Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.

Item# 172802
Heat your home safely by keeping system clean. Simply sprinkle two tablespoonfuls of Magic Heat Flue Cleaner on coals or low fire to ensure clean stove, furnace, heat reclaimer, fireplace and chimney maintenance. U.S.A. Compatible With Wood burning stove systems, Capacity lbs. 2, Common Usage Removing creosote, Includes 1 Container of cleaner.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
14 of 17(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Review 1 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says

,
January 9, 2012
By MISSJ1978
from NORTH STONINGTON, CT
"I bought this in lieu of creosote sweeping firebricks. I found that this actually works better than the firebricks did. I sprinkle some on my low fire every Sunday and Wednesday. The inside of my wood stove is clean; the damper doesn't stick like it used to with all the buildup. If my stove is that clean, I'm sure my chimney is in as good, if not better, shape."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flu Cleaner

,
March 15, 2011
By jimbo591
from Social Circle, GA
"Would recommend this to anyone with a wood stove or a fireplace. Use once every 3 days with a hot coals. Keeps the chimney clean and the black oiley substance(creasote) down to a minimum. I tried last year and bought three cans this year. Just sprinkle a spoon full on the hot coals. A lot less work cleaning the chimney. JIMBO591"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

flue cleaner

,
June 1, 2010
By Montanabill
from Belgrade,Mt
"used this product as directed for last season in shop and flue remained clear and clean with no buildup of creosote .have used green wood all winter so product is working well. highly recommend this product for safety in keeping creosote buildup in check neighbor had chimney fire last year and wouldn't want to go through what he did with fire damage from fire."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Creosote Remover

,
May 24, 2010
By FordNAA
from Virginia
"It has an obnoxious odor, so it must be more than just TriSodium Phosphate (TSP). It seems to work only slightly better than TSP, but at twice the price. The key is to have a really HOT fire with good air flow. Regrettably I only have soft and semi-rotted wood to burn, so I am fighting a heavy creosote load."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Flue cleaner

,
March 23, 2009
By SmittySmithsonite73
from MA
"Didn't do much to my chimney, but it is un-lined & covered in flyash from burning coal. I tossed some in the oil-fired furnace & it seemed to clean the pipe from that pretty good. Should work good for wood burners, but still no substitute for getting up on that roof & running a brush down there."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy way to keep it clean

,
April 14, 2008
By Nozzlehead
from Portland, OR
"After purchasing a Magic Heat Reclaimer for my wood stove I wanted to have a way to keep it clean. The Magic Heat Chimney, Flu Pipe and Stove cleaner has drastically reduced the amount of kreosote build-up in my chimney and has meant a time and money savings from having to get my flu cleaned regularly. It also keeps my Reclaimer working at peak efficiency so my home is warm and cozy on a rainy day. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to keep their chimney clean."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic Heat Flue Cleaner

,
January 16, 2008
By Obenhof
from Atlantic Mine, MI
"I've
used Magic Heat Flue Cleaner for several years. It is undoubtedly the
best flue cleaner I ever used. I just followed the directions on the
container and have enjoyed a very clean, free from creosote, flue. When
I inspected my flue, I found only an off-white colored powder . I've
been through several chimney fires in my lifetime and know the terror
created by a roaring chimney fire. The sight of flames and sparks
spewing from my chimney is something I will never forget. I'm just
thankful my roof didn't catch fire. Having been a volunteer
firefighter, I 've seen houses burned to the ground because of a
chimney fire. I can now relax knowing that that can't happen in my flue.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

MAGIC?? Where's the magic at??

