Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"

"Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"

Item# 173635
"The Mr. Heater Big Buddy provides temporary heat for barns, sheds, cabins, campers, patios, garages, sporting events, hunting blinds and more. Dual heating system combines radiant heat comfort with convection heat air flow for maximum heating efficiency. 4000, 9000 and 18,000 BTU with the capacity to heat up to 400 square feet for up to 108 hours on 20-lb. propane tank. Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 3-12 hrs. on two 1-lb. tanks, 50-220 hrs. on two 20-lb. tanks, Blower Included Yes, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Thermostat Included No, BTU Output 18,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Category Type Forced air, Heat Settings 3, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 3/4 x 11 x 16 7/8, Igniter Matchless push-button starter, Needs Direct Venting No, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Remote Included No. Up to 108 hours of use CSA certified Uses one or two 1-lb. or one 20-lb. propane tank propane not included with optional hose connections Items 173645, 173646 Blower fan uses A/C adapter Item# 172641, sold separately or 4 D-cell batteries not included Minimum tank size 1 lb. Not for sale in MA"
Average Customer Rating:
4.726 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(616 Reviews) 616
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (616 reviews)
5 stars
500
4 stars
86
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
8
598 of 616(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 173 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Review 21 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item!

,
November 26, 2014
By Frecklesmist
from Roseburg, Or
" This heats our 28ft trailer perfectly while camping in the cold mountain range. I don't think the temperature got below 30's, however, I had to start peeling off layers of clothing in the middle of the night.
This is great for trailer camping! My husband loves the tip over safety feature. It does create a bit of condensation on the ground around where it was placed while in use for long periods. However, the amounts of wetness are small and not a problem when placed on linoleum.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mr heater,big buddy

,
November 26, 2014
By RGF77
from grand island,ny
" This heater is great. I've used it all deer season and have never been happier. I have a few medical issues and the heater helps me greatly. It works as it is supposed to and I'm loving the idea that I can now stay in my deer stand all day if I want. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

maint engineer.

,
November 10, 2014
By whiplash1
from Delaware
" The heater works great. The only problem is the 20 lb. tanks that I use don't last more than 20 hrs. I bought the a-c adpt. the 12 ft. hose. Tried running it half the way on and the best I could get was 38 hrs. So your claim to get 108,- 220 hrs. is not happening. When running it wide open with the fan blowing the best I could get was 20 hrs Other than that it works like you said it would.
. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Big Buddy Review

,
November 5, 2014
By Richard328
from Ojo Feliz, NM
" I bought this a few years back and use it every winter. I've had absolutely no problems with it. I did buy a hose for it, so I could use my bbq propane tank. Much better than using small propane bottles.
We use this heater to warm the bathroom until our showers are done. We also use it in our bedroom for very cold nights.
I highly recommend this heater. (you'll want to buy the hose to connect to a larger propane tank vs using small propane bottles).
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent heater

,
November 4, 2014
By Spudgary
from Orange CT
" Easy to start, throws a lot of heat, overall an excellent design and safe to use indoors. Plus, the two propane tanks can be stored in the unit even when not connected, which is a big convenience. This device seems to have been well thought out! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm

,
October 20, 2014
By Dispatch
from Batesville, Ms
" I finally use the heater this weekend at a race track we won't have made it without it I think I'll buy them for Christmas "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big buddy

,
October 16, 2014
By MIkki
from Terry, MS
" Have not used mine yet but I have a co-worker who have one. He talks highly about it. So I hope mine will do well "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Big Buddy

,
October 15, 2014
By btg324vh
from Va.
" Worked well for two weekends so far. I had one that lasted 3 years, one that died in less than a year. Non repairable according to the repair sop when they died.
They die with and without the filter, so I'll forgoe that expense from now on.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big buddy is excellent

,
October 13, 2014
By DrewA42
from South East
" Plane and simple the big buddy will keep you warm when it is cold. I bought the heater for emergency use and also for camping and outdoor rec use. Works great for a few hours on the small bottles but if extended run use a 20# propane cyl or larger. The heater is straight forward and simple to use if you are familiar with most propane heaters big buddy's operation will be a breeze. (Things like holding down the start button to heat the thermo coupler). Over all this is an excellent heater with low medium and high heat. The low setting is mostly what I use but if it is real cold the high setting is there if you need it. Highly recommended! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
October 3, 2014
By OlJames57
from BallPlay, Ala-BAMA
" I bought this for emergencies and supplemental heating. I received this just a couple of months ago. I couldn't pass on the deal!! I took it out side to burn off the new, MAN O Man this heater really puts out !! I am sure it will be very adequate for my needs, Thanks Northern Tool for the Deal. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Heater

