Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B

Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B

Item# 173635
The Mr. Heater Big Buddy provides temporary heat for barns, sheds, cabins, campers, patios, garages, sporting events, hunting blinds and more. Dual heating system combines radiant heat comfort with convection heat air flow for maximum heating efficiency. 4000, 9000 and 18,000 BTU with the capacity to heat up to 400 square feet for up to 108 hours on 20-lb. propane tank. Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 3-12 hrs. on two 1-lb. tanks, 50-220 hrs. on two 20-lb. tanks, Blower Included Yes, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Thermostat Included No, BTU Output 18,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Category Type Forced air, Heat Settings 3, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 3/4 x 11 x 16 7/8, Igniter Matchless push-button starter, Needs Direct Venting No, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Remote Included No. Up to 108 hours of use CSA certified Uses one or two 1-lb. or one 20-lb. propane tank propane not included with optional hose connections Items 173645, 173646 Blower fan uses A/C adapter Item# 172641, sold separately or 4 D-cell batteries not included Minimum tank size 1 lb. Not for sale in MA
Average Customer Rating:
4.721 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(591 Reviews) 591
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (591 reviews)
5 stars
479
4 stars
82
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
8
573 of 591(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 164 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm

,
October 20, 2014
By Dispatch
from Batesville, Ms
"I finally use the heater this weekend at a race track we won't have made it without it I think I'll buy them for Christmas"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big buddy

,
October 16, 2014
By MIkki
from Terry, MS
"Have not used mine yet but I have a co-worker who have one. He talks highly about it. So I hope mine will do well"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Big Buddy

,
October 15, 2014
By btg324vh
from Va.
"Worked well for two weekends so far. I had one that lasted 3 years, one that died in less than a year. Non repairable according to the repair sop when they died.
They die with and without the filter, so I'll forgoe that expense from now on.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big buddy is excellent

,
October 13, 2014
By DrewA42
from South East
"Plane and simple the big buddy will keep you warm when it is cold. I bought the heater for emergency use and also for camping and outdoor rec use. Works great for a few hours on the small bottles but if extended run use a 20# propane cyl or larger. The heater is straight forward and simple to use if you are familiar with most propane heaters big buddy's operation will be a breeze. (Things like holding down the start button to heat the thermo coupler). Over all this is an excellent heater with low medium and high heat. The low setting is mostly what I use but if it is real cold the high setting is there if you need it. Highly recommended!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
October 3, 2014
By OlJames57
from BallPlay, Ala-BAMA
"I bought this for emergencies and supplemental heating. I received this just a couple of months ago. I couldn't pass on the deal!! I took it out side to burn off the new, MAN O Man this heater really puts out !! I am sure it will be very adequate for my needs, Thanks Northern Tool for the Deal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Heater

,
October 1, 2014
By Timmo56
from Tonasket,WA
"No complaints. Works very well. And safe
would recommend to family or friend.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good heater

,
September 19, 2014
By DenisP
from Drummond NB
"This item is safe and easy to use works great, this product works well for ice shelter for fishing good for hunting in a descent size blind during hunting seasone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Buddy

,
September 17, 2014
By UPTOWNBROWN
from Huntingdon co, Pa
"Keeps you warm all day long, in the garage, in the tree stand or when the power goes out. Easy to store, easy to carry, instant warmth. My 2nd one, 1st still works great, 3 years old."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable

,
December 3, 2013
By TonyMarmot
from Texas
"I originally purchased the Buddy 4,000btu heater about six years ago. After being impressed with the Buddy heater I purchased a Big Buddy 18,000btu a year after. I have enjoyed the Big Buddy 18,000btu a little more than the Buddy 4,000btu because of its built in fan and heating capability. The Big Buddy 18,000btu is very versatile from low, medium, and high heat. I could not ask for a better product. All the Mr. Heater products I have purchased over the years have been reliable and easy to use. I like the fact that they have a built in safety for dangerous carbon monoxide levels. I have used propane appliances for over thirty years and highly recommend using fuel filters on all propane appliances. I have seen some owners neglect installing a propane filter and they eventually incur problems. I like the design of the Mr. Heater filters and have installed them on every propane appliance I own. Don't think fuel filters are a gimmick unless you plan on being cold on your next camping trip."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Heater Use a filter when using bulk tanks.

,
September 17, 2013
By Jeffm69
from Ham Lake, MN
"I have been using this heater on a regular basis for two years. I used it to heat my office at work a few winters ago. It works great! The one problem I had was when I used bulk propane. An oily substance would clog up the lines. The solution was to use the filter made for this heater, and replace once a year. I have had zero problems when doing this. Without the filter the oil clogs up the whole system and the flow of gas is reduced so much that the pilot light will not even stay lit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+47points
53out of 59found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver

,
January 10, 2013
By StanWA
from WA
"Bought this heater after reading reviews and went to my cabin last week to find 3ft of snow and 26 degree weather. Fired up the big buddy on Medium and was not only comfortable but TOASTY! Best buying decision in a long time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+30points
37out of 44found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mr. Heater Big Buddy

,
January 4, 2013
By Piscator
from Muskegon Michigan
"Warms a 16 ft by 12 ft shed in less than ten minutes on high, with the larger propane tank and AC adapter. Tip over stops works well. Runs very nicely on low with the blower. Michigan winters are cold, especially on the shores of Lake Michigan, and losing power is a real danger here. This unit gives me great peace of mind as an emergency back up. Currently it heats an Amish built shed, insulated, well enough to work in on snow blowers if needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

excellent product

,
December 12, 2012
By captmahi
from maine
"i found this heater to be excellent product, i live in maine and it can get quite cold. this heater will warm a good size room quicker than you'd think possible.it seems to run for a very long time when set on low. make sure to get the a/c adapter. all in all a efficient safe unit that saves me a fortune in home heating oil.to save more money and shop around for propane. i get mine from a large retail store where the price is roughly half what you pay at the local convenience store"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the one to buy

,
December 12, 2012
By Prestnb1
from San Antonio, TX
"Very handy heater. With the two cylinder attachments it will allow you to have both heat elements on and that will heat up a hunt cabin or man cave in no time. You will be able to turn it down to one element to maintain the heat. When it is really cold you can turn on the vent fan to circulate the heat better. Excellant buy. Works like a charm."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater!

