Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008

Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008

Item# 172903
The Durango by Vogelzang is a no-nonsense, hard-working plate steel heating unit designed specifically to produce a hotter fire for longer periods of time with exceptionally low emissions. Higher levels of performance come from Turbo Burn technology which delivers air through cross-drilled reburn tubes in the top of the airtight firebox, resulting in more complete combustion. This produces a hotter fire while extending the burn time up to 12 hours Fan circulates warm air throughout room. Meets stringent emission performance standards for the state of Washington. Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 100, BTU Output 73,790, Clearance from Corner in. 13, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 11, Blower CFM 100, Blower Included Yes, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included No, UL UL approved, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Stove, Heat Settings 1, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,500, Igniter Manual, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 26, Fuel Type Wood, Full Load Run Time Hours 12, Door Opening W x H in. 12 x 9, EPA Certified Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 13 1/2 x 27, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Clearance from Side Wall in. 22, Dimensions W x D x H in. 17 1/2 x 34 x 26. Heavy-gauge 3/16in. steel plate stove Turbo Burn technology Produces a hotter fire for longer periods of time with extremely low emissions Delivers secondary air to top of firebox for more complete combustion Large 2.2 cu. ft. brick-lined firebox Cast iron gasketed feed door Over 75 efficient Safety tested to UL standard 1482 Not for installation in mobile or manufactured homes
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (53 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
6
40 of 53(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Review 1 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Defective part

,
November 14, 2013
By 153624
from AL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I can't say enough good things, about Northern tool. The people were great and the delivery fast. The Vogelzang support, not so great. After the second burn. I noticed that the # 8 air pipe had fallen from the right port and was resting on top of the fire brick. The pipe was either cut too short on the right end, or the fastener hole on the left end of the pipe was drilled, too far from the left end. It looked like, to get by and make it work, the fastener tab that was supposed to go in the hole in the air pipe, was cut off and used to wedge the pipe , so that the pipe was just supported in the right port. I sent a description and photos, to support and never got a reply. I called and was transferred twice and got an unattended phone. I left my name and number and never got a call back."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Will not heat home for very long

,
March 12, 2013
By bmike
from mississippi
"It's true stove may burn for 4 to 6 hours , NOT 12 as advertised.It can get hot for several hours if you stoke it . At night those so called btu's seem to disappear because you have to choke air down so much to try for long burn time. Maybe 10 to 20 000 btu's. Have a 900 square foot home and will not heat it. Don't waste your money on this stove."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
10out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Stove

,
January 25, 2013
By rubthewood
from Mystic, CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Purchased this stove about two years ago and absolutely
love it. The stove is very efficient easy to start. I have a 1200 sq. ft. ranch, I have the stove in the basement and it keeps the house warm even in these cold January days. I turn it down over night and in the morning the coals are still burning in the back so I move them to the front and throw a couple logs in and turn it up it's that simple.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duango wood stove

,
November 5, 2012
By sgmhorne
from Cameron, NC
"I have used wood stoves since 1983. This stove really heats well and uses a modest amount of wood. After 8 or 9 hours of all night burning I just add a couple more logs and the stove fires right up. Very easy to use and adjust. The blower is a bit noisy but blows warm air well. I also placed a small fan behind it to ditribute more warm air into other rooms. Very good stove at a resonable price. It may not be the prettiest, but I bet it heats the best."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
14out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogalzang Durango tr008

,
October 8, 2012
By slyck
from Alanson.Mi
"I have had 2 wood sstoves prior to this beauty.. none of them burn the claimed time they were rated. The Durango came in just 3 days, via common carrier, and was packed properly, excellent job there, and delivered with professional driver. Northern tools were kind expecient, and very helpful with this purchase. I would buy from them again, they are very reputable, and are caring, and do a wonderful job. Thank you Northern Tool Company, for your honesty, and your fine customer service. I will have a nice warm home this winter... thanks again!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy Heating In Ohio

,
April 28, 2012
By murdoch
from Pataskala, OH
"We wrote a review back in Nov. or Oct for our durango, when we first got our stove now our first heating season is almost over. We are very delighted to be heating with this stove we even warmed food. "if the electric went out" It heats our home which is about 1300sq ft very well we had a high in our home 80 to a low 74. Just maintain it and it will last for quite some time. We can wait for winter, but when it comes we'll be ready to heat our home agin for years to come.....
Very happy heating in Ohio"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogelzang Durango Wood-Burning Stove Model#TROO8

,
March 6, 2012
By Nughunt
from Indianapolis,IN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This stove is what you want to have when the weather outside is below 32 to 0. I have heated with wood for 32 years and have only used a stove that my brother in law built ,he was a welder. The durango is not as big as my home made one ,but it will keep a well insulated room toasty. I had to build a cardboard screan to keep the direct heat off my body. the weather here in Indianapolis was mild this year ,but when it needed to be warm I was warm."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Stove........Wrong BTU'S