,
January 15, 2008
By TODP1
from Dryden, Michigan
"Don't quite know what's in this stuff but it just sets there and I really can't tell ANY difference in my chimney after following the directions to the "T"! I still have to go up on the roof and clean out the chimney with the brush and shovel the soot out of the trap at the bottom... can't really say if there is any more or less... all I know is I still get the same amout of build up and reduced draft. We heat primarily with wood, White Ash and Soft Maple with a bit of dead Elm. ALL CURED FOR at least ONE SEASON. The wood is dry, stored indoors in my barn from season to season as needed pending on the weather. I have a side by side add on solid fuel furnace tied into my main furnace system... you can't beat the comfort of constant wood heat!!
Yes it is labor intensive but that's the joy of it as you get warmed several times from the same piece of wood!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flue Cleaner

,
January 14, 2008
By marvie
from Lyle WA.
"This flue cleaner is a fine granule that is easy to spred on the coals of a fire and reacts within a few minutes to reduce the creosote in the chimney and stovepipe. I will continue to use it regularly and recommend it to all who need to reduce creosote levels. This stuff really works"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

so so

,
January 14, 2008
By mrwizard
from Brandon, VT
"havent really seen a whole lot of difference between using this and using regular rock salt in the fire"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Magic Heat Chimney Cleaner

,
January 14, 2008
By scotts435
from Utah
"I've used this product as directed since installing a new Magic Heat blower. I really can't see that it has done anything with my stove or chimney. I burn mostly pine, juniper and coal. the soot buildup is the same now as before using it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe & Stove Cleaner

,
October 16, 2007
By plank1104
from Altona, NY
"I purchased this product because the manufacturer of the Magic Heat Reclaimer I bought recommended it. I happened to use some of this cleaner before the installation of my heat reclaimer and I was very pleased with how it cleaned the stove and my stainless steel chimney. I was able to avoid calling in a chimney sweep this year which saved me over $50. I am confident that using the cleaner regularly during the winter months will help me to avoid potential fire hazards."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

magic heat chimney,flue pipe & stove cleaner

,
March 9, 2007
By Jabby
from Coaltownship, PA.
"I purchased the magic heat chimney, flue pipe & stove cleaner about a month ago and I am very pleased with the results. I use a wood stove during the winter and the damper on the flue pipe was always getting a creasote buildup thus causing me nothing but problems with the draft. After 2 weeks my damper stared to work like new. The buildup has dissolved and the damper has been trouble free ever since. The draft works like I have a new stove and pipe. I checked the chimney and a lot of the buildup broke loose and fell down to the clean out port. It's not spotless but a noticeable difference. It is very user friendly that even a cave man can do it. I highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic heat

,
March 7, 2007
By cptwayne
from Columbus Ohio
"promptly converted creosole tar into brittle flakes that fell away"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW! what a product!

,
March 7, 2007
By tooltime
from Moyie Springs, Northern Idaho
"Almost a year ago I moved to the great northwest where the only firewoods available are mostly soft woods - pine, larch, and red fir. These woods burn extremely dirty leaving a lot of creosote and soot clogging up my chimney. During my first winter here I've had to clean my chimney and cap almost monthly, not a fun job by any means! I've tried creosote logs with virtually no success and still had to go up on the roof to clean the chimney. As a last resort I bought one bucket of Magic heat chimney cleaner. At first I figured that this would be more of the same as the pressed logs for cleaning creosote.
WAS I EVER WRONG! Since starting to use it I haven't had to go up on the roof for more than three months now! Not only did it clean up the accumulated soot and creosote I already had but it's kept the flue clean allowing me to stay off the roof and in the house where it's warm and cozy.
I love it! - Thanks Northern Tool for another great product!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soot Free

,
March 7, 2007
By UpNorth
from Northern NH
"Using the Magic Cleaner has made an incredible difference in the operation of my wood stove. I have noticed there is less friction in the moving parts, such as my dampers, Heat reclaimer, etc. Taking the time to use this product has paid off!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Magic Heat Chimney, Flue Pipe and Stove Cleaner - 2-Lb.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

IT WORKS

,
March 6, 2007
By Bev64
from WEST VIRGINIA
"tHE PRODUCT WORKS. THE BUILD UP IN THE FLUE IS FLACKS AND REMOVES WHEN YOU RUN A BRUSH THRU THE PIPE.
ALSO WOULD GIVE NORTHER TOOLS A 5 STAR RATING THEIR SERVICE IS EXCELLENT. VERY PROMPT"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.