Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"

Item# 173610
"This Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove combines beauty and efficiency to give you an exceptional wood-burning stove at a great price. Heavy-gauge 3/16in. plate steel Mountaineer accepts 22in. logs. Air wash ceramic glass offers a clear view of the fire. The Mountaineer is fully firebrick lined, with a large ash pan for easy ash removal. Adjustable high speed blower included directs warm air into room. Sturdy pedestal base with pewter trim accents satin black finish. 5-year limited warranty. This item is not for sale in CA, WA and OR. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Mobile Home Approved No, Dimensions W x D x H in. 28 x 20 x 30, Full Load Run Time Hours 6-8, Igniter Manual, Blower CFM 100, BTU Output 104,000, EPA Exempt Yes, Thermostat Included No, Blower Included Yes, Fuel Type Wood, Firebox Size W x D in. 23 x 14 2.6 cu. ft., Door Opening W x H in. 22 x 11, Heat Settings No, Clearance from Corner in. 19, Product Type Stove, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, UL Yes, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 26, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,000, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Clearance from Side Wall in. 25, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 22, Stove Pipe Included No. Heavy-gauge 3/16in. reinforced plate steel with firebrick lining Cast iron feed door with large 19in. x 8in. ceramic safety glass window Sturdy pedestal base with pewter trim edge caps Adjustable high speed blower Large ash drawer for easy ash removal Cast iron damper collar Cool touch spring handle Safety tested to UL standard 1482 5-year limited warranty Cannot be installed in mobile homes"
Average Customer Rating:
3.579 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (95 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
19
65 of 95(68%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Review 1 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MOUNTAINEER CUTS HEATING BILL ALOT!

,
August 25, 2008
By
from Northeastern Pennsylvania
The Mountaineer is a great woodburning stove and especially for the price, I never would have expected it to be as good as it is. We decided to attempt to use a wood burner to help allieviate some of our heating bill, we never guessed that this stove would save us well over 75% last winter(07-08) We relied heavily upon this unit and were never disappointed by it! That in and of itself was amazing being that it cost only a fraction of many other store bought models. The craftmanship is of the same high quality as the higher priced models and although it is in our basement we surely would have not been afraid for a moment to have it in one of the upstairs rooms, it does look that good! The Mountaineer not only saved us a lot of money, it easily paid for itself in our eyes the very first season! We are currently looking to add another unit to our upstairs for times when an extra bit of heat is needed in the dead of winter, it will certainly be this one, that is how good this unit is!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase!

,
November 28, 2015
By
from Cleveland, Tn
This stove is awesome! We put it in our small cabin and we love it! The window on the front gives a great view of the fire. It is a great addition to our cabin. It makes it feel so warm and cozy. We are so glad we made this purchase!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 3 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not really worth the price

,
November 27, 2015
By
from WV
This wood stove doesn't heat near as well as I was hoping, we have this in a side room with an opening to a 30+ foot living room and it barely keeps the room that it is in warm. We even added a heat reclaimer to the stove pipe as well. I was hoping to get more of the house heated from this wood stove, very expensive purchase for the amount of heat this puts out.
I do like the look of the stove, and the ash drawer is very useful. We had to move the damper up higher as it doesn't close all the way if needed as was very poorly designed where it was installed.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 4 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wood Stove, Great Price!

,
November 23, 2015
By
from Sevierville TN
Looked at many others before deciding on this one. For the money, you can't beat it. Better hurry and get one. Have been told this is the last year it will be offered due to EPA regulations. To bad. 104,000 BTU for only about $500? Are you serious? It's a no brainer. BUY ONE!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 5 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Reasonable price not a great product

,
November 18, 2015
By
from Pennsylvania
Burning seasoned hard woods in NEPA. Fire out in 3 hours and box COLD in 4 hours. Ate threw wood and didn't produce a ton of heat. I get better heat from my stove that was built in 1987.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertNovember 23, 2015
Our team of technicians would be happy to help you solve the issue you are experiencing with our unit. We are open 7 days a week, from Monday through Friday 7am-9pm Central and Saturday and Sunday from 8am-5pm. Vogelzang
Review 6 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great buy

,
November 12, 2015
By
from Gray, LA
I ordered this stove and had it within two weeks. Very nice but needs a better way to control burn rate. I really like the fact that it will accept larger pieces of wood. Overall, great for the price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Needs less than one star rating...

