Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"

"Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"

Item# 173635
"The Mr. Heater Big Buddy provides temporary heat for barns, sheds, cabins, campers, patios, garages, sporting events, hunting blinds and more. Dual heating system combines radiant heat comfort with convection heat air flow for maximum heating efficiency. 4000, 9000 and 18,000 BTU with the capacity to heat up to 400 square feet for up to 108 hours on 20-lb. propane tank. Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 3-12 hrs. on two 1-lb. tanks, 50-220 hrs. on two 20-lb. tanks, Blower Included Yes, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Thermostat Included No, BTU Output 18,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Category Type Forced air, Heat Settings 3, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 3/4 x 11 x 16 7/8, Igniter Matchless push-button starter, Needs Direct Venting No, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Remote Included No. Up to 108 hours of use CSA certified Uses one or two 1-lb. or one 20-lb. propane tank propane not included with optional hose connections Items 173645, 173646 Blower fan uses A/C adapter Item# 172641, sold separately or 4 D-cell batteries not included Minimum tank size 1 lb. Not for sale in MA"
Average Customer Rating:
4.723 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(604 Reviews) 604
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (604 reviews)
5 stars
490
4 stars
84
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
8
586 of 604(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 170 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Review 1 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I Needed

,
December 14, 2014
By Bubba61
from Saginaw Bay Area, MI
" I am an avid amateur woodcrafter / woodworker. I don't have enough space or access to the basement for most of my work. So I use my attached 2 car garage and it gets COLD in MI. My girlfriend gives me half the space as a workshop. The garage is 400 sq ft with a 12 ft uninsulated ceiling, one uninsulated exterior wall, and the garage door on the 4th wall. I tried radiant heaters, ceramic heaters, even old fashioned milkhouse heaters. None took the chill off without running for a few hours, and running up the electric bill.
Earlier research on propane heaters warned against using them in a garage. Then I found a review about Mr. Heater. It claimed to be safe for indoor use. Further research backed up that claim ( feel free to do you own research as well ). I invested in the BigBuddy MH 18B. I puts out 4K / 9K / or 18,000 BTU/hr. On HI with the fan it brings my workshop/garage from <40 deg to 60 and over in 45 min. The outdoor temp was high 20's to mid 30's. I am EXTREMELY SATISFIED with my BigBuddy. My only regret is that I didn't buy the filter and a longer hose. I am ordering them tonight.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Buddy

,
December 14, 2014
By 1cold1
from Louisiana
" I can see why they call it a Buddy! I duck hunt every weekend during season will not leave home with out it. I also have a daughter that plays high school softball and during the early months of the year my wife keeps in the truck for the ballpark. very easy to operate and not to heavy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Heater

,
December 13, 2014
By Gargabri
from Loganville, GA
" This heater heats my whole basement and is a joy to use.
The battery operated fan is a nice touch that help a lot.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

big buddy

,
December 10, 2014
By LG12
from oakland ca
" Received defective unit ( no spark ). Tried for over a week to get in touch with the company. Left e-mails, left phone messages and stayed on line 2 times for over a hour. No luck !
Contacted Northern Tool and Equipment and they sent a replacement. Very good company.
Would like to know easy way to install first row of batteries without a struggle.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Mr. Heater

,
December 8, 2014
By bmapops
from Clover, VA
" Awesome! Even heated a tent outside with only 3 sides and will be used for emergency heat this winter. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BIG BUDDY HEATER

,
December 5, 2014
By MART24
from Ely Mn.
" I purchased heater for a back up for our cabin,. we are heating approx. 750 sq ft of living area with a vaulted ceiling and with our small wood stove and the Big Buddy heater we were in the low single digits over night and mid 20's during the day and the cabin was a comfortable mid 70's. This Heater is a great product the fan has A bit of motor noise but moves the heat well. Its a great unit HIGHLY RECOMMEND !!! I would suggest getting 20LB regulator and hose to save changing 1pounders every 4 to 5 hrs and the electric plug for blower fan. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Unit

,
December 1, 2014
By UtilityWorker
from Brainerd, MN
" I bought several of these for outdoor work in a tent and they are safe and reliable. I purchased them with the upgrade hose kit and so far we have not had any issues. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A solid back up heat source

,
November 27, 2014
By abuckoh5
from Asheville, NC
" I purchased this heater to use as a back up heat source in my house. It runs on 2- 1 lb tanks or an adapter hose, sold separately, that lets you run it off of a 20 lb tank. I also purchased the adapter to let me refill the 1 lb tanks so this heater isn't that expensive to run. It is very easy to use and in all of my test runs it has successful raised the temperature of my living area to a comfortable level. When I added the D batteries to run the fan it became even more efficient. I don't know how it would work running it as a full time heat source, but for emergency heat it's simplicity and safety features make it a win for me. As an added bonus it is portable, so I can take it camping or to any event that puts me out in the cold. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item!

