Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"

"Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"

Item# 172921
"This Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove burns wood safely and efficiently to heat workshops, cabins, garages or hunting camps. Features cast iron construction. Comfortably heats an area up to 600 sq. ft., delivering 63,801 BTU for up to 4 hours. Fully assembled except for legs and damper collar. Burner is not removable. Assembly Required No, Blower Included No, BTU Output 63,801, Dimensions W x D x H in. 19 x 25 x 23, Door Opening W x H in. 7 x 7 1/2, EPA Exempt Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 10 x 21, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Full Load Run Time Hours 4, Heating Capability sq. ft. 600, Igniter Manual, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 20, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Stove, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included No, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 32 1/2, Clearance from Side Wall in. 36 1/2, Clearance from Corner in. 30 1/2, UL 1482, 5627-00. UL 1482, ULC S627-00 listed Meets or exceeds EPA requirements for exempt wood stoves. Not available in CA, WA and OR. Not for mobile home installation. Use in accordance with local codes and ordinances."
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 15(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Review 1 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money

,
November 5, 2014
By Halfapeck
from Dansville, MI
" This stove is a lot of heat in a small, affordable package. It was easy to put together, and the quality of the actual cast iron is much better than we expected. It is simple to use, and overall just a good purchase! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stove

,
November 2, 2014
By doitallman
from S.C.
" Great stove really put out the heat and well built. I purchased the adjustable pipe from the stove to the ceiling also great item.NOTE if you buy these items you must first build a few fires in it OUTSIDE NOT IN YOUR HOUSE. These items come with a protective coating on them that will produce a lot of smoke during the burn off and you don't want your house to be filled with this. Also when you get it assembled take windex and wipe all your hand prints off if you don't everywhere you touched it will be burnt on it from then on. It took 4 fires to get the protective off my it may vary.Be sure to wipe down too when you move it in your house. Hope this will help someone out there. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22

,
October 17, 2014
By weaser200
from Hayesville NC
" Great little heater, I live in a barn house 900 sq ft, this heater warms it quickly within 15 minutes. First, I parked it 6 ft from wall, added the elbow, then 6 foot heater pipe through window opening, you need at least 6 ft vertical, to avoid being smoked out. The six ft horizontal pipe produces the most heat, I also cool the heater & pipes with a small portable fan, increasing the efficiency greatly. Be careful to not overload the wood heater, the first elbow may turn red, if so, Shut the bottom air vent, below the door, until it reaches a safe tempurature. Always leave an ash bed, on the stove floor, to protect the cast iron from cracking. I love it, there are plenty of free logs & firewood laying all over the place here . "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't recommend "Lit'l Sweetie" Boxwood stove

,
October 6, 2014
By farmdan
from Columbia, KY
" Stove is a good concept except that it is cheaply made with brittle metal and the enclosed small screw hardware was too small. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogelzang LitL Sweetie Boxwood Stove

,
January 17, 2012
By ace1842
from Washington DC
" The stove was easy to transport & install. It also provides ample heat for our small two room (partially insulated) cabin in northern Ontario, even in the dead of winter.
You can't go wring at this price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+26points
47out of 68found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Heat

,
October 17, 2011
By Partfly
from North Carolina
" This is one very nice stove that gets the job done. It was very easy to unpack and put together. All the parts fit very well and made very well. You will want to break it in the first time outside if you can to burn off the new smell. I did not do that because it is being used in my 20x26 shop and could open the doors and windows and it did smell the first few time I used it but now it just heats great and keeps the shop nice and warm. Make sure to get a magnetic thermometer to make sure the stove is operating within an efficient burning range and not over heating the stove. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+62points
65out of 68found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

small but heavy duty

,
April 15, 2011
By mrgoodwrencher
" i was impressed with the quality of this stove.it outperforms other stoves similar in size to this one.i think this is great for a workshop or garage stove...go get you one.. "
+29points
31out of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does not put out the heat

,
March 21, 2011
By DSGLTD
from North Carolina
" We installed this in a garage. It will take the chill out but in no way will it keep it warm. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-14points
18out of 50found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great little heater

,
March 21, 2011
By svstra
" This a great little wood heater for the money. Designd for a cabin or one room. Not meant for really large areas. You have to be careful as well abou the heat it generates. Put a screen or something up around it small children are going to be around. I would tell my what a great deal I got. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for little money

,
March 14, 2011
By Lisakin
" I purchased this woodburning stove for my boyfriend. He is working on rebuilding a truck in his detached garage. It is just perfect for his 600 sq. ft. garage. It keeps the garage warm so he can spend hours working on his truck.
I would also like to say the customer service in the Fayetteville, NC store was excellent. I would recommend this woodburning stove to everyone and plus it has a great price.
"
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

inexpesive and simple

,
February 27, 2011
By gtcoalman
from northern vermont
" " 1.27 cubic foot burn box - non airtight cast iron - simple - basic woodburner - small investment - good for a first time wood burning - if you don't like doing it, you did't spend much. Burns fast - heats quick - good back up emergency heat - not meant as a principal heat source for large spaces. Good for garage or work space - very attractive - good value - going to keep it."
gtcoalman nw vermont
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wood burner

,
February 22, 2010
By hudki
from broken arrow ok. optometrist ,hunter
" bought this stove in 2002 it been a life saver at my hunting cabin. Would highly recommend this product and would definately buy it again. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogelzang Boxwood Stove

,
February 22, 2010
By ttolli
from Pounding Mill, Virginia
" I purchased my Stove in the fall of 09. I put it in my woodshop and I have been able to work every day and my stove has kept it just as toasty as can be, even those days when the high was only 7 below. This is an excellent product. My wife and I are very seriously considering a Vogelzang for the house next year, but only on a bigger scale. Thank you very much and keep up the good work.
ttolli
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What A Sweetie!

,
February 22, 2010
By Snowbird
from Interlachen FL
" Wow!
This stove has saved me alot of money . This is great for a small area, my place is a 1000 sq feet and I could get it 70-90 degrees wherever I wanted it. Its small enough for a small area. The open area is around 600sq feet. also clearence area is only 26 inches not 3 feet like most. Also, you still get to use the standard 6 inch pipe. It has a cooking area on top too. Holds hot red ashes all night long so in the early morning its very easy to re-kindle a nice hot fire. This is a great little stove, I'm going to get another one.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
26out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Vogelzang Lit'l Sweetie Boxwood Stove, Model# BX22EL"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood stove for my greenhouse

,
February 15, 2010
By naturelover11
from Missouri
" This little stove is just ideal for use in my small greenhouse! It is made with the same quality as the one we used to cook and heat our kitchen in the first house We owned down in Kansas. I would have purchased this even if I did not have a valid use for it. I think it is very cute as a pleudo antique decorative item.
The price was very reasonable and the deliver was fast !!
Bruce in Independence, MO
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Crimescene108
Edwin Alabama 
 
Please wait while more information about Crimescene108 is loaded.
Additional information about Crimescene108 could not be loaded.
Nice stove but watch out on first startup
March 6, 2011
" bought this stove and its nice and heats well but the first time startup we had to have every window on the house open... SMOKED like all get go. they must pack these things in oil, if you get one i would suggest first starting it up outside let it season and then bring it back in and set it up for the home. "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)