Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG

Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG

Item# 173610
This Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove combines beauty and efficiency to give you an exceptional wood-burning stove at a great price. Heavy-gauge 3/16in. plate steel Mountaineer accepts 22in. logs. Air wash ceramic glass offers a clear view of the fire. The Mountaineer is fully firebrick lined, with a large ash pan for easy ash removal. Adjustable high speed blower included directs warm air into room. Sturdy pedestal base with pewter trim accents satin black finish. 5-year limited warranty. This item is not for sale in CA, WA and OR. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Blower Included Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, BTU Output 104,000, Clearance from Corner in. 19, Blower CFM 100, Dimensions W x D x H in. 28 x 20 x 30, Door Opening W x H in. 22 x 11, EPA Exempt Yes, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 26, Clearance from Side Wall in. 25, Full Load Run Time Hours 6-8, Heat Settings No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,000, Igniter Manual, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Thermostat Included No, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 22, Stove Pipe Included No, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Stove, UL Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 23 x 14 2.6 cu. ft. Heavy-gauge 3/16in. reinforced plate steel with firebrick lining Cast iron feed door with large 19in. x 8in. ceramic safety glass window Sturdy pedestal base with pewter trim edge caps Adjustable high speed blower Large ash drawer for easy ash removal Cast iron damper collar Cool touch spring handle Safety tested to UL standard 1482 5-year limited warranty Cannot be installed in mobile homes
Average Customer Rating:
3.662 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (74 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
14
52 of 74(70%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Review 1 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MOUNTAINEER CUTS HEATING BILL ALOT!

,
August 25, 2008
By ERNIE125
from Northeastern Pennsylvania
"The Mountaineer is a great woodburning stove and especially for the price, I never would have expected it to be as good as it is. We decided to attempt to use a wood burner to help allieviate some of our heating bill, we never guessed that this stove would save us well over 75% last winter(07-08) We relied heavily upon this unit and were never disappointed by it! That in and of itself was amazing being that it cost only a fraction of many other store bought models. The craftmanship is of the same high quality as the higher priced models and although it is in our basement we surely would have not been afraid for a moment to have it in one of the upstairs rooms, it does look that good! The Mountaineer not only saved us a lot of money, it easily paid for itself in our eyes the very first season! We are currently looking to add another unit to our upstairs for times when an extra bit of heat is needed in the dead of winter, it will certainly be this one, that is how good this unit is!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT stove for the price!!

,
October 10, 2014
By Deeeman
from Nw chicago burbs
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"A little smoky on start up , but once it gets going it's a great warm stove. Heats my 1100 square-foot house great once I position fans. Going to try the small door mount fan to push air to the other side of the house. The large firebox makes it convenient and holds larger logs than most."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fireplace

,
September 19, 2014
By Macadoo1733
from Madison, MS
"Bought this wood burning fireplace. It had dropped my heating bills to next to nothing. I would recommend this model to anyone! Great job!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertOctober 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you are pleased with your Mountaineer Wood Stove. We are always available if you ever come across any questions or concerns, you can reach our Customer Care at 1-800-750-2723.Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap

,
September 16, 2014
By agent44
from NC
"This stove has NO air vent control. The only way dampen the fire is with the chimney. If you build a fire too fast it will smoke out of the "air wash" vents and draft down the chimney."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertSeptember 22, 2014
I am sorry to hear you have experienced issues with your stove. As this is a NON EPA certified stove, it is considered a single burn rate unit. by law it is required to be this way unfortunately. The best way to control the burn rate is to install a damper in the chimney. You will also need to warm your chimney with a smaller fire first to get your draft going before building a large fire. If you have any additional Questions or concerns, please call our Customer care team. at 800-750-2723.Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Vogelzang Mountaineer Wood Stove

,
September 1, 2014
By CheeseWhiz
from Wisconsin
"Nice Stove except for the damper control. I removed it from the top of the stove and installed in the vent pipe as it would not function fully. Now it works great! The stove is well constructed and looks very nice in my Man Cave."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good stove for the money

