Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"

"Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"

Item# 17303
"Heats things up fast AND saves floor space No blast of cold air at start-up - automatically delays fan action until the long-life heating element is warm. Fan continues until the heating element cools off. Built-in thermostat. Powerful heater delivers up to 17,065 BTU/hr. Horizontal heat flow and adjustable downflow positions allow it to distribute heat evenly throughout the room. Plated fin heating element provides uniform heated air discharge. 14in.L x 12 1/2in.W x 12 3/8in.H. 240 Volts, 5000 Watts at 17,065 BTU/hr. 21 Amps. Ceiling mount bracket included. Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Dimensions W x D x H in. 14 1/2 x 11 1/4 x 12 1/2, Watts 5,000, BTU Output 17,065, Product Type Forced air, Plug Type Hardwired, Product Style Permanent mount, Heat Settings 10, Blower CFM 270, Volts 240, Thermostat Included Yes, Amps 21, Blower Included Yes, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Remote Included No. Fan throws air 16 feet in calm conditions Automatically delays fan action until heating element is warmed up Fan continues until heating element cools off Thermostat is manually adjustable"
Average Customer Rating:
4.544 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(217 Reviews) 217
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (217 reviews)
5 stars
158
4 stars
41
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
10
202 of 217(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Review 1 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far So good

,
February 5, 2016
By
from Carthage IL
Have had this heater hooked up in our calving barn for the past week and so far it is doing exactly what we need it to do. Solid heater and working well for us
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great so far!

,
February 3, 2016
By
from Boise, ID
Put in 25'x24' garage and it is doing great so far! No complaints. Added a quick thermometer to dial the temp I wanted and then made some marks on the dial for the heater and I can set it to 45 when not working in garage, but go to 60+ very easily when working in the shop.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

She's a Beaut

,
January 4, 2016
By
from The Plains
From formulas on the internet you'd think the heater for your garage should cost a lot more than it should. We are using this model on low and it's probably 65-70 degrees in our 30' x 30' garage. I like the size of it too. It's small enough to fit up in a corner, out of the way.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality unit

,
December 27, 2015
By
from IOWA
This is my second one of these.The first, 5years old hangs on my 3 car garage and does a great job. Although this brand is a little more, spend the extra, you won't be disappointed. They just keep running.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shop Heater

,
December 7, 2015
By
from Mill City
After finding the proper location in my small shop, and installation & wiring, I turned it on. For once in many years, I could work in my wood shop in the winter in comfort. I only wish I'd known about this heater years ago.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the price

,
October 28, 2015
By
from Eugene, OR
This heater heats up my 20' x 20' garage quickly. So far it seems like a great heater for the price.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The good stuff

,
May 10, 2015
By
from Minn.
I own this heater and the other brand less expensive model also offered at Northern. I recommend buying this one over the other. This is a solid performer and does what it is supposed to. The other one operated flakey. It took forever to warm the room. In feedback I saw others had the same problem with the less expensive brand.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
April 18, 2015
By
from Connecticut
Small,and quiet but does the job in my single door two car garage. I do most of my own car repairs, and got tired of freezing my butt off in the winter. This little heater takes up no space but heats my garage up to a comfortable level in about 15 minutes when its really cold out. It is bolted to the ceiling and wired to a disconnect i can reach, so once i dialed in the thermostat all i do is flip on the disconnect when i need it. Suits my needs perfectly.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater

,
January 27, 2015
By
from calhan, co
good product. no problems installing unit.
heated the shop (24'x48'x12 high) from 20 to 46
in about 40 minutes. it was 18 outside
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Failed with less than 30 hours run time

,
January 13, 2015
By
from Roanoke, Virginia
Heated nicely after initial installation but before 30 hours run time something failed. The fan runs, the green light is lit, the red is not lit to indicate an over temp situation. I believe the B57 L150F Temperature Control switch contacts burnt out. After heater element quit I switched from 5000 watt to 4000 and 3000, with each click of the switch I seen a white arc flash then nothing with repeated switch changes. I called NT Customer Service and got a return authorization for this defective heater.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome heater

,
January 7, 2015
By
from saylorsburg,paawesome heater
bought this heater to heat my crawlspace which froze up twice last year. space is 900 sq. ft. this heater keeps that space 50 degrees consistently & because the thermastat is accurate it runs very little. it is set one click above the lowest setting. highly recommended, buy with confidence.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fahrenheat 5000 heater

