Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"

"Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"

Item# 17303
"Heats things up fast AND saves floor space No blast of cold air at start-up - automatically delays fan action until the long-life heating element is warm. Fan continues until the heating element cools off. Built-in thermostat. Powerful heater delivers up to 17,065 BTU/hr. Horizontal heat flow and adjustable downflow positions allow it to distribute heat evenly throughout the room. Plated fin heating element provides uniform heated air discharge. 14in.L x 12 1/2in.W x 12 3/8in.H. 240 Volts, 5000 Watts at 17,065 BTU/hr. 21 Amps. Ceiling mount bracket included. Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Dimensions W x D x H in. 14 1/2 x 11 1/4 x 12 1/2, Watts 5,000, BTU Output 17,065, Blower CFM 270, Volts 240, Blower Included Yes, Product Type Forced air, Plug Type Hardwired, Amps 21, Thermostat Included Yes, Product Style Permanent mount, Heat Settings 10, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Remote Included No. Fan throws air 16 feet in calm conditions Automatically delays fan action until heating element is warmed up Fan continues until heating element cools off Thermostat is manually adjustable"
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(210 Reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (210 reviews)
5 stars
152
4 stars
40
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
10
195 of 210(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Review 1 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
April 18, 2015
By Wardog686
from Connecticut
" Small,and quiet but does the job in my single door two car garage. I do most of my own car repairs, and got tired of freezing my butt off in the winter. This little heater takes up no space but heats my garage up to a comfortable level in about 15 minutes when its really cold out. It is bolted to the ceiling and wired to a disconnect i can reach, so once i dialed in the thermostat all i do is flip on the disconnect when i need it. Suits my needs perfectly. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater

,
January 27, 2015
By unhappy64
from calhan, co
" good product. no problems installing unit.
heated the shop (24'x48'x12 high) from 20 to 46
in about 40 minutes. it was 18 outside
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Failed with less than 30 hours run time

,
January 13, 2015
By WK001
from Roanoke, Virginia
" Heated nicely after initial installation but before 30 hours run time something failed. The fan runs, the green light is lit, the red is not lit to indicate an over temp situation. I believe the B57 L150F Temperature Control switch contacts burnt out. After heater element quit I switched from 5000 watt to 4000 and 3000, with each click of the switch I seen a white arc flash then nothing with repeated switch changes. I called NT Customer Service and got a return authorization for this defective heater. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome heater

,
January 7, 2015
By bs422
from saylorsburg,paawesome heater
" bought this heater to heat my crawlspace which froze up twice last year. space is 900 sq. ft. this heater keeps that space 50 degrees consistently & because the thermastat is accurate it runs very little. it is set one click above the lowest setting. highly recommended, buy with confidence. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fahrenheat 5000 heater

,
January 6, 2015
By amoore
from bristol tn
" working good so far, have a 24x30 garage, keeps it around 50 degrees on low setting, very satisfied with it . "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small but Powerfull

,
January 2, 2015
By CB66
from Northern MN
" Much smaller unit than I expected and had some initial concerns. Install was easy and took about an hour. Once turned on, this unit heated up my space quickly. I have a 2 1/2 car insulated garage / shop, and was considering the 7500 watt unit. This week temps hit highs of -5 F, and this heater kept the space at approx 62 degrees at just 2 clicks above the Low setting. Very happy with this heater "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
December 25, 2014
By JJmn2
from Bloomfield,Ct
" Easy to install, heats great, small in size, just a awesome product and yes I did recommend to my friend, he bought it and thinks its a great heater! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality / Easy to Install

,
November 29, 2014
By 1970GTO
from Mentor, OH
" Very easy to install and very good quality. All you need is a 30 amp breaker, 10/2 wire, a junction box, some conduit to make everything look professional/up to code and that's about it. I was going to buy a different mfg model but after reading some reviews, I decided to pay a little extra and get this Fahrenheat model - glad I did.
I live in Northeast Ohio and have a 4 car attached garage. Garage size is about 38' by 20' and 11' in height. This heater has no problem heating the garage to a comfortable level. I don't heat it all the time, just when I'm working on my old car, etc.
Or, say if the outside temp goes to something ridiculous like -30, like it did last year.
Heating info - recently it was 28' outside. The temp in the garage was 42. Turned the heater on, within about 50 minutes it was 53. The thermostat works well, so when you reach a desirable temperature, you can easily set it and it stays in that range (+- a degree or two, its just a dial). I've been keeping it around 58 which is good for working on a car, etc. It can heat it much higher than this - into the 80s if you wanted it to.
One note is that a lot of a lot of heaters will give you square footage that they are capable of heating. I originally thought this heater might be a little small for my garage. My square footage is about 760, and then you add about 10% for each foot of height above 8'. So I estimated around 950 square feet. But you're not heating an empty room. You have things in your garage that takes up space - cars, storage bins, etc.
All in all, I'm very happy with this heater and it is the perfect size for my garage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
November 24, 2014
By VAGarage
from Glen Allen, VA
" I installed this heater about a month ago in my garage. The garage is closer to 800 sq ft than 500 but I figured I'd add another if needed. Other reviews indicated it would outperform its rated square footage.
It hasn't been frigid but we have had several days that barely broke freezing with teens at night. I've been able to keep it at 60 degrees inside with it set just above low. It takes a few hours on low to bring it up from the mid 40's but if left on it doesn't run much to maintain.
The garage is brick/block with an insulated door, single pane windows and 1/2" foam ceiling that isn't very air tight. I mounted it in the center of the front wall and pointed it down about 30 degrees so it would blow across the floor. This seems to help spread the heat without it all going to the ceiling like other heaters I've used.
I don't know what it is costing me to run but I know in the past I have used $10-15 worth of kerosene or the same in propane (wall mounted) per day and didn't get the same results. And I don't stink like burning kero at the end of the day. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

