Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Propane Heater - 40,000 BTU, Model# MH40LP"

"Mr. Heater Propane Heater - 40,000 BTU, Model# MH40LP"

Item# 17352
"Provides plenty of heat even during power outages - requires no electricity. Thermostat is included for comfort control. For indoor use within the following clearance to combustibles measurements 34in. from ceiling, 30in. from sides of heater, 30in. from back and 68in. from the base. Recommended for buildings with 12ft. to 15ft. ceilings. AGA design certified. U.S.A. Thermostat Included Yes, Gas Inlet in. 1/4, Blower Included No, BTU Output 40,000, Clearance from Corner in. 30, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 30, Clearance from Side Wall in. 30, Heating Capability sq. ft. 750, Igniter Electronic, Needs Direct Venting No, Product Type Radiant heat. Efficient Infrared Heat - Directly heats people and objects which in turn heats surrounding air to desired temperature Economical - No electricity required. Heats during power outages. Large Capacity - Heats up to 750 sq. ft. in low-profile buildings with ceilings between 12 to 15ft. Convenient - Easy to operate and install all necessary brackets and hardware included Quiet, clean, odor-free operation Instant Heat CSA certified"
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 of 9(78%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Propane Heater - 40,000 BTU, Model# MH40LP"
Review 1 for "Mr. Heater Propane Heater - 40,000 BTU, Model# MH40LP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heater

,
December 18, 2014
By spark7786
from indiana
" these are excellent heaters that perform really well in a shop setting. plan to purchase two more for my shop "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Mr. Heater Propane Heater - 40,000 BTU, Model# MH40LP"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Replacement parts

,
December 11, 2014
By Jason88
from Buffalo, NY
" I purchased the 40,000 BTU heater last year. I contacted Mr. Heater about 5 weeks ago to order a replacement part. They said it was out of stock and to call back in two weeks. I called back and ordered the part. They said I should receive it nine days. That didn't happen. Now when I call they don't answer. I used their option to leave my number and have them call me back. That didn't happen either. I have not been able to use this heater for the past 5 weeks. Because of their lack of communication I have no idea if the part will even come in. It's frustrating to purchase a product and not be able to use it. It's more frustrating to deal with a company who doesn't seem to care about it's customers. It doesn't make sense, how hard is it to put the part in the box and ship it. If the part is not there they should disassemble a unit for parts. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertDecember 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review! We would very much like to speak with you about this. We are very sorry that you are disappointed with the service and would be glad to help in anyway that we can. Please call our Social Care number at 1-855-663-0660.Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Mr. Heater Propane Heater - 40,000 BTU, Model# MH40LP"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

CUSTERMERSERVICE

,
December 7, 2014
By Upsetbuyer
from PA
" I bought 2 of these one broke in the first month and several attempts to contact Mr. Heater for replacement parts and no response? It is December 1st, I think you sell heaters and should be ready to take care of customers!!! Spent good money to have heat and we are freezing??? "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertDecember 10, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback! We pride ourselves on our customer service and will do everything we can to help you. Please our social customer care line at 1-855-663-0660 and we would be happy to help in any way that we can.Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Mr. Heater Propane Heater - 40,000 BTU, Model# MH40LP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
January 11, 2011
By brianm
from Cornish, NH
" I have 3 of these for my 38'x48' hangar in Vermont. I got 3 because the gas company guy felt I'd need at least 100k BTU, plus they were on sale. Turns out, as I'd expected, one or 2 do the job just fine.
I went with more of lesser BTUs rather than fewer heaters of more BTUs because the higher BTU models require more ceiling clearance than I had available.
I've had them in for 3 years now, and all of them work flawlessly. I leave the thermostats set to about 35 degrees when I'm not there, and turn them up to about 60 when I am there working. They don't have to run very long after changing the thermostats from 35 to 60.
Highly recommended. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
29out of 45found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Mr. Heater Propane Heater - 40,000 BTU, Model# MH40LP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
March 17, 2009
By Special
from Texas
" I'm pleased to say this heater works great in my cold and humid shop. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Mr. Heater Propane Heater - 40,000 BTU, Model# MH40LP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mr heater

,
March 16, 2009
By feedman
from south central mo
" i have used these heaters now for most of a winter best money i have spent. cheep to run saveing on propane over last year almost paid for heaters will by next year be free heaters with the savings "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Mr. Heater Propane Heater - 40,000 BTU, Model# MH40LP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quiet,powerful heat

,
January 24, 2008
By superm
from Fort Dodge,Iowa
" I bought this heater for a 24x36 out building with 12 ft. sidewalls.Building has some insulation but could use more.This heater provides instant clean smelling heat .I have found that the air temperature might not heat up real fast but I can feel the warmth from the heater if I'm within about a 15' diameter of the heater.I only use this building for about an hour or so at a time otherwise the heater is on pilot.It would probably be too powerful for any building smaller than mine,as it is pretty powerful and intense "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Mr. Heater Propane Heater - 40,000 BTU, Model# MH40LP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Review

,
January 21, 2008
By re3164
from Ogden Utah
" I purchased one of these and it works great , Didn't know what I ever did without it. The keeps our garage warm during the winter mainly since the past few weeks we have had 2 feet of snow outside and temps are down to single digits. And every morning I can go out to my WARM car. Thanks for such a great product. Richard "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Mr. Heater Propane Heater - 40,000 BTU, Model# MH40LP"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MH40LP

,
March 6, 2007
By Pigfarmer
from Lyle WA
" I bought this product to use in my barn to keep it above freezing and it did turning on around 35 and off around 37 or 38. It was easy to mount and install. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.