Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"

"Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"

Item# 173610
"This Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove combines beauty and efficiency to give you an exceptional wood-burning stove at a great price. Heavy-gauge 3/16in. plate steel Mountaineer accepts 22in. logs. Air wash ceramic glass offers a clear view of the fire. The Mountaineer is fully firebrick lined, with a large ash pan for easy ash removal. Adjustable high speed blower included directs warm air into room. Sturdy pedestal base with pewter trim accents satin black finish. 5-year limited warranty. This item is not for sale in CA, WA and OR. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Mobile Home Approved No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,000, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, UL Yes, Blower CFM 100, Full Load Run Time Hours 6-8, Igniter Manual, Product Type Stove, BTU Output 104,000, Dimensions W x D x H in. 28 x 20 x 30, Blower Included Yes, Fuel Type Wood, Firebox Size W x D in. 23 x 14 2.6 cu. ft., Clearance from Corner in. 19, Clearance from Side Wall in. 25, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 22, Stove Pipe Included No, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 26, Door Opening W x H in. 22 x 11, Heat Settings No, EPA Exempt Yes, Thermostat Included No. Heavy-gauge 3/16in. reinforced plate steel with firebrick lining Cast iron feed door with large 19in. x 8in. ceramic safety glass window Sturdy pedestal base with pewter trim edge caps Adjustable high speed blower Large ash drawer for easy ash removal Cast iron damper collar Cool touch spring handle Safety tested to UL standard 1482 5-year limited warranty Cannot be installed in mobile homes"
Average Customer Rating:
3.602 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (88 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
17
61 of 88(69%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Review 1 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MOUNTAINEER CUTS HEATING BILL ALOT!

,
August 25, 2008
By ERNIE125
from Northeastern Pennsylvania
" The Mountaineer is a great woodburning stove and especially for the price, I never would have expected it to be as good as it is. We decided to attempt to use a wood burner to help allieviate some of our heating bill, we never guessed that this stove would save us well over 75% last winter(07-08) We relied heavily upon this unit and were never disappointed by it! That in and of itself was amazing being that it cost only a fraction of many other store bought models. The craftmanship is of the same high quality as the higher priced models and although it is in our basement we surely would have not been afraid for a moment to have it in one of the upstairs rooms, it does look that good! The Mountaineer not only saved us a lot of money, it easily paid for itself in our eyes the very first season! We are currently looking to add another unit to our upstairs for times when an extra bit of heat is needed in the dead of winter, it will certainly be this one, that is how good this unit is! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Satisfied

,
February 24, 2015
By JW63
from South Texas
" I read many reviews on this stove and in spite of the bad ones it seemed to be the right stove for the right price. I have not had many of the problems described and the stove has worked very well for me this winter. The only reason I did not give it a fith star is the height of the firebox. A couple more inches would make a big difference. Just takes a bit of strategy to deal with. This stove is in a dome and is in the center of the room, so I did not instal the heater. Love sitting in front of it with my coffee in the morning watching the flame, much better than my old cast iron stove with no window. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Mountaineer wood heater

,
February 23, 2015
By Pap1
from Forest, MS
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This product does everything the description says it will do. The blower is great! We have an all electric home & our light bills were getting very high. This unit has saved us money! I had no problem with installing this heater. If you are not familiar with installing this type wood burning heater, hire a professional. Excellent product and price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

mountaineer wood stove

,
January 15, 2015
By floridalover
from north florida
" the good -has good size ash drawer,nice size door for loading,good size viewing glass. the bad-loud blower,no way to control the rate of burn. i had to purchase a piece of steel 2in tall by 3ft long and 1/4 in thick to block off the front air intakes after the fire gets going good or you will blow thru wood like theres no tomorrow.i only burn seasoned oak because its so abundant here.wood is my sole source of heat and have heated with wood for 30 yrs.i would not attempt to heat with this stove in northern states unless you modify as i did.i have also considered using magnets to block off the air.this is my second year using this stove. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertMarch 10, 2015
Thank you for your feedback, I will get it over to our engineering department. Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great heater

,
January 13, 2015
By southernman2
from Tennessee
" Am extremely pleased with mountaineer wood stove, Its in a rustic board and batten cabin on a century farm in southern middle Tn. Really heats place up. Under construction, makes it nice to work inside during winter. Will really heat when walls are insulated and covered on inside. Surprisingly glass stays clean and gives a great view of fire. When lighting fire it is helpful to warm air in chimney up to create draft so it doesn't smoke. I hold a sheet of crumpled newspaper toward top of stove. Will also cook a deer stew "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Technical specs are not even close

,
January 10, 2015
By Anonymous
from Tennessee
" I have used this heater for 2 months now. The specs say: 104,000 btu and it will heat up to 2000 square feet, I am yet to heat 1500 square feet with it, the same space I can heat with a 40,000 btu tanktop propane heater!!! The specs also say 6-8 hour burn time,in about 2 hours theres nothing but a few coals in the heater, unless you add wood every 30 minutes. You cannot control the burn rate,yes you can close the damper and slow it , but that is killing the draft which is required for a wood heater to function properly. I am very unsatisfied with this purchase and I would advise anyone to look past buying this heater. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertMarch 9, 2015
Sorry that you are having these issues. The BTU's to square footage ratio are based upon government specifications (EPA) the amount of BTU'S vary based on wood quality, moisture content, and burn habits. Adding a barometric draft regulator to your stove pipe connectors can help control your draft and regulate your burn times. For more personalized evaluation of your setup and tips you can contact our customer service dept at 800.750.2723. We are open Monday-Friday from 7-4 CST Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst experience ever with a wood stove

