Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater

Item# 173004
Fan-forced heater is ideal for workshops. Cranks out 12,795 to 17,060 BTU. 20-gauge steel construction with adjustable louvers, stainless steel heating element, 300 CFM fan, adjustable thermostat and thermal overheat protection. Includes mounting hardware. Must be hardwired to 240 Volt single phase circuit. CSA/US approved. UL Yes, Blower Included Yes, Heat Settings Adjustable, Amps 20.84/18, Thermostat Included Yes, Tip-Over Safety Switch No, Product Type Forced air, Plug Type Hardwired, Blower CFM 300, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Volts 240/208, Product Style Permanent mount, BTU Output 12,795/17,060, Watts 5,000/3,750, Dimensions W x D x H in. 12 x 14 x 16, Remote Included No.
Average Customer Rating:
4.324 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (34 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
30 of 34(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Review 1 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heater

,
October 15, 2012
By JMW05
from Gillette, WY
"I have a 24 x 24 Insulated Garage and Installed this heater last winter. I had no problems keeping my garage warm. I have been satisfied thus far with the heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK for small space

,
January 9, 2012
By Iceburgh
from Northern WV
"Tried this unit in my 26 x 28 garage after reading reviews. Heater was unable to keep space warm without running for extended period. Power usage was nominal, but was undersized for the area. Going to switch to a wood stove or radiant gas unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heater !!

,
December 6, 2010
By sk1bardstown
from BARDSTOWN,KY
"THE THERMOSTAT KEEPS MY GARAGE TOASTY WITHOUT THE HEATER BEING ON ALL THE TIME !! GREAT LITTLE HEATER."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

garage heat

,
November 23, 2010
By jakestoybox
"I have this heater in my garage for 3 years now and it has never let me down. Primaraly use it to keep the garage just above freezing except while working in it. The adjustable thermostat would only go down to about 55 degrees so I put an external thermostat on it to keep at about 40-45 just to save on the electric bill. When I do kick it up it warms up my 2 1/2 car garage fairly quickly. It was easly installed. The only negative I can think except the electric bill issue would be that the fan kicks on before the coils warm up so there is a cold breeze at initial start up. Otherwise an excellent heater for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Units

,
November 17, 2010
By Bosun
from Wewahitchka, Fl
"Live in the Fl panhandle area. Have had 2 units almost a month, replacing several 110V shop heaters (Item# 700093) and a very noisy, and O2 depleting / CO2 producing propane forced air heater (Item# 174336). Bought the 2 units on sale. Use them in a 1100 SF partially un-insulated garage/workshop. Still waiting for first electric bill but we've had some night time temps down to 33 degrees and 40 degree days already and these units kept the shop in the 50's when set on low. Will be using them to keep stuff from freezing and then, in the morning, turning them up to knock the morning chill off. They are quiet, the adjustable thermostats seem to work fine, and after awhile I don't even notice the on and off cycling. I like them a lot. Did the wiring myself - #10/2 w/ground and 25 amp breakers - very simple. Units look well made and came in good shape. Encluded mounting hardware worked fine. - as of now (without seeing latest electric bill) would buy them again. Will try and update this review after the Electric bill comes - but can't believe it will be worse than the cost of running four 110v heaters and the use of propane."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well spent

,
May 27, 2010
By Toga67
from WI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I live in Wisconsin, need I say more, 9 months of the year here are either cool to very cold weather, I've tried the small space heaters, therer a waste of money also played the run to the store in bad weather to get more propane, I was told to give the Northern Tool website, I've glad I did, OK, Great price, very easy to install, very useful I can use my garage in the worse weather, this is one that really works."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not much heat

,
March 8, 2010
By steppin6s
from Texas Panhandle
"Purchased for work shop. With this heater blowing directly on you, heat can barely be felt. Will maintain temperature but will not heat up shop unless left on at all times."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little heater

,
February 24, 2010
By Mike532
from Maryland
"I use the heater in the garage to keep everything from freezing. It was easy to install right out of the box and is easy to use. It does the job in a one-and-a-half car garage space and I would recommend it if you want some heat in a similar type situation."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bob

,
February 16, 2010
By 63chevy
from North Bay, California
"Works great. Hooked up and mounted easily. Keeps the garage very comfortable when it's cold outside. Price was reasonable."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great.

