Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004

Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004

Item# 173051
Electric fan-forced heavy-duty heater is ideal for workshop, garage, entryway, store, motel or other areas that need high capacity heaters. Slim design for recessed mounting. Amps 16.7, Heat Settings Adjustable, Plug Type Hardwired, Product Style Forced air, Blower CFM 100, BTU Output 13,650, Dimensions W x D x H in. 15 3/4 x 3 7/8 x 19 1/8, Thermostat Included Yes, Volts 240, Watts 4,000, Programmable No, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Blower Included Yes, Product Type Wall heater. Recessed mounting Easy-to-install 3-piece design 2-pole thermostat Built-in thermal cutout and fan delay White louvered cover Model VFK404
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Review 1 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
December 12, 2013
By TheGuyWhoLikesThis
from West Texas
"I bought this 2 years ago to replace an 80s model S3@rs heater in my living room, wow technology hasn't changed but efficiency surely has. The old heater struggled to heat the room on the highest setting, this baby has no problem making me sweat on 3-4 setting, i have a bedroom directly above my living room connected with a stairway and have no need for a heater there cause this bad boy can handle them both no problem. I plan on buying another for the other half of my house and have no doubt between the two my 2 story house is in good hands. Installation was a breeze but like I said I had previously had a similar heater so half the work was already done. These do like the juice when u leave em on all the time so expect a bit of a $ bump when the bill comes in but well worth it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Liked mine enough to buy father-in-law one also

,
May 7, 2012
By TRPeterson
from Columbia, SC
"I installed in my 20x20 garage with 14' ceiling. Was worried the ceiling height would limit this heaters ability to warm the area. At the same time I installed a 55" ceiling fan. With the ceiling fan circulating on low and this heater on 1/2 strength, it can make my garage uncomfortably hot in the winter (granted I live in South Carolina). Very happy with the performance. In fact, bought my father-in-law one for Christmas this past year for his garage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
9out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By pitty
from ga.
"For small spaces this heater is safe and puts out a great amount of heat, not dangerous like gas. would highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By olaw1
from Laurel Hill, NC
"I purdchased this heater after reading some of the reviews listed regarding the product. I installed the heater in a small 3 room cabin hoping that it would heat at least one room. To my suprise it heats the whole house and is the only heat source. I have no complaints about this product. This was an easy installation for me and it looks great in the cabin. The tennants are happy and warm."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wall heater/ 4000 watts

,
December 30, 2011
By Danster44
from Spring, Tx
"I bought 2 of these to heat my new "Barndo"
Each one heats approx 720 s.f.- just got these wired up and they appear to work well. Reading some earlier reviews I was concerned about noise, but so far they are not noisy at all.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little hearter

,
October 18, 2011
By Anonymous
from Huntington TX.
"I have a small 2 bedroom home. No heat is run at night when I turn this heater on it warms up the home pretty quick I do live in texas so it dont get really cold but once in a while.The propane heaters would not heat the house this well at all and was very costly to run."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater

,
October 17, 2011
By yourhowlie
from Pgh,Pa
"This is well worth the money and then some.I had a 220 volt line from my old electric welder on a 50 amp breaker hooked it uo to that in my living room wall.It heats my entire first floor up very fast.TEMP WENT FROM 68 TO 85 IN 15 MINUTES ON THE #4 SETTING.Screws between studs 16 inch sepaeration .We plane to use with conjuntion with our gas furnace to keep gas and electric bills down.If you plane to heat your house with this it will stand up to the job.My living room is 17 by15 and kitchen 14 by 14 bedroom same size as kitchen heats all rooms up fine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little wall heater

,
June 6, 2011
By ToastyInBoise
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Electrified, insulated and finished a one-car garage, including installation of this little wall heater, which was a snap. Ran a 220v 40amp circuit, mounted the heater close to the floor, added a small ceiling fan to move the air around (not really necessary, but did help heating efficiency) and was warming my old tired bones in nothing flat. Thermostat is accurate down to 55 deg.F. Haven't even explored any setting above 2.5, which is about 70 degrees. Perfect for the 200 sq.ft. garage / shop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
KBurg
 
Please wait while more information about KBurg is loaded.
Additional information about KBurg could not be loaded.
Breaker Size
October 13, 2011
"It says that you should run a 10 conductor which would call for a double pole30 not a double pole 40. That breaker is to big for the unit."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well in small areas.

