Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008

Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008

Item# 172903
The Durango by Vogelzang is a no-nonsense, hard-working plate steel heating unit designed specifically to produce a hotter fire for longer periods of time with exceptionally low emissions. Higher levels of performance come from Turbo Burn technology which delivers air through cross-drilled reburn tubes in the top of the airtight firebox, resulting in more complete combustion. This produces a hotter fire while extending the burn time up to 12 hours Fan circulates warm air throughout room. Meets stringent emission performance standards for the state of Washington. Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 100, BTU Output 73,790, Clearance from Corner in. 13, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 11, Blower CFM 100, Blower Included Yes, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included No, UL UL approved, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Stove, Heat Settings 1, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,500, Igniter Manual, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 26, Fuel Type Wood, Full Load Run Time Hours 12, Door Opening W x H in. 12 x 9, EPA Certified Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 13 1/2 x 27, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Clearance from Side Wall in. 22, Dimensions W x D x H in. 17 1/2 x 34 x 26. Heavy-gauge 3/16in. steel plate stove Turbo Burn technology Produces a hotter fire for longer periods of time with extremely low emissions Delivers secondary air to top of firebox for more complete combustion Large 2.2 cu. ft. brick-lined firebox Cast iron gasketed feed door Over 75 efficient Safety tested to UL standard 1482 Not for installation in mobile or manufactured homes
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (53 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
6
40 of 53(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Review 21 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stove for close to the wall

,
January 14, 2011
By Loweralabama
from Alabama
"I have a 2 floor 2200 sq ft home. I have a heat pump but if the temp is below 32 the coils kick on and run my power bill up. I installed the stove on the first floor(heat rises) and on 4 logs of hard wood it heats the house to 65-69. The room the stove is located in is 80. 1 full load of wood will burn for 4-5 hrs. I stock the stove at 8pm and the heat pump comes on at 1 am-3am. The only down side is getting the wood and spliting the wood. Its the 2ed year and I still love it"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great stove

,
December 5, 2010
By mobiltoy
"we have used this stove for one entire season in mid missouri and now into dec. this stove is attached to a masonary flu and located in our basement. we do have a large open stairwell opening into the main living area upstairs. our home is newer and well insulated. with seasoned wood it has kept our 1500 sq ft basement and 1500 sq ft upstairs a comfortable temp. with outside temps in the 20 or 30s it will stay in the low 70s in the home. i did have to remove the insulation pad as it became clogged up with ash and when loading the stove a couple of the air tubes have fallen out. it seems to burn better without the insulation pad and i will try to place the tubes back in as i think they do complete the burn better. i get about 8 to 10 hours of burn time overnight with a full load and running the stove about 1/3 open. 12 hour burn time is possible but i am heating a large space. as far as trouble with drafting and lighting others have reported i believe these issues are with the flu and not the stove. we have had no issues with smoke in the home. most visitors cannot tell we heat with wood. overall for the price we are very satisfied."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best woodstove ever!

,
November 17, 2010
By organics
from Maine
"I just purchased the Durango woodstove for my work shop. Any one out there who has a cold and drafty barn will love this stove! It heats my 1500 sq.ft. work shop easily. I would recommend this wood stove to all my friends."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Stove

,
November 9, 2010
By AwesomeAl
from Ozarks
"I had this stove installed along with a new chimney. It works excellent as advertised. Heats my 28 x 40 work shop very well. Throttles down at night for a 12 hour burn. Open it up and it generates some serious heat. Would like to get a heat scavenger for the chimney to output more heat per lb of wood.
Very happy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY

,
October 23, 2010
By Anonymous
"this is the worst wood burner i have ever saw. this wood burner wood not heat a 500 sq ft basement. do your self a favor DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY"
-10points
4out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fix Your Chimney

,
March 2, 2010
By ffstan
from Fairbanks Alaska
"I was worried after reading some of the negative reviews but went ahead and order a Durango. Install went well but it is heavy. Would be nice to ship in two boxes with fire bricks separate. People that have smoke problems and hard to start problems have bad chimneys or wet wood. The stove works great! Are there bends in the chimney (bends slow the air)? Is it one that go out through a wall and up the outside (cold chimneys tend to back draft)? Are there things running that put the house in negative pressure like vent fans and furnaces (negative house pressure pulls air down the chimney)? Has the chimney been cleaned? Is the outside temperature "warm" (the draft increases at colder outside temperatures)?
I put a stack robber (Magic Heat) on and did not install the fan that came with the stove. Blowing air across the coolest side of the stove, the rear, does not seem very productive. Magic heat is rather noisy but really cranks out the heat.
Be ready to open all windows when you first fire the stove. Or better yet fire it up outside to cure the paint. Would be nice to pre-cure the paint.
A nice feature is the shape. I designed my house around a barrel stove and all the other stoves on the market would have required bends in the connector pipe. The Durango is the perfect replacement for a barrel stove. I am tempted to remove the fire bricks as I miss the massive fire box a barrel stove provides. But the Durango is so much more efficient that smaller charges of wood might be just fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durango Stove