,
November 26, 2014
By Frecklesmist
from Roseburg, Or
" This heats our 28ft trailer perfectly while camping in the cold mountain range. I don't think the temperature got below 30's, however, I had to start peeling off layers of clothing in the middle of the night.
This is great for trailer camping! My husband loves the tip over safety feature. It does create a bit of condensation on the ground around where it was placed while in use for long periods. However, the amounts of wetness are small and not a problem when placed on linoleum.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mr heater,big buddy

,
November 26, 2014
By RGF77
from grand island,ny
" This heater is great. I've used it all deer season and have never been happier. I have a few medical issues and the heater helps me greatly. It works as it is supposed to and I'm loving the idea that I can now stay in my deer stand all day if I want. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

maint engineer.

,
November 10, 2014
By whiplash1
from Delaware
" The heater works great. The only problem is the 20 lb. tanks that I use don't last more than 20 hrs. I bought the a-c adpt. the 12 ft. hose. Tried running it half the way on and the best I could get was 38 hrs. So your claim to get 108,- 220 hrs. is not happening. When running it wide open with the fan blowing the best I could get was 20 hrs Other than that it works like you said it would.
. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Big Buddy Review

,
November 5, 2014
By Richard328
from Ojo Feliz, NM
" I bought this a few years back and use it every winter. I've had absolutely no problems with it. I did buy a hose for it, so I could use my bbq propane tank. Much better than using small propane bottles.
We use this heater to warm the bathroom until our showers are done. We also use it in our bedroom for very cold nights.
I highly recommend this heater. (you'll want to buy the hose to connect to a larger propane tank vs using small propane bottles).
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent heater

,
November 4, 2014
By Spudgary
from Orange CT
" Easy to start, throws a lot of heat, overall an excellent design and safe to use indoors. Plus, the two propane tanks can be stored in the unit even when not connected, which is a big convenience. This device seems to have been well thought out! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm

,
October 20, 2014
By Dispatch
from Batesville, Ms
" I finally use the heater this weekend at a race track we won't have made it without it I think I'll buy them for Christmas "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big buddy

,
October 16, 2014
By MIkki
from Terry, MS
" Have not used mine yet but I have a co-worker who have one. He talks highly about it. So I hope mine will do well "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Big Buddy

,
October 15, 2014
By btg324vh
from Va.
" Worked well for two weekends so far. I had one that lasted 3 years, one that died in less than a year. Non repairable according to the repair sop when they died.
They die with and without the filter, so I'll forgoe that expense from now on.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big buddy is excellent

,
October 13, 2014
By DrewA42
from South East
" Plane and simple the big buddy will keep you warm when it is cold. I bought the heater for emergency use and also for camping and outdoor rec use. Works great for a few hours on the small bottles but if extended run use a 20# propane cyl or larger. The heater is straight forward and simple to use if you are familiar with most propane heaters big buddy's operation will be a breeze. (Things like holding down the start button to heat the thermo coupler). Over all this is an excellent heater with low medium and high heat. The low setting is mostly what I use but if it is real cold the high setting is there if you need it. Highly recommended! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
October 3, 2014
By OlJames57
from BallPlay, Ala-BAMA
" I bought this for emergencies and supplemental heating. I received this just a couple of months ago. I couldn't pass on the deal!! I took it out side to burn off the new, MAN O Man this heater really puts out !! I am sure it will be very adequate for my needs, Thanks Northern Tool for the Deal. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Heater

,
October 1, 2014
By Timmo56
from Tonasket,WA
" No complaints. Works very well. And safe
would recommend to family or friend.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good heater

,
September 19, 2014
By DenisP
from Drummond NB
" This item is safe and easy to use works great, this product works well for ice shelter for fishing good for hunting in a descent size blind during hunting seasone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.