Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"

"Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"

Item# 173610
"This Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove combines beauty and efficiency to give you an exceptional wood-burning stove at a great price. Heavy-gauge 3/16in. plate steel Mountaineer accepts 22in. logs. Air wash ceramic glass offers a clear view of the fire. The Mountaineer is fully firebrick lined, with a large ash pan for easy ash removal. Adjustable high speed blower included directs warm air into room. Sturdy pedestal base with pewter trim accents satin black finish. 5-year limited warranty. This item is not for sale in CA, WA and OR. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Blower Included Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, BTU Output 104,000, Clearance from Corner in. 19, Blower CFM 100, Dimensions W x D x H in. 28 x 20 x 30, Door Opening W x H in. 22 x 11, EPA Exempt Yes, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 26, Clearance from Side Wall in. 25, Full Load Run Time Hours 6-8, Heat Settings No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,000, Igniter Manual, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Thermostat Included No, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 22, Stove Pipe Included No, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Stove, UL Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 23 x 14 2.6 cu. ft. Heavy-gauge 3/16in. reinforced plate steel with firebrick lining Cast iron feed door with large 19in. x 8in. ceramic safety glass window Sturdy pedestal base with pewter trim edge caps Adjustable high speed blower Large ash drawer for easy ash removal Cast iron damper collar Cool touch spring handle Safety tested to UL standard 1482 5-year limited warranty Cannot be installed in mobile homes"
Average Customer Rating:
3.658 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (82 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
15
58 of 82(71%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Review 21 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood stove

,
September 17, 2013
By Lakedog
from Ohio
" After extensive research on price, ability, feed back from previous buyers... I chose this product and I couldn't be happier. The cost, delivery, and performance are great. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
22out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible value

,
September 12, 2013
By dreamerdick
from New Mexico
" I have had two of these stoves since 2005 and am constantly amazed at their efficiency and heat output.
Craftsmanship is excellent - does not leak smoke even after nine years of winter use. Firebrick has held up for its duration and shows no sign of cracking nor need for replacement. One of the best wood stoves I have ever purchased and an amazing value for the money. I would recommend this stove to anyone.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
31out of 42found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mountaineer Wood Stove

,
March 23, 2011
By DaveB44
from Phillipsburg NJ
" I installed this model for one of my customers. They really enjoy the heat that comes from this stove. It gives off more heat and burns longer than the expensive cast or soap stone stoves. They also said that with wood that is not too dry, they can get a 8-10 hour burn without re-loading the stove. Very good product. Very easy to install as well. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stove for the Price

,
July 20, 2009
By Woodheatorfreeze
from Allentown, PA
" I am on my second stove. I bought the first one in September the year Katrina hit. I live in PA in a 100+ year old home. To heat my home with oil to a balmy 62 degrees in December, I would go through 175-200 gallons per month. Realizing that I would never be able to keep my house warm with the impending spike in fuel costs, I bought this stove.
This stove is a Godsend. It has the highest BTU rating I could find, while being the least expensive. It is in my living room. I keep my living room at 82-86 degrees during the evening. The heat goes up the stairway and heats the upstair bedrooms up to 70 degrees. I have never been so warm during the winter! I bought two chainsaws and have collected all of my wood for free. I used to use about 6 chords/season, but with new windows, about four.
The burn time is about 1-2 hours. If you are keeping a ripper going to actually heat your home, you need to have the flue damper wide open and feed it every 45 minutes to an hour. I feed it right before going to bed (11:00) and make a fire at six am. Usually there are some embers left and I can revive it with a bellows and a couple good pieces of kindling. I have a good fire going by the time I go to work at seven. It is dead when I get home at 4:00. My house is 60 degrees when I come home. Not bad. It is usually 68 when I wake up in the morning. Not bad. It is my only source of heat.
I had to buy another one for last season because the baffle inside had rusted through. Considering I burn from September to Mid May, I got a lot of heat out of it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heat and comfort

,
July 20, 2009
By northern123
from Charlotte, NC
" Purchased this unit and have it at my cabin in the mountains. It is efficient easy to use and provideds enough heat in a 1400 sq ft uninsulated log cabin in all but the worst cold. It replaced a pot belly stove that was unable to heat, used a lot of wood and wouldn't take larger logs and had not heat distributing fan. It set up easy and quick and my wife loves the ease and convience. It is great and a good investment on our part. Well built and well insulated. heavy metal allows sustained heat consistancy. For us a great buy and improvement in comfort and looks. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Review of Mountaineer Stove

,
March 23, 2009
By JA55
from Located in Middle Tennessee
" This stove is a exceptional value.Its heavy duty and it looks good!I believe its well designed and it definately puts the heat out.I did the instaltion myself and i do recomend that you take no short cuts when installing your chminey system.Buy the good stuff and install it right and you will not have any smoke or burning problems.I love this stove,its a great addition both to save me money and it looks great! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wounderful stove for the money...=5 STARS!!!

