Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009

Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009

Item# 172923
This Vogelzang The Performer is an EPA-certified airtight steel wood stove with pedestal base and a heavy cast iron door with air washed ceramic glass that allows for a magnificent view of the burning fire. It is a beautiful stove that will enhance any hearth setting. The Performer burns up to 25 lbs. of wood to heat up to 2200 sq. feet for as long as 12 hours. The Performer boasts heavy-gauge 3/16in. reinforced plate steel, a 1.77 cu. ft. firebrick-lined firebox, an adjustable high-speed blower and a large ash drawer for easy cleanup. Safety tested to UL Standard 14821998. Not for mobile home installation. Full Load Run Time Hours 12, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,200, Igniter Manual, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 20, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Blower CFM 100, Dimensions W x D x H in. 26 1/2 x 26 x 33, Door Opening W x H in. 18 x 9, EPA Certified Yes, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 12, Blower Included Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, BTU Output 119,900, Clearance from Corner in. 12, Fuel Type Wood, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included No, UL UL approved, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Stove, Firebox Size W x D in. 21 x 14 x 10.43 1.77 cu. ft., Clearance from Side Wall in. 20. Sturdy pedestal base with large ash drawer for easy ash removal Cast iron feed door with large 17' x 9' ceramic glass window Over 75 efficient Not for mobile home installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.114 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (35 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
30 of 35(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Review 1 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stove for the price

,
January 24, 2014
By drumcal
from Red Hook, NY
"Fine woodstove, really holds heat & burns slow when damped down. Like other reviews I need to keep the door cracked until it builds up a good heat base. The glass does blacken often, but I found a very useful vid on Youtube here http://youtu.be/QpRNRn9Rhxk
I may have given the stove 3 stars, but bumped it up to 5 because of the excellent customer service that Northern Tool provides.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Think twice

,
January 19, 2014
By 14bama
from usa
"Nice "Little" wood stove if you wish to burn toothpicks. The height of the actual burning area is very small which restricts you from stacking wood on top of each other to build a productive fire. ashes and embers are constantly falling out when you open door due to a lack of height of the bottom lip. There IS plenty of window to see fire burn but enough so that it compromises the functionality of the stove.Again,nice one for "effect" if you're burring small wood,but I would keep looking if you want to heat your home."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK for the price

,
November 11, 2013
By LoveMyPoleBarn
from MI
"I have had this installed for 4 years now in a 1,200 square foot pole barn with a 680 square foot loft. I waited until now to write a review because I judge my purchases on reviews so wanted to give it a lot of thought. Works well for my needs but would look at different burners for in my house. The door is cheaply made and requires constant adjustment. Very rarely can I get it completely sealed due to the adding of firewood as the night goes on. Although it is one of the medium to larger fire boxes on the market, still have to cut/split the wood in a way to maximize the amount of wood that will fit for each burn. The 10 to 12 hour claim is totally false. You will have a slightly warm box after 8 to 10 hours but no warmer than 80 or 90 degrees (box temp). Have to add wood every 2 hours to keep the box hot. Took a while to figure out the most efficient way to burn but eventually figured it out. After a nice bed of coals, fill the box and turn the vent to three quarters or all the way closed. This will start the heat exchange tubes in the top to start firing like a furnace but it only lasts for 20 minutes. Wood last a lot longer this way. You can also keep the vent open but will burn wood much more quickly that way. Keep door closed tightly after the box is up to temperature. My pipe goes straight up out the roof with no elbows (approx. 24 feet) so the pipe is clean even after 4 years. Burn about 30 to 35 fires a year. After burning all day, can bring my lower room up to 55-60 degrees. About what I would expect with a partially insulated barn. The walls are insulated but have not finished the ceiling yet. Barn is wrapped in Tyvek with vinyl siding and OSB inside and out and r13 in walls. Not much smoke out the chimney and does do a good job of reclaiming or re-burning the smoke as claimed. After 4 years, there is a little rusting on the outside but may be due to the environment as it is used. Overall…? I’m happy with it. Nice to have a beverage while sitting in front of the large glass. I live in Michigan. Use hard dry wood!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

,
April 5, 2013
By al851
from Tennessee
"I bought this and put it in myself with Northern's chimney products. If was my first time doing this job but I am pretty handy with tools.
The stove came packaged perfect strapped to a pallet. It was heavy though and took a few men to carry it. I followed the directions and it went together and works perfect.
I was surprised at how cool the sides and back were even with the vents open. The front and top got super hot. The glass stayed fairly clear but when choked down with wetter wood it smokes up. It clears again once hot. The fan won't blow your wig off but it does the job. I don't see me using the fan much though. It isn't really needed. I was surprised at the load of logs it would take. The tubes in the top take some room and it won't take long logs. But it will take enough to burn for a good while.
I would buy this stove again and have been thrilled by Northern's customer service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Quality Stove - Would recommend