,
November 23, 2010
By Augusta
from Augusta, KS
"We used this to heat a 10 X 20 workshop. It did a good job. The only negative aspect was that is was fairly loud. Would recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very easy with a couple of bugs

,
November 16, 2010
By Ghimmy51
from Fayetteville, NC
"The instructions are adequate. This thing can be mounted in anything and with a 220v outlet handy used as a portable heater although we mounted it in a simple wall. It gives a lot of heat for the size, but the fan pitch is aggressive and it makes a lot of fan noise. The thermostat on mine allows us to get to the point of feeling cold before the heater cycles on again.
The front cover can be difficult to get on. There are no indexes for position and the holes are not threaded. Align the front on the control knob and search for the holes from there. You know you'll want to vacuum the inside from time to time. I think I'll insert threaded rivets and change the screws.
Mine had two manufacturing defects. The back box had three pop rivets that are not through both pieces of metal. Get that worker to slow down and get it right. When we turned it on there was a horrible noise of the fan hitting the motor mount. The fan pulls air in and the shaft play allows it to move quite a bit forward. Because it might hit the front panel vents if you close mount the cover, they mounted the motor in the rearmost of three positions. If turned on at the factory they would have known. I considered moving the motor forward, then decided to slightly bend the fan blades forward to clear the mount about 1/4". It worked fine. I'd buy another, but I'd open it, spin the fan with the unit laying on its' back and check the back box first."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job!!

,
November 16, 2010
By macminn
from Minne snow ta
"No need for any auxiliary heat with this baby. Heats up our cabin all by itself. Wish it was a bit quieter, but what a great product."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater does the job

,
October 25, 2010
By cdfiu
from Illinois
"This heater was straight forward in hooking up. I was lucky enough to already have had a 240 line out in my garage so I spliced into that. We've cranked it up a few times and it throws a good amount of heat. It'll be interesting to see how it does this winter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric wall heater

,
May 31, 2010
By Jhal
from Gardnervlle, NV
"Easy to install and works great for the 5' x 8' bath in my shop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater

,
February 22, 2010
By electricman1951
from Crystal River Florida
"Very nice design, looks good with almost any color.
Easy to install.
Heats good"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wall heater

,
February 15, 2010
By rustynut
from Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
"unit was easy to install--for a wall heater.
works well - does great job of heating 2 bay garage.
good air movement
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater

,
February 15, 2010
By pwm73
from Anderson, SC
"We are a weatherization company in SC that works with the community action groups weatherizing low income houses throughout the upstate area. We have installed this particular in heater in several homes that were using kerosene to heat prior to our work. We have been pleased with the ease that these heaters are installed and the homeowners have been thrilled to have heat in their homes. This heater is efficient and warm and a great choice for home owners that cannot afford gas heat or oil and an obviously safer choice than unvented kerosene heaters. I know it lists as a commercial heater, but is a fantastic choice for a home if it can be centrally located.
Thanks so much
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater!!

,
December 21, 2008
By mrice2311
from Dayton, Ohio
"I researched a lot of heaters before purchasing this heater. I installed it, which was very easy, as long as you have some electrical knowledge. I have it in a 320 square foot Florida room in my house, which is in Ohio. It works great. We used to use a Kerosene or Propane heater and had to deal with the smell, fumes and uneven heat. This heater heats the room very evenly, floor to ceiling. I would recommend this heater to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent heater

,
January 14, 2008
By Celeste
from New Iberia, LA.
"We purchased this little heater for use in our camp, it puts out so much heat that we have to keep the setting on the 2nd to lowest setting. Once you get the camp warmed up, it stays Hot. All we use is this one heater and it heats the whole camp. The camp is 1000sq feet. I would recommend this heater to anyone needing to heat something fast and keep it hot."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
rduoos
WA 
 
Please wait while more information about rduoos is loaded.
Additional information about rduoos could not be loaded.
Great heater
January 5, 2011
"I installed this in a 100 year old house. It replaced a 50 year old heater by Ceil Heat. The owner is very happy. The only problem I had with installation is the fact that the studs were too narrow in the house, so I had to rip one of them. I have bought another one for a different house."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Economic heating for work shop

,
January 14, 2008
By Sheriff
from Demorest, Georgia
"The heater was installed in a 520 sq.ft. work shop area. The unit was easy to self install and wire for power. On a thermostat setting of #2, the shop stays a nice and comfortable 65 degrees. I could not be more pleased."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Fahrenheat Commercial Wall Heater - 4000 Watt, 240 Volts, Model# FZL4004
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fahrenheat wall heater VFK404

,
October 30, 2007
By Laney
from Salem, NJ
"This is a fantastic heater! It is quiet, so efficient and a great buy for the price. We just have been so completely satisfied with this purchase that I would recommend to everyone. It takes up so little space on the wall and you do not know it is even running.
Have purchased other heaters and stoves in the past and none of them could hold a candle to this little heater.
This one causes no dust, no smelly fumes and no black soot on our walls.
Thank you so much for making our winters such pleasurable warm ones!
By the way, it did not even create much difference in our electric bill.
Thanks again.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.