Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV

Item# 173608
Compact, professional lightweight heater produces up to 200,000 BTU for big job sites, warehouse and barn heating. Adjusts down to 75,000 BTU for small heating needs. 23in.H x 14in. dia. for easy moving and storage. Matchless electric pilot light igniter. Uses 100-lb. propane gas cylinder not included. Comes with 10ft. LP hose and regulator. ARL listed. Category Type Convection heat, Thermostat Included No, Clearance from Corner in. 48, BTU Output 200,000, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 1/2 x 17 x 28 1/2, Heating Capability sq. ft. 4,700, Igniter Piezo, Regulator Included Yes, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 48, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 29 hrs. on one 100-lb. tank, Clearance from Side Wall in. 48, Remote Included No, Oxygen Depletion Sensor No, Needs Direct Venting No. Uniform Heating - 360 directional heat Safe - Standing pilot increases safety Base adds stability Minimum tank size 100 lbs. Proper ventilation air must be provided
Average Customer Rating:
4.568 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (37 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 of 37(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Propane Gusseler

,
December 19, 2013
By fish04
from Twin Falls, Idaho
"I purchased this heater for construction work, building large metal shops. The main problem with the heater is the heat rises up directly above the heater and doesn't give any vertical heat for workers. I ended up building a 18"x 4"steel box that covers the top with a 2" X 6" x 20" down tube that essentially makes a directional convection heater. The heater would also work better by using a 20" box fan blowing over the top to keep workers on the ground warmer.
This heater will eat propane like a whale swallowed Noah!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertDecember 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and review! The MH200CV is a heater that heats the area directly surrounding it. Due to the fact that it is not a forced air unit, it would be unable to heat vertically. We do however have forced air kerosene and forced air propane units that would work in that application. Call our Technical Service department at 1-800-251-0001 for more information!Enerco
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Propane Heater

,
August 20, 2012
By wcampbell
from Bullhead City, AZ
"Use this heater to heat a 45 x 110 metal building.
It keeps the 60 % of the building I use as a shop very comfortable. Heats up quickly. Uses quite a bit lot of propane, but not more than I expected. I would recommend this to anyone as an economic way to heat a large area.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
13out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Heater

,
August 13, 2012
By JL12
from Allentown, PA
"Put up new pole building in Nov. 30x32 with 12 ceilings. Heater works great and brings building up to temp to work in when it is 10- 20 degrees outside. Just make sure you get a 100 lb tank it takes fuel to bring up to temp, but then you can turn it down on low."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
May 7, 2012
By STSGReno
from Reno, NV
"This product is built very well - works extremely well - I think some of the reviews mention the unit being loud - I don't think it is designed for a quite barbeque type setting - Although you can talk next to it even at its highest heat output setting. I use it as a garage heater (typical two car garage) heats the garage in no time at all (5 to 10 minutes) - I used a standard 5 gallon tank with the first couple of uses without issue - If I was going to run it for an extended period of time (more than a couple of hours) I would probably purchase a larger tank - this product does exactly what it is sold to do - and is built well to boot! I tried the smaller heaters from the large chain stores but they did not generate enough heat - this is perfect for the medium jobsite/handyman - could easily heat a house in an emergency."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
January 20, 2012
By chillman88
from Geneva, NY
"I used this to heat a 20x30 garage. Unheated, uninsulated. There is no weather stripping on the overhead door, it was a windy day below freezing. After about 30-40 minutes on LOW the garage was comfortable wearing a t-shirt. I was running it off a 40# tank, didn't use that much in the couple hours I used it. A little noisy, but not too bad. I was able to tune it out.
A friend of mine paid almost twice as much for a different heater, his has a blower but it's only half the output. I've got no complaints, and would buy this one again in a heartbeat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Handysportsdad
from Southeast Missouri
"Received this heater for Christmas. I have a 60x60 insulated shop with 18 foot sidewalls. This heater is easy to set up and use and has done a great job so far. I wasn't sure if it would help much due to the height of my shop, but it does make a difference. After running it for about an hour, it raised the temperature from 39 to about 59 degrees fahrenheit on a thermometer about 10 feet away from the heater. On a thermometer about 35 feet away from the heater it had raised from 39 to about 51 degrees. The thermometers are about 5 feet above the concrete floor. It does use alot of propane, which is the only negative thing I can think of. But, I knew that going in, so that's not a big deal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater 2000,000 BTU Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By BigAL46
from Freeman, Va.
"Just purchased this heater to heat a 60'x40' metal building, it does the job. I placed a large fan on a stand in front of it to help move the heat. This is the heater for large spaces. I do recommend using a long neck fireplace flame starter to light this heater through its side vents, the push spark lighter on the heater is a frustration for such a strong heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Value

,
January 9, 2012
By DIB55
from Connecticut
"Purchased two heaters for Commercial project in Connecticut. Worked great, great price also."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOTS of heat

,
December 16, 2011
By INKMAN815
from The Valley, CT
"Bought this after reading other reviews. A great heater, its loud on hi and will turn red but it puts out a LOT of heat. heats the garage from 50 deg to now its too hot in here in 10 min, garage is 30'x18'. I light it in the cellar when the power goes out as has been the case in CT in the last few months or just to work comfortably. Best to use a 100# cylinder to keep it going. You need to have fresh air coming in, I just crack the garge door so there is a small gap on the bottom."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

warms up a garage very quickly

,
January 11, 2011
By brianm
from Cornish, NH
"I have used this for several years, in conjunction with a couple of the double or triple head tank-mounted radiation heaters like Model MH24TS. The radiation heaters are great for spot warming or quick jobs. This heater is great for quickly warming up the whole garage if I'm going to be out there working for awhile. Makes a big difference in the cold NH winters. Heats the garage up quickly, never had any sort of problem with it in the several years I've owned it. Starts up instantly & no matches needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Heat!