,
March 9, 2009
By stevems70
from Indiana, USA
" I had been searching for a wood stove for about a year..., I found the Mountaineer and BAMO!! Great stove..., Especially at the low price... This in my openion is the best deal on the market... This stove is not only beautiful but is also very echonomical... A couple of stick burns for several hours.., Saving me money..., I am now heating aprox. 10,000 cubic feet of air space with ZERO cost... Just a little time cutting and spliting... It is fun and the whole family gets into it..., If you want a wounderful stove at a great price, This is the stove for you..., I know it is better than I expected..., And the best thing, I haven't turned on the electric furnace since I bought it!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

For your house, go for better quality

,
February 18, 2009
By inthewoods
from Charleston, SC
" We recently purchased this stove after reading all the reviews. We felt it would do an adequate job of heating our 2800 sq foot home and it has. However, we feel there are a few issues with this stove and we want potential buyers to seriously consider these before purchasing the stove to put in your home. Our first complaint was the blower. We searched high and low for a stove with a blower and finally settled on this one. The "blower" however, is a joke. It is a little fan that you attach to the back of the stove and plug into the nearest electrical socket and it is supposed to blow warm air into your home. We have much better success with a small pedastal fan placed near the stove. Also the "blower", and I do use that term very lightly, is extremely noisy when on full blast, not that it really blows any better on full blast anyway. Secondly, after less than a month of use, the handle has become almost impossible to turn. We have tried tightening, loosening but because of the way it is made (attached with a bolt) and it's exposure to high temperatures, it has become difficult to turn. Third, the gasket inside the door fell off two weeks into use. After not being able to shut the door, while I had a blazing fire going, I had to rip it out completely and wait for Vogelzang to send me a new door gasket kit. While they were very nice and sent it right out, I really feel like I shouldn't have had to deal with that issue to begin with. All in all, we do not love this stove. Yes, it was a great price, which is why we purchased it, but in hindsight, we wish we had just spent the extra money and bought a quality product that we would not have had to replace for many years. As it is, we will most likely be replacing this stove within the next year or two. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really want to like this stove but...

,
January 20, 2009
By burgerbob11
from New York, N.Y.
" It is not what I expected. MY RATING IS 1 STAR. The review icon wasn't working. The plus is that it does heat my 1600 s.f. home well enough but at a high comsumption of my seasoned wood because their is no air control. I replaced my wood circulator stove for the Mountaineer because of the fire view which is nice to look at but my other stove never used as much wood as this stove does. My chimney system is more than adaquite and still smoke pours into the house when I open the feed door and on windy days I get a downdraft that blows smoke into the house. And don't even get me started on how many times hot embers fall out when adding wood. I keep a spray bottle of water to drown out the embers that fall on the hearth. I have to put in a log almost every hour so forget about sleeping through the night if you want to keep the stove going. Then I happened to read moose5 review about the warped inner top plate and sure enough, when I checked mine it was warped too. I am reluctant to buy the Drolet because they all look like they have same design. Has anyone fiqured out a way to adjust the air on this stove? "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

MOUNTAINTEER

,
January 20, 2009
By Barhide
from ILL
" This wood stove can put out a lot of heat but the down side is there is no way to control the air flow other than the damper and sometimes the smoke will back feed into the house. The window is perpetualy smoked up and there is NO way to clean out any creosote that might fall down the chimney and thus does not burn right. Now on the bright side you can remove the ash easily and blower works decent . I just installed this stove in the fall of 08 and not sure what I'm going to do. All I say is be selective when buying a wood stove "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Okay but...

