Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL

Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL

Item# 172892
This cast iron potbelly stove is reminiscent of the potbelly stoves seen in train stations of yesteryear. This stove burns either wood or coal, warming a good-sized room and heating a fry pan fast This stoves large firepot with shaker grate allows 40 lbs. of coal to burn for up to 8 hours on a single firing. Large flare top with 8in. lift-out lid accepts fry pan or tea kettle. Separate ash door with slide draft regulates fire. Large ash pan for easy ash removal, lid lifter and cool-touch spring handle included. 8in. x 10in. feed-door with spin draft. This item is not for sale in California, Washington and Oregon. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Blower Included No, Clearance from Side Wall in. 36, Dimensions W x D x H in. 20 x 22 x 34, Door Opening W x H in. 8 x 10, Clearance from Corner in. 36, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 36, Fuel Type Wood/coal, Full Load Run Time Hours Up to 8, Heat Settings 1, EPA Exempt Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 20 x 10, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Stove, Stove Pipe Included No, Igniter Manual, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 14, Thermostat Included No, BTU Output 65,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,200. Ideal for garages, hunting camps, lodges and more All cast iron construction offers better heat radiation 40 lbs. firepot capacity Flue Type Round Stove pipe not included Cannot be installed in mobile homes
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (26 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
25 of 26(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Review 1 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Consistent with Reviews

,
February 5, 2014
By jdcurtis
from St Paul, MN
"I bought this for a 12'x20' steel pole shed (12' peak). It comes in a small crate and disasembled. Transport was easy in the back of my PU and so was assembly and installation. The stove is very lightly made so lacks the mass to really radiate out heat and it is difficult to damp down- so much of the heat does get lost through the chimney I believe. I think a heat reclaimer is a must for this unit to maximize efficient use of the heat generated. On the other hand draft is great so lighting a fire is never an issue. The shed is not insulated and the stove cannot heat the area during this super cold winter we are having. However it does manage to heat the room up enough where I can work on my tractor but the heavy coat doesn't come off. Will not accept a full length log but I cut and split to normal dimensions than stack a bunch up against a couple of stakes than run the chainsaw down the middle and cut'em in half. I stuff the belly full of these half logs and the stove cranks out heat. It is cheaply made and as many have said, you get what you pay for. My review may seem negative but aside from its limitations, for me, this looks great, works well, i enjoy having it and I feel it was worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little stove

,
February 4, 2014
By Scaasi
from TX
"As attractive as it is functional.
I would recommend Vogelzang to anyone looking for an affordable wood stove.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Be sure this size is appropriate for your needs.

,
October 28, 2013
By Robie1949
from Tennessee
"If you are using coal, then this heater will be great. If your using wood for heating source, you will have to use very short pieces of wood.
Be sure and check the specifications carefully as it probably will not handle very long or wide pieces of wood. Other than the height, it probably be a good heating stove.
Robbie in Tn."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect for my needs

,
October 21, 2013
By Ncmtns
from North Carolina
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Nice little stove, heats well. Not perfect quality but at a good price point. Easy to set up."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

short burn

,
January 16, 2012
By mackk
from eastern pa.
"An attractive looking item but will not hold a fire for 8 hours as advertised, average is about 3 hours. Have tried different types of coal from different sources nothing seems to help the short burn time. The 200,000 btu rating is probably accurate but only over a short time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
23out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great cheap stove

,
October 25, 2011
By logcabinguy
from Burnham, Me
"Great stove for the price, but don't expect top quality. Works well in my 1K sqft cabin. Smokes alot on first couple of fires, even though they were small and low temp. The packing was poor. The shipping crate was cheaply made and broken. I was suprised that all of the parts arrived and only the main door had some shipping damage. The setup and install was easy and the directions were easy to understand. For what I paid it was what I expected."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Stove

,
October 17, 2011
By tomcobob
from Snellville GA.
"This is one great stove. Burns good and looks good.
Brings back some good old memories. Good advise to burn a little cooler the first 3 or 4 burns. Our store had new ones on back order but had one from last season. Gave me a great deal and I couldn't be happier with my purchase. As usual Northern is a great place for quality and fair pricing.
Thanks Northern
Tomco Bob
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great stove

,
December 27, 2010
By drdiode
from North Dakota
"I bought this stove to heat my 1200 sq/ft shop. It does a great job even when the outside temp is well below zero. The shaker grate and ash door are nice features and one of the main reasons I chose this model as it allows for continuous burning. Also, the unit has a small footprint which is a benefit as well - it takes up less floor space than other stoves. Fully loaded with wood it will give about a 4 hour burn. The stove is not airtight so a longer burn would require banking the fire as another reviewer mentioned. Generally I load smaller amounts of fuel more often as this helps to conserve my wood. When fully loaded it puts out way more heat than needed to keep the space warm. Overall I am very satisfied with my purchase and expect to get many years of use from it. Furthermore, the stove has a looks great. Be sure to fire it at a low heat initially so as to properly cure the paint. Otherwise the fire pot will turn white. Also it is a good idea to invest in a stovepipe thermometer as this is the best way to insure a proper burn."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+33points
35out of 37found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little stove

,
November 24, 2010
By laron
from Lithonia, Georgia
"Stove is very good source of heat and take up little space. Try it you will definitely agree. The heat is in my opion soothing to the soul."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm finally Warm

