Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB

Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB

Item# 173606
Affordable wood stove is constructed of heavy gauge reinforced plate steel with welded seams to insure years of service. Firebrick lined and features a 10in. x 14in. cast iron feed-door with gasket seal, ceramic safety glass hearth extension, cast iron damper-collar and cool-touch spring handle. Stove accepts 16in. logs. Includes blower. Safety tested to UL 1482. This item is not for sale in the state of California and Washington. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Firebox Size W x D in. 18 x 12, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 33, Full Load Run Time Hours 4-6, Heat Settings No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, Blower CFM 60, Dimensions W x D x H in. 24 x 22 x 28, Door Opening W x H in. 10 x 14, EPA Exempt Yes, Blower Included Yes, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 16, Mobile Home Approved No, Igniter Manual, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Product Type Stove, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included No, BTU Output 102,000, Clearance from Side Wall in. 28, Clearance from Corner in. 28. Cast iron door with handsome Frontiersman design Flue Type Oval Safety glass allows clear view of fire Hearth extension to collect ash Dual panel induction system for proper combustion Wide-stance legs for stability Cannot be installed in mobile homes
Average Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Review 1 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great wood stove

,
October 12, 2014
By lovewoodheat
from colorado
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We love how clean and efficient this stove is. My husband found that if he places a 2x2x8 piece of angle iron with washers in the front of the angle iron to shem and make it tilt back so you can slide it back and forth to cover air intake it makes it burn longer. So it can burn longer st might. But I am greatful we were able to find this great stove."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

VogelZang Frontiersman Woodstove

,
February 22, 2010
By JoeysDad
from Md
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this stove in 2008 for my unfinished basement. The stove does a good job and delivers as advertised. The basement was a challenge because it's all block and concrete floor. Read: porous and chilly. So, I added foil insulation to 1.5 walls and now the stove gets things above 70 f in just a few minutes. It maintains 75f with alittle effort. The only issue I had is the rope gasket came off the door in the first season. I got a kit and re-installed it and no problems since. I split my own wood (*see my review on the 37 ton Northstar splitter) and can get 16" logs in there no problem. Online it may appear to be a small firebox but you can get several logs in there easily. The glass rarely needs cleaning which surprised me. This is great value for your money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Little Stove

,
February 4, 2010
By Oldguy
from Middle Tennessee
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Had it for a week, now, and glad to have some "heat insurance" against power failures in cold weather. We don't get a lot of snow, but we do get frequent ice storms, and they are known to be hard on the electrical grid.
This stove is small, which is good for our small space, but it has to be fed often to keep a hot fire. The flip side of that is that it begins to produce heat within 10 or 15 minutes of starting a good fire. It seems well built, and should last a long time.
Cut your firewood no longer than 12 inches, to make it easy to feed. Yes, it has a 14-inch firebox, but fitting bigger pieces to it would be tricky, especially with a fire in progress. Not worth it.
I put it on an extra-wide platform, with two layers of ceramic tile sandwiched with a layer of cement board, and extra-conservative heat shields for the back wall and living-room side.
Catch it on sale in the spring, and get a real bargain."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Stove

,
March 23, 2009
By Anonymous
from Knoxville, TN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"After shopping around for a wood burning stove to heat my basement and rapidly becoming discouraged with the prices I saw, I turned to the internet where I was lucky enough to find the Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove at northerntool.com. I was immediately interested when I saw the price was much lower than any I had found elsewhere. After comparing the BTU output and other details to be sure it was what I needed, I ordered it for delivery right to my door. Upon arrival in just three days, I was able to quickly and easily assemble it and had a fire burning within a few hours. It not only heats the entire basement, but also looks great and adds more value to my home than the total cost."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small Stove, Big Heat!

