Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG

Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG

Item# 173610
This Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove combines beauty and efficiency to give you an exceptional wood-burning stove at a great price. Heavy-gauge 3/16in. plate steel Mountaineer accepts 22in. logs. Air wash ceramic glass offers a clear view of the fire. The Mountaineer is fully firebrick lined, with a large ash pan for easy ash removal. Adjustable high speed blower included directs warm air into room. Sturdy pedestal base with pewter trim accents satin black finish. This item is not for sale in CA, WA and OR. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Blower Included Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, BTU Output 104,000, Clearance from Corner in. 19, Blower CFM 100, Dimensions W x D x H in. 28 x 20 x 30, Door Opening W x H in. 22 x 11, EPA Exempt Yes, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 26, Clearance from Side Wall in. 25, Full Load Run Time Hours 6-8, Heat Settings No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,000, Igniter Manual, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Thermostat Included No, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 22, Stove Pipe Included No, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Stove, UL Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 23 x 14 2.6 cu. ft. Heavy-gauge 3/16in. reinforced plate steel with firebrick lining Cast iron feed door with large 19in. x 8in. ceramic safety glass window Sturdy pedestal base with pewter trim edge caps Adjustable high speed blower Large ash drawer for easy ash removal Cast iron damper collar Cool touch spring handle Safety tested to UL standard 1482 Cannot be installed in mobile homes
Average Customer Rating:
3.657 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (70 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
13
49 of 70(70%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Review 21 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor quality

,
December 24, 2008
By moose5
from upstate,ny
"I bought this stove 2 1/2 years ago. It worked great for about one and a half seasons. The main problem is the firebox ceiling warped and split. It is not heavy duty enough. Don't waste your time and money on this stove unless you only need it to work for 1 or 2 seasons. You would be money ahead to spend more on a heavier duty stove. Especially when you consider the shipping and installing hassles because of the size and weight. I just ordered the drolet stove. It has much thicker steel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the Money

,
December 1, 2008
By magjoh
from Charlotte, NC
"I had my stove installed in Nov 08. It heats my 1400 sq foot house very warm. I had a problem with the door handle. I was able to fix it. The damper did pop out of place. I just fixed it so that it did not pull all the way out. If the damper stays in the close position it burns a little slower. It heats base on the type of wood that you burn. I burn mostly Oak and use Poplar as a kinling. It burns hot and fast. I have been able to burn a nice size of wild cherry wood for 8 hours. Other than that it all burns ratherly fast. I have to reload about 2 to 3 times a night depends on how large and hard the wood is. This is a great investment for me. It saves me a lot of money on heating cost. You really need to know about heating with wood when using wood as a source of heat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mountaineer Wood stove

,
November 25, 2008
By helena
from west chazy
"Excellent product, amazingly priced and a real heat pusher. We love it. Thanks Northern tools"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't be Happier with the Mountaineer.

,
November 21, 2008
By StoveLovin
from PA
"We were hesitant to purchase this stove because of the mixed reviews but now we couldn't be happier with it. We've only had it installed for a week at the time of this review, but has run it non-stop. We had no difficulty with smoke aside from its first use. Sine then, it has been fine. Customer Service told us that this is typical until the paint on the door cures. (The various contractors we spoke to told us that the smoke problems described in the reviews were probably caused by a chimney problem, rather than the stove.) The Mountaineer heats our entire 2000 + sq foot multi level house in PA. Most of the time, we have to open a window because the house gets so warm. The wood burns slowly and the stove is extremely efficient. We had a couple of installation questions and had to speak to Vogelzang customer service. They were helpful, knowledgeable, and best of all - answered right away without any teleprompts."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

mountaineer stove

,
November 17, 2008
By ndwoodsir
from marion,alabama
"i am satisfied with the stove, it keeps the house warm in cold weather, the only drawback is it has no way to control the draft, it has a damper but no draft control. but i found a way to fix that, at night i take a piece of aluminum foil and close off 4 of the 6 draft holes that way it doesn't burn the wood up too fast and you don't have to reload as often,other than that it is a fine heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

We LOVE ours!!!