,
February 21, 2012
By Herba4
from Dixfield, Maine
"Our main reason for purchasing this stove was to heat our basement and the seventy sum odd thousand BTU that were described in the listing was incorrect, in fact it is still listed incorrectly as I write this review. This stove actually only puts out 37,000 or so BTU, so if your looking for this stove because it is rated higher than others in it's price range, your in for a rude awakening.
The stainless secondary air tubes make a lot of noise when the stove is getting up to temp or cooling down.......it's the "TING TING TING," thing.
I don't believe they put any gasket or buffer material isolating the tube assembly from the stove.......and since we are talking two different materials they expand and contract at two different rates, henceforth the noise. The noise has one advantage, in that you can tell when the stove is heating up or cooling down without actually looking at it............that's my "glass is half full" take on that. In our basement the noise isn't a big issue, but if you are installing this in your house.........you may want to consider how tolerable this would be while trying to sleep or watch the tube.
Now for the good news.............it's a decent stove!
You need a good chimney and they list the preferred specs in the owners manual, which you should look at prior to purchasing to make sure that this really fits your needs.
It's a wood miser in that once you get her up to temp, she takes just a couple of sticks every 4 or 5 hours to keep her there.
When you put the wood in stack it on each side and leave the middle open so that air can get to the rear of the stove to burn that material also, otherwise you will find that the stove will heat up and cool down sooner than expected and leave a lot of charred remnants that didn't quite burned completely.............of course, raking everything from the rear and bringing it completely forward to put right under the draft flow will solve the problem also.
I would give the stove a higher rating, but it was not what was advertised and that kinda irks me."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the wood burner

,
January 16, 2012
By klf62
from west plains missouri
"this stove is the best stove i have ever had i dont use half the wood i used to it just great
the only thing that i found wrong is that i had to buy a grate for the stove
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogelzang Durango

,
January 9, 2012
By pgewbco
from PHILADELPHIA,PA
"Excellent Stove. Good Heat burns wood longer. Fan to ciculate heat.
Fan is a little noisey
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good stove

,
January 9, 2012
By Peridot
from Florida
"I have this stove in one of my fireplaces and it heats and holds the heat very well. As others have stated, the tubes in the top in theory are a good idea, but I can't wait for them to fall out as for my purposes they are just taking up room, they probably do heat the stove up faster, but I would rather pack it with wood instead.
The damper does help you get a long slow burn on the wood, I only have seasoned wood, so that is a big plus for me; it even had hot coals still in it 3-4 days after I stopped using it-so it really does hold heat.
In any cold start-up situation-stove or fireplace, you need to start a small fire to push the heavy cold air and vent the hot air; I just learned this from my a/c guy who I had install it. I light a small fire in the back and wait for it to really get going then load up after that and have not as of yet had it burn out.
Last year at this time I went through at least a cord of wood, I collected wood all summer and it is very dry and I have barely put a dent in it-so this is just what I was looking for.
The fan is noisy, however it does seem to blow warm air out from in back of the fireplace, so when it is really cold, I do turn it on. I have it plugged into a power strip as I am unable to get to the switch.
BTW: It DOES get cold in Central Florida-last year in the 20s, this year low 30s and January is not over...."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Take out that wool mat before you fire it up!!!!

,
December 25, 2011
By tvralr
from Hiawassee, GA.
"I'm not a big believer in modifying things like wood stoves. I read the other reviews telling us to take the wool mat out and others saying it seemed to work fine.
My stove smoked very badly when I hooked it up...To the point of not being able to use it. I loosened the tubes at the top moved the ceramic tile and found the wool mat was bunched up in the center completly blocking the draft and flow. I removed it and the stove works GREAT!!!
We live in the mountains of N.E. Georgia. The coldest it has been so far was 19 and the stove heated 1,000 sq feet with no problem, chocked all the way down. 10 hour burn time is routinely hit with well seasoned hard wood.
The blower is a bit loud but we run it at a low speed so it's not bad.
I would highly recommend this stove to anyone. It's 30 degrees outside and here we sit barefoot with short sleeves on and the stove chocked about 1/2 way.
This was our first DIY wood stove and lucked out as we ended up with no bends in the stove pipe or chimney pipe.
Tom
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stove

,
December 23, 2011
By WoodHeatRocks
from Petersburg, VA
"It looks like they made some improvements. The ceramic blanket mentioned in other posts on the inside is now bolted down so that it doesn't blow flow.
I love this wood stove. I am heating my 3000 sq ft house with it and so far it is doing a much better job than my heat pump ever did. For the first time in a decade I am cozy in my house during the cold nights.
The blower that came with the stove made a lot fo noise. Vogelzang quickly replaced it. No questions asked.
I am very happy with this purchase and would recommend to anyone interested in a good freestanding stove!
Also recommend that you check out the "Magic Heat" to get even more heat out of your stove."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Stove

,
October 23, 2011
By BRNSMS
from North Carolina
"Awesome stove, but make sure you have a proper draft, if not you will have to buy an auto draft fan."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Little Stove

