Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B

Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B

Item# 173635
The Mr. Heater Big Buddy provides temporary heat for barns, sheds, cabins, campers, patios, garages, sporting events, hunting blinds and more. Dual heating system combines radiant heat comfort with convection heat air flow for maximum heating efficiency. 4000, 9000 and 18,000 BTU with the capacity to heat up to 400 square feet for up to 108 hours on 20-lb. propane tank. Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 3-12 hrs. on two 1-lb. tanks, 50-220 hrs. on two 20-lb. tanks, Blower Included Yes, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Thermostat Included No, BTU Output 18,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Category Type Forced air, Heat Settings 3, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 3/4 x 11 x 16 7/8, Igniter Matchless push-button starter, Needs Direct Venting No, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Remote Included No. Up to 108 hours of use CSA certified Uses one or two 1-lb. or one 20-lb. propane tank propane not included with optional hose connections Items 173645, 173646 Blower fan uses A/C adapter Item# 172641, sold separately or 4 D-cell batteries not included Minimum tank size 1 lb. Not for sale in MA
Average Customer Rating:
4.721 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(591 Reviews) 591
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (591 reviews)
5 stars
479
4 stars
82
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
8
573 of 591(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 164 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Review 21 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product-Helpful tips included

,
November 4, 2012
By Jimmy16
from Northern VA
"The Big Buddy heater does a great job at warming my two garage or my 40 ft enclosed racecar trailer on cold days. It easily warms my uninsulated garage from 50 to 60 F in about an hour on a 35 degree day.
I used it for several seasons with the small 1-lb propane bottles but you burn through them too quickly when the heater is on high. I bought the 12 ft hose and filter/adapter as recommended to connect a 20 lb propane tank.
Like others, I had a tough time getting the pilot to light from the 20-lb tank. Don't know why, it's just stubborn.
This is the procedure that worked for me:
Connect the hose and adapter to the propane tank using teflon tape to seal the threads. Yes, I keep the tank outside. Then connect the adapter to the heater fitting. A nice feature allows you to route the hose under the door and close it fully. Open the tank valve only a half turn. I also connected a 1-lb bottle to light the pilot. I could not get the pilot to light without the 1 lb bottle. Turn the knob to light the pilot. It usually takes several "clicks". You have to hold the button down for 10 seconds once you light the pilot so it stays lit. Then turn the heater up to medium and let it run for a minute to get it warm. Then I turned the button back to pilot. Unscrew and remove the 1 lb bottle. The pilot should stay lit at this point as you're using fuel from the large tank. Slowly turn the tank valve all the way open. Now turn the heater up to low, med, or high as needed. Turn on the fan switch and enjoy many hours of heat.
I use the power adapter all the time as the fan moves the heat around much quicker.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Accessorized essentials

,
October 31, 2012
By Maxwellian
from Kansas City
"The heater appears to work properly, although the proximity of so much plastic to combustion is troubling. My real complaint is that the manufacturer has made so many essentials into accessories, the initial price seems like a downpayment. To make it truly useful you need the carry bag, a hose, a fuel filter, a regulator, a hose adapter and a 120 volt power source for the fan, each at their own mark-up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertOctober 29, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding our MH18B and the accessories for it. It is difficult to design our products for the needs of all the consumers. We offer different accessories for customers that prefer different features. The MH18B itself only needs 1 lb tanks to run. The carry bag, hose, fuel filter and 120 volt adapter are additional items that you can use if you would like those added features. We apologize that you are not satisfied. You can call our Technical Service Department at 1-800-251-0001 to speak with a representative if you have any questions or concerns.Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 16, 2012
By 1stStreet
from Cumming, GA
"I've had this Big Buddy for 4 plus years now and it has worked every time. I have a small 2 car garge (420sq.ft.) that has no insulation in the walls or ceiling. It worked great in keeping it warm one winter all through the night while I worked on my Jeep. I had it connected to a 20Lb LP tank. I highly recommend if you have a large area and need it to run for a good period of time. It worked so well that it was actually warmer in the garage then the house. I wished the lighting was easier. You just have to be patience if you don't have a lighter handy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

big buddy heater

,
October 15, 2012
By captcrunch13
from Nobleboro,Maine
"This is an excellent heater. It's very well made and reliable. it's also quite safe. It saves me a fortune in oil every year. Set on low and with the a/c fan adapter on, it will warm a large room faster then you'd think. it's very inexpensive to use as well if you get your propane cheaply. all in all, great product, i have three. one i use all winter and two for emergencies.
get the fan adaptor. Don't bother with the 1lb cans. Get the correct hose for a 20lb tank. you''ll love this heater.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big Buddy Heater

,
October 15, 2012
By TCAdam
from Traverse City, MI
"What a great heater! I would recommend buying the AC power adaptor when you purchase this unit. What really makes this heater great is the ability for it to work as a forced air heater, this way the air is warmed too. I went ahead and purchased the adaptor hose for this heater as well to connect it to a 20lb propane tank, much more cost effective than the 1lb cylinders if you plan on using this a lot to heat a garage, like I plan on doing. I am looking forward to putting this heater through its paces this winter!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
October 10, 2012
By TEXASTOYZ
from FORT WORTH, TX
"I have purchased many electric heaters in the past, and they just dont seem to produce the heat I needed while camping. This little heater packs the punch! Went camping and slept in a tent where the temperatures were in the low 40's. This heater kept us warm all the night long, but I would definitely recommend getting the connection to hook up to a 20 pound tank or larger, if you plan to camp more than 1 night. I used the 1# cans because I didnt have much room in the pickup and had a little kitchen stove that used the same size cans. The heater lasted through the night on medium.( on high it only lasts about 3-4 hours). With the 2 -1# cans it will last at least 7 hours on medium. I will never buy another electric heater to go camping again. After reading some of the other reviews regarding th pilot light I was worried and bought a grill lighter just in case, but never needed it. Getting the pilot to light is not rocket science, but takes a couple of tries to learn. As far as it going out if it gets bumped or its windy, yes that is true, but it made me feel safer using it in the tent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

small heater makes good, clean heat

,
August 21, 2012
By underp2
from MA
"small heater makes good, clean heat. Definitely worthwhile to plug in to get the fan going."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BIG BUDDY