,
December 29, 2014
By Oklahoma57
from Colbert, OK
" We bought this stove October 2014 and it goes thru wood like crazy, even tho we added another flue in the stove pipe, firebricks have already broke in half in the back of the stove. If there is a good breeze going outside, the front vents will fill the room with a giant puff of smoke. We learned real quick that you MUST start with a very small fire or the smoke coming out the door will set off every smoke alarm in the house!!! it has been the worst wood burning stove we have ever had!!!! We have always had a wood burning stove, 27 yrs, we previously had an Ashley but our house burnt and we were trying to stay within a tight budget on the rebuild. If you want a good wood burning stove for heat and efficiency, DO NOT BUY THIS STOVE!!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertMarch 9, 2015
We are sorry to hear that you are having these issues with your stove. If you are getting smoke coming into the home it does sound like an issue with the draft. A couple of things to check would be making sure the exhaust pipe is sealed with high temp silicone at every joint and that the wood you are burning is dry and been sitting in a dry location for a year. Please feel free to give our customer service a call anytime at 800.750.2723, we are open Monday-Friday from 7-4 CST Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove

,
December 14, 2014
By Sweetman
from NY
" Well where do i start... I read about this so it said wonderful stove that would heat from 600 to 1000sq feet... Well not even more like 400sq and Ive never burnt my self so many times in my life on many of stoves i have used. You cant fit many logs in it for another and you only have room at the bottom for a inch or 2 of coals then you have to clean it out... The ash draw is a joke being you have wait for the fire to go out and be then your freezing... What get me is with a little more room top to bottom and 5 inches deeper it might do what the description said it will do... So being we don't have lots of money to spend we will freeze half the time try to keep this stove going and get burnt as well... So i sadly say out of hundreds of purchases in my life this was one of the worse and miss leading Ive ever seen and now I and my family fight to keep worm because of it..... "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertMarch 9, 2015
We are sorry to hear that you are having these issues with your stove and that you are unhappy with the operation and design of the ash draw.As far as it not heating like it should, a couple of things to check would be making sure the exhaust pipe is sealed with high temp silicone at every joint and that the wood you are burning is dry and been sitting in a dry location for a year. Please feel free to give our customer service a call anytime at 800.750.2723, we are open Monday-Friday from 7-4 CST Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Descent product for the price

,
December 8, 2014
By CJSLew
from Lewiston, ID
" My only complaint would be that the designers of this product neglected to put an air intake adjustment on this stove. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great stove looks good

,
December 6, 2014
By JV1234
from Flower Mound Tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I bought this stove to replace an older Trailblazer wood stove which is no longer made. I would have given it 5 starts but the holes in the back panel did not line up without a little modification. I called the company for a replacement part and it arrived in a couple of days. I am impressed by its performance and look. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mountaineer Wood Stove

,
November 26, 2014
By LostElkMountain
from Southern Iowa
" Very nice little stove. It heats well and evenly, burns about 2 hours on a full load.
The width of the firebox accommodates fairly long logs, but the height restricts you to using 6" or less diameter logs. For example: four 4" logs will fill the firebox.
I use it for heating my meat processing room and it works well for that.
The glass has stayed clean so far, allowing you to see the fire clearly.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too much trouble for the heat.

,
November 18, 2014
By DaleJohnston
from Ohio
" Been using wood stoves since 1977 - 5 in all. With that in mind please note:
1. The air flow is VERY POORLY designed. Air enters at top front of chamber not the bottom. Smoke will escape via this route when starting the fire. It needs to enter low in the chamber to fuel fire. I inserted 2 screws to raise the ash plate which works until ash falls on the door.
2. Ash removal is a poor design if you plan on using the stove continually. You have to remove (or at least flip upright) to let ash fall into tray. If you have low heat during cleanout, ash floats back into chamber & out front door. A two grate system would be MUCH better.
3. Fire chamber is too small unless your intention is a cozy, romantic fire. I cannot insert enough seasoned hardwood to burn for 4 - 6 hours others stated they achieved. It requires a GOOD bed of embers to fire newly added wood (I think largely due to poor airlfow). I have been able to go 2 - 3 hours; or 6 hours at night or when gone with just enough embers to start a new fire with twigs / small branches.
All that being said, this stove will put out the heat!! We're actually moving some of the heat up to the second floor. And given it was 9 degrees last night in humid Ohio, the house as good & warm. Also, I'm pleased it uses less wood than our last stove - 25 to 30% less! It looks good and, if you like to see the fire, it provides a nice atmosphere.
Overall I'd give the stove 2 stars, but for the price I went 3. If your using this stove where you can handle significant smoke escaping until you get a roaring fire, it's a very good stove. Or if I can solve the air flow in the fire chamber (it would solve 80% of my frustration). Ultimately, I wouldn't recommend the stove for use in a house and will probably pass on another Voglesang product. It appears to be like Vermont Castings - older models worked well, but the overseas versions don't measure up. Dale J. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

mountaineer stove

,
November 16, 2014
By Nummie
from ut
" Heats well, but could use a taller fire box.
with a taller front, so ashes don't fall out so easy.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogelzang Mountaineer wood stove

