Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4

Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4

Item# 17303
Heats things up fast AND saves floor space No blast of cold air at start-up - automatically delays fan action until the long-life heating element is warm. Fan continues until the heating element cools off. Built-in thermostat. Powerful heater delivers up to 17,065 BTU/hr. Horizontal heat flow and adjustable downflow positions allow it to distribute heat evenly throughout the room. Plated fin heating element provides uniform heated air discharge. 14in.L x 12 1/2in.W x 12 3/8in.H. 240 Volts, 5000 Watts at 17,065 BTU/hr. 21 Amps. Ceiling mount bracket included. Product Style Permanent mount, Product Type Forced air, Amps 21, Blower CFM 270, Heat Settings 10, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Plug Type Hardwired, Blower Included Yes, Dimensions W x D x H in. 14 1/2 x 11 1/4 x 12 1/2, Volts 240, Watts 5,000, Remote Included No, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Thermostat Included Yes, BTU Output 17,065. Fan throws air 16 feet in calm conditions Automatically delays fan action until heating element is warmed up Fan continues until heating element cools off Thermostat is manually adjustable
Average Customer Rating:
4.541 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(196 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (196 reviews)
5 stars
141
4 stars
39
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
9
183 of 196(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Review 1 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

bbman

,
October 4, 2014
By bbman
from cincinnati ohio
"electric garage heater, recently purchased easy to install seems like it works good. i own a 40x12 garage it seems to heat well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shop Heater

,
August 26, 2014
By Ace399
from NY
"The quality of this little heater is outstanding. Was very easy to install and it works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
July 14, 2014
By shadefxd
from Joplin, MO
"I currently own two of these heaters and am buying a third in the very near future for a small art studio for my wife. The two heaters I already have, have been in my 36 x 20 shop with 10' ceilings. I rarely use both at the same time unless its super cold I have had both for 12 years with no issues. One keeps the shop at 65 degrees with no issues but when I want to kick it up to 72 - 75 one will do it but I will turn the second one on to make it easier so they run less. Would recommend this to everyone. Not the cheapest little heater on here but its true you get what you pay for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Heater

,
June 27, 2014
By DOFFUTT
from Georgia, USA
"I use this unit to heat a Georgia garage work space of about 530 SF with 14' ceiling (volume ~7400 cu-ft). Space has minimally insulated walls, ceiling and double overhead door.
One Marley Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4 (mounted 12' AFF) is able to maintain this space at 68F with an outside air temp of <20F while running <10hr per day.
I modified it for remote thermostat control, exactly as recommended in review above by JohnHMA, (Honeywell R841C-1169 Electric Heat Relay and a Honeywell Digital T-stat (mounted 5' AFF)) with addition of a Hour-meter that records actual heating element run time. I installed it in November 2013. Its now the end of June 2014 and it has accumulated a total flawless run time of <800 hours.
At a cost of about 10 cents per kWh, this heater costs about $0.50/hour to run. This works out to about $67/month for the cold months it was heating, Well worth it to have a comfortable winter work space.
John, thanks for the tip!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best product at an affordable price.

,
April 23, 2014
By railmom25
from Woodville, Wi
"Reviewed several heaters online and looked at complaints. Talked to an electrician who will be installing the same and received favorable results from him. He recommended this product as an easy model to install and that the lifetime of the product was also favorable. I can give a better review when winter comes again and it has been installed. I bought it at the end of winter because of recommendations and the sale price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Surprised How Strong It Is

,
March 8, 2014
By DB1212
from Central New Hampshire
"I have a 1100 sq ft. garage with 9.5 ft. ceilings. The winter of 2014 was COLD in New Hampshire (went for a month without going above freezing). When I ran the numbers it was marginable that I needed 3 of these heaters, I brought 2 to save the money. I figured if they couldn't handle it I could add the third one. I CAN'T believe how well they work for the money. No problem keeping the shop at 68 degrees. I am very happy with the purchase, even buying two of these heaters it is still half the price of a oil or propane furnace. I had heat in an afternoon. Just connect the wires. No chinney, no ductwork, and no plumbing. Unless you are heating finished living space do yourself a favor and go with this heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Awesome Heater