,
November 8, 2015
By
from Missouri
If you need something to "pretty" up a room for a romantic fireplace effect without an open flame this is the stove for you, if you actually want to create heat for your home without constant headache, buy something else. As many others have stated already, there is no thermostatic control and controlling the airflow with a damper (which consequently has to be in the flue pipe, the spot for one on the stove collar doesn't even open properly when installed) leads to the stove belching smoke into the home. There is no way to clean ash out of the stove without letting the fire die out completely. If you open the door to load wood ash inevitably falls out onto the small tray at the front of the stove and onto the floor and to top it all off, the burn time with a full load (packed tightly as possible mind you) is about two and a half hours at best. (Not conducive to a good nights sleep to have to set a alarm for every two hours to stock wood) The only person who was happy with this stove was the scrap dealer who gave me 25 bucks for the used steel.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps you warm

,
October 31, 2015
By
from Celina TN
This is a replacement for a woodburner my Daughter had last year she would use 2 wagon fulls of wood a night. With this new one she only use's 4 pieces a night and has to open a window. Great Stove .Will buy again
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertNovember 3, 2015
thank you for your feedback glad you are satisfied with the product. If you have any questions give us a call at 1-800-750-2723 Vogelzang
Review 9 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Satisfied

,
February 24, 2015
By
from South Texas
I read many reviews on this stove and in spite of the bad ones it seemed to be the right stove for the right price. I have not had many of the problems described and the stove has worked very well for me this winter. The only reason I did not give it a fith star is the height of the firebox. A couple more inches would make a big difference. Just takes a bit of strategy to deal with. This stove is in a dome and is in the center of the room, so I did not instal the heater. Love sitting in front of it with my coffee in the morning watching the flame, much better than my old cast iron stove with no window.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+34points
40out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Mountaineer wood heater

,
February 23, 2015
By
from Forest, MS
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This product does everything the description says it will do. The blower is great! We have an all electric home & our light bills were getting very high. This unit has saved us money! I had no problem with installing this heater. If you are not familiar with installing this type wood burning heater, hire a professional. Excellent product and price.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

mountaineer wood stove

,
January 15, 2015
By
from north florida
the good -has good size ash drawer,nice size door for loading,good size viewing glass. the bad-loud blower,no way to control the rate of burn. i had to purchase a piece of steel 2in tall by 3ft long and 1/4 in thick to block off the front air intakes after the fire gets going good or you will blow thru wood like theres no tomorrow.i only burn seasoned oak because its so abundant here.wood is my sole source of heat and have heated with wood for 30 yrs.i would not attempt to heat with this stove in northern states unless you modify as i did.i have also considered using magnets to block off the air.this is my second year using this stove.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+47points
50out of 53found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertMarch 10, 2015
Thank you for your feedback, I will get it over to our engineering department. Vogelzang
Review 12 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great heater

,
January 13, 2015
By
from Tennessee
Am extremely pleased with mountaineer wood stove, Its in a rustic board and batten cabin on a century farm in southern middle Tn. Really heats place up. Under construction, makes it nice to work inside during winter. Will really heat when walls are insulated and covered on inside. Surprisingly glass stays clean and gives a great view of fire. When lighting fire it is helpful to warm air in chimney up to create draft so it doesn't smoke. I hold a sheet of crumpled newspaper toward top of stove. Will also cook a deer stew
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
19out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Technical specs are not even close

,
January 10, 2015
By
from Tennessee
I have used this heater for 2 months now. The specs say: 104,000 btu and it will heat up to 2000 square feet, I am yet to heat 1500 square feet with it, the same space I can heat with a 40,000 btu tanktop propane heater!!! The specs also say 6-8 hour burn time,in about 2 hours theres nothing but a few coals in the heater, unless you add wood every 30 minutes. You cannot control the burn rate,yes you can close the damper and slow it , but that is killing the draft which is required for a wood heater to function properly. I am very unsatisfied with this purchase and I would advise anyone to look past buying this heater.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
24out of 32found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertMarch 9, 2015
Sorry that you are having these issues. The BTU's to square footage ratio are based upon government specifications (EPA) the amount of BTU'S vary based on wood quality, moisture content, and burn habits. Adding a barometric draft regulator to your stove pipe connectors can help control your draft and regulate your burn times. For more personalized evaluation of your setup and tips you can contact our customer service dept at 800.750.2723. We are open Monday-Friday from 7-4 CST Vogelzang
Review 14 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst experience ever with a wood stove