,
April 25, 2013
By HomesteadGal
from Virginia
"We love our stove! The upright size keeps the footprint smaller as our home is less then 1500 SF. There have been several times when the stove was burning so hot we had to open the front door to let some of the heat OUT of the house!
The glass in the door makes it easy to watch the fire and know when we need to put more wood in. The Air Wash feature makes it a bit easier to keep the glass clean.
I also like it that the stove pipe is mounted at the back of the stove. This gives me the two front corners to do some cooking. This stove is not set up for cooking, however, I have cooked several meals on the stove top. It does not get as hot as a conventional wood stove because of the double wall ceiling in the fire box. It is not ideal for cooking, but in a power outage, it works just fine.
The only reason I did not give this stove a 5 star rating is that you cannot bank it to keep it burning through the night. It doesn't have manual dampers to control the air flow. We have closed the chimney flue until it is almost closed and it still burns out over night. The plus is, it will burn for at least 6 hours so the house stays warm. When I shovel out the ash, there are just enough live coals for me to get the fire started again.
Just keep a good supply of kindling ready to restart the fire each morning. All told, we love our stove and highly recommend it to others.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
11out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad we chose this one

,
April 23, 2013
By BSnyder
from harrisonburg, VA
"My wife and I have had four stoves in our home in the last five years and this is by far the best for our application. We have a 1400 sq ft home and this little stove heats it to 80 degrees with no problem. We love the glass door for viewing the fire and keeping track of the need for adding wood. Installation was a snap to connect to our existing venting. We bought this after looking at many other more expensive stoves and have not been disapointed. We replaced an antique cook stove and were still able to cook on top of this stove. If you have a small home or cabin don't hesitate to use this stove."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Produces good heat

,
October 15, 2012
By footcluch
from Central Texas
"This wood burning stove does a good job for it's size. The price was right. Wood needs to be custom cut to fit and it is difficult to remove ash without making a mess. We are heating a lake side cabin with 1200 sq. feet 1 1/2 story and circulating the air with celing fans. Our coldest weather is about 30 degrees so it will keep the inside warm to 70 degrees."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gotta love it!

,
January 16, 2012
By wayne39478
from Sandy Hook, MS
"Bought this shortly after Katrina. With about 12 cords of hardwood cut off my property, I figured we could use some help for our aging central unit. Installed in one end of kitchen/laundry room, next to rear master bedroom. Easy install; load it up at night, and you are warm until time to reload the next AM, or to let it cool down. This is about a 800 sq.ft. area that we heat. We don't get a lot of consecutive freezing nights most winters, so the fact that there's no ash drawer removal isn't too much of a bother - just wish there was one."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

barniepool

,
January 9, 2012
By barniepool
from wisconsin
"ordered picked up with any hitches installed and its the best thing to take place this year the wood burner rocks low burn and comfy"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Frontiersman Wood Stove

,
October 13, 2011
By Richwooder
from Richwood,WV
"Very pleased with ordering and shipping process.Have a 2 story house,main area for living room as heat circulates well,bought a through the wall kit,including thimble with little difficulty.After set up had a few chilly days/nights fired up stove performed well.We buy seasoned wood for about 50.00/truckload and free millwood.We also have an electric fireplace as supplement heat source."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good stove, great price

,
March 22, 2011
By b82rez
"It is what it is. A bottom of the line stove from an established company. First stove so I dont have much to compare it to, but it has been working great in a 1200 sq ft farmhouse."
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

life saver

,
March 21, 2011
By kjcustom
from Payette, ID
"This is a great little stove. We have a little twelve hundred square foot home and it has cut our electric bill in half. I was a little worried about the size when we first got it but After the first couple of fires I was very happy. We use chunks of two by fours from a pallette shop as our fuel source and sometimes get too warm. All in all I would recommend this stove to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Savings

,
March 15, 2011
By howjoa
from Pahrump, Nevada
"My home is equipt with heat pumps which, at best, are very inefficient. This is my first woodburning stove and there is a learning curve to building and maintaining a fire. The best I can say about this stove is that it cut my electric bill by $200.00 per month"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove

,
November 16, 2010
By unclBill
from watertown, wi
"we looked at quite a few much higher priced woodstoves... BUY THIS ONE! the fan/ blower is incredible for its size. we do find that cutting the logs shorter than we were used to is a learning curve, but by using log "bricks" you can get quite toasty. glass stays surprisingly clean. we are extremely pleased with this unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok stove for the price

,
July 20, 2009
By VTTom
from vt
"i kept this stove running nearly daily for the last winter. the stove doesnt allow to regulate the 'inflow' which limits it quite a bit to keep a fire running. the glass door needed to be cleaned at least once a week to actually allow you to watch your fire. the blower on the back is quite noisy and i am not sure how much it actually does to distribute the heat, it is not very well placed i feel, and the air circulation is not perfect.
we had a pot of water on the stovetop to humidify the air and where the pot stood are rusty dots now- the finishing of the stovetop seems to be very sensitive.
Otherwise, we heated a ~950 sqft ranch style home in Vermont with this stove for a winter (during the day only) and the natural gas heat rarely kicked in during that time. we burned less than 2 cords of wood!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

bbqman

,
December 9, 2008
By JoeBrad159
from Roanoke VA
"I took out my Franklin wood stove which smoked up the whole house and put in this stove. what a difference NO Smoke !!! This stove heats well and looks good also. Nice blower , really does a good job. Wind chill here the other day was 10 to 15 degrees 1200 to 1400 sg ft stayed warm and toasty.[2500 sg ft total] we do not heat the basement with this stove simply because we are not down there enough. I would purchase another stove like this one for the basement if that changes. this stove heats 1400 just fine without making any room to hot."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good small stove

,
September 27, 2008
By Andyd4ntx
from North East Texas
"We purchased the Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove, VG450ELGB in
Oct of 2006 and have been using it for almost 2 years.
We live in East Texas and use this stove in our 12' x 24' screen shelter with plexiglass sides that we are living in while we build our home. This wood stove can bring the temperature from 40 to 70 in less than an hour in our screen shelter (with open slat wood floors)
The wood stove can kick out a lot of heat very quickly and it holds a fire for a reasonable amount of time, even when filled with sweet gum and pine wood. There is no air inlet control so it will not burn all night, the longest burn I have had is 3hrs. This is a good wood stove for the money, but sometimes I do need to leave the door cracked open to get enough air to maintain a fire. We use a iron grate in the bottom of the fire box and this helps. There is no ash draw so to keep a fire going for more than a day you need to keep the ashes cleaned out or it restricts the draft under the wood.
The included blower is a great bonus but does not put any air over the top of the stove, not a major issue but I think it could move more heat that way. ( We use an additional fan placed beside the unit.) The included fan could be a noise issue in a quiet house.
The stove has a flat top that we use for cooking. We have cooked soup and bread in a dutch oven on top of the stove.
I found the overall construction as good as some more expensive stoves.
Overall we like this wood stove - for the size and for the money it's a good deal. We have purchased a second that we will use in the master bedroom of our house after construction is finished.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great value

,
August 27, 2008
By Ronthemon
from Cooperstown New York, home of baseball!
"This is a really nice stove for the money. I use it in my shop and it holds a fire for a really long time, even when filled with scraps from my shop. The blower is a great bonus and works reasonably quietly. Mine needed a few holes drilled out for the blower, both on the blower bracket and the heat shield, but besides that, I found the construction as good as much more expensive stoves."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vogelzang Frontiersman Wood Stove - 102,000 BTU, Model# VG450ELGB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little stove

,
March 19, 2007
By brianfrance
from Cripple Creek, co
"I bought one about 2 years ago. I have used it for 2wo winters. It is a good little stove. my only issue is that I live at 10,000 feet and it does not get enough air. Although more expencive ones have the same issue here."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.