Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System

Item# 172950
Add the Kracklebox fireplace sound system to a gas or electric fireplace to provide convincing, realistic sounds of a crackling log fire. Digital recordings of actual fireplaces in action provide a totally realistic sound experience. Adapters Included Yes, Includes 1 Sound system, 1 AC adapter, Compatible With Gas/electric fireplaces, Volts 120, Common Usage Fire sound. Digital recordings of actual home fireplaces Volume and tone adjustments to tailor the sound Built-in speaker provides quality sound
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
3
12 of 20(60%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Review 1 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

krackle box

,
March 14, 2011
By mjec
"The krackle box is very easy to set up and user friendly. It is by far the best sound that I've heard for electric fire places. It is small and easy to hide behind things so it can not be seen. People who have come to visit are very impressed with the quality of sound that is produced."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

It is OK.

,
November 3, 2009
By cougar26
from Pottsville, PA
"Not a bad product. It sounds OK and I wanted it thinking it would be neat to have to go with the electric stove (bought from here) or my other electric heater that I have. The real problem Ihave is that the instructions need a lot more work. It does not tell you enough on how to hook it up or how it should work. It did tell tell you to use an amplified speaker for it, if you needed one. I ended up using a left over computer speaker."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
September 22, 2009
By avguy
from Grand Rapids, MI
"Very pleased with the Kracklebox!
I read all the online reviews before purchasing, including the negative ones about the sound quality and volume.
The key to enjoying this product is the volume: LESS is MORE. The sound of a real fire is unobtrusive, an ambient background noise that only suggests itself during a lull in the conversation or a pause in the music (please, no TV in the same room as the fireplace). Unless you're burning dry 2x4's or the living room furniture, the sound of a real fire will be subdued, with an occasional pop or crackle.
With the Kracklebox on a LOW volume setting, it is the necessary complement to any gas or electric fireplace, completing the visual effect with the appropriate background sound. I plugged it into the same outlet as my electric fireplace insert so with one click of the button we have both the sight and sound of a beautiful fire.
Highly recommended!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

noise maker box

,
November 18, 2008
By KevinC
from Lyman, SC
"I thought this would add to the value and experience of our gas log fireplace, making it more realistic. All this does is sound like a bon fire in the middle of a field complete with echoes. It just sounds too distant to even seem like a crackling fire in the same room."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great idea, but needs improvement...

,
November 17, 2008
By Kimme
from New Jersey
"I owned the fireplace video that I play on my big screem TV during Christmas and love it. So I thought that when I purchased a propane fireplace that the Kracklebox would make it seem better than the real thing. I was disappointed because it consistently crackles TOO much. It doesn't sound real, it should be an intermittent crackling sound. Great idea, but needs improvment."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kracklebox

,
November 6, 2008
By Debsafan
from Gainesville Tx.
"I really like it, It has a little popcorn popping sound, but not that much. It is so much nicer to look at the fire in my gas fireplace and here the cracking sound of wood burning, Now all I need is the smell and I'm good to go."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completes the illusion

,
April 14, 2008
By astrosteve
from Waukesha, WI
"We ordered this unit for Christmas and found it to be a pleasant addition to our electric fireplace. The fireplace looks authentic enough, but this sound module completes the illusion. With the included power supply and the option to send the audio to an external amplifier, this is far superior to some of the units found on the internet and ebay - and the price is reasonable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fireworks

,
February 4, 2008
By Margaret
from Asheboro, North Carolina
"The sound is more like fireworks than a fireplace. I was not pleased with the sound at all. It would be prefect for the 4th of July."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

crackling

,
January 26, 2008
By henry1
"Sounds like popcorn popper it could be better"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Realistic fireplace sounds

,
January 17, 2008
By ladyet1
from Charlotte, NC
"Sounds like a real fire blazing. Is a bit pricey, but fun. Add some incense and you have a "real" fire minus the hard work! I've had it a month and use it daily. It took a while to receive as it was on back-order with the vendor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