,
January 6, 2015
By
from bristol tn
working good so far, have a 24x30 garage, keeps it around 50 degrees on low setting, very satisfied with it .
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small but Powerfull

,
January 2, 2015
By
from Northern MN
Much smaller unit than I expected and had some initial concerns. Install was easy and took about an hour. Once turned on, this unit heated up my space quickly. I have a 2 1/2 car insulated garage / shop, and was considering the 7500 watt unit. This week temps hit highs of -5 F, and this heater kept the space at approx 62 degrees at just 2 clicks above the Low setting. Very happy with this heater
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
December 25, 2014
By
from Bloomfield,Ct
Easy to install, heats great, small in size, just a awesome product and yes I did recommend to my friend, he bought it and thinks its a great heater!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality / Easy to Install

,
November 29, 2014
By
from Mentor, OH
Very easy to install and very good quality. All you need is a 30 amp breaker, 10/2 wire, a junction box, some conduit to make everything look professional/up to code and that's about it. I was going to buy a different mfg model but after reading some reviews, I decided to pay a little extra and get this Fahrenheat model - glad I did.
I live in Northeast Ohio and have a 4 car attached garage. Garage size is about 38' by 20' and 11' in height. This heater has no problem heating the garage to a comfortable level. I don't heat it all the time, just when I'm working on my old car, etc.
Or, say if the outside temp goes to something ridiculous like -30, like it did last year.
Heating info - recently it was 28' outside. The temp in the garage was 42. Turned the heater on, within about 50 minutes it was 53. The thermostat works well, so when you reach a desirable temperature, you can easily set it and it stays in that range (+- a degree or two, its just a dial). I've been keeping it around 58 which is good for working on a car, etc. It can heat it much higher than this - into the 80s if you wanted it to.
One note is that a lot of a lot of heaters will give you square footage that they are capable of heating. I originally thought this heater might be a little small for my garage. My square footage is about 760, and then you add about 10% for each foot of height above 8'. So I estimated around 950 square feet. But you're not heating an empty room. You have things in your garage that takes up space - cars, storage bins, etc.
All in all, I'm very happy with this heater and it is the perfect size for my garage.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
November 24, 2014
By
from Glen Allen, VA
I installed this heater about a month ago in my garage. The garage is closer to 800 sq ft than 500 but I figured I'd add another if needed. Other reviews indicated it would outperform its rated square footage.
It hasn't been frigid but we have had several days that barely broke freezing with teens at night. I've been able to keep it at 60 degrees inside with it set just above low. It takes a few hours on low to bring it up from the mid 40's but if left on it doesn't run much to maintain.
The garage is brick/block with an insulated door, single pane windows and 1/2" foam ceiling that isn't very air tight. I mounted it in the center of the front wall and pointed it down about 30 degrees so it would blow across the floor. This seems to help spread the heat without it all going to the ceiling like other heaters I've used.
I don't know what it is costing me to run but I know in the past I have used $10-15 worth of kerosene or the same in propane (wall mounted) per day and didn't get the same results. And I don't stink like burning kero at the end of the day.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

thermal overload

,
November 18, 2014
By
from Pendleton County, KY
I replaced the thermal safety overload (one and done) shortly after I installed this model heater two years ago. It recently burned out again. I will not repair it again. I will say that it works well when it works.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heate

,
November 17, 2014
By
from Idaho
Have a Dayton ceiling heater in a 20'X30' garage past 5 years, purchased this Fahrenheat as a backup. Both models appear to be clones so it will be an easy plug and play install when needed. Northern's price was right, shipping was fast, packaging was excellent, product is well built, I do not anticipate any issues. Garage is insulated, winters get cold at 5000' elevation, low setting on this size heater keeps garage at 50 and I can bump it up when working in there. Northern is a great company to buy from!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater

,
November 2, 2014
By
from Texas
Put this heater in a 30x40 insulated barn maintains a comfortable working temperature. Thermostat works good comes on and goes off accordingly quiet running as well.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality product

,
October 31, 2014
By
from Northwest, Ohio
Easy to install yourself, started right up and throws good heat in my oversized 2 car garage. My garage only has minimal insulalation in the ceiling, but warmed up fast and doesn't run much. Will see when it gets real cold how it really works. Haven't gotten the first electric bill yet, but I think it will be cheaper than running space heater I've run in the past. The fan could be a little quieter, but I'll get used to that I think. Thats why I only gave it 4 stars.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.