,
January 19, 2009
By David6984
from INdiana
" I installed our Mountaineer with high hopes of heating our 1500 sq. ft. home adequately. I spent over $800 in the proper flue piping and was very careful on the install. We never get good heat out of the unit, and there is a serious isue with cold air down draft, which smokes up the house until a good fire is going in the firebox. We have had other wood burners in our other homes, but this one is disappointing us. :-( "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeping Us Warm n Toasty

,
January 3, 2009
By Beckycs
from Pahrump, NV
" Wonderful, I have not seen the new power bill yet but, this stove is sure to have saved us a lot. We have an 1800 sf home and it reaches all of the rooms with ease. I was pleasantly surprised, since our home is rectangular, and I was concerned about the rooms that are the farthest back.
It is well constructed and solid. It was also easy to assemble - a plus for us since we did a self install. The heat fan is a bit on the noisey side, but not excessive.
We are very happy with it overall. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor quality

,
December 24, 2008
By moose5
from upstate,ny
" I bought this stove 2 1/2 years ago. It worked great for about one and a half seasons. The main problem is the firebox ceiling warped and split. It is not heavy duty enough. Don't waste your time and money on this stove unless you only need it to work for 1 or 2 seasons. You would be money ahead to spend more on a heavier duty stove. Especially when you consider the shipping and installing hassles because of the size and weight. I just ordered the drolet stove. It has much thicker steel. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the Money

,
December 1, 2008
By magjoh
from Charlotte, NC
" I had my stove installed in Nov 08. It heats my 1400 sq foot house very warm. I had a problem with the door handle. I was able to fix it. The damper did pop out of place. I just fixed it so that it did not pull all the way out. If the damper stays in the close position it burns a little slower. It heats base on the type of wood that you burn. I burn mostly Oak and use Poplar as a kinling. It burns hot and fast. I have been able to burn a nice size of wild cherry wood for 8 hours. Other than that it all burns ratherly fast. I have to reload about 2 to 3 times a night depends on how large and hard the wood is. This is a great investment for me. It saves me a lot of money on heating cost. You really need to know about heating with wood when using wood as a source of heat. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mountaineer Wood stove

,
November 25, 2008
By helena
from west chazy
" Excellent product, amazingly priced and a real heat pusher. We love it. Thanks Northern tools "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't be Happier with the Mountaineer.

,
November 21, 2008
By StoveLovin
from PA
" We were hesitant to purchase this stove because of the mixed reviews but now we couldn't be happier with it. We've only had it installed for a week at the time of this review, but has run it non-stop. We had no difficulty with smoke aside from its first use. Sine then, it has been fine. Customer Service told us that this is typical until the paint on the door cures. (The various contractors we spoke to told us that the smoke problems described in the reviews were probably caused by a chimney problem, rather than the stove.) The Mountaineer heats our entire 2000 + sq foot multi level house in PA. Most of the time, we have to open a window because the house gets so warm. The wood burns slowly and the stove is extremely efficient. We had a couple of installation questions and had to speak to Vogelzang customer service. They were helpful, knowledgeable, and best of all - answered right away without any teleprompts. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

mountaineer stove

,
November 17, 2008
By ndwoodsir
from marion,alabama
" i am satisfied with the stove, it keeps the house warm in cold weather, the only drawback is it has no way to control the draft, it has a damper but no draft control. but i found a way to fix that, at night i take a piece of aluminum foil and close off 4 of the 6 draft holes that way it doesn't burn the wood up too fast and you don't have to reload as often,other than that it is a fine heater. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

We LOVE ours!!!

,
October 22, 2008
By billpatti
from Northwest Indiana
" We just put this stove in and yes, we had to replace the seal on the door, but that is it. It works great! Looks great too! We have been excited that NWI has chilly temps cause it is working great with heating up our 2200 sq. ft basement and our most of our 2200 sq. ft. living area. Our only complaint and it is not even for the stove, is that there is not enough information out there on how to install the piping for the chimney. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mountaineer

,
October 2, 2008
By stamati
from oakdale ct
" direction not specific but stove easy to assemble. burns very well, easy to start and does not smoke when you open it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

,
September 14, 2008
By stoveboy
from Missouri
" I cannot completely express how bad the stove is.
1) the firebox is very small.
2)the stove smokes when ever the door is opened.
3)the stove is either very hot or very cold.
In other words, the stove is completely useless as a heating unit. But it does have a pretty window.
I have used wood heat for many years. This is the worst stove I have ever had experience with.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.