,
February 15, 2010
By dancyw
from Fort Scott, KS
"I bought this heater to use in a 30' x 30' garage space. Wasnt sure if it would heat that big of an area since my garage is not insulated real well. But after hooking it up, it does a really good job. I only keep it around 55 degrees just to keep the chill out. But it will keep it at that temperature even when it is below zero outside. I havent even tried to keep it warmer than that, so I dont know how it would do if you wanted to keep it around 70 degrees. It is also very quiet. Was easy to wire up. I would definately recommend this heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
February 15, 2010
By TDogg
from Chandler, OK
"This heater features a very quiet operation with a good amount of output.
I would recommend spending a little more for this one even if you are thinking about getting a smaller one.
The louvers are adjustable, and really help to put the warm air where you need it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
rtbirdy
Indiana 
 
Please wait while more information about rtbirdy is loaded.
Additional information about rtbirdy could not be loaded.
rtbirdy
March 18, 2011
"Purchased this unit in Janurary.
It heats a 24X24 insulated garage very comfortably. I am very satisfied with this heater.
"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding unit

,
January 8, 2010
By fatmac
from Hudson Valley New York
"We have a 1000 sq. ft. basement (poured walls & floor) with no heat. Average winter temperature in the basement could fall to around 50.
A friend recomended this unit & I questioned it's size. However, it took little time to run up to a "comfortable working temperature" in our new workshop. We actually turned the thermostat down to a moderate 62 and we also noticed the warmth on the kitchen floor (upstairs) The unit runs very quiet as well. We did not notice a substantial rise in our electric bill, however, our fuel consumption for the oil furnace has reduced. We have a win-win situation and we highly recomend this unit.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nce, but....

,
December 6, 2009
By BigSky159
from Omaha, NE
"Can't give five stars since after mounting this heater in the garage, it rattled and vibrated so bad it made the chairs in the kitchen (above the garage) rattle on the tile floor! I was about to send it back but decided to take off the cover and and see if anything was loose. Nothing was loose but it turns out one fan blade was bent back compared to the others. Straightening out that blade and a couple others made all the difference. It's very quiet now and keeps the 20'x20' garage above 40F+ with outside temps in the teens."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quellet heater 5KW

,
November 2, 2009
By spoony
from Dell Rapids, SD
"This heater works great to heat my 2 stall garage, it is insulated on the walls and the ceiling.. It can be very cold here in the middle of winter, -10 to -20 degrees. I used this heater all last winter to heat my garage and it worked great, i would keep it 50 out there all the time, and if i was going to be doing alot of work out there, i would turn it up a little bit and make it 60 or so in there in a matter of an hour or so. I would highly recommend this unit to anyone considering it......."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater

,
July 20, 2009
By bigjohn123
from columbus, ohio
"I purchased this heater 2 years ago and it has worked flawlessly. I have it in a 10' x 24' out building and seems to do just fine. Depnding on the size of your building it will not keep your building at 80 degrees on very cold days (25 or colder) but it will keep it comfortable. The only thing I do recomend is to purchase the seperate Ouellet thermostat and mount it where you can adjust the temp. without having to climb a ladder to fool with the one mounted on the unit itself. I would recomend this product to anyone interested in a electric heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy garage heat

,
July 13, 2009
By Boxerboy96
from Southfield, Mi
"The heater was a quick easy install. The garage is an attached two car with an insulated door. Ceiling insulation was upgraded to 12" blown-in. In 20°F weather, the heater had no trouble keeping the garage at 65°F."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the Price

,
March 24, 2009
By jcbrown
from TN
"I use it to heat a 22'x35' insulated garage in TN. I use a thermastat to keep the temperature above 40 degrees so nothing freezes. It seems to be a solid product for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workshop heater

,
March 16, 2009
By tokruys
from Pilesgrove, NJ
"Great little heater for my 20 x 24 workshop. I'm considering a second one for those cold spells. But one has made it comfortable working conditions."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ouellet 5K heater

,
March 4, 2009
By Bro121
from Hayden, Idaho
"The ordering and shipping on the Ouellet heater was easy and it arrived
un-damaged and ready to wire to a 230v supply. Wiring was simple and there are two mounting brackets included for wall or ceiling mounts. The heater is quiet and functions great for my 25x25 garage in the cold winters of Northern Idaho. It may take an hour or so to warm up, but that's starting from 25 degrees sometimes. I also use it in my 10x15 workshop and it takes less than 15 minutes to make it perfectly balmy! The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is it does take a little while to heat a larger space. I usually just turn it on and find something else to do until the garage is warm. Once warm, it keeps up with the heat just fine. I'd buy another!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ouellet 5000-Watt Utility/Garage Space Heater
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater for a great price

,
December 17, 2008
By NJDIYer
from NJ
"This heater was very simple to install. And does exactly what I was looking to do in my 2 car garage.
I looked around for about a month to find a heater to get rid of the chill out of my attached garage. After installing, testing, then returning a couple of heaters from you local home improvement center (None of them did the job). I was reminded of NORTHERN TOOL by a friend.
After installing this heater, with the bracket and simple wiring, my garage warmed up to about 64 degrees within 20 minutes.
There is very little noise from this unit when running. The built in thermostat is great. This way the heater doesn't run all the time.
Great Heater for a Great Price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.