Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004

Item# 172922
With the Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, you can convert your masonry fireplace into a functional, high-efficient heat source. This airtight, EPA-certified insert features an adjustable-speed blower, 3/16in. reinforced plate steel, cast iron feed door with ceramic glass window and a hearth surround with pewter trim. Holds up to 18 lbs. of wood. Safety tested to UL 14821998. Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 18, Full Load Run Time Hours 8, Product Type Fireplace insert, EPA Exempt No, Igniter Manual, Firebox Size W x D in. 20 1/2 x 12, Fuel Type Wood, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,800, BTU Output 69,600, Blower CFM 125, Stove Pipe Included No, Clearance from Side Wall in. 9 1/2, Dimensions W x D x H in. 26 1/2 x 20 x 21 1/2, Thermostat Included No, Door Opening W x H in. 19 x 8 1/2, Blower Included Yes, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110. Item comes with wooden door handle, not as shown
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 15(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Review 1 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average at best

,
November 24, 2013
By johninshawnee
from Shawnee Kansas
"We bought this because we were sick of the 400 dollar natural gas bills in the winter and thought it would be a great addition to the house. Its a good fireplace but please don't think this unit will heat an entire house. Our house is about 2000 sq ft. I didn't expect to heat the whole house but I did expect it to heat the bottom floor. It basically heats one room and that's the room its in. Don't fall for the "it heats 1800 sq ft" because it wouldn't heat that much if that area was completely wide open. As I said, its a good addition to a room that you spend a lot of time in but don't expect it to take the place of your furnace. Its an adequate at best add on."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Stove

,
May 24, 2010
By Jayinhampton
from Hampton Va
"Purchsed this wood stove last winter and used it for about three months and it heats my 2000 sf home with ease. Best home improvment purchase i have made in years. Easy installation and looks great.
Jay"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogelzang The Colonial Fireplace Insert, Model# TR

,
February 26, 2010
By sbowers22
from Arlington, TX
"I installed this at the first of the year and have been using it almost every night. We bought this so we wouldn't have to run our heater so much. To our surprise the heater hardly runs at all anymore. This unit really puts out a lot of heat for it's size. This is our first experience with a wood stove and we couldn't be happier."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

suites my needs......

,
February 17, 2010
By warminlongisland
from long island new york
"i have a small fireplace so i did not have a lot of options.turns out i dont need a bigger insert than the vogelzang ,it heats my hole downstairs.i wish i could get it to heat my upstairs without a fan sitting on my stair blowing the air up.but all in all the unit is very good and for that price i will make my money back in heating fuel real soon. ps.there is a problem with the fan ,but like others had said just dont connect it to the unit and pull it away a couple of inches and it is good to go.also very easy to install, i did it myself with a little research.have a nice day and stay warm!!!!!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Vogelzang The Colonial Fireplace Insert

,
February 15, 2010
By In4night
from Vernon, New Jersey
"This little fireplace insert does the job for our family. We have a raised ranch about 1400 sq ft. It heats the enitre first floor. Gives a nice heat and burns for 3-3 1/2 hours depending on the damper. The only down side to this stove is the blower can be designed a little better. You need to blow of the blower fan blades, as dust will build up and will affect the performance of the blower. Also, we have returned the first blower after 3 months of use because of a loud clicking sound it would make. The company Vogelzang is excellent at responding to customer questions and concerns. I called on a Sunday and by Monday a customer service rep had called me back and took all of my information, sending me a new blower and UPS label to ship back the old unit within 3 days. Service was excellent. The only other down side to this unit is the access to clean out the old ashes. It does not have an ash tray under neath the fire bed. It can be a little annoying but for the price of the unit and customer service makes up for this unit. Over all I rate this as a good product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy in Georgia

,
February 15, 2010
By DWAthens
from Athens GA
"I installed my insert this weekend. It went very smoothly. I burnt wood in it for 48 hours, and very happy with it. It is very efficient. I have another wood stove about the same size in the house and it burns hotter, but not as efficiently. The fan is good, not too loud. Would like it to blow more air, but it is ok. I have about 2,000 sq. ft. This one is in the front living room and the other is in the back den. My house now seems to be very even in temp throughout the house.
I did have to cut the metal plate, but wanted it to go behind my mantle instead of in front, as it was design to be. If you have a flat mantle face, it will not need to cut. It cut easily with my jig saw.
The service provided by Northen tools was great. It was delivered on time and I was informed the whole time what the status was. I would use Northern Tools again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great insert.. once blower is modified

,
February 13, 2010
By WarminNJ
from NJ
"Had the insert about 2 weeks now. Had to give 4 out of 5 stars due to the blower. It does take some work to get it to move air effectively. If the blower worked well from the start, it would get 5 stars. Now, it puts out a lot of heat. I don't think there is a better value insert out there."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

vogelzang woodstove insert

,
February 1, 2010
By markiev
from connecticut
"Purchased the stove a month ago, well built and looks nice. Easy to install because the back is on a 45 degree angle giving extra room for hooking up liner. The only downside is the blower being noisy on high and not blowing enough air out. I solved this by removing the metal air deflector in front of blower and positioning the blower 2 inches away from the stove with the cord being on the left as you are looking at it. My house is 2000 sq feet had it burning on an 8 degree night and kept the first floor 72 degrees and upstairs around 67."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good