,
February 9, 2014
By tnrick
from knoxville tennessee
"Just installed this stove yesterday. It is an easy install. Heats well and holds fire for several hours provided some modifications are done. I started the first fire-just a kindling fire to be sure the stove was operating correctly before giving it a full load. So I opened the door to add fuel and the door gasket promptly fell off. OK, I was expecting that from other reviews. A tube of 3M super weather strip adhesive from the auto parts store fixed that. Since there is no draft control on this stove I am building a slide to open and cover the draft slots above the door. This also required that I remove the factory damper and install it in the pipe above the flue outlet. The flue outlet also is the wrong size to place the first section of pipe OVER the flue outlet so that you must insert the crimped end into the flue outlet. This is bad design. So, I purchased a 6" section of stove pipe that was crimped on both ends and used some high temperature muffler sealer from the auto parts store to seal it into the flue outlet. Now as the pipe sections are put together the crimped ends are in the "up" position as they should be for leak free operation throughout the length of "chimney". While doing my initial burn I noted that if the damper is the least bit closed and if you open the door too quickly there will be smoke boil out of the door. Most likely due to the baffle closing off most of the escape route for the smoke. Oh well, no helping that without a major redesign. I'll just open the damper, let the draft pull any smoke in the firebox up the chimney, open the door slowly and quickly load the firebox. As far as my draft control design; until I get it made I'll just do as another reviewer suggested and block off a few of the draft slots with aluminum foil wadded up and stuffed in the holes. All in all this is a good stove for the price (seems like the price on stoves went out of sight when the EPA got involved..) Oh how I wish for a good old fisher mamma or papa bear made with 1/4" plate steel. If you can deal with the mod's and the learning curve this stove will be a good one. One last word; I noted that some have complained about the baffle being welded in and/or rusting out. The baffle is no longer welded in and a replacement is sold by the company in case of failure."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
30out of 45found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great stove for the money

,
February 4, 2014
By Lurch48
from Minnesota
"This is a great stove for the money. I am in my first year of using this stove to heat a 1200 sq ft shop. Once you have stove heated up, really kicks out some heat. The fan is a great option to have. Also like the ash drawer and center hole which makes it easy to clean. The only thing I have found wrong is the firebrick starting to crack of which this is easy to get and replace."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

This wood Stove has saved us money

,
February 4, 2014
By Albertina
from massachusetts
"This stove works and looks great once you understand how the airflow works. We use it along with a smaller wood stove in the basement to heat our entire house and do not have to buy oil anymore. It's a great savings!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good functioning stove

,
January 22, 2014
By buttonpusher
from North Dakota
"This stove replaced the Franklin stove that came with our house. So it is a vast improvement on heating the room and fuel consumption. If you do have a fire going it helps to open the door slowly other wise you will draw some wood smoke into the room.
The only reason I gave it four stars was that on the initial heat up. There was quite a bit of smoke generated from the stove it's self - not from the burning wood.
Once that was done it has worked like a charm and providing plentiful heat and warmth in our home."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Darn Good Deal! great wood stove for the price!!

,
December 8, 2013
By Hozea1
from Dixons Mills, Alabama
"Easy to set up! Came mostly assembled! shipped quickly! I love the sleek and classy look it has. Looks like you paid a fortune for it! I had fun lighting my first fire in it. It put out good heat don't stand too close it can burn you! I got a chance to boil me some hot dogs on it and toasted some bread! the best toasted bread you could eat! It was perfect! If you leave the damper open wide it will burn up some wood quickly! Love Love love it! The fire burning behind the front glass, The view is breath taking guys the ladies love it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A+ Excellent!

,
October 31, 2013
By BKVT
from Southern VT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought this stove in 2006, 7 years later still burning like a charm. No leaks, blower works great....extremely well built. Not only does this stove heat our 1800 sqft cabin with ease, it's a beauty to look at too. The glass front is larger than most which has given us many enjoyable nights sitting by the fire. Highly recommend this one, for the money you simply cannot beat it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
42out of 70found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product for the price

,
September 17, 2013
By hhallmark
from Grapeland, TX
"A great value for the money. The only negatives so far is that the door gasket came loose after using it just a few times and the blower is a bit loud. I would recommend this stove to anyone.""
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+10points
30out of 50found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood stove

,
September 17, 2013
By Lakedog
from Ohio
"After extensive research on price, ability, feed back from previous buyers... I chose this product and I couldn't be happier. The cost, delivery, and performance are great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
22out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible value

,
September 12, 2013
By dreamerdick
from New Mexico
"I have had two of these stoves since 2005 and am constantly amazed at their efficiency and heat output.
Craftsmanship is excellent - does not leak smoke even after nine years of winter use. Firebrick has held up for its duration and shows no sign of cracking nor need for replacement. One of the best wood stoves I have ever purchased and an amazing value for the money. I would recommend this stove to anyone.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
31out of 41found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mountaineer Wood Stove

,
March 23, 2011
By DaveB44
from Phillipsburg NJ
"I installed this model for one of my customers. They really enjoy the heat that comes from this stove. It gives off more heat and burns longer than the expensive cast or soap stone stoves. They also said that with wood that is not too dry, they can get a 8-10 hour burn without re-loading the stove. Very good product. Very easy to install as well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stove for the Price