,
November 9, 2014
By kathygregory
from Delray,WV
" Very happy with this stove. Did have a concern about no damper control, but it was not a issue. It really puts out the heat. Price was perfect for my budget and will help lower my electric bill a lot. Nice looking stove and love seeing the fire through the glass.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little stove!

,
November 1, 2014
By Willburr
from Sunshine State
" I'm into my second season with this stove. I really like it. Cranks the heat for a small unit. Quality is very good. It has thick gauge steel where needed and I've had this thing ripping hot with no issues. It will burn dry seasoned wood well for a couple hours on one stoking. Damp logs can be problematic as the firebox is small and can't develop enough heat to overcome the moisture efficiently. When adding wood it does put some smoke into the room. I am considering adding a draft inducing fan on the pipe just for when I add logs. The included variable speed blower is a nice feature but noisy so I use instead a small table top fan behind the stove on the floor which is whisper quiet and works very well. The ash drawer needs to be emptied every day as it gets full fast. Overall this is a nice little stove for the money and if the size is workable for your application I recommend it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT stove for the price!!

,
October 10, 2014
By Deeeman
from Nw chicago burbs
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" A little smoky on start up , but once it gets going it's a great warm stove. Heats my 1100 square-foot house great once I position fans. Going to try the small door mount fan to push air to the other side of the house. The large firebox makes it convenient and holds larger logs than most. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
18out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fireplace

,
September 19, 2014
By Macadoo1733
from Madison, MS
" Bought this wood burning fireplace. It had dropped my heating bills to next to nothing. I would recommend this model to anyone! Great job! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
15out of 26found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertOctober 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you are pleased with your Mountaineer Wood Stove. We are always available if you ever come across any questions or concerns, you can reach our Customer Care at 1-800-750-2723.Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap

,
September 16, 2014
By agent44
from NC
" This stove has NO air vent control. The only way dampen the fire is with the chimney. If you build a fire too fast it will smoke out of the "air wash" vents and draft down the chimney. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
15out of 21found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertSeptember 22, 2014
I am sorry to hear you have experienced issues with your stove. As this is a NON EPA certified stove, it is considered a single burn rate unit. by law it is required to be this way unfortunately. The best way to control the burn rate is to install a damper in the chimney. You will also need to warm your chimney with a smaller fire first to get your draft going before building a large fire. If you have any additional Questions or concerns, please call our Customer care team. at 800-750-2723.Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Vogelzang Mountaineer Wood Stove

,
September 1, 2014
By CheeseWhiz
from Wisconsin
" Nice Stove except for the damper control. I removed it from the top of the stove and installed in the vent pipe as it would not function fully. Now it works great! The stove is well constructed and looks very nice in my Man Cave. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good stove for the money

,
February 9, 2014
By tnrick
from knoxville tennessee
" Just installed this stove yesterday. It is an easy install. Heats well and holds fire for several hours provided some modifications are done. I started the first fire-just a kindling fire to be sure the stove was operating correctly before giving it a full load. So I opened the door to add fuel and the door gasket promptly fell off. OK, I was expecting that from other reviews. A tube of 3M super weather strip adhesive from the auto parts store fixed that. Since there is no draft control on this stove I am building a slide to open and cover the draft slots above the door. This also required that I remove the factory damper and install it in the pipe above the flue outlet. The flue outlet also is the wrong size to place the first section of pipe OVER the flue outlet so that you must insert the crimped end into the flue outlet. This is bad design. So, I purchased a 6" section of stove pipe that was crimped on both ends and used some high temperature muffler sealer from the auto parts store to seal it into the flue outlet. Now as the pipe sections are put together the crimped ends are in the "up" position as they should be for leak free operation throughout the length of "chimney". While doing my initial burn I noted that if the damper is the least bit closed and if you open the door too quickly there will be smoke boil out of the door. Most likely due to the baffle closing off most of the escape route for the smoke. Oh well, no helping that without a major redesign. I'll just open the damper, let the draft pull any smoke in the firebox up the chimney, open the door slowly and quickly load the firebox. As far as my draft control design; until I get it made I'll just do as another reviewer suggested and block off a few of the draft slots with aluminum foil wadded up and stuffed in the holes. All in all this is a good stove for the price (seems like the price on stoves went out of sight when the EPA got involved..) Oh how I wish for a good old fisher mamma or papa bear made with 1/4" plate steel. If you can deal with the mod's and the learning curve this stove will be a good one. One last word; I noted that some have complained about the baffle being welded in and/or rusting out. The baffle is no longer welded in and a replacement is sold by the company in case of failure. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
35out of 53found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.