,
March 7, 2013
By BeachbumOhio
from Jenera, Ohio
"Have had this stove for the entire 2012/2013 season and have been very happy. just a few notes though....
1. Once the stove is fully hot and running, it does a very good job of Secondary burn and taking advantage of all of the gases that are released
2. 100cfm fan is alittle loud and wished that it was alittle stronger to pull the heat off of the stove alittle better. I run a small box fan towards it to get air movement across the stove.
3. Seem to break the ceiling bricks within the stove quite easily - make sure to order extra's to replace - they are not expensive
Few tips to operate the stove
1. Airflow to feed the fire comes in from the bottom front of the Firebox, when making a fire, try to keep a clear airway from the front clear to the back to allow the air to drawl thru the entire firebox. I typicaly make a channel in the coals before I add more wood each time.
2. As stated before, keep the door slightly open (and attended) for 20 mins to get a fresh new fire started.
3. Also, to keep the stove really going, I reload every 4-6hours and do a total clean out every 2days or so.
4. I have worked on putting wood both front to back vs side to side and haven't found that either way is really any better than the other. Just make sure that you leave the channel for air.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Stove-think about your log sizes though

,
October 15, 2012
By TNgreenArchitect
from Nashville, TN
"We installed the stove in December of 2010. Our electric bill was cut in HALF the very next month and we were not burning really good seasoned wood at the time. The winter of 2011 worked out even better. Even lower electric bills, dryer wood and toasty comfortable heat. The stove works well. Radiates great heat and has held up well. Some of the other brands of stoves had weaker handle and seal designs but we have been very happy with the Vogelzang. Two comments that keep this from being a 5-star product are: (1) the blower units is awful; loud and really doesn't move much air at all and (2) the depth of the firebox only allows a 14"-16" long piece of wood. You can go wider side to side, but the combustion air flow runs front to back on this unit. Running the logs front to back actually allow for less combustion air and longer burn times in our experience. Side to side does not seem to perform as well. I would get a deeper box unit on my next install, but am still overall quite happy with the performance of this stove. I can't wait for cold weather this year - I have 3 year aged red oak waiting for the fire!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would definitely recommend this stove.

,
August 16, 2012
By waterwizard
from Rockwood, TN
"We bought this stove last winter. It served us very well throughout the winter. We saved a ton of money on our electric bill using this wood stove. We used to heat with propane gas until the prices shot through the roof! This wood stove is our primary heat now.
We expect this stove to last a very long time. We are totally satisified."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Stove performs

,
May 7, 2012
By kens48
from Lake Luzerne New York
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The Performer met expectations.The stove was easy to install and easy to use.
The stove enhanced the kitchen environment.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

BTU's ?

,
January 27, 2012
By TrueLogConstruction
from New Jersey
"I have been using this product for 1 month now and this is my conclusion. You can not have this unit burn at 119,000 btu's, doesn't matter what type of wood you use. I used mixed hardwoods, White Oak, Red Oak, Maple, Maulberry, Black Walnut, Maples, Apple Wood, Hickory and Ash ( I live in NJ and have plenty of hardwoods to choose from ). I have 15 acres and have access to standing dead and cut woods. The most I have been able to get out of the dead lumber, Black Walnut is about 3 hours of good burn. Heavy split wood gave me 4 hours at the most when set at its lowest opening and not much heating going on. I had good coals for the next burn. So, the burn time and the BTU's are completely off. I am very disappointed about that. If, I didn't put so much work on installing I would actually send it back. The space that I am heating is about 1,100 square feet and has high ceilings. I used single wall pipe to take advantage of all the heat the unit was supposed to put out. I have a ceiling fan to move the air. The unit just can not heat the room well. It lights easy enough and the glass stay pretty clean. The smoke keeps in the unit when the door is opened slowly, which is nice. The fit and finish is well done. The stove is very handsome and looks great. I would recommend it to someone if the space that the plan on heating is less than 1,800 square feet and they don't mind the smaller burn time. Northern had a great price on the unit and it went out quickly. Never had any problems with Northern, they are a great company. The delivery didn't take place as stated so, I had to go and pick the unit up."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

mostly good!

,
January 16, 2012
By bmartins
from Powhatan, VA
"We bought this woodstove to go in our 1300 sq ft home. It was a pain honestly to get the stove pipe to fit into the stove itself, and the Vogelzang people we not helpful AT ALL! but once my husband finally got it in there and we fired it up (which was also a learning experience) it keeps our house around 77 degrees. NOTE: the trick to getting this thing burning good is to have the door slightly opened for about 30 minutes til you have a rolling fire....but once you have a good bed of coals it is easy to keep it HOT!!! overall a good buy!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paid for itself in one seaon !