,
October 22, 2008
By billpatti
from Northwest Indiana
"We just put this stove in and yes, we had to replace the seal on the door, but that is it. It works great! Looks great too! We have been excited that NWI has chilly temps cause it is working great with heating up our 2200 sq. ft basement and our most of our 2200 sq. ft. living area. Our only complaint and it is not even for the stove, is that there is not enough information out there on how to install the piping for the chimney."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mountaineer

,
October 2, 2008
By stamati
from oakdale ct
"direction not specific but stove easy to assemble. burns very well, easy to start and does not smoke when you open it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

,
September 14, 2008
By stoveboy
from Missouri
"I cannot completely express how bad the stove is.
1) the firebox is very small.
2)the stove smokes when ever the door is opened.
3)the stove is either very hot or very cold.
In other words, the stove is completely useless as a heating unit. But it does have a pretty window.
I have used wood heat for many years. This is the worst stove I have ever had experience with.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stove

,
September 10, 2008
By cc0905
from South Berwick, Maine
"After reading all the other reviews, I gave it a shot and reluctantly bought one, the assembly went very smooth, no mods were required, the instructions were clear and concise. I finally lit it off yesterday (9/9/08) it lit very easily, it did not smoke at all, providing you fully open the damper for a few seconds and then slowly crack open the door, I did not fully load it, just a small fire to get rid of the new stove smell, this stove relaced a antique Franklin, it warmed the room very quickly. the only negative would be the blower, it could be a little more powerful and quieter. This is going to be a great stove for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wood stove

,
August 18, 2008
By cimihug
from long island, new york
"absolutely love this stove. It is a warm cozy addition to the living room. we acatually shut off our heat for the winter and just used our stove, we saved lots of money not having to buy oil. love it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty good for the money

,
April 22, 2008
By dale5
from nashvilee
"This stove puts out great heat and is calming to watch through the viewing door.
The only downside is that this stove burns very fast. It will not burn more than 3 hours on a full load. For the money though it is a good value.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good

,
April 22, 2008
By mbeckelhymer
from Model Colorado
"This stove lights easy , and produces a lot of heat . It has a long burn time with little ash . clean up is easy . I have bought two of these one for myself and one for my Mother . The ony complant I had was with the shipping . If I could have gotten it for the same price and had better service some were else I would have . You just cant find a better price or one thats close .
Matt
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cozy but not to big

,
April 16, 2008
By cozy1
from Northern VT
"We really like the glass front door and it never turned black like other models! It is easy to get started, and to clean the ashes. The only problem is our house is so big that it just didn't put off enough heat. Great for 1000sq ft, but no more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Mountaineer wood burner

,
February 24, 2008
By Griz911
from Grand Rapids Mi.
"The wood burner we purchased from you last fall has the following deficienies and or safety issues:
Has left soot,dust and ash all over everything.
Lets smoke out when you try to refuel it. We had to relocate our smoke detectors.
Allows hot ashes to drop from door ledge when refueling.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad decision on purchasing a wood stove

,
February 12, 2008
By Holcomb
from Muncy ,Pa
"This did not meet any of the specifications. I had to feed it every two hours and it could not heat a room 12x24. A very poor blower system. The fire box is to small to burn more than two hours"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

The Mountaineer has an unfortunate design flaw

,
February 5, 2008
By Kindler
from Hanover, NM
"In many ways this stove is everything you could want, with a beautiful ceramic glass door, fire brick lining, easy clean out ash tray and beautiful styling. All great features, But, it smokes. You can't open the door, even slowly and cautiously, without smoke pouring out. Close examination showed that mine has an almost closed baffle which is 8 1/2 inches horizontally by 5 1/2 vertically. The only way for smoke to get into the flue pipe is through the 1 inch openings at both ends of that baffle. Vogelzang's engineer says that is sufficient. He could be right. But, the baffle is almost an inch Lower than the door opening. Heat and smoke find the easiest way out and unfortunately, that's through the open door. I had to open doors and windows almost everytime I put in more wood. No fun. Sorry, this design just doesn't work. That baffle also prevents full loading of the stove because it takes up so much room at the back of the firebox as if the smoking wasn't enough!
My Mountaineer went back to Northern - One of the Best Companies in America."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Heat

,
February 2, 2008
By Kip0013
from Rockaway, NJ
"This stove was easy to put together and burns hot. The stove does go through wood quick. The stove has a large fire box and will take big logs that burn for a long time. Overall good product."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great stove for the money.

,
January 21, 2008
By Builder
from Southern Maryland
"I bought the Vogelzang-Mountaineer stove in Dec. 08. Delivery was in three business days, right to my door. This stove requires assembly of the pedestal, electric blower and rear shield. Be patient when you put this stove together. The instructions are less than adequate (-1 star). Other than that, the Mountaineer works great and is a very nice stove for the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wood stove

,
January 14, 2008
By jimmie
from Michigan
"This stove is hard to light,smokes alot, and does not heat well, what can i say,
tryed it it don't work well at all
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Vogelzang 'The Mountaineer' Wood Stove - 104,000 BTU, EPA-Exempt, Model# VG650ELG
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

,
January 7, 2008
By Knece2
from Laurelville, Ohio
"Very small stove. Can't put much wood in. I have a small house and it will not heat it on cold days. Save your money !!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.