,
July 20, 2009
By Woodheatorfreeze
from Allentown, PA
"I am on my second stove. I bought the first one in September the year Katrina hit. I live in PA in a 100+ year old home. To heat my home with oil to a balmy 62 degrees in December, I would go through 175-200 gallons per month. Realizing that I would never be able to keep my house warm with the impending spike in fuel costs, I bought this stove.
This stove is a Godsend. It has the highest BTU rating I could find, while being the least expensive. It is in my living room. I keep my living room at 82-86 degrees during the evening. The heat goes up the stairway and heats the upstair bedrooms up to 70 degrees. I have never been so warm during the winter! I bought two chainsaws and have collected all of my wood for free. I used to use about 6 chords/season, but with new windows, about four.
The burn time is about 1-2 hours. If you are keeping a ripper going to actually heat your home, you need to have the flue damper wide open and feed it every 45 minutes to an hour. I feed it right before going to bed (11:00) and make a fire at six am. Usually there are some embers left and I can revive it with a bellows and a couple good pieces of kindling. I have a good fire going by the time I go to work at seven. It is dead when I get home at 4:00. My house is 60 degrees when I come home. Not bad. It is usually 68 when I wake up in the morning. Not bad. It is my only source of heat.
I had to buy another one for last season because the baffle inside had rusted through. Considering I burn from September to Mid May, I got a lot of heat out of it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heat and comfort

,
July 20, 2009
By northern123
from Charlotte, NC
"Purchased this unit and have it at my cabin in the mountains. It is efficient easy to use and provideds enough heat in a 1400 sq ft uninsulated log cabin in all but the worst cold. It replaced a pot belly stove that was unable to heat, used a lot of wood and wouldn't take larger logs and had not heat distributing fan. It set up easy and quick and my wife loves the ease and convience. It is great and a good investment on our part. Well built and well insulated. heavy metal allows sustained heat consistancy. For us a great buy and improvement in comfort and looks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Review of Mountaineer Stove

,
March 23, 2009
By JA55
from Located in Middle Tennessee
"This stove is a exceptional value.Its heavy duty and it looks good!I believe its well designed and it definately puts the heat out.I did the instaltion myself and i do recomend that you take no short cuts when installing your chminey system.Buy the good stuff and install it right and you will not have any smoke or burning problems.I love this stove,its a great addition both to save me money and it looks great!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wounderful stove for the money...=5 STARS!!!

,
March 9, 2009
By stevems70
from Indiana, USA
"I had been searching for a wood stove for about a year..., I found the Mountaineer and BAMO!! Great stove..., Especially at the low price... This in my openion is the best deal on the market... This stove is not only beautiful but is also very echonomical... A couple of stick burns for several hours.., Saving me money..., I am now heating aprox. 10,000 cubic feet of air space with ZERO cost... Just a little time cutting and spliting... It is fun and the whole family gets into it..., If you want a wounderful stove at a great price, This is the stove for you..., I know it is better than I expected..., And the best thing, I haven't turned on the electric furnace since I bought it!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

For your house, go for better quality

,
February 18, 2009
By inthewoods
from Charleston, SC
"We recently purchased this stove after reading all the reviews. We felt it would do an adequate job of heating our 2800 sq foot home and it has. However, we feel there are a few issues with this stove and we want potential buyers to seriously consider these before purchasing the stove to put in your home. Our first complaint was the blower. We searched high and low for a stove with a blower and finally settled on this one. The "blower" however, is a joke. It is a little fan that you attach to the back of the stove and plug into the nearest electrical socket and it is supposed to blow warm air into your home. We have much better success with a small pedastal fan placed near the stove. Also the "blower", and I do use that term very lightly, is extremely noisy when on full blast, not that it really blows any better on full blast anyway. Secondly, after less than a month of use, the handle has become almost impossible to turn. We have tried tightening, loosening but because of the way it is made (attached with a bolt) and it's exposure to high temperatures, it has become difficult to turn. Third, the gasket inside the door fell off two weeks into use. After not being able to shut the door, while I had a blazing fire going, I had to rip it out completely and wait for Vogelzang to send me a new door gasket kit. While they were very nice and sent it right out, I really feel like I shouldn't have had to deal with that issue to begin with. All in all, we do not love this stove. Yes, it was a great price, which is why we purchased it, but in hindsight, we wish we had just spent the extra money and bought a quality product that we would not have had to replace for many years. As it is, we will most likely be replacing this stove within the next year or two."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.