,
February 6, 2014
By Hulsley
from Arkansas
"This heater is what every antique car garage hobbyist is searching for to deal with the 2014 Arctic Vortex Winter Storms. Set controls on mid setting and waited about two hours to test temperature in my un-insulated garage, the heater warm my two garage to 65 degrees and was cycling off and on by the thermostat. The outside temperature was 22 degrees and falling . Don't under estimate this heater - thinking it is small in size so it must be inadequate. It's worth every penny. And that is how the cow ate the cabbage. Jack"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Heater

,
February 6, 2014
By 1975D
from Texas
"I bought this heater for my garage so I could work on car in the winter and it works great. Easy to install, you can change air flow direction easily and temperature seems to stay constant at temperature setting."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Installed 2 -- Results detailed

,
February 5, 2014
By Riverson
from Post Falls, Idaho
"I installed two of these heaters—one in my 200 sq ft shop and one in my 500 sq ft garage. For each unit I installed a double pole, single throw, wall switch rated at 30 amps. The heater does have an internal thermostat with a positive off setting (you can feel it click off), but I prefer also having the remote disconnects in addition to the dedicated 30-amp breakers for each. I used Romex 10-2 w/ground wiring (which is rated for 30 amps) where the walls are or will be enclosed, and then from the walls to the heaters I used flex conduit so no sheaved wiring will be left exposed. (4-ft flexible conduit whips with 10 gauge stranded wire are available at the big box stores, plus they have the 30 amp double pole switches that are needed to interrupt both legs of the 240 VAC supply.)
I am puzzled by some of the reviews. One dissatisfied reviewer mentioned that the yellow light stays on so he knows that the unit is receiving power…but there is no yellow light on the 2 units that I have. There is only a single red alarm light that indicates when an overheated condition has occurred, so normally this light would never come on. Another reviewer mentioned an off-balance fan and noisy operation. For the record, neither of my units has fan problems, and although you can certainly hear the fans when operating, the noise level is what you would expect…not objectionable at all for an industrial type heater. And then there was a reviewer who said that the unit doesn’t really have a thermostat, but a timer with the option of choosing low to high heat settings. A timer??? Not on mine. I am left wondering if people have accidentally reviewed the wrong heater. At any rate, something isn’t right. Two back-to-back negative reviews almost seem like they were written by the same dissatisfied person.
My 200 sq ft insulated shop heats up from 30 degrees to 56 degrees within in 45 minutes. My 500 sq ft partially insulated garage (one wall is yet to be insulated) heats up from 30 degrees to 50 degrees in 45 minutes. Once the temperature that I want has been reached, the heaters cycle on infrequently as holding a temperature is considerably easier than first reaching one. Here are specific test results:
Starting temperature was 30 degrees for each.
@ 10 minutes: Shop = 39 degrees / Garage = 34 degrees
@ 15 minutes: Shop = 42 degrees / Garage = 39 degrees
@ 20 minutes: Shop = 45 degrees / Garage = 41 degrees
@ 25 minutes: Shop = 47 degrees / Garage = 45 degrees
@ 30 minutes: Shop = 50 degrees / Garage = 46 degrees
@ 35 minutes: Shop = 52 degrees / Garage = 48 degrees
@ 40 minutes: Shop = 54 degrees / Garage = 49 degrees
@ 45 minutes: Shop = 56 degrees / Garage = 50 degrees
Test halted—temperatures still rising.
As others have stated, a remote thermostat would provide improved performance, but then you invite additional wiring and more places for things to go wrong and for people to make mistakes. The internal thermostat should be considered a necessary compromise, and it functions well enough for satisfactory operation. Also, the fan initiates operation AFTER the coils come up to temperature (reduces the chill effect), and the fan has to continue operation for a while AFTER the coils no longer are receiving power and are cooling down. Here is where you don’t want to rely on a remote on/off switch or typical thermostat since cutting power to the unit when the coils are still energized prevents them from being properly cooled down by the fan. You should normally turn power off to the unit only when assured that the coils do not require cooling.
If these heaters prove reliable after more extended use I will be more than satisfied with them. It sure beats having a propane or kerosene heater to refuel with their related odors and increased risks of fire, not to mention potential carbon monoxide issues. Incidentally, a 1500 watt 120 VAC heater cannot begin to compare with the heat generated by these efficient 5,000 watt heaters. I used 3 nearly identical 5,000 watt Dayton heaters at a remote site in Alaska for 5 years with one failure—and that was for one of the heaters that had been in use an unknown number of years prior. It wouldn’t surprise me if the same manufacturer makes these Fahrenheat heaters. If I had to do this all over again, I would make the exact same choice.
By the way, I tried to upload 2 photos showing these 2 installations, but the server would not allow this even after 4 tries. The photos met all the required guidelines."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

