Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"

"Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"

Item# 172891
"Stove has fully sealed joints to burn wood safely and efficiently, supplying heat into any room. Swing-away top makes refueling easy. Two lift-out lids facilitate fry pan and tea kettle. Slide-out ash plate makes cleaning easy and also acts as draft control. Cool-touch spring handle and lid lifter included. Uses a 6in. flue. This item is not for sale in the states of California, Washington, Oregon, Massachusetts, New Jersey and Colorado. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Clearance from Corner in. 36, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 36, Clearance from Side Wall in. 36, Blower CFM No, Blower Included No, EPA Exempt Yes, BTU Output 96,000, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included No, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 23, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Stove, Full Load Run Time Hours 4-6, Heating Capability sq. ft. 800, Firebox Size W x D in. 12 x 24, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Dimensions W x D x H in. 21 x 32 x 26, Door Opening W x H in. 12 x 7 1/2, Igniter Manual. Ideal for cabins, garages, hunting camps, lodges and more All cast iron construction offers better heat radiation Flue Type Round Cannot be installed in mobile homes"
Average Customer Rating:
4.195 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (41 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
2
37 of 41(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Review 21 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best WoodStove

,
February 22, 2010
By Dixiepp1
from Colorado
"We purchased this woodstove last year and we love it. The price was extremely low. We place a air fan behind it and it blows the heat upstairs. It is easy to clean and load. We are able to keep a pan of water on top of the stove to put humidity in the air while using. If you need something to heat your house then I recommend this woodstove."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product for the price

,
February 22, 2010
By bentloser
from Rydal, Ga.
"This is a great product for a great price.I use this heater to heat my basement
which is 1400 square feet, keeps rest of house comfortable from that location. I also have a Magic Heat Reclaimer, a must have for wood heater,
also bought from Northern Tool.
Cons: Full load of wood does burn up within a couple of hours if flue is not closed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

vogelzang verks veddy goodzz !!

,
November 3, 2009
By fussyone1
from Manchester N.H
"I purchased this stove for a 14'x20' man room I built on the back of my property. I like to be able to go out there on cold winter weekends to watch football games etc. This stove replaces an old potbelly stove that I used for a few years now. The vogelzand stove takes up to a 23" log and burns cleanly and effeciently,and even though the room is not insulated it warms up the area fast , to a comfortable temperature,and now I"m burning much less wood because of it"s airtight features. And following a tip from a review I read before buying this stove I bought the grate for the stove( which I purchased from Northern Tool )and this allows for a much quicker more effecient fire. This stove works very well for my outside room and I think it would also work well in any camp , shed or working garage.So far I"m very pleased with my decision to purchase a Vogelzang wood stove...!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good stove

,
November 2, 2009
By NTGLM
from Baja Ca Mexico
"I have a house in Baja, on the beach. In the winter the out side tempters. Get into the 30’s I have hade the stove for about 5 years. The stove keeps my house toasty worm. I would recommend it to any one fore this use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Little Stove

,
November 2, 2009
By dewitte
from Chesapeake, Virginia
"I'm very happy with this awesome wood stove. I bought one for my garage last year kind of as a whim and after getting it up and running it really made working out there a lot more fun during the winter months. We keep an old tea pot on it full of water just in case we want some hot chocolate and we even made a few packages of Jiffy Pop popcorn with it. It heats up the two car garage without any difficulty. The price is perfect for the value received."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the price

,
October 17, 2009
By DFuller
"I uesd this stove to heat a mobile home. 12x60, My only heat source, and it did great!! The top eyes is really a waste, unless cooking, but u must have a hot fire going to use them, but the removeable top comes in handy, but I have to say this stove has save our life during this weather.. Our heatin system went down, and went with this product, and I am so happy with it.. Yeah its small which means u gotta keep reloading it, but it does burn the wood slow, with alot of heat output... I also used a fan behide it which heated the entire home.. I would recommend this to anyone with a small budget.. What really came in handy was when the power was off for 5 days, not only did we stay very warm we also got to cook too!! This is a Great stove!!!!"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

You get what you pay for

,
September 25, 2009
By woody6
from NE Ohio
"Bought a new one in October of 2008 and used it all winter. For the money, it is a decent stove but it does have its drawbacks. Don't even think about letting this stove go for more than 3-5 hours because it will be down to coals by that time and you will have to use kindling to get it going again. Forget about the paint staying on it after you get it hot a few times. Draft on this stove is tricky to control due to the design of the ash tray in front. You will spend a little time getting used to its quirks. Also, it is very leaky because of the way the top of it is built (pot holders built into the top, the entire top piece is not part of the main body, just sits there). If you build a VERY hot fire with small pieces, the sides of this thing will glow red hot and you better watch your chimney for glowing and listen to it close (you could start a chimney fire in it if you don't pay very close attention). I used a fan on it and blew air across it from the back side. This helped distribute the heat a lot better. Small stove = small heat. If your house is more than 800-900 square feet, consider saving up a couple of extra bucks and getting a larger more efficient stove. You won't regret it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shop heated