TOO SILENT

,
January 16, 2008
By KidsDoc1
from Rockville, MD
"A year ago we added an electric fireplace and mantle to our family/TV/recreation room. This was for the ambience, and the additional heat on cold days or evenings. IT was nice but lacked something......... It was too quiet!!!
Last month we ordered the Kracklebox. I connected it to a power strip that had the fireplace attached, and placed it on a remote wireless controller. Turn on the fireplace and you can hear the Kracklebox concurrently.
It is not the real thing. If you want the "real thing" then you need a wood fireplace, cut wood, and all of the upkeep.
The effect is close enough for my family. We enjoy the unit on this time of year with or without music in the room. It is set to a sound level that it does not distract us when watching the TV.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
January 16, 2008
By Millie
from Hicksville, NY
"I love it it makes me feel so relax."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nothing to write home about.

,
January 16, 2008
By LazyGuy
from Cartersville , GA
"Seems to be well made and does make a noise like a recording of something that somewhat resembles a fire. Realistic???? Matter of opinion, I guess. However, if I knew then what I know now, I'd save my money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

crackling fire

,
January 15, 2008
By captaingeorge
from florida
"simple little sound synthesizer box that does what it says- makes crackling noise like a wood fire. Has a volume adjustment, and is easy to wire into an electric fireplace insert so that it goes on with the logs.
Of course it is not exactly like a real fire, but neither is an electric firebox- it is good enough and adds to the pleasant background ambience.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

The Worse thing I ever bought

,
January 14, 2008
By snowmountain
from NY
"I should of spent my hard earned money on something else.. sound is unreal ...It is now a joke in our home.
Love to send it back...
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

,
January 14, 2008
By lighteningchaser
from Dousman, WI
"When we bought our gas fireplace, I thought the only thing missing was the crackle of the fire. This little box has completed the atmosphere. We bought one for our son and I then received one as a gift from my mother-in-law. We don't have the gas fireplace connected as of yet, but for the holidays I brought in some boughs off of a pine tree and my son, in college, made a wooden fire with logs and flames, so I brought that into our home and made a little "campfire" against one of our diningroom walls. I had lights on the boughs and lit some pine incense so when we had company, they heard the crackle of the fire and the smell of pine and thought that was great. I am looking forward to having this little box in our bedroom with our fireplace."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

kracklebox

,
January 14, 2008
By Fred59
from Plymouth, OH
"I really like my kracklebox it makes such a nice atmosphere for my gas log fireplace."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not too realistic

,
December 12, 2007
By daisy
from Roseburg, Oregon
"Ordered this withour new electric fireplace. Right away noticed that the instructions are covered with "Exteme Danger when exposed to heat"!!! Sounds more like popcorn popping."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

krackle box

,
October 15, 2007
By davidsssssss
from lowell,ma
"piece of junk. does not sound like fire"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kracklebox Fireplace Sound System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adding the Missing Crackle!

,
September 27, 2007
By Keelsb
from Maryland
"We purchased the KrackleBox to add the missing sound effect to a very realistic flame-effect electric fireplace insert that we have placed in an existing fireplace. The sound is very convincing. The KrackleBox volume control allowed us to adjust the crackle to the perfect, subtle level that matches the activity of the flames on our particular insert.
The AC adapter that is included with the KrackleBox is a great feature as we were able to plug both the insert and the KrackleBox into the outlet devise that came with the fireplace insert, and control both of them with the fireplace insert remote control. With one click, we have dancing flames AND soothing crackle! There is also a battery option for the KrackleBox, but the AC adapter works best for us.
The fireplace was just "missing something" without the crackle, and now, with the convincing KrackleBox sound, fireplace tools, a small log basket, and a candle with a woodburning aroma, we have all the fun of a fire with none of the mess.
The KrackleBox unit is quite small and easy to hide behind a stack of wood just outside the fireplace opening, or probably it could be placed up on the mantle behind some decorative object.
This is a really fun product that does just what it's supposed to do!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.