bringing the heat

,
February 4, 2014
By dseymour
from West TN
"This heater did an excellent job of replacing OEM.
And it used as an addition at another location where it proved easy to install and effective.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Garage Heater

,
February 4, 2014
By oldcardude
from Hagerstown, MD
"I bought this heater for my garage to supplement the existing heater so I could work more comfortably in the winter on my project cars. It works well as an additional heater in my 25'x25' garage, but if I was going to rely on it for primary heat, I think I would need a couple more, spaced around the room. I mounted it on the ceiling as per the instructions, and the heat is noticeable for about ten feet away. Of course, it doesn't help that this winter has been one of the coldest in recent memory, with single digit temps and my garage could be insulated better. Overall, I'd say that this heater is well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor heat output

,
February 4, 2014
By jm222
from oklahoma
"I have had the unit for about two months,and i have to say I am a little disappointed. the heat output is very poor You can't feel the heat two feet from the unit.Yes it is installed correctly there is heat coming out just not that much. I guess i just expected more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heater

,
February 4, 2014
By mike8nfords
from st louis
"this heater is awesome works great easy to install i bought it on sale though think full price is a little high"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent unit

,
February 4, 2014
By dflyer
from Ray Twp, MI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I don't understand the issues others are having with this heater. When I first fired it up, the fan was hitting the shroud, looked like shipping damage to the fan motor mounting bracket. I tweaked the fan motor mounting bracket and all has been fine since then. I heat a 24'x32' insulated garage with 8 foot ceilings. With "polar vortex" outside temps of 0 degrees F, the inside temp will stay at 46 degrees on the low position without the heater running constantly. I mounted the heater on a swivel in order to aim it where I would like to. The unit is amazingly quiet."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
February 4, 2014
By Blane
from Texas
"This heater is mounted in my cabin in the mountains of New Mexico and does an excellent job. After 5 years we have never had a problem. My neighbor bought the same model and has had the same great results."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Crapped Out Quickly

,
January 9, 2014
By Oxman
from Arkansas
"I bought this heater and it was great for a little over 2 weeks. It now randomly decides not to work. Wait a while and it will decide to work again. The yellow power light remains on so power to the unit is not the problem. The red light does not come on, so it has not overheated. Since it randomly decides not to work, I cannot depend on it to keep things from freezing in my garage. I am very disappointed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

fan stopped working after 2 months of use

,
January 8, 2014
By Framebuilder
from Moab, UT
"This heater worked for only a few months. The fan stopped working properly. Not much to say other than I am disappointed. the hear broke in the middle of the first season, right when I needed it most."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Buy

,
January 1, 2014
By Cab2500
from Kensington, CT
"Bought this heater just before thanksgiving for my garage (2 car). Heated the garage ok but the fan is very noisy and off balanced. Then the whole unit seized up on me just after a month of light use. Was a sceptic before on this unit and wish I listened to my buddies and spent the money on a good one now its going to cost me more. Unit was installed by a master Electrition."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
September 26, 2013
By TDog40
from Pavilion, NY
"Used in my 800 Sq Ft garage and works great. Spend a lot of time out there and very comfortable temp. Powerful enough that it does not have to run all the time. Easy to install if you are handy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heater review

,
September 17, 2013
By stevers
from north carolina
"Used this heater in Michigan for 3 years and it would keep my shop at 55 on the low setting even with temps at zero.. My shop was 16x30 with 10' ceiling. It was well insulated in walls and ceiling with a 10x8 insulated garage door... I am now using it in a 24x36 9' ceiling garage that was equipped with a propane heater.. I finally removed the propane heater because I never used it.. I wired my with #10 3 w/ground and use a 30amp 240 volt breaker and have never had a problem.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.