,
November 29, 2010
By bigjim72
from Pine Grove, PA
"I have two of these things and they work great. I use one for construction and one in my UNINSULATED pole barn. For construction, I set it below the floor we are working on. In the pole barn I can get it up to 80 degrees in there in about an hour on a cold winter's day! You will want to use a 100 lb. cylinder though as it does go through quit a bit of propane, especially on higher settings. You'll go through those 20 lb. cylinders in no time. There is only on small drawback and that is the noise. But I would say they are no noisier than the torpedo type heaters. Overall a great product, that I have already recommended to friends and would continue to do so to anyone who asks my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
SalRicco
Gardiner New York, Hudson Valley 
 
Please wait while more information about SalRicco is loaded.
Additional information about SalRicco could not be loaded.
Incredable heat
December 16, 2010
"I purchased this product last year. I did not use it till just a few weeks ago. It was 21degrees outside and my barn doors face the north-west wind. It gets very cold in my Hudson Valley Region. I turned this bad boy on and it heated up in 20 minutes. since I have a wind issue I placed foam boards up on my sliding barn doors and secured the doors. It did reach 75 degrees. It is true that it uses propane and I do have a 100 pound tank. I used it for 5 hours and I went through maybe 1/2 a tank. I adjust the temp when it gets very hot.
When adjusting the heat level be sure you are facing the temp gauge since the heat pours out of the side vent holes and as I did my thermal shirt singed. That is the only issue but a Fantastic tool.
SJR
"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mr Thirsty

,
November 23, 2010
By ColdShop
from NorCal
"This heater really packs a punch. But it is one thirsty monster too. I can use a 20# can of propane in about 3 hours if I want to. Thanks be that here in Northern California it's not subzero."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product but

,
June 1, 2010
By schleifer
"This heater produces a tremendous amount of heat.
When it is running on high it uses a lot of propane and it must be well ventilated but overall it si a great product for the price
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it

,
January 28, 2010
By Moonman
from Leicester, NC
"I bought this heater on sale about 2 years ago. It heats my 30 by 32 workshop incredibly well. I like it's ability to go from low heat to high heat. I use a 20lb gas tank and that works fine for me. Very lightweight so moving is easy. The upper half will fold down for easy storage in the summer months. 100% satisfied. Buy with confidence!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

200k BTU of power.

,
November 7, 2009
By 1984Marinator
from Maine
"Before I purchased this unit I foolishly talked myself into a propane forced air heater # 174337 what a piece of garbage. After returning that disapointment and buying this item I know made the right choice. Heating a 900 sq ft garage in the Northeast with only an iinsulated ceiling is no problem for a heater of this magnitude. The only drawback would be a lack of a thermostat so after 10-15 min of heating on medium (high setting turns unit cherry red) it's time to turn it back down, but since there is a pilot light feature it's no hassle to turn the "jet-like engine roar," back up and go for another quarter hour. For the money and effectiveness not too mention the lack of needed electicity this heater is a HOT choice!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great heater

,
November 5, 2009
By Deborah57
from Idaho
"I bought this for my hubby and his son and son-in-law to work in the shed. It heats great. Actually if you dont turn it down, it will run you out. Very good value for the money. And its not to big, as in getting in the way. Before i ordered it, i read the other reviews and decided on this one. It also arrived fast."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent heater

,
July 13, 2009
By Axel1
from Connecticut
"I purchased this product to heat my garage during the New England winters to allow me to work on cars etc. The overall size of the garage is 30X36 feet with about 12 foot high ceilings. Within 20 minutes the temperature went up about 30 degrees from about 28 to 58 degrees faranheit. I had to turn the unit to low to continue working comfortably. I would definitely recommend this heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Hot Deal

,
March 23, 2009
By dannyboy1511
from Ronan, MT
"No doubt about it this little flame thrower sure puts out the heat. It's easy to start and folds down to a nice compact size for transport. I've used it while ice fishing (no not in an ice house) and to heat my shop. It starts so easy there's no need to leave it running when not in use (while ice fishing). Just light and go. The ability to control the throttle helps to conserve fuel too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super heater...

,
March 18, 2009
By Jaws
from Greensburg, IN
"Wow. I needed a good heater to heat my workshop (two car garage) as well as our basement, which is not heated along with the rest of the house. The basement is 1300 square feet. This heater is incredible. It heats the areas very well and very quickly. We may have to buy another one...one for the basement while I use this one for the garage! Its hard to share."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Propane Convection Heater - 200,000 BTU, Model# MH200CV
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mr. Heater

,
March 16, 2009
By metalworker
from WA
"Very good product, puts out lots of heat. I have a big uninsulated shop and it will heat it comfortably fairly quick. only drawback is that when open full throttle it is pretty noisy, it sounds like a jet engine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.