Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"

"Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"

Item# 17303
"Heats things up fast AND saves floor space No blast of cold air at start-up - automatically delays fan action until the long-life heating element is warm. Fan continues until the heating element cools off. Built-in thermostat. Powerful heater delivers up to 17,065 BTU/hr. Horizontal heat flow and adjustable downflow positions allow it to distribute heat evenly throughout the room. Plated fin heating element provides uniform heated air discharge. 14in.L x 12 1/2in.W x 12 3/8in.H. 240 Volts, 5000 Watts at 17,065 BTU/hr. 21 Amps. Ceiling mount bracket included. Amps 21, Blower CFM 270, Watts 5,000, Remote Included No, Heat Settings 10, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Plug Type Hardwired, Blower Included Yes, Dimensions W x D x H in. 14 1/2 x 11 1/4 x 12 1/2, Volts 240, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Thermostat Included Yes, Product Style Permanent mount, Product Type Forced air, BTU Output 17,065. Fan throws air 16 feet in calm conditions Automatically delays fan action until heating element is warmed up Fan continues until heating element cools off Thermostat is manually adjustable"
Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(221 Reviews) 221
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (221 reviews)
5 stars
162
4 stars
41
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
10
206 of 221(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Review 1 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

,
February 28, 2016
By
from Central pa
Easy installation , installed in a 28 x 32 insulated garage,
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

,
February 22, 2016
By
from sumter sc
Expected much heavier, bigger item; expected low heat output when I saw the size of the unit. Installed it and was very impressed with the GREAT performance. Heats in a matter of minutes, runs quiet, and because it is lightweight, is easy to handle for installation. Very pleased with this purchase. Definitely recommend.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

20 + Years Old Still Working !

,
February 13, 2016
By
from Northern NY
Hi there, I have 2 of these heaters and both were bought here at Northern over 20 years ago and are fully operational !
The unit is well built and easy to hook up to power. It is quite and sounds like a box fan on low. Mine is set on max output (ie 5000 watt).
The only part replaced and this was last year was the thermostat. Remember it is over 20 years old. I bought the stat. here as well.
One heater is heating the left side of my basement and the other is heating the right side of my basement. I do this to keep the floor above warm in the winter. Heaters are used every winter and have outrageous hours on them. Fan motor still runs smooth.
I wrote this due some of the negatives here and feel since I've had good luck with mine people should know. I came here hoping this was still in production and it is, since I want one for my 16x20 storage shed.
Know What You Need Before You Buy It ! Complaints on not enough heat output is not the products fault, but people that do not know how to size a heater !
Heater sizing is like this, usually a insulated structure in Northern NY will require 50 BTU's per Square Foot. So my 16'x20' Structure is 320 Square Foot Multiply by 50 is 16,000 Btu's. So this is about capacity of this heater. This heater rating at Max. is 17,065 Btu's So do the math.
Next, if you want to know how much it will cost to run it is simple. If you have it set to 5000 watts it will use 5000 watts an hour. Here we pay about $ 0.116 per 1000 watts an hour Multiply times 5 is $ 0.58 an hour.
Again that is if the heater never shuts off !
Accuracy of the thermostat is not great on any electric heater with a built in thermostat, due to it is on the heater and you do get stray heat near the thermostat due to the wires on the thermostat get warm during operation. That's just the way it is.Good thing is this is a mechanical stat. ! Not electronic junk circuit board that usually will fail !
Now you can decide if this is the right heater for you.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should have done this years ago

,
February 6, 2016
By
from Knoxville, TN
I have a 20 X 20 garage with an upstairs apartment. Until recently, the bottom section of the garage was not heated or insulated. In very cold weather, we have had pipes burst several times.
I have now insulated the garage and installed one of these heaters, doing the job myself. My garage now stays at a very comfortable 50 to 60 degrees on the low setting, even if the temp outside is in the teens. I could warm it into the 70's without any problem at all if I wanted to.
This heater is made in the USA! Buy it. You'll be glad you did.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far So good

,
February 5, 2016
By
from Carthage IL
Have had this heater hooked up in our calving barn for the past week and so far it is doing exactly what we need it to do. Solid heater and working well for us
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great so far!

,
February 3, 2016
By
from Boise, ID
Put in 25'x24' garage and it is doing great so far! No complaints. Added a quick thermometer to dial the temp I wanted and then made some marks on the dial for the heater and I can set it to 45 when not working in garage, but go to 60+ very easily when working in the shop.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

She's a Beaut

,
January 4, 2016
By
from The Plains
From formulas on the internet you'd think the heater for your garage should cost a lot more than it should. We are using this model on low and it's probably 65-70 degrees in our 30' x 30' garage. I like the size of it too. It's small enough to fit up in a corner, out of the way.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality unit

,
December 27, 2015
By
from IOWA
This is my second one of these.The first, 5years old hangs on my 3 car garage and does a great job. Although this brand is a little more, spend the extra, you won't be disappointed. They just keep running.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shop Heater

