Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230

Item# 173406
This Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater is designed for safe use indoors or out, delivering a substantial 23,000 BTU of efficient warmth. No electricity is required, making it ideal for providing emergency heat indoors or supplemental zone heat to help trim heating bills. This omnidirectional kerosene heater boasts many safety features and push button start. Operates 12 hours on built-in fuel tank. Not approved for use in Massachusetts. Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 4/5 x 18 4/5 x 27, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Full Load Run Time Hours 12, Product Style Radiant heat, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.9, Fuel Type Kerosene, Igniter Pushbutton, BTU Output 23,000. Safety grills protect against burns Auto safety shutoff for tipovers Includes 2 D batteries for ignition and siphon pump UL listed Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements Replacement wick available, Item# 173407
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (64 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
57 of 64(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Review 1 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Heater for low Price

,
April 28, 2013
By mjm268
from Kaukauna, WI
"This is a great heater for the price. I use it in the garage and also wanted it for applications with no power. Takes very little fuel and creates a lot of heat. Also has close clearances for a heater, takes only a little floor space."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
April 23, 2013
By keithccw
from Texas
"Bought this heater a couple years ago and it works good everytime. It is built using good materials, design and good quality. I use it indoors all winter and have no problem with fumes. I use K1 red kerosene and I am still on the original wick. I use a metal oil drip collector to set it on in case of leaks or spillage. Since then I bought a similar smaller model to use in other rooms and it has been just as good and I will continue to use these heaters."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
January 18, 2013
By newyork09
from Walton,NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this in the beginning to heat up garage to paint and emergency heat. 3 years later and I am using this to heat basement on the cold ones and this year in new york its been cold. If you are second guessing just buy and you wont regret it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheaply made wick adjuster

,
November 23, 2012
By triker888
from Bonneau, SC
"I'm going to have to take this thing apart and find out why the wick adjuster won't stay in the position I put it at.
I can be at my work table and "all-of-the-sudden" the heater turns itself off. (It's on a concrete floor and nothing has touched the heater) Something must not be aligned or the ratchet is not machined well enough for the wick adjuster to stay in the position I need to set it in order to maintain the 3/4" flame height that is recommended.
I have found that if I grab the wick adjuster when I want to shut it off and s l o w l y lower the wick, I don't see the black soot. If I trip the release, black soot comes rolling out. This is ok in my (detached) garage, but in a home, trying to pick it up and carry it outside without tripping the safety would be impossible, ergo, black soot on the walls and ceiling.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kerosene Heater

,
November 7, 2012
By CD2012
from Newtown square, Pa
"We use our heater all the time and it really helps offset the heating bills, I am thinking of getting another one, and maybe a 55 gallon drum of kerosene. Has some minor smell but the heat is well worth it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
14out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelent heater

,
October 17, 2012
By choppedstyle98
from New Richmond, WI
"For the price and size this is a great heater! Quiet and keeps my garage nice and warm and I can still hear my radio. Thats worth alot to me!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
16out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice heater.

,
August 20, 2012
By JustaRedneck
from Where the wind comes sweeping down the plain.
"I needed to work on a vehicle last winter, didn't get to pick the day. Temp in the 20's, wind 20+ mph, working out in it. I set this heater up in the open garage, and used to make a "heat island", to temper the weather the best I could. It worked great ! Excellent heat output, quiet operation, good fuel consumption. I have a smaller one I use in the house, very little smell as long as the heater is fired up and shut down outside. Using K-1 kero is a must, I found a fuel/oil-distributor that carries 5-gallon pails.
Pros: serious heat output, easy and nearly silent operation, no need for electricity.
Cons: heavy and awkward to move when full of fuel. Can be messy to refuel or empty, must pay attention to what you are doing when dealing with liquid fuel.
Purchasing fuel by the gallon is not as cost-effective as buying in 5-gal pails. It's worth the effort to locate a fuel distributor that carries the kero this way.
The included manual pump makes handling the fueling relatively simple.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is what I was looking for...

