Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"

"Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"

Item# 17303
"Heats things up fast AND saves floor space No blast of cold air at start-up - automatically delays fan action until the long-life heating element is warm. Fan continues until the heating element cools off. Built-in thermostat. Powerful heater delivers up to 17,065 BTU/hr. Horizontal heat flow and adjustable downflow positions allow it to distribute heat evenly throughout the room. Plated fin heating element provides uniform heated air discharge. 14in.L x 12 1/2in.W x 12 3/8in.H. 240 Volts, 5000 Watts at 17,065 BTU/hr. 21 Amps. Ceiling mount bracket included. Product Style Permanent mount, Product Type Forced air, Amps 21, Blower CFM 270, Heat Settings 10, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Plug Type Hardwired, Blower Included Yes, Dimensions W x D x H in. 14 1/2 x 11 1/4 x 12 1/2, Volts 240, Watts 5,000, Remote Included No, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Thermostat Included Yes, BTU Output 17,065. Fan throws air 16 feet in calm conditions Automatically delays fan action until heating element is warmed up Fan continues until heating element cools off Thermostat is manually adjustable"
Average Customer Rating:
4.537 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(203 Reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (203 reviews)
5 stars
146
4 stars
40
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
9
189 of 203(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Review 1 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality / Easy to Install

,
November 29, 2014
By 1970GTO
from Mentor, OH
" Very easy to install and very good quality. All you need is a 30 amp breaker, 10/2 wire, a junction box, some conduit to make everything look professional/up to code and that's about it. I was going to buy a different mfg model but after reading some reviews, I decided to pay a little extra and get this Fahrenheat model - glad I did.
I live in Northeast Ohio and have a 4 car attached garage. Garage size is about 38' by 20' and 11' in height. This heater has no problem heating the garage to a comfortable level. I don't heat it all the time, just when I'm working on my old car, etc.
Or, say if the outside temp goes to something ridiculous like -30, like it did last year.
Heating info - recently it was 28' outside. The temp in the garage was 42. Turned the heater on, within about 50 minutes it was 53. The thermostat works well, so when you reach a desirable temperature, you can easily set it and it stays in that range (+- a degree or two, its just a dial). I've been keeping it around 58 which is good for working on a car, etc. It can heat it much higher than this - into the 80s if you wanted it to.
One note is that a lot of a lot of heaters will give you square footage that they are capable of heating. I originally thought this heater might be a little small for my garage. My square footage is about 760, and then you add about 10% for each foot of height above 8'. So I estimated around 950 square feet. But you're not heating an empty room. You have things in your garage that takes up space - cars, storage bins, etc.
All in all, I'm very happy with this heater and it is the perfect size for my garage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
November 24, 2014
By VAGarage
from Glen Allen, VA
" I installed this heater about a month ago in my garage. The garage is closer to 800 sq ft than 500 but I figured I'd add another if needed. Other reviews indicated it would outperform its rated square footage.
It hasn't been frigid but we have had several days that barely broke freezing with teens at night. I've been able to keep it at 60 degrees inside with it set just above low. It takes a few hours on low to bring it up from the mid 40's but if left on it doesn't run much to maintain.
The garage is brick/block with an insulated door, single pane windows and 1/2" foam ceiling that isn't very air tight. I mounted it in the center of the front wall and pointed it down about 30 degrees so it would blow across the floor. This seems to help spread the heat without it all going to the ceiling like other heaters I've used.
I don't know what it is costing me to run but I know in the past I have used $10-15 worth of kerosene or the same in propane (wall mounted) per day and didn't get the same results. And I don't stink like burning kero at the end of the day. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

thermal overload

,
November 18, 2014
By emjayem
from Pendleton County, KY
" I replaced the thermal safety overload (one and done) shortly after I installed this model heater two years ago. It recently burned out again. I will not repair it again. I will say that it works well when it works. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heate

,
November 17, 2014
By ElkH
from Idaho
" Have a Dayton ceiling heater in a 20'X30' garage past 5 years, purchased this Fahrenheat as a backup. Both models appear to be clones so it will be an easy plug and play install when needed. Northern's price was right, shipping was fast, packaging was excellent, product is well built, I do not anticipate any issues. Garage is insulated, winters get cold at 5000' elevation, low setting on this size heater keeps garage at 50 and I can bump it up when working in there. Northern is a great company to buy from! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater

,
November 2, 2014
By SmithFarms
from Texas
" Put this heater in a 30x40 insulated barn maintains a comfortable working temperature. Thermostat works good comes on and goes off accordingly quiet running as well. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality product

