A definate BUY "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing addition to your heat source

,
January 9, 2012
By mountainmama
from Cooke City, MT
" We have used the Magic Heat Reclaimer on our woodstoves for nearly 30 years in four different homes. With each new location, we have immediately added a Magic Heat. You can quickly recognize the difference in the amount of heat coming from your stove or fireplace. The Magic Heat is easy to install, easy to maintain, and very efficient. We did wear one out, after 11 years of constant winter use, but we were happy to replace it, looking forward to another 10 or more years of good use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
January 9, 2012
By Redoil
from Newark, Delaware
" I installed it yesterday on my wood stove in my shop. Works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effective piece of equipment

,
October 17, 2011
By TRGuy
from Columbus, GA
" The heatilator is easy to install and works well. The thermostat works as designed and cycles as it should. It definitely reclaims heat that would otherwise just go out the flue. Time will tell how long it lasts, but I see no indications of degredation after 5 years. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic Heat

,
October 11, 2011
By Kenneth1963
from Casper, Wyoming
" We had a Magic Heat Reclaimer on an old wood stove for about 50 years and it is still going strong. We purchased a new wood stove so we bought another Magic Heat Reclaimer. They work great and do a good job capturing the heat. The Magic Heat Reclaimer really puts out some heat that would normally go to waste, works great. We'll definitely buy a replacement in 50 years when and if this unit wears out. In a world of increasingly disposable consumer goods, this is a product built with pride and meant to last. Best Yet it is made in the USA. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic Is right

,
June 15, 2011
By rdyjoe
from Iowa Charles City
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This does just what it says it does. Two winters now and Wonderful!!
Cleans easy! Wired mine t a switch heats all the rooms great,....Love it and the savings is soo much better than just the fireplace blower! Would recommend to anyone.
If your replacing Pipes take the extra time to install one of these>
No complaints so far!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic Heat Rocks!

,
June 14, 2011
By ChristianSam
from Kearneysville wv
" I bought this product over 5 years ago and it is still going strong. We have a wood stove in our basement which heats our whole house during the winter supplemented by baseboard heat when the temp drops below 65 degrees. Magic Heat consistently kicks on when the sensor detects the correct temp and kicks off when the temp drops below a certain threshold. I can't believe that it has lasted this long with so much constant use. I'll definitely buy a replacement when this unit wears out. In a world of increasingly disposable consumer goods, this is a product built with pride and meant to last. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

magic heat= win

,
June 13, 2011
By Troy2285
from Orient, OH
" Installed one in my dads home, then one in his pole barn, also have one in my shop and my living room. Wouldent even burn wood without one. My friend had one in his cabin and I was amazed. Makes splitting wood labor worth the effort. Before magic heat the building was still cold, now dont even need jacket. Easy to install, easy to use. Can't beat the termostat controlled fan. Highly reccomend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magis Heat Reclaimer

,
March 24, 2011
By barberbill
from Honesdale,PA
" I have used one of these heat reclaimers on a coal fired furnace for a lot of years and it is the greatest. Makes my cellar very warm. I would recommend this item to anyone with a coal fired unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

The heat machine

,
March 14, 2011
By antman597
from Cave Junction, OR
" This really puts out some heat that would normally go to waste, works great. The only thing I don't like about it is the fan noise, and the fact that you can't turn it off. It automaticlly turns the fan on when it reaches a certain temperature to avoid damaging the electronics. It makes my nice relaxing fire a little on the annoying side. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

magic heat

,
March 14, 2011
By DAIRYFARMER1
from mandan,nd
" works great keeps our shop allot warmer in the winter months, "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As Advertised

,
December 12, 2010
By OhioDan
from Northast Ohio
" Bought the Magic Heat Reclaimer and installed above my Appalatian Sealed Woodburner...installed in 2 hours...I am an experienced builder and had a helper. So far it has worked as advertised...burn off smoke etc. I am impressed with the product, and impressed with the under promised shipping. Website says 5-6 days, I had mine in 4 days. Installed in time for 10-16 inches of snow and sub 10 degrees weather prediction...a great test that I am looking forward to. Fan is quieter than the woodburner fan...no big deal...I am happy with the amount of heat.
Thanks
Dan
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

heat reclaimer

,
December 1, 2010
By zlounge
" I have used this product for over 20 years. I find that they last about 4 yrs before you can no longer clean the tubes from creosote build up. I push the handle in and out everytime I add wood 4 or 5 times a day.I just bought another because this is the best on the market. I clean my flue 2 times a year and clean the tubes with a wire brush when I have it apart.This is a very good prodct but expect the problem I stated. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice!!!!

,
November 28, 2010
By nature
from norther arizona where it snows alot
" bought one for the house had to get another for the store. improves the heat and lowers the propane bill.. love that you can hear the fan cause it lets ya know when to fill the stove up. have 20' vaulted ceilings and with the help of ceiling fans the hot air circulates well. the heat that comes out is 100 degrees f or higher. wouldnt heat without one have had ours for about 4 years now. easy to remove and clean every year. dropped propane bill about 200 dollars a month. (big house) "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

eagletow

,
November 25, 2010
By eagletow
from Idaho Springs, Colorado
" I have used the Magic Heat Reclaimer on my woodstove heater for 5 years and it make the stove much more effeicent. I have recommened one to my friend (he bought two) and have ordered one for my son in Alaska. Very Good Product.
Happy Customer;
Tom Stephens, Colorado.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic Heat

,
November 24, 2010
By Budster1
from Horseheads New York
" I have ahd several of these over the last 40 years and I love them. They put out more heat than the woodstove itsself. Well mine is on a small soapstone woodstove that takes forever to heat up. The magic heat comes on soon after the fire is going good. Heat the space fast andoverall does a great job. The only bad this I would say about it is the face tends to rust after a while. It doesn't hurt the function, it just doesn't look as good. If you want to double the heat output of your woodstove, put one of these in the stack. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Magic Heat Reclaimer for Wood, Oil or Coal Stove - 8 in., Model# MH-8-R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

reclaimer

,
November 18, 2010
By wtiger62
from assaria ks
" put in hose 1980 and still going strong took apart and greased one time this is a great product "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.