thermal overload

,
November 18, 2014
By emjayem
from Pendleton County, KY
" I replaced the thermal safety overload (one and done) shortly after I installed this model heater two years ago. It recently burned out again. I will not repair it again. I will say that it works well when it works. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heate

,
November 17, 2014
By ElkH
from Idaho
" Have a Dayton ceiling heater in a 20'X30' garage past 5 years, purchased this Fahrenheat as a backup. Both models appear to be clones so it will be an easy plug and play install when needed. Northern's price was right, shipping was fast, packaging was excellent, product is well built, I do not anticipate any issues. Garage is insulated, winters get cold at 5000' elevation, low setting on this size heater keeps garage at 50 and I can bump it up when working in there. Northern is a great company to buy from! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater

,
November 2, 2014
By SmithFarms
from Texas
" Put this heater in a 30x40 insulated barn maintains a comfortable working temperature. Thermostat works good comes on and goes off accordingly quiet running as well. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality product

,
October 31, 2014
By FXDC
from Northwest, Ohio
" Easy to install yourself, started right up and throws good heat in my oversized 2 car garage. My garage only has minimal insulalation in the ceiling, but warmed up fast and doesn't run much. Will see when it gets real cold how it really works. Haven't gotten the first electric bill yet, but I think it will be cheaper than running space heater I've run in the past. The fan could be a little quieter, but I'll get used to that I think. Thats why I only gave it 4 stars. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

garage heater

,
October 26, 2014
By champ5647
from st.louis, mo
" When i opened the box i was like this small heater isn't going to put out the heat that i want.even though they tell you the deminsion specs on the website. It hasn't been cold enough to brag about keeping up with january freeze yet but the test trials have convinced me . I am pleased with this purchase for my 2 car garage "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

bbman

,
October 4, 2014
By bbman
from cincinnati ohio
" electric garage heater, recently purchased easy to install seems like it works good. i own a 40x12 garage it seems to heat well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shop Heater

,
August 26, 2014
By Ace399
from NY
" The quality of this little heater is outstanding. Was very easy to install and it works great. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
July 14, 2014
By shadefxd
from Joplin, MO
" I currently own two of these heaters and am buying a third in the very near future for a small art studio for my wife. The two heaters I already have, have been in my 36 x 20 shop with 10' ceilings. I rarely use both at the same time unless its super cold I have had both for 12 years with no issues. One keeps the shop at 65 degrees with no issues but when I want to kick it up to 72 - 75 one will do it but I will turn the second one on to make it easier so they run less. Would recommend this to everyone. Not the cheapest little heater on here but its true you get what you pay for. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Heater

,
June 27, 2014
By DOFFUTT
from Georgia, USA
" I use this unit to heat a Georgia garage work space of about 530 SF with 14' ceiling (volume ~7400 cu-ft). Space has minimally insulated walls, ceiling and double overhead door.
One Marley Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4 (mounted 12' AFF) is able to maintain this space at 68F with an outside air temp of <20F while running <10hr per day.
I modified it for remote thermostat control, exactly as recommended in review above by JohnHMA, (Honeywell R841C-1169 Electric Heat Relay and a Honeywell Digital T-stat (mounted 5' AFF)) with addition of a Hour-meter that records actual heating element run time. I installed it in November 2013. Its now the end of June 2014 and it has accumulated a total flawless run time of <800 hours.
At a cost of about 10 cents per kWh, this heater costs about $0.50/hour to run. This works out to about $67/month for the cold months it was heating, Well worth it to have a comfortable winter work space.
John, thanks for the tip! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best product at an affordable price.

,
April 23, 2014
By railmom25
from Woodville, Wi
" Reviewed several heaters online and looked at complaints. Talked to an electrician who will be installing the same and received favorable results from him. He recommended this product as an easy model to install and that the lifetime of the product was also favorable. I can give a better review when winter comes again and it has been installed. I bought it at the end of winter because of recommendations and the sale price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Fahrenheat Ceiling-Mount 5000 Watt Electric Heater, Model# FUH5-4"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Surprised How Strong It Is

,
March 8, 2014
By DB1212
from Central New Hampshire
" I have a 1100 sq ft. garage with 9.5 ft. ceilings. The winter of 2014 was COLD in New Hampshire (went for a month without going above freezing). When I ran the numbers it was marginable that I needed 3 of these heaters, I brought 2 to save the money. I figured if they couldn't handle it I could add the third one. I CAN'T believe how well they work for the money. No problem keeping the shop at 68 degrees. I am very happy with the purchase, even buying two of these heaters it is still half the price of a oil or propane furnace. I had heat in an afternoon. Just connect the wires. No chinney, no ductwork, and no plumbing. Unless you are heating finished living space do yourself a favor and go with this heater. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.