,
October 31, 2014
By FXDC
from Northwest, Ohio
" Easy to install yourself, started right up and throws good heat in my oversized 2 car garage. My garage only has minimal insulalation in the ceiling, but warmed up fast and doesn't run much. Will see when it gets real cold how it really works. Haven't gotten the first electric bill yet, but I think it will be cheaper than running space heater I've run in the past. The fan could be a little quieter, but I'll get used to that I think. Thats why I only gave it 4 stars. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

garage heater

,
October 26, 2014
By champ5647
from st.louis, mo
" When i opened the box i was like this small heater isn't going to put out the heat that i want.even though they tell you the deminsion specs on the website. It hasn't been cold enough to brag about keeping up with january freeze yet but the test trials have convinced me . I am pleased with this purchase for my 2 car garage "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

bbman

,
October 4, 2014
By bbman
from cincinnati ohio
" electric garage heater, recently purchased easy to install seems like it works good. i own a 40x12 garage it seems to heat well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shop Heater

,
August 26, 2014
By Ace399
from NY
" The quality of this little heater is outstanding. Was very easy to install and it works great. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
July 14, 2014
By shadefxd
from Joplin, MO
" I currently own two of these heaters and am buying a third in the very near future for a small art studio for my wife. The two heaters I already have, have been in my 36 x 20 shop with 10' ceilings. I rarely use both at the same time unless its super cold I have had both for 12 years with no issues. One keeps the shop at 65 degrees with no issues but when I want to kick it up to 72 - 75 one will do it but I will turn the second one on to make it easier so they run less. Would recommend this to everyone. Not the cheapest little heater on here but its true you get what you pay for. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Heater

,
June 27, 2014
By DOFFUTT
from Georgia, USA
" I use this unit to heat a Georgia garage work space of about 530 SF with 14' ceiling (volume ~7400 cu-ft). Space has minimally insulated walls, ceiling and double overhead door.
One Marley Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4 (mounted 12' AFF) is able to maintain this space at 68F with an outside air temp of <20F while running <10hr per day.
I modified it for remote thermostat control, exactly as recommended in review above by JohnHMA, (Honeywell R841C-1169 Electric Heat Relay and a Honeywell Digital T-stat (mounted 5' AFF)) with addition of a Hour-meter that records actual heating element run time. I installed it in November 2013. Its now the end of June 2014 and it has accumulated a total flawless run time of <800 hours.
At a cost of about 10 cents per kWh, this heater costs about $0.50/hour to run. This works out to about $67/month for the cold months it was heating, Well worth it to have a comfortable winter work space.
John, thanks for the tip! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best product at an affordable price.

,
April 23, 2014
By railmom25
from Woodville, Wi
" Reviewed several heaters online and looked at complaints. Talked to an electrician who will be installing the same and received favorable results from him. He recommended this product as an easy model to install and that the lifetime of the product was also favorable. I can give a better review when winter comes again and it has been installed. I bought it at the end of winter because of recommendations and the sale price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Surprised How Strong It Is

,
March 8, 2014
By DB1212
from Central New Hampshire
" I have a 1100 sq ft. garage with 9.5 ft. ceilings. The winter of 2014 was COLD in New Hampshire (went for a month without going above freezing). When I ran the numbers it was marginable that I needed 3 of these heaters, I brought 2 to save the money. I figured if they couldn't handle it I could add the third one. I CAN'T believe how well they work for the money. No problem keeping the shop at 68 degrees. I am very happy with the purchase, even buying two of these heaters it is still half the price of a oil or propane furnace. I had heat in an afternoon. Just connect the wires. No chinney, no ductwork, and no plumbing. Unless you are heating finished living space do yourself a favor and go with this heater. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Awesome Heater

,
February 6, 2014
By Hulsley
from Arkansas
" This heater is what every antique car garage hobbyist is searching for to deal with the 2014 Arctic Vortex Winter Storms. Set controls on mid setting and waited about two hours to test temperature in my un-insulated garage, the heater warm my two garage to 65 degrees and was cycling off and on by the thermostat. The outside temperature was 22 degrees and falling . Don't under estimate this heater - thinking it is small in size so it must be inadequate. It's worth every penny. And that is how the cow ate the cabbage. Jack "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Heater

,
February 6, 2014
By 1975D
from Texas
" I bought this heater for my garage so I could work on car in the winter and it works great. Easy to install, you can change air flow direction easily and temperature seems to stay constant at temperature setting. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Installed 2 -- Results detailed