,
November 19, 2008
By littled
from Lottie, LA
"Bought this heater for my dad to put in the shop. I thought it might be small while putting it together but, after we fired it up it was just right. Buyers, don't forget to get the grating that goes in the bottom, this helps with burning. I would buy another one if i needed one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast Iron Stove

,
November 18, 2008
By Flick
from Southern Indiana
"The stove works great in the garage. Takes up little room, and comfort level in winter is definitely a plus. Highly recommended."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Burning Stoves

,
November 18, 2008
By njfarmerjoe
from Farmingdale NJ
"This is a great product for a great price. easy to handle, clean and use,I would use this heater over gas or oil any day."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good stove for the money

,
August 18, 2008
By BMurph
"I use this stove to heat a 900 square foot block garage. I does a really good job. The only complaint I have is that the paint on the stove has turned gray in some areas from getting too hot. Other than that I am happy with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove

,
January 21, 2008
By terrapinjim
from Tionesta, PA
"This is a great stove, especially for the money. We have it in our seasonal cabin, about 700 sq. ft. and it warms the place up no problem. Don't expect it to burn all night though. It needs to be re-stocked after a few hours."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy Lil Heater

,
January 21, 2008
By FarmerMike75
from South East, Louisiana
"Love the stove first for the rustic look that hearkens back to yesteryear here on the farm, works great, easy to assemble out of the box, fires start quickly and easily. Unit gets quickly up to heat, and is easy on the wood supply. Would not hesitate to recommend to all for small heating jobs, and is a great back up as a stove when you loose power."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Drafty, leaky

,
October 30, 2007
By Tido
from New Hampshire
"This stove has a lot of leaks, and as a result is impossible to regulate. Even with drafts fully closed. Joint compound fell out very shortly after arrival, contributing to leakiness. OK for heating a small space for a short time, as it needs to be fed almost constantly. Although I still use it and probably will for another season, I would not buy again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Consider spending a few dollars more...

,
October 29, 2007
By UncleReggie
from Hornell, NY
"A strictly average stove suitable for warming a small space. Easy to assemble and set up - the chimney is another matter if you don't already have one.
Drawbacks: Limited heating ability. Most of the joint/seam sealing compound fell out after only a couple of months of use. As advertised, the top slides to the side for ease of loading. However, the tab on the pivot post intended to keep the lid from falling off is too small and wears off almost immediately. The result: When you slide the top to the side to load the stove, it falls off when you let go of it. This is a big pain a best, and down right dangerous if you have a fire going.
As my title indicates, spend a few dollars more. You won't regret it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Little Heater for Big Spaces

,
October 29, 2007
By Coachbro
from IL
"The Cast Iron Box Stove by Vogelzang is very well built. I use it to heat a 600 square foot garage in the winter months. It is enough, but it is at its limit if it gets very cold outside for a building this size. The only complaint was a nasty odor when I had it burning full tilt for an extended time last winter. I think it was the "heat resistant" paint on it actually vaporizing. However, it did not cause any rust during the spring and summer months"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best of the best

,
October 4, 2007
By JohninTexas
from Grand Saline ,Tx.
"I use this stove to heat the whole house in texas.Buy it you'll see.
I use a box fan with a fan speed reiastat.on it to slow down the air movement...
John M.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

You get what you pay for

,
September 13, 2007
By RobH
from Poconos, PA
"Simply put, it's a hundred dollar stove. My primary heat source was oil when I first bought it, but this thing save our lives during a week long power outage in the dead of winter.
That said, you MUST feed it every hour, every hour and a half at the most. If you let it go two or more you probably need to restart it. Also, after 2 years of hard use--last year wood was my primary heat source--the sidewall has separated from the base.
A hundred dollars was all I could afford to spend at the time, and this thing served us well for what we paid.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm Winter

,
March 6, 2007
By Byudave
from Houston,Texas
"My 96,000 BTU Boxwood stove arrive with minor damage, but a little hi-temp putty solved the problem. Winters in South Texas are usually mild, but typical electrical bills run $200 to $325 a month, the highest being Jan. To Feb. Using free oak beams from a pallet recycle company the Boxwood stove (vented to the fireplace chimney) kept us cozy warm with minimal effort. We have not used our furnace since we installed the stove and our highest electrical bill was $141.88! That pays for the stove, and next month's bill will pay for the shipping. Am I pleased? Like a cat at a leaky dairy !!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Vogelzang 96,000 BTU Cast Iron Boxwood Stove, Model# BX26E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best in size

,
December 14, 2006
By JoeH
from Knightdale, N.C.
"From someone that has been heating with wood for many years, this is one of the best burning and most economical stoves I've used. Lights up fast and gets warm very quickly; needs little tending and can be dampened all the way down without back-smoking to provide maximum heating. Couldn't get a better stove for this price !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.