,
December 29, 2014
By
from Colbert, OK
We bought this stove October 2014 and it goes thru wood like crazy, even tho we added another flue in the stove pipe, firebricks have already broke in half in the back of the stove. If there is a good breeze going outside, the front vents will fill the room with a giant puff of smoke. We learned real quick that you MUST start with a very small fire or the smoke coming out the door will set off every smoke alarm in the house!!! it has been the worst wood burning stove we have ever had!!!! We have always had a wood burning stove, 27 yrs, we previously had an Ashley but our house burnt and we were trying to stay within a tight budget on the rebuild. If you want a good wood burning stove for heat and efficiency, DO NOT BUY THIS STOVE!!!!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertMarch 9, 2015
We are sorry to hear that you are having these issues with your stove. If you are getting smoke coming into the home it does sound like an issue with the draft. A couple of things to check would be making sure the exhaust pipe is sealed with high temp silicone at every joint and that the wood you are burning is dry and been sitting in a dry location for a year. Please feel free to give our customer service a call anytime at 800.750.2723, we are open Monday-Friday from 7-4 CST Vogelzang
Review 15 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove

,
December 14, 2014
By
from NY
Well where do i start... I read about this so it said wonderful stove that would heat from 600 to 1000sq feet... Well not even more like 400sq and Ive never burnt my self so many times in my life on many of stoves i have used. You cant fit many logs in it for another and you only have room at the bottom for a inch or 2 of coals then you have to clean it out... The ash draw is a joke being you have wait for the fire to go out and be then your freezing... What get me is with a little more room top to bottom and 5 inches deeper it might do what the description said it will do... So being we don't have lots of money to spend we will freeze half the time try to keep this stove going and get burnt as well... So i sadly say out of hundreds of purchases in my life this was one of the worse and miss leading Ive ever seen and now I and my family fight to keep worm because of it.....
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
14out of 22found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertMarch 9, 2015
We are sorry to hear that you are having these issues with your stove and that you are unhappy with the operation and design of the ash draw.As far as it not heating like it should, a couple of things to check would be making sure the exhaust pipe is sealed with high temp silicone at every joint and that the wood you are burning is dry and been sitting in a dry location for a year. Please feel free to give our customer service a call anytime at 800.750.2723, we are open Monday-Friday from 7-4 CST Vogelzang
Review 16 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Descent product for the price

,
December 8, 2014
By
from Lewiston, ID
My only complaint would be that the designers of this product neglected to put an air intake adjustment on this stove.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great stove looks good

,
December 6, 2014
By
from Flower Mound Tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I bought this stove to replace an older Trailblazer wood stove which is no longer made. I would have given it 5 starts but the holes in the back panel did not line up without a little modification. I called the company for a replacement part and it arrived in a couple of days. I am impressed by its performance and look.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mountaineer Wood Stove

,
November 26, 2014
By
from Southern Iowa
Very nice little stove. It heats well and evenly, burns about 2 hours on a full load.
The width of the firebox accommodates fairly long logs, but the height restricts you to using 6" or less diameter logs. For example: four 4" logs will fill the firebox.
I use it for heating my meat processing room and it works well for that.
The glass has stayed clean so far, allowing you to see the fire clearly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too much trouble for the heat.

,
November 18, 2014
By
from Ohio
Been using wood stoves since 1977 - 5 in all. With that in mind please note:
1. The air flow is VERY POORLY designed. Air enters at top front of chamber not the bottom. Smoke will escape via this route when starting the fire. It needs to enter low in the chamber to fuel fire. I inserted 2 screws to raise the ash plate which works until ash falls on the door.
2. Ash removal is a poor design if you plan on using the stove continually. You have to remove (or at least flip upright) to let ash fall into tray. If you have low heat during cleanout, ash floats back into chamber & out front door. A two grate system would be MUCH better.
3. Fire chamber is too small unless your intention is a cozy, romantic fire. I cannot insert enough seasoned hardwood to burn for 4 - 6 hours others stated they achieved. It requires a GOOD bed of embers to fire newly added wood (I think largely due to poor airlfow). I have been able to go 2 - 3 hours; or 6 hours at night or when gone with just enough embers to start a new fire with twigs / small branches.
All that being said, this stove will put out the heat!! We're actually moving some of the heat up to the second floor. And given it was 9 degrees last night in humid Ohio, the house as good & warm. Also, I'm pleased it uses less wood than our last stove - 25 to 30% less! It looks good and, if you like to see the fire, it provides a nice atmosphere.
Overall I'd give the stove 2 stars, but for the price I went 3. If your using this stove where you can handle significant smoke escaping until you get a roaring fire, it's a very good stove. Or if I can solve the air flow in the fire chamber (it would solve 80% of my frustration). Ultimately, I wouldn't recommend the stove for use in a house and will probably pass on another Voglesang product. It appears to be like Vermont Castings - older models worked well, but the overseas versions don't measure up. Dale J.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

mountaineer stove

,
November 16, 2014
By
from ut
Heats well, but could use a taller fire box.
with a taller front, so ashes don't fall out so easy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.