,
December 28, 2009
By oldfatguy
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Of course, we would all like to feel that we made the best decision out of all the possible options. I can only say that I probably made the best decision for this price point. Unfortunately, as I was converting from a decorative gas log prefab fireplace, I had to replace the entire chimney, which added about $1000 to my little insert project.
The insert is fine. I like the pewter color. I like to watch the flames and you can still hear the pops. As others have mentioned, the variable speed fan is a mess of poor engineering. It would probably be better to put an ocillating fan in front of it. The insert won't burn overnight. At least I've not been able to get it to do so. There will however, be the occasional hot coal remaining.
I trimmed the surround down to fit on the inside of my brick facia and it looks fine, but was a booger to cut and grind.
All in all, I'm happy, but my mother's free standing Fisher step stove will still run rings around this Vogelzang "Colonial"."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Value

,
November 14, 2009
By Beerz
from Vermont
"Unlike Consumer Reports I don't have the luxury of comparing this unit's performance to those of other manufacturers in a side-by-side test. I cannot say if it is any better or worse. I can say, however, that I am quite pleased. First, delivery was prompt and there were no issues. In fact, the unit was on backorder and I took a chance and ordered it anyway. I was afraid I'd be wrestling with Northern Tool in January trying to get a refund. But, no, it was here in a week. It totally exceeded my expectations. As previously pointed out, the fire box is rather small. You won't be able to put any "all-nighter" logs into it. The viewing glass is large enough for nice viewing. I was concerned that it would be too small. I was also afraid that the stove looked too "industrial" in the photos. I was pleasantly surprised. It looks just fine. It's no Vermont Castings but it isn't going to appear out of place. I read irate reviews about other stoves that were photographed with a surround but didn't actually include one. This one comes with a surround. Too me, that is a $100 throw-in right there. I am disappointed with the fan. First, it would be nice if it were thermostatically controlled. I'd like it to blow harder when the stove is very hot and back-of f when it is less so. However, the fan is controlled by a simple dial. Personally, I find the fan rather loud and noticeable. And, for the amount of noise, it isn't pushing a whole lot of air. I suppose I will have to work on it to increase its effectivity. But with a bit more engineering, this could have been overcome by the designers. Also, I've heated my home in Vermont with a woodfurnace for years. With that stove, I can cut off the input air and actually quench the fire. With this one, I cannot. That concerns me a little. I'd like to feel that I can throttle back a fire to the extreme if necessary. Bottom line, I didn't see anything out there in this price range that included a surround that could challenge the price. I feel like this was a good purchase at a reasonable price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Excellent Wood Stove Insert

,
November 11, 2009
By BigDan33
from Emmett
"I just had my Vogelzang Colonial Insert installed. It works very well, and is a beautiful stove! The wood box is small, but the wood burns for a long period of time. I can heat my living room and kitchen just by lighting a kindling-only fire! The blower is relatively quiet, and there is a large (ceramic) glass door for viewing the flames. I am extremely happy with this purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect stove for the money

,
November 2, 2009
By thatsmydawg
from east haven ct
"after loading the stove a few times in a night it heats my whole first floor to about 70-80. it hasnt been too cold out but in a 30-40 degree weather its toasty in here. once i get the fire going and i load it before bed i turn the damper down all the way and it burns for a good 6 hrs. the firebox is a little small but overall im happy and a friend just bought the stove and hes happy too. just in the description it says a staycool spring handle and we both got a wood handle eventhough everywhere it says spring handle."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My First Fireplace Insert

,
November 2, 2009
By filametric
from Baltimore County, MD
"I chose the Vogelzang TR004 fireplace insert over the Drolet because of 1) I needed a larger faceplate than Northern Tool offered for the Drolet, and Drolet could not tell me a dealer from whom I could buy the bigger one Drolet makes according to their web site.. They referred me to the Ace Hardware chain, but none in the mid-Atlantic region handle the Drolet. 2) the prices were competetive. I was surprised that the Vogelzang was made in China, but almost everything seems to be these days. I was favorably impressed by the design, the engineering details, and the workmanship. A contractor with an assistant cleaned the chimney and installed the chimney liner and the insert in just a few hours I have been burning seasoned oak in it. The position and opening of the baffle system and air intake combine to produce a strong flow of air from front to back below and back to front above, judging from the shapes and directions of the flames. Although the insert is supposed to be limited to 20 inch logs, it can actually take slightly larger ones if inserted at an angle. I have compared performance of fires directly on the firebricks, on a bed of 2 inches of ash (recommended) and on an iron grate (not recommended) with about 1 inch clearance over the firebrick. I prefer fires directly on the firebrick. With the fan on, the insert pumps out toasty warm air from above and and both sides of the fiirebox. Glowing embers are present in the morning after burning 5 or 6 logs (only 3 or 4 in the firebox at the same time) overnight on the firebrick, even with the damper wide open.
.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

cant beat the price

,
October 25, 2009
By kevinn
from long island
"nice machine. burns as expected once you get the hang of it. could have a better design inside the firebox though, its a pain to scoop out the ash that gets under the lip where the door opens. not a big deal though. the biggest thing that bothers me about the stove is the blower, it works better when its not attached to the stove. if you look at it , it sucks air from the same place its trying to blow into so the fan isnt as efficient as it should be. ( it does suck some outside air in from the back of the blower but not enough). i solved this by unscrewing it and pulling it off about an inch from the stove and raising it up about 3/4" with a piece of scrap pine wood board. then it pulled in fresh air and blew 4 times the amount of air through the machine. other than that its everything youd expect from a stove at this price. the variable speed blower and the included shroud was enough for me to choose it over the drolet."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vogelzang 'The Colonial' Fireplace Insert, Model# TR004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
October 15, 2009
By kartpop
from Atlanta Georgia
"Very Well built heats my house great, Would buy again"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.