,
February 5, 2014
By Riverson
from Post Falls, Idaho
" I installed two of these heaters—one in my 200 sq ft shop and one in my 500 sq ft garage. For each unit I installed a double pole, single throw, wall switch rated at 30 amps. The heater does have an internal thermostat with a positive off setting (you can feel it click off), but I prefer also having the remote disconnects in addition to the dedicated 30-amp breakers for each. I used Romex 10-2 w/ground wiring (which is rated for 30 amps) where the walls are or will be enclosed, and then from the walls to the heaters I used flex conduit so no sheaved wiring will be left exposed. (4-ft flexible conduit whips with 10 gauge stranded wire are available at the big box stores, plus they have the 30 amp double pole switches that are needed to interrupt both legs of the 240 VAC supply.)
I am puzzled by some of the reviews. One dissatisfied reviewer mentioned that the yellow light stays on so he knows that the unit is receiving power…but there is no yellow light on the 2 units that I have. There is only a single red alarm light that indicates when an overheated condition has occurred, so normally this light would never come on. Another reviewer mentioned an off-balance fan and noisy operation. For the record, neither of my units has fan problems, and although you can certainly hear the fans when operating, the noise level is what you would expect…not objectionable at all for an industrial type heater. And then there was a reviewer who said that the unit doesn’t really have a thermostat, but a timer with the option of choosing low to high heat settings. A timer??? Not on mine. I am left wondering if people have accidentally reviewed the wrong heater. At any rate, something isn’t right. Two back-to-back negative reviews almost seem like they were written by the same dissatisfied person.
My 200 sq ft insulated shop heats up from 30 degrees to 56 degrees within in 45 minutes. My 500 sq ft partially insulated garage (one wall is yet to be insulated) heats up from 30 degrees to 50 degrees in 45 minutes. Once the temperature that I want has been reached, the heaters cycle on infrequently as holding a temperature is considerably easier than first reaching one. Here are specific test results:
Starting temperature was 30 degrees for each.
@ 10 minutes: Shop = 39 degrees / Garage = 34 degrees
@ 15 minutes: Shop = 42 degrees / Garage = 39 degrees
@ 20 minutes: Shop = 45 degrees / Garage = 41 degrees
@ 25 minutes: Shop = 47 degrees / Garage = 45 degrees
@ 30 minutes: Shop = 50 degrees / Garage = 46 degrees
@ 35 minutes: Shop = 52 degrees / Garage = 48 degrees
@ 40 minutes: Shop = 54 degrees / Garage = 49 degrees
@ 45 minutes: Shop = 56 degrees / Garage = 50 degrees
Test halted—temperatures still rising.
As others have stated, a remote thermostat would provide improved performance, but then you invite additional wiring and more places for things to go wrong and for people to make mistakes. The internal thermostat should be considered a necessary compromise, and it functions well enough for satisfactory operation. Also, the fan initiates operation AFTER the coils come up to temperature (reduces the chill effect), and the fan has to continue operation for a while AFTER the coils no longer are receiving power and are cooling down. Here is where you don’t want to rely on a remote on/off switch or typical thermostat since cutting power to the unit when the coils are still energized prevents them from being properly cooled down by the fan. You should normally turn power off to the unit only when assured that the coils do not require cooling.
If these heaters prove reliable after more extended use I will be more than satisfied with them. It sure beats having a propane or kerosene heater to refuel with their related odors and increased risks of fire, not to mention potential carbon monoxide issues. Incidentally, a 1500 watt 120 VAC heater cannot begin to compare with the heat generated by these efficient 5,000 watt heaters. I used 3 nearly identical 5,000 watt Dayton heaters at a remote site in Alaska for 5 years with one failure—and that was for one of the heaters that had been in use an unknown number of years prior. It wouldn’t surprise me if the same manufacturer makes these Fahrenheat heaters. If I had to do this all over again, I would make the exact same choice.
By the way, I tried to upload 2 photos showing these 2 installations, but the server would not allow this even after 4 tries. The photos met all the required guidelines. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

bringing the heat

,
February 4, 2014
By dseymour
from West TN
" This heater did an excellent job of replacing OEM.
And it used as an addition at another location where it proved easy to install and effective.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Garage Heater

,
February 4, 2014
By oldcardude
from Hagerstown, MD
" I bought this heater for my garage to supplement the existing heater so I could work more comfortably in the winter on my project cars. It works well as an additional heater in my 25'x25' garage, but if I was going to rely on it for primary heat, I think I would need a couple more, spaced around the room. I mounted it on the ceiling as per the instructions, and the heat is noticeable for about ten feet away. Of course, it doesn't help that this winter has been one of the coldest in recent memory, with single digit temps and my garage could be insulated better. Overall, I'd say that this heater is well worth the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor heat output

,
February 4, 2014
By jm222
from oklahoma
" I have had the unit for about two months,and i have to say I am a little disappointed. the heat output is very poor You can't feel the heat two feet from the unit.Yes it is installed correctly there is heat coming out just not that much. I guess i just expected more. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heater

,
February 4, 2014
By mike8nfords
from st louis
" this heater is awesome works great easy to install i bought it on sale though think full price is a little high "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.