,
December 7, 2015
By
from Mill City
After finding the proper location in my small shop, and installation & wiring, I turned it on. For once in many years, I could work in my wood shop in the winter in comfort. I only wish I'd known about this heater years ago.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the price

,
October 28, 2015
By
from Eugene, OR
This heater heats up my 20' x 20' garage quickly. So far it seems like a great heater for the price.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The good stuff

,
May 10, 2015
By
from Minn.
I own this heater and the other brand less expensive model also offered at Northern. I recommend buying this one over the other. This is a solid performer and does what it is supposed to. The other one operated flakey. It took forever to warm the room. In feedback I saw others had the same problem with the less expensive brand.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
April 18, 2015
By
from Connecticut
Small,and quiet but does the job in my single door two car garage. I do most of my own car repairs, and got tired of freezing my butt off in the winter. This little heater takes up no space but heats my garage up to a comfortable level in about 15 minutes when its really cold out. It is bolted to the ceiling and wired to a disconnect i can reach, so once i dialed in the thermostat all i do is flip on the disconnect when i need it. Suits my needs perfectly.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater

,
January 27, 2015
By
from calhan, co
good product. no problems installing unit.
heated the shop (24'x48'x12 high) from 20 to 46
in about 40 minutes. it was 18 outside
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Failed with less than 30 hours run time

,
January 13, 2015
By
from Roanoke, Virginia
Heated nicely after initial installation but before 30 hours run time something failed. The fan runs, the green light is lit, the red is not lit to indicate an over temp situation. I believe the B57 L150F Temperature Control switch contacts burnt out. After heater element quit I switched from 5000 watt to 4000 and 3000, with each click of the switch I seen a white arc flash then nothing with repeated switch changes. I called NT Customer Service and got a return authorization for this defective heater.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome heater

,
January 7, 2015
By
from saylorsburg,paawesome heater
bought this heater to heat my crawlspace which froze up twice last year. space is 900 sq. ft. this heater keeps that space 50 degrees consistently & because the thermastat is accurate it runs very little. it is set one click above the lowest setting. highly recommended, buy with confidence.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fahrenheat 5000 heater

,
January 6, 2015
By
from bristol tn
working good so far, have a 24x30 garage, keeps it around 50 degrees on low setting, very satisfied with it .
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small but Powerfull

,
January 2, 2015
By
from Northern MN
Much smaller unit than I expected and had some initial concerns. Install was easy and took about an hour. Once turned on, this unit heated up my space quickly. I have a 2 1/2 car insulated garage / shop, and was considering the 7500 watt unit. This week temps hit highs of -5 F, and this heater kept the space at approx 62 degrees at just 2 clicks above the Low setting. Very happy with this heater
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
December 25, 2014
By
from Bloomfield,Ct
Easy to install, heats great, small in size, just a awesome product and yes I did recommend to my friend, he bought it and thinks its a great heater!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality / Easy to Install

,
November 29, 2014
By
from Mentor, OH
Very easy to install and very good quality. All you need is a 30 amp breaker, 10/2 wire, a junction box, some conduit to make everything look professional/up to code and that's about it. I was going to buy a different mfg model but after reading some reviews, I decided to pay a little extra and get this Fahrenheat model - glad I did.
I live in Northeast Ohio and have a 4 car attached garage. Garage size is about 38' by 20' and 11' in height. This heater has no problem heating the garage to a comfortable level. I don't heat it all the time, just when I'm working on my old car, etc.
Or, say if the outside temp goes to something ridiculous like -30, like it did last year.
Heating info - recently it was 28' outside. The temp in the garage was 42. Turned the heater on, within about 50 minutes it was 53. The thermostat works well, so when you reach a desirable temperature, you can easily set it and it stays in that range (+- a degree or two, its just a dial). I've been keeping it around 58 which is good for working on a car, etc. It can heat it much higher than this - into the 80s if you wanted it to.
One note is that a lot of a lot of heaters will give you square footage that they are capable of heating. I originally thought this heater might be a little small for my garage. My square footage is about 760, and then you add about 10% for each foot of height above 8'. So I estimated around 950 square feet. But you're not heating an empty room. You have things in your garage that takes up space - cars, storage bins, etc.
All in all, I'm very happy with this heater and it is the perfect size for my garage.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
November 24, 2014
By
from Glen Allen, VA
I installed this heater about a month ago in my garage. The garage is closer to 800 sq ft than 500 but I figured I'd add another if needed. Other reviews indicated it would outperform its rated square footage.
It hasn't been frigid but we have had several days that barely broke freezing with teens at night. I've been able to keep it at 60 degrees inside with it set just above low. It takes a few hours on low to bring it up from the mid 40's but if left on it doesn't run much to maintain.
The garage is brick/block with an insulated door, single pane windows and 1/2" foam ceiling that isn't very air tight. I mounted it in the center of the front wall and pointed it down about 30 degrees so it would blow across the floor. This seems to help spread the heat without it all going to the ceiling like other heaters I've used.
I don't know what it is costing me to run but I know in the past I have used $10-15 worth of kerosene or the same in propane (wall mounted) per day and didn't get the same results. And I don't stink like burning kero at the end of the day.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.