,
October 1, 2014
By Timmo56
from Tonasket,WA
" No complaints. Works very well. And safe
would recommend to family or friend.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good heater

,
September 19, 2014
By DenisP
from Drummond NB
" This item is safe and easy to use works great, this product works well for ice shelter for fishing good for hunting in a descent size blind during hunting seasone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Buddy

,
September 17, 2014
By UPTOWNBROWN
from Huntingdon co, Pa
" Keeps you warm all day long, in the garage, in the tree stand or when the power goes out. Easy to store, easy to carry, instant warmth. My 2nd one, 1st still works great, 3 years old. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable

,
December 3, 2013
By TonyMarmot
from Texas
" I originally purchased the Buddy 4,000btu heater about six years ago. After being impressed with the Buddy heater I purchased a Big Buddy 18,000btu a year after. I have enjoyed the Big Buddy 18,000btu a little more than the Buddy 4,000btu because of its built in fan and heating capability. The Big Buddy 18,000btu is very versatile from low, medium, and high heat. I could not ask for a better product. All the Mr. Heater products I have purchased over the years have been reliable and easy to use. I like the fact that they have a built in safety for dangerous carbon monoxide levels. I have used propane appliances for over thirty years and highly recommend using fuel filters on all propane appliances. I have seen some owners neglect installing a propane filter and they eventually incur problems. I like the design of the Mr. Heater filters and have installed them on every propane appliance I own. Don't think fuel filters are a gimmick unless you plan on being cold on your next camping trip. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Heater Use a filter when using bulk tanks.

,
September 17, 2013
By Jeffm69
from Ham Lake, MN
" I have been using this heater on a regular basis for two years. I used it to heat my office at work a few winters ago. It works great! The one problem I had was when I used bulk propane. An oily substance would clog up the lines. The solution was to use the filter made for this heater, and replace once a year. I have had zero problems when doing this. Without the filter the oil clogs up the whole system and the flow of gas is reduced so much that the pilot light will not even stay lit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+50points
56out of 62found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver

,
January 10, 2013
By StanWA
from WA
" Bought this heater after reading reviews and went to my cabin last week to find 3ft of snow and 26 degree weather. Fired up the big buddy on Medium and was not only comfortable but TOASTY! Best buying decision in a long time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+30points
37out of 44found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mr. Heater Big Buddy

,
January 4, 2013
By Piscator
from Muskegon Michigan
" Warms a 16 ft by 12 ft shed in less than ten minutes on high, with the larger propane tank and AC adapter. Tip over stops works well. Runs very nicely on low with the blower. Michigan winters are cold, especially on the shores of Lake Michigan, and losing power is a real danger here. This unit gives me great peace of mind as an emergency back up. Currently it heats an Amish built shed, insulated, well enough to work in on snow blowers if needed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

excellent product

,
December 12, 2012
By captmahi
from maine
" i found this heater to be excellent product, i live in maine and it can get quite cold. this heater will warm a good size room quicker than you'd think possible.it seems to run for a very long time when set on low. make sure to get the a/c adapter. all in all a efficient safe unit that saves me a fortune in home heating oil.to save more money and shop around for propane. i get mine from a large retail store where the price is roughly half what you pay at the local convenience store "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the one to buy

,
December 12, 2012
By Prestnb1
from San Antonio, TX
" Very handy heater. With the two cylinder attachments it will allow you to have both heat elements on and that will heat up a hunt cabin or man cave in no time. You will be able to turn it down to one element to maintain the heat. When it is really cold you can turn on the vent fan to circulate the heat better. Excellant buy. Works like a charm. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater!

,
November 26, 2012
By desertvs
from Palisade, CO
" I finally got the chance to use this while elk hunting this year. It has been way to warm here in CO.
@ 9,000ft.
I used it with a 20# tank, hose, and filter as recommended. It kept the back of the truck (camper shell) nice and toasty. The low oxygen sensor did turn off the heater once. I caught it as it was shutting down the second time and opened up the windows and the pilot light returned to normal. You MUST have adequate fresh air. It never shut off again. I only needed the lowest setting to keep the truck warm.
I was also worried about CO. I had a good alarm/monitor and it never showed dangerous levels. While testing things out the highest ever recorded was 11ppm with the heater on high and the windows closed..
This heater will be in the gear whenever cold weather is a possibility. Its great to have at home for emergencies to. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.