,
November 16, 2010
By Randar
from Knoxville, TN
"I love this little stove. For years now all I've had is one small heater for the whole house. Winters got pretty bad. I decided to order this stove and it has been wonderful. I've never had a wood stove before and it was easy for me to learn how to build a fire in this one. It drafts very good and I never have smoke come out into the house. It only takes a short time and my 3 rooms are very comfortable. If you have a small space to heat, I recommend this stove."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stove

,
October 4, 2010
By AntonB
from Lake Carey, PA
"This is a great stove. Easy to set up, just put the legs on and attach pipe. Puts out some great heat with a small amount of wood. It's not designed or meant to be an airtight stove, so if you're used to the way an airtight stove burns, this will take a little getting used to. The only negative thing I can say is watch out when you first fire it up! It will smoke and REALLY stink as the factory coating cures!! Be sure to open all windows and doors for the first burn!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what he needed

,
August 30, 2010
By Pwatson17
from Texas
"I purchased this for my husband because he has always wanted a pot belly stove. We put it in the barn, where he always does woodworking, and this stove will keep the entire barn warm, even when the temperature gets down to the 30's outside. We vented it trhough the side of the barn."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

coal burning

,
March 4, 2010
By gtcoalman
from northern vermont
"I decided to try coal after burnig wood for 5 years. Reason being that coal has the highest btu (heat) output pound for pound than any other fuel. You can always get coal, wood supplies are spotty. The Vogul 65xl is reasonably priced and easy to use. But it's not air tight and it does exactly what it's designed for. It burns the fuel quick and real hot. So it requires a lot of tending. That's not a bad thing but that's what you should expect. It's meant for a large area and a constant supply of fuel. As with most coal shackers you can burn wood also or mix wood and coal. Overall a good value for the money and then some."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One hot deal

,
February 22, 2010
By john51
from Waukegan Illinois
"Stove was very easy to set up. I did cure the stove outside to avoid the smoke and smell inside. Hooks up easy and puts out a good deal of heat with little amount of wood. Its compact shape takes up less room space when installed with a heat shield. Id recommend it for any use home or shop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"HISTORY" Lesson !

,
February 22, 2010
By Dennis63
from Lake Seminole Georgia
"Writing a "Review" on a Re:View. My house built on Lake Seminole in 1971 Georgia, Never had a heating unit.. But "I" can understand WHY . Some of the old ways are returning today. My home is small and living on a fixed income the potbelly stove is perfect for my living room. I am also a Civil War
and History buff and "I" can see why, the old railroads used this stove in it's caboose on it's trains. The picture of Item # 172892 and how it works was a great-ole reference to my buying this Item. I know that at 66yrs chating and with Friends visiting it will be the talk of the Lake Seminole area. What
a piece of "HISTORY" Thanks "NORTHERN" !
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love it !!!!

,
February 17, 2010
By Juliegirl
from Omaha, Ne
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We purchased this stove through my fathers catalog. We installed it this past fall just in time for all the snow. It is a wonderful and very warm addition to our home. We removed the wall between our kitchen and livingroom and put the stove in the middle. It is efficient, not messy, one log at a time keeps our home about 75 degrees even when it is below zero outside. We also purchased the Dura-Plus chiminey and that gives me the reasurance that it is all of good quality and safe. I can't say it enough,
It just makes me happy!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
17out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Potbelly Stove

,
November 2, 2009
By JIMSOFPA
from Chester Springs, PA
"I have used one of these stoves in my garage for several years. I burn Nut coal in it. It burns 24 hours a day with no problems. I would definitely recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pot belly stove

,
October 25, 2008
By reconbob
from Just outside Phila PA
"I bought one of these stoves to help with heating my machine shop. I have a rear warehouse area approx 700 sq. ft. where I put the stove separated by a doorway from the main shop approx 1800 sq. ft. I am in PA so I can get and burn anthracite coal. This stove, one it gets going heats the entire shop. We put a fan in the doorway to blow the warm air from the warehouse into the main area. The warehouse would be over 90 deg, the main shop 70-74 deg even on the coldest days. We leave the oil heat at 65 deg and it doesn't go on as long as we keep the stove going.
I will say you have to constanly fuss with this stove. You have to keep shaking the ashes down out of the coal and I have never been able to get it to burn longer than 5 hours without attention. But boy does it put out the heat. If you do not control the draft the belly of the stove will turn red hot. In the middle of winter we burn maybe 80 lbs of coal in 10-12 hours. The ashes are a pain in the neck and need to be cleaned out at least once a day. We have burned the heck out of this stove for two years now and the paint is mostly grey, but otherwise its as good as new - there's not a whole lot to go wrong.
Burning coal is a little bit of an art, but you will develop your own technique. You have to get a serious wood fire going to get your coal going. Anyway, this stove has already saved me at least $1500 in fuel oil costs in one season and will save me even more this year (written Oct 2008).
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job

,
July 1, 2008
By lisa5
from Colchester , NY
"Heats a 850 Sq Ft log cabin in well below zero temp. Once the stove gets going it really throws out a lot of heat . Great for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vogelzang 65,000 BTU Cast Iron Pot Belly Stove, Model# PB65XL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large Gifts Come In Small Packages

,
May 14, 2008
By handyman303
from Mansfield, OH
"This little, but mighty beast is quite a little stove. I have built a tin covering around the firepot (the firebox) and installed a furnace blower up to the tin work. By doing this I have increased the heating value of this stove. I heat my 30 by 60 garage with in being ducted like so. I would definately recommend this to anybody, but make a tin covering and duct it for more even heat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.