,
September 3, 2011
By rcriss9224
from Hawesville,Ky
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I installed this stove in a 12x16 addition I built on the back of my moble home. My flue in a prefab through the ceiling kit that goes straight up off the stove ,through the roof and about 2 1/2 feet above the peak of the roof. This setup seems to give me a great draft so I am not getting the smoke that some of the others are talking about. Also I have seen that some people are saying that the insulation blanket is causing draft problems. I did have to slide mine back into the proper position when I first installed the stove because it was sticking out past the front of ceramic board and partly blocking the draft opening in the front. This cured all my draft and smoke problems. I think that the insulation blanket and ceramic board is important because this stove is designed to keep the fire box hot enough to burn all the wood gas that is given off before it gets to the flue. I have looked through the window on the front and I can see the flames burning at the reburn tubes when it is good and hot. I have also noticed that my flue is staying very clean. I used it all last winter in northern Kentucky and I cut my electric and gas bills in half. It will hold a fire for 10 to 12 hours if you close the draft control but it doesn't put out nearly as much heat this way. We had to play with the draft control for a while to figure out where the sweet spot was for the best overnight burn. I was burning seasoned hard wood and this stove will get the top cherry red if you load it full and leave the draft wide open so you have to keep an eye on it. Over all I think it is a great stove. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating is their is a couple of things I think it needs. The fire box is long but it is not very tall or wide. You cant get a lot of wood in it unless it is split up pretty small. I also wish it had an ash pan. Cleaning it out every week gets some dirt in the house no matter how careful you are. Also I have been around wood stoves for 40 years and I love a stove with a thremostat control on the draft. That way all you do is set the thremostat and throw wood in whenever it needs some. This stove is a little tricky getting the draft set to a constant temp output. It seems better to put a little wood in at a time with the draft open and control it that way, but this requires a lot of trips to the stove in a day. We have discussed getting a wonderwood stove so we would have a ash pan and a thermostat but we feel that this stove has used a lot less wood than we expected and it has always held enough coals to quickly get it back up to good heat output in the mornings so we think we are keeping it for the long haul."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Durango Wood Burning Stove

,
June 13, 2011
By cjab
from Mayfield, NY
"I do not recommend this stove. The room we have it in cannot even get to 70 degrees on a warm day. This stove should heat our whole house and does not cut it. We are pulling it out and replacing it after only 2 winters. I get more heat out of our fireplace insert! We paid almost $800 for this stove, it is definately not worth the money! Keep shopping!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wood Burner

,
March 24, 2011
By twbuild
from Berkley. Mi
"This stove does not perform as advertised. I have been burning wood for 20 years & this stove is the worst. It will only burn for 10 hours if it is dampered all the way down, which means that there is no heat output. I have tried to use this stove for 2 years now it will keep my 750sf home warm if the outside temp is 45. but I still need to run the furnace if is colder than that. I still have my old stove & will put it back in for next year. The reason I got a new stove was I wanted something that was airtight & used less wood. It certianly uses less wood but it is at the expense of heat output. This stove would be great for a 500sf. house but anything larger it can't handle full time. We try to keep our house at 66 degrees this stove just does not live up to it's claims."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stove

,
March 17, 2011
By stoveowner
from front royal, va
"TAKE OUT THE WHITE INSULATION BLANKET through the flue hole when you install this stove. It (blanket) blocks flue gas flow and severely affects the draw. This was causing the stove to smoke. It was unusable with that blanket in place. I remember another commenter mentioning this in their review before I bought the stove (i.e. problems with blanket) and they were exactly right.
As far as stove performance, it takes about 2 hours to get the stove up to operating temperature, but once you do, it's a very good stove. Kicks out decent heat, nice little window to check on the flame, big flat top we used to heat up cinammon rolls, and holds really long logs. Once all the wood I have that is 18" is burned up, I'll cut the next stack longer to fit this stove.
For the money, and if you don't care about watching the flame, you can't go wrong with this stove at the listed price.
One item people shoud be aware of is that this stove will stick out in the room much longer than many other stoves. We mounted ours sideways against the wall."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
23out of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nick of Time

,
March 14, 2011
By WBJoe1
"A week before the natural gas outage in northern New Mexico I installed this Durango model stove -- just in the nick of time. I had researched it carefully and it appeared to be a good bet to provide heat to my country home and enable my move away from natural gas. I've been burning wood for heat most of my life and the Durango actually exceeded my expectations. For the price you cannot beat the cost-effectiveness and efficiency of this modest sized stove. It easily heated the 800 square foot room where it was installed, even on the coldest day of the year at 14 degrees below zero. Because it is a compact stove you need to be mindful of feeding it wood so that you keep from banging on the recycling heating tubes at the top of the cavity. Other than that I would recommend this stove without qualification."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

!!!Great little stove!!!

,
February 23, 2011
By St1cky
from Northern Virginia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Great little stove, it works well and couldnt be easier to light up. Im running stove pipe right up the chimney, all the way up. heats the downstairs great (2360 sqft) all I need now is a doorway fan at the bottom of the stairs to get some of this heat upstairs. I didnt install the fan that goes on the back because I have this stove sitting in my fireplace and there isnt enough room for the fan."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.