,
August 21, 2012
By aps1
from WATERBURY CT
"BOUGHT TWO TO USE TO TAKE THE CHILL OUT OF FALL MORNING AT MY LAKE COTTAGE AND THEY WORK BEAUTIFULLY."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little heater

,
August 20, 2012
By jim53144
from new mexico
"purchased this heater for the times that we lose power, works great , we use it for master bed room that is 22' X 28' 20 degrees outside and keeps bed room in the 70's"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What an awesome little heater

,
August 20, 2012
By klei26hauer
from Carol Stream, IL
"This heater has become my best friend in the winter, It cranks out some serious heat and warms up the garage(4 car) in under 15 miuntes on High heat.
Awesome features such as the ability to hook it up to the propane tank from the grill. Also vent free so the doors can be closed and i dont have to worry about CO poisoning or having to open the garage door a crack like most other heaters.
Also a great heater for the shop in winter time due to the built in fan to blow hot air instead of just radiate it. All in all, what a great investment, paid for itself within a week due to portability and ending the trips inside to warm up! Couldnt be happier"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater For Power Outages

,
August 13, 2012
By cwreich
from Prestonsburg, KY
"This is a great heater for when the power goes off. It can be used with 2 small tanks or you can get the optional lines to connect to 20 pound tanks. This way the heaters run for days. I recommend this heater highly. One of my son's power was off for days. He had a generator for lights & the refrigerator, but he used 2 Big Buddy Heaters to keep his home and family warm. I have bought 8 of these heaters for me and my sons. One son also uses his when camping in cold weather or when in a hunting cabin. Northern Tool has good prices, all the optional hoses and fast shipping."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Big Buddy outdoor heater

,
August 13, 2012
By twalkman23
from OH
"This product is used on a glassed in porch, and on the patio in Spring/Fall. It heats up a 13X15 room in minutes, then I turn it down. Although it is rated as an indoor heater, because of use of propane, I crack a window just a little. The fan really moves the air around as well. The cord on the plug could be a few feet longer, as the outlet outside is raised. Great product"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good heat, easy to use

,
June 9, 2012
By flydiiverdon
from Antioch, IL
"So far I have only used it with the small propane cans. It worked great in our screen room."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Heater

,
May 14, 2012
By acoyle78
from Plano, TX
"This thing works great! We have several propane heaters and this one is by far the best one. The design keeps the heater from falling over. It produces enough heat to easily keep an entire garage warm. The portability makes it great for camping also."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome heater

,
May 14, 2012
By mtwilson
from hampton, AR
"I got this heater because I freeze on the deer stand . I have a really big deer stand and this heater keeps me toasty warm."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater, Big Buddy

,
May 9, 2012
By Teddy1963
from Corbin City, NJ
"I confess, I can't drive a nail in wood but I could hook up the Big Buddy heater and have it running in less than five minutes. It's safe and has an automatic shut off if it gets tipped over - but the greatest thing is that it generates heat enough to keep my 800 sq. ft. cabin nice and toasty. I purchased a 40 pound propane tank and with the setting on "low" it will run for about five days and nights. It's perfect for cabins or emergencies and it's very economical to own and use."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Big Buddy

,
May 8, 2012
By cbass
from richmond va
"i got this to heat my paint room and it did great the fan works great to it got the temp up so the paint could dry on the body parts. the price was great to and the 15 ft hose help with the 5 lb tank so i could set it out side."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
May 7, 2012
By DitchDoc
from Mpls / St Paul , MN
"I bought this heater for use in my portable fish house. It works great, and usually only have to run on medium to keep it plenty warm. You do need ongoing ventalation to keep oxygen to it, as in my house when sealed tight it will shut itself off after about 1hr as a safety feature becouse of the o2 sensor, no biggie though, as this thing realy puts out the heat. The added blower is very nice to have to circulate the warm air as well. A nice add on it to buy the soft case for travel. The two 1lb bottle freature is also very nice as you always have plenty of fuel to keep you up and running. Great buy, and would recomend to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

portable heat

,
May 7, 2012
By Grnhornet
from NC
"Bought heater this past winter for temporary portable heat where needed. Outperformed my expectations immediately. Easy to light, seems to be very fuel efficient using hose and 20 lb bottle, and gives plenty of heat. A real deal for a quality product that I would highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

strong heater

,
May 7, 2012
By murphyg
from Nevada
"I bought this heater to use in my camper shell but after the first couple uses, I feel like I could use it to heat my entire garage (one car). For my camper shell, I never turn the heat dial past medium and I wake up in the middle of the night having to unzip my sleeping bag. Super easy to use, just allow for plenty of ventilation. Even with my camper windows open six inches, the BIg Buddy pumps plenty of heat. I am a fan for sure."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.