,
November 26, 2012
By desertvs
from Palisade, CO
"I finally got the chance to use this while elk hunting this year. It has been way to warm here in CO.
@ 9,000ft.
I used it with a 20# tank, hose, and filter as recommended. It kept the back of the truck (camper shell) nice and toasty. The low oxygen sensor did turn off the heater once. I caught it as it was shutting down the second time and opened up the windows and the pilot light returned to normal. You MUST have adequate fresh air. It never shut off again. I only needed the lowest setting to keep the truck warm.
I was also worried about CO. I had a good alarm/monitor and it never showed dangerous levels. While testing things out the highest ever recorded was 11ppm with the heater on high and the windows closed..
This heater will be in the gear whenever cold weather is a possibility. Its great to have at home for emergencies to."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big Buddy Heater

,
November 26, 2012
By Anonymous
from connecticut
"I purchased this heater, and after using it a dozen or so times the pilot light would not stay lit,I did all the suggestions that the MFG. suggested but still had the lighting problem, called the mfg. about the problem and received a poor customer response, so I ordered a new thermocouple and replaced it and the heater worked again as it was supposed to, then after few more times the same problem with the pilot has happened again, the heater does appear to be built OK, but after these two issues on a product with very low hours of use, and no customer support I will not pursue fixing again. And would not buy another."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertOctober 29, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. Quality and Customer Service are extremely important to us. We would be happy to speak with you at our Tech Service Department again to help you with the MH18B. Please give us a call at 1-800-251-0001.Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Survival Preparedness Gear, too!

,
November 24, 2012
By Mooses
from MN
"If you live in the Northern Plains, winter survival is something you give some thought to. After watching Superstorm Sandy out east, and seeing people going for a long time with no power and heat, a person needs to think about what would happen here? Of course we don't expect a storm like Sandy, but then the East Coast didn't, either. "DIsaster" kind of implies that you don't know what's coming or what to expect.
Besides the many obvious everyday uses for this heater, well covered in other reviews, this also can provide a very good source of emergency heat in a disaster. It clearly won't heat a house. It will keep an area warm enough to survive and be moderately comfortable.
Keep in mind, this heater without propane is kind of like a gun without bullets. Pretty to look at, but not worth much. You need to plan to have enough propane to make this useful. A 1# bottle of propane contains 22,000BTU. If you are using 18,000 BTU per hour on high, you can see that a single cylinder will last just over an hour. You would need a lot of these expensive cylinders in order to last a sort of minimum duration of 14 days. Better to use 20# bottles. The advantage of these is they also work on your barbecue grill, so you have emergency cooking.
A standard 20# nominal fill tank then contains about 440,000BTU. (It is not clear that all modern OPD equipped tanks actually will hold 20 pounds. It may be as low as 16#. The person filling your tank can tell you exactly how much is in it.)
440,000 BTU will give you 24 hours running at max output. Dropping back to the medium setting, 9000 BTU, will double that time. You need to think carefully about how much propane you need to keep for emergency stock. If you figure you can get 2 days from a tank using it it sparingly, you can do a pretty fast calculation of how much to have on hand. Also remember, propane cylinders should not be stored inside.
SUMMARY
This is a very nice heater. It provides very clean, efficient heat. The ability to use 1# cylinders or larger tanks adds great versatility. Besides recreational and utility use, this heater can provide an important part of disaster preparedness.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
November 21, 2012
By GMer
from El Cajon, CA
"Searched for a great unit with lots of BTUs to keep us warm on the bleachers while watching our kids play soccer. This is the one! Simple to use, great heat, light weight and Northern Tool shipped it on-time and a great value."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice while it worked

,
November 10, 2012
By Socratease
from SF bay, CA
"I bought one of these less than a year ago and now the regulator will not flow LP. Heater works OK with a 1lb internal tank, but two different external tanks cannot deliver gas to the heater through this hose anymore. The construction looks good and the quick-release connection was handy, but I'm going back to the high-pressure hose and filter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertOctober 29, 2013
We apologize for the issues you have had with our MH18B Big Buddy Heater. There is a possibility that the security feature on the propane hose may have been activated and is preventing the propane from getting to the heater. If you would like to speak with us, please call the Technical Service Department at 1-800-251-0001 and we will get it taken care of.Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big Buddy Heater

,
November 6, 2012
By CaptRick
from Southeastern PA
"We use the Big Buddy on our 57' sailboat in the winter. It does a great job keeping us warm at dock & at calm anchorages. We run it from a 20 lb. cylinder on deck through the 12' hose. It's also equipped with the 110v fan. I also clip a larger 120v fan to the handle to push the heat throughout the entire boat. My only complaint is as others have pointed out, the difficulty in lighting the pilot. I've also found that annual cleanings with a shop vac and compressed air to keep the orifices clear really helps. Be careful not to damage the "ruby" sensor built into the pilot starter. Follow the procedure in the owner's manual for the cleaning. We'll be buying another one for backup/supplimental heat at home ... it would have really helped during hurricane Sandy this past week!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.