,
February 8, 2010
By gcbo
from West Gardiner, Maine
"This stove is an excellent, efficient stove. It performs as advertized and does an excellent job. We have been burning wood for many years and replaced an old Riteway 37 stove with this one. The Riteway was also excellent but now is over 30 years old and had to be replaced. The only things I would suggest would be to have the burn area deeper so that larger pieces of round wood could be used and that the re-burn tubes should be shielded so that they would not affect loading wood. Other than that the stove has amazing efficiency and is easy to monitor via the observation glass in the front . I wish that they manufactured a larger one of the same design."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Key Ingrediants--Dry Wood & Draft

,
January 16, 2010
By PeeTee
from FOOTHILLS-NORTH CAROLINA
"Before writing a review I decided to wait until I had used this stove for a couple of years. I have heated with Wood all my life & this by no means makes me an expert, but I am overall well pleased with this stove. Most of the negative reviews I have read about this stove seem to be DRAFT & IN ROOM SMOKE and HARD LIGHTING issues. A Wood Stove is only as good as the CHIMNEY & how well it DRAWS & and if the WOOD you are using is DRY/CURED(SEASONED) for 10 to 12 Months. If you buy this stove and it does not function well while using (seasoned) wood, the PROBLEM is most likely the CHIMNEY. Talk to someone you trust about Chimneys & Draft problems. Cold air in a cold Chimney is very heavy & when lighting your stove start the fire about 1/3rd. way back in the stove and gradually add fuel until you have pushed the cold air out of your stove and chimney. One of my favorite tools is a hand held propane torch & bottle(very inexpensive)to light my cold stove. As far as HEATING TIME , no stove is going to heat for 10-12 Hours on a single load of wood RUNNING WIDE OPEN but will last around 8-10 Hours on LOWEST SETTING. Final note--Do not run any stove constantly on the LOW SETTING unless you use completely DRY/SEASONED WOOD. You will end up with a CRESOTE BUILDUP and a CHIMNEY FIRE."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

stove failure

,
December 16, 2009
By llednewwood
"With less than 1 year's use, the firebox ceiling insulation began breaking apart and the cross burn tubes fell out. The door gasket came off within a month of use but high temp silicone fixed that problem handily. The stove might actually heat better now that the insulation is gone!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

worthless

,
December 12, 2009
By snowman1969
from renovo pa,
"this stove was bought to replace my old wood stove which heated my whole house but was getting to old.this stove wont even heat my basement letalone the rest of my house.took it backout put old in .would not give this stove to anyone.feel for the money not worth it.beenburning wood for 23 yrs.worse stove ive, ever seen.would really like to return to manufactor.its junk..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great stove for money

,
December 10, 2009
By grampahawg
from east bend nc.
"installed stove in my 1700 sq ft home in the basement,will get thru the nite on one load,and heat upstairs maintaining a temp of 68-70 dg. excellent stove."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
grampahawg
east bend nc. 
 
Please wait while more information about grampahawg is loaded.
Additional information about grampahawg could not be loaded.
review #2
February 27, 2012
"after three years of using this stove,and looking into others,this is still the best for the money,no i cannot get a 12hr burn,but am also heating a 1700sq.ft. home from down in the basement,avg.burn when temp.outside are in teens is6-8 hrs. keeping it warm and toasty upstairs,@69-72 degrees. never a problem with smoke or hard staring. would recommend it to anybody."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 32 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wood stove

,
November 2, 2009
By LWard
from Vermont
"We placed the wood stove up a month ago and have had good luck with it. was not as easy as we thought it would be because alot of black type oil was leaking from it .But took a while to get the stove to adjust to it and know we figured it out and think the stove is great work very well."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Quality

,
November 2, 2009
By Anonymous
from Wisconsin
"This product is solid, compact and well built. It replaces a stove of lesser quality. I am looking forward to the cold winter blasts to test the Turbo-Burn feature."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good stove for the money

,
October 22, 2009
By smokeybear
from Providence, Rhode Island
"I used this stove all last winter. At first it was difficult to light and fire up strong.
3 problems:
The insulation in the upper body causes a blockage. Smoke will come out towards the room when the door is opened. Not much but who wants any smoke in the house.
Secondly, the wood actually burns too slow and causes a lot of creosote buildup in the exhaust pipe.
Third, the fire box looks bigger than it really is because of the reburn tubes at the top.
So I removed the tubes and the insulation. Now the stove holds more wood and burns like any other airtight stove. I can fill it before bed and it burns for several hours. 8 hours later, it's still hot. I would buy again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great durango