,
January 16, 2012
By Edward67
from Chesapeake City, MD
"We installed this stove 3 years ago. With oil prices skyrocketing and me having access to free firewood, it was a no-brainer. Wow this stove heats our 3 bedroom ranch quickly and efficiently. Burns all night. Love it !"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Secondary heat

,
January 10, 2012
By Amber2
from Hartford, CT
"This stove is works very well in our basement and heat travels to our main floor. The blower warms two floors about 2000 Sq feet home. Cleaning is a breeze and easy to start or maintain a fire in. There is always wood sometimes even free unlike pellets. When power went out for 7 days straight this wood stove saved us from going to a hotel, even without a blower motor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Performer

,
January 9, 2012
By mulchmaker11
from NC
"I am quite pleased with the performer. Its doing a real good job of heating our two story house. It has very good draft as far as keeping the smoke inside the stove when the door is open. Its very tight and built well. It would be nice if the firebox would be a little deeper and hold more wood but over all I am very pleased with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wood stove!

,
January 9, 2012
By Winterguy
from Teanaway Valley Cle Elum, Wa
"This stove is amazing! I installed it around 3 months ago in a home in the cascade mountain range thinking it would supplement our heat. We have the furnace blower on but have not had to use the heat! The house is 3600 s.f. and stays toasty warm. I addition to the stove i added a Magic Heat Reclaimer, The 2 combined are a great combination.
The glass door stays very clean. I have cleaned it 2 times in around 3 months. Compared to other stoves where i needed to clean them every week.
The fan is relatively quiet and produces a nice even heat output.
Great stove for the money!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

they lie about # of BTU's

,
January 5, 2012
By ManInMaine
from Maine
"Huge waste of money! We loath this stove!
It produces about 35,000 BTU's instead of the 119,900 that we paid for. Does not heat my 2,400 sq. ft. building to 58 degrees F. Blower blows cool air when it is loaded with seasoned hardwood, and burning for several hours. No one should ever buy this stove! Not Northern Tool's fault at all; the manufacturer lied to them about the heat output. We love Northern Tool.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-5points
7out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
stevemaine
montville maine 
 
Please wait while more information about stevemaine is loaded.
Additional information about stevemaine could not be loaded.
February 26, 2012
"try the whistler stove with a second damper you can get a4-6 hr burn and the stove cranks out the heat . mine heats a 24x24 4 bedroom house in mid-maine with no problem"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

119,000 WHAT?

,
December 11, 2011
By lumberjack36
from Broken Bow, NE
"Bought this stove in August of this year thinking it could be a good replacement for my 40 yr old Kresno. I have the stove in my oversized double car garage and when then temp gets up to 80, I open the door to the house and blow in the warm air. Seemed to work with the old stove anyway. Delivery was great, assembly was easy, and looks beautiful. Burn time is shorter due to more open area to heat (about 4 hours using ash, locus, or elm. 2 hours with seasoned cottonwood). Temp on stove very hard to get over 400 degrees. Had to adjust door latch 3 times now getting loose. Doesn't seem to be working as hoped with 119,000 BTU. Blower is loud and useless. Needs to be bigger. Ash tray is a joke. Can't get to it very easy when bed of coals are hot."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really performs!

,
October 13, 2011
By Dominigo
from PA
"Out of the box, this stove is as tough as it looks. Delivers constant heating very efficiently."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good winter stove

,
March 16, 2011
By Durangobuilder
from Durango, Colorado
"Easy set up and great heat output. My only complaints are that the fan is very noisy, and the glass doesn't stay clean as was mentioned in the ad. We use it in our 1850 sq. ft solar home and it does well. We have in-floor heating and it helps keep the pump running to a minimum. Good investment for the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This one does Perform

,
March 15, 2011
By travelnbsn
from SC
"I found the cost of heating with natural gas and with electric way too expensive. I installed the Class A chimney and all myself and this thing heats my home well. It doesn't take long for this to heat either, right away the chill is dispersed. I highly recommend this stove as a great contender among all the other stoves that are designed for this square footage. One thing that is not so handy is that you have to allow your fire to go out to access the cover and lift it out to allow the ashes to drop into the ashe bin. This is a small inconvenience though."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vogelzang 'The Performer' High-Efficiency Wood Stove - 119,900 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# TR009
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heats 3 Bedroom Ranch

,
March 14, 2011
By JOE1946
from Long Island NY
"I was burning a 30 year old stove and it did the job well.My neighbor complained about the smoke so I bought the Performer.Read tips on building the fire,it helps.To get the stove to light off the smoke it takes about 1/2 hr.of wide open air and stove temp. about 300-400 deg.I use 2 therm. 1 on top of stove 1 in bottom of smoke pipe,probe type in the pipe.You still get smoke but it smells different.It heats the house no problem,fit and finish excellent,looks great,but I tried everything and still can't go 8 hrs. 6 is max.Overall a good buy.Tip,I use a razor scraper to clean the glass door,you need to see the fire to adjust air for light off,dry wood is the key."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
jayslawvsvc
Michigan 
 
Please wait while more information about jayslawvsvc is loaded.
Additional information about jayslawvsvc could not be loaded.
Glass cleaner
December 11, 2011
"Rutland glass cleaner does an xlent job cleaning the crystal, takes about a minute and is crystal clear .."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)