,
June 16, 2012
By soundmanbythesea
from Elsie, Oregon
"I needed a heater in my uninsulated woodworking shop. The propane heater left moisture all over my tools. The kerosene heat is a little slower but more even. It gives off a smell at the beginning but far better than the spent propane gas and a much dryer heat. No water on my table saw. And it doesn't need electricity to run. Which means it makes a great backup when the power goes out in the winter.
Kerosene is a lot easier to find than I thought it would be. The local hardware stores sell it by the can. It's more expensive per gallon but you get more heat from kerosene so I think it evens out in the end. I recommend it for any woodworker with a small to medium shop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

kerosene heater

,
May 14, 2012
By andyjeff
from west spfld., mass.
"Burns clean with no odors. lasts for 10 - 12 hours and heats fantastically. It lights real easy by hand or using the battery."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HEAT

,
February 15, 2012
By Rlind
from Prairie Village, KS
"Hey, great heat and the best price. It works well. I had a very similar model some years ago and liked it then. I am amazed at how much heat is produced."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Throws good, clean heat

,
January 17, 2012
By mabs
from Baltimore, MD
"Puts out good heat. But I'd still recommend using it supervised, indoors, in an enclosure, or with a barrier that blocks the wind.
Adjustment nob works, but I usually find it at full throttle all the time.
Runs clean and only gives off a very little kerosene smell upon lighting and turning off.
Mine is a staple in the workshop.
If this thing stops putting out significant heat, or burns with any prolonged smell or smoke, don't fret, it's probably just the wick. Run it to dry and replace.
Good luck!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kerosene Heater CV 2230

,
January 17, 2012
By msjane
from Carrolton, GA
"My kerosene heater excedes other forms of heat sources in my 700 sq. ft., insulated cabin - I've tried them all. Easy to assemble, not messy with careful usie of the pump. Downside is the cost of kerosene."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By HappyCamper47
from Howell, Mi.
"I have owned this heater for several years and it has always been a dependable heat source for when the power goes out. It's easy to use but kind of messy to fill if you are not careful."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

kero heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Deke
from Pueblo, Colorado
"I decikded to replace my old kerosene heater, which I've had for at least 20 years. It still functions well but has been retired to the barn. Kerosene is my choice for emergency heat, as it can be used indoors and the fuel is the safest to store. This one intrigued me with its high BTU output, but fairly low fuel consumption. When it arrived and I started uncrating, I was pleased to find it required little assembly, and was substantially more sophisticated than my old one. It is far better-made than the old one, and that was a good one, but it's also much higher output so that it will heat my whole main floor"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Bill3654
from Texas
"Bought this heater for my 20X30 metal shop. Even when freezing outside, this heater kept me toasty warm. It outstripped a propane heater, and makes working inside pleasant. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Kevincad
from Atlanta, GA
"This is a good kerosene heater! I would recommend this to anyone with a garage or for emergency heat as it requires no electricity."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heat

,
January 9, 2012
By HANDIEMAN
from Pa
"I had these heaters before but the upgrades on this new one are nice. Heat out put is great for emergency use or any time or place where you need temporary heat or even longer. Safety grill is larger and more stable. great for use in basement or garage for warming up those colder locations for working or play."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT HEATER

,
January 9, 2012
By CNOTE
from Frederick, MD
"I got this heater in Dec of 2011, I figured it would be a great heater for back-up in case the electric went out, I followed directions about how to prepare it for first lighting up, everything worked fine.
I've used it a couple times just to try it out, each time I've used it the temperature has gone up 10 degrees in my house within a hour, this with the temps being down in the teens @ night.
Now I'm not worried if the electric does go out, I'm ready!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact Size

,
January 9, 2012
By SgtD
from Las Vegas, Nev
"I like how compact this heater is. One big thing though, if this is your first kerosene heater check around your town to see if they sell 1-K kerosene anywhere. here in vegas gas stations do not sell it.. you have to buy the 5 gal or 1 gal cans from the hardware stores and expect to pay $8-$10 a gallon. The 1-K kerosene in the pre-packaged cans is way better than the gas station fuel though so its worth the extra $ for the good stuff."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23,000 BTU Portable Indoor/Outdoor Kerosene Heater, Model# CV-2230
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice

,
December 15, 2011
By LotteryBill
from Malvern, Pa
"This heater does the job and really puts off no smell or smoke- very safe to use-can run on all night with a full tank.
Box came dameged with a hole in it but no damage to the heater.
Easy to start and move around.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.