,
March 16, 2009
By gpop346
from bradford, rhode island
"I've had several wood stoves over the years but the durango is by far the best. I would and have recommended this stove."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

good for small cabins

,
March 15, 2009
By notgoodenough
from Ludington, MI
"I bought this heater recently and I am very unhappy with it. It does last along time but there is one small problem. It dont heat very well. I have about 1100 squar foot home and it only keeps it around 55 degrees when the mornings are cold and are around the teens. The old wood heater I had was smaller and worked better. This wood heater also takes awhile to get going."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slow Start, but very happy

,
February 3, 2009
By John13579
from Millersburg, PA
"When I first got this stove, it was smaller than I had originally thought. Which was fine by me! It does have a large firebox that allows for less cutting and splitting. This is my first wood stove, so getting everything set up with a chimney and smoke pipe was a bit tricky. For the first 3 weeks I could not keep a fire going, but soon after I figured out my problems, I began to realize it was not the stove itself, but the chimney and connections. Once I figured that out, I have been able to get this stove burning bright! I can put 2-3 logs on in the evening and it'll last for at least 10-12 hours and still have a nice bed of coals left over. I just throw a few smaller logs in and they flame right up! Overall, this stove is easy to use, not hard to get started (once you know what you're doing) and will burn for hours nice and bright. I'm using it to heat my kitchen and dining room, since they are an addition to the house, they are heated with electric rather than coal. The two rooms together are about 500 square feet, and there is no problem keeping those two rooms at or above 75 degrees. The weather here has gotten down to 0 a few times and those two rooms stayed nice and warm during the day. During the night, it cools off a bit, but I keep the dampers almost completely shut. The rooms get down to 65 degrees. This stove should have no problem heating up to another 500 square feet or more.
If you're looking for an economical stove, and if you have the patience to get it right, this stove will perform wonderfully. It has some downfalls, the handle on the door tends to get loose, but can easily be tightened up with a wrench. Also the damper control lever unscrews easily, but that's a very simple twist and fix. The Turbo Burn tubes are a bit of an inconvenience when loading up the fireplace, if you bump them it makes quite a racket. But they seem to be tough, I've hit them a few times and no damage. Also, when I got the stove, there was a wool insulating blanket that is between the firebox and top of stove, I took that out because I felt that it was slowing the smoke flow to the stovepipe. I don't know if this is necessary, the people at Vogelzang said it didn't matter if it was in, but that it was supposed to be. I took it out and it's still working fine, so...
This stove seems like it will get me through a good number of years. I'm very happy with my purchase, and Northern is a great company. Good customer service is key and they definately have it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

not a good buy

,
February 3, 2009
By unclesam
from Ohio
"I got this to replace my older stove thinking it would be better and use less wood but its not very good at even heating up one little room little less a 1300 sf house I put my old stove back in and have tryed giveing this one away I wouldnt put it in a dog house!!!!! and just so you know I live in central Ohio and have been heating with wood for years....."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Staying warm so far...

,
December 5, 2008
By SCOTTIEJ
from Lake George New York
"I purchased this unit back in September and has been burning almost everyday since. It is now December and staying much colder now, and the stove is working very well. It was pretty simple to set up, took longer to install the double wall stove pipe on the outside of the house. Make sure your math is correct when determine the proper height for your draft requirments, I think most negative reviews might have made errors in this department. It is a little hard to load, I raised the unit one foot with solid 16x8 concrete blocks, which makes it a lot easier to open and load from one knee. The turbo burn tubes get in the way when you fill unit at bedtime, but it burns almost all night. I'm still trying to dial her in, but its going longer each night. 8-9 hrs. Adjusting the front air flow is the trick As with any stove it takes a little time to find the perfect burn zone or sweet spot .I live in upstate new york and last winter spent almost two thousand bucks on propane, so far this year we have not needed a full fill up only $100.00 so far. We'll see when the cold is here to stay. It is located in the basement and we let the heat rise up into the bedrooms above, and keeps the upstairs at 68-71 almost all day. Downstairs its 73-75. So for now I'm happy with it, hope it stays that way, I would recommend this stove, good price and function."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Vogelzang Durango High-Efficiency Wood Stove with Blower - Model# TR008
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product!

,
November 28, 2008
By keepinwarminNH
from Jaffrey NH
"I am very impressed with this product. I work long hours and the 12 hr. burn time is incredible! It throws an incredible amount of heat when needed and you can regulate the burn very easily. I have only been using it for 2 months, but all of the claims made by the manufacturer are true! We will see how it does when the sub-zero weather arrives here in N.H.
I have had only a couple problems with this product. 3 of the refractory brick were damaged in shipping and the door gasket fell off during operation. Otherwise this would have been a 5 star review. I highly recommend Vogelzang products to anyone. I am going to replace my older model Russo stove with another Vogelzang product. Great value, great product!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.