Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B

Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B

Item# 173635
The Mr. Heater Big Buddy provides temporary heat for barns, sheds, cabins, campers, patios, garages, sporting events, hunting blinds and more. Dual heating system combines radiant heat comfort with convection heat air flow for maximum heating efficiency. 4000, 9000 and 18,000 BTU with the capacity to heat up to 400 square feet for up to 108 hours on 20-lb. propane tank. Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 3-12 hrs. on two 1-lb. tanks, 50-220 hrs. on two 20-lb. tanks, Blower Included Yes, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Thermostat Included No, BTU Output 18,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Category Type Forced air, Heat Settings 3, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 3/4 x 11 x 16 7/8, Igniter Matchless push-button starter, Needs Direct Venting No, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Remote Included No. Up to 108 hours of use CSA certified Uses one or two 1-lb. or one 20-lb. propane tank propane not included with optional hose connections Items 173645, 173646 Blower fan uses A/C adapter Item# 172641, sold separately or 4 D-cell batteries not included Minimum tank size 1 lb. Not for sale in MA
Average Customer Rating:
4.723 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(585 Reviews) 585
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (585 reviews)
5 stars
475
4 stars
81
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
8
567 of 585(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 161 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Review 21 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

small heater makes good, clean heat

,
August 21, 2012
By underp2
from MA
"small heater makes good, clean heat. Definitely worthwhile to plug in to get the fan going."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BIG BUDDY

,
August 21, 2012
By aps1
from WATERBURY CT
"BOUGHT TWO TO USE TO TAKE THE CHILL OUT OF FALL MORNING AT MY LAKE COTTAGE AND THEY WORK BEAUTIFULLY."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little heater

,
August 20, 2012
By jim53144
from new mexico
"purchased this heater for the times that we lose power, works great , we use it for master bed room that is 22' X 28' 20 degrees outside and keeps bed room in the 70's"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What an awesome little heater

,
August 20, 2012
By klei26hauer
from Carol Stream, IL
"This heater has become my best friend in the winter, It cranks out some serious heat and warms up the garage(4 car) in under 15 miuntes on High heat.
Awesome features such as the ability to hook it up to the propane tank from the grill. Also vent free so the doors can be closed and i dont have to worry about CO poisoning or having to open the garage door a crack like most other heaters.
Also a great heater for the shop in winter time due to the built in fan to blow hot air instead of just radiate it. All in all, what a great investment, paid for itself within a week due to portability and ending the trips inside to warm up! Couldnt be happier"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater For Power Outages

,
August 13, 2012
By cwreich
from Prestonsburg, KY
"This is a great heater for when the power goes off. It can be used with 2 small tanks or you can get the optional lines to connect to 20 pound tanks. This way the heaters run for days. I recommend this heater highly. One of my son's power was off for days. He had a generator for lights & the refrigerator, but he used 2 Big Buddy Heaters to keep his home and family warm. I have bought 8 of these heaters for me and my sons. One son also uses his when camping in cold weather or when in a hunting cabin. Northern Tool has good prices, all the optional hoses and fast shipping."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Big Buddy outdoor heater

,
August 13, 2012
By twalkman23
from OH
"This product is used on a glassed in porch, and on the patio in Spring/Fall. It heats up a 13X15 room in minutes, then I turn it down. Although it is rated as an indoor heater, because of use of propane, I crack a window just a little. The fan really moves the air around as well. The cord on the plug could be a few feet longer, as the outlet outside is raised. Great product"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good heat, easy to use

,
June 9, 2012
By flydiiverdon
from Antioch, IL
"So far I have only used it with the small propane cans. It worked great in our screen room."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Heater

,
May 14, 2012
By acoyle78
from Plano, TX
"This thing works great! We have several propane heaters and this one is by far the best one. The design keeps the heater from falling over. It produces enough heat to easily keep an entire garage warm. The portability makes it great for camping also."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome heater

,
May 14, 2012
By mtwilson
from hampton, AR
"I got this heater because I freeze on the deer stand . I have a really big deer stand and this heater keeps me toasty warm."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater, Big Buddy

,
May 9, 2012
By Teddy1963
from Corbin City, NJ
"I confess, I can't drive a nail in wood but I could hook up the Big Buddy heater and have it running in less than five minutes. It's safe and has an automatic shut off if it gets tipped over - but the greatest thing is that it generates heat enough to keep my 800 sq. ft. cabin nice and toasty. I purchased a 40 pound propane tank and with the setting on "low" it will run for about five days and nights. It's perfect for cabins or emergencies and it's very economical to own and use."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Big Buddy

,
May 8, 2012
By cbass
from richmond va
"i got this to heat my paint room and it did great the fan works great to it got the temp up so the paint could dry on the body parts. the price was great to and the 15 ft hose help with the 5 lb tank so i could set it out side."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
May 7, 2012
By DitchDoc
from Mpls / St Paul , MN
"I bought this heater for use in my portable fish house. It works great, and usually only have to run on medium to keep it plenty warm. You do need ongoing ventalation to keep oxygen to it, as in my house when sealed tight it will shut itself off after about 1hr as a safety feature becouse of the o2 sensor, no biggie though, as this thing realy puts out the heat. The added blower is very nice to have to circulate the warm air as well. A nice add on it to buy the soft case for travel. The two 1lb bottle freature is also very nice as you always have plenty of fuel to keep you up and running. Great buy, and would recomend to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

portable heat

,
May 7, 2012
By Grnhornet
from NC
"Bought heater this past winter for temporary portable heat where needed. Outperformed my expectations immediately. Easy to light, seems to be very fuel efficient using hose and 20 lb bottle, and gives plenty of heat. A real deal for a quality product that I would highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

strong heater

,
May 7, 2012
By murphyg
from Nevada
"I bought this heater to use in my camper shell but after the first couple uses, I feel like I could use it to heat my entire garage (one car). For my camper shell, I never turn the heat dial past medium and I wake up in the middle of the night having to unzip my sleeping bag. Super easy to use, just allow for plenty of ventilation. Even with my camper windows open six inches, the BIg Buddy pumps plenty of heat. I am a fan for sure."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heater

,
May 7, 2012
By fastjuggle
from Salem VA.
"great for primary or back up, no electricity needed"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
May 7, 2012
By Dennis51
from Mc Calla, AL
"Works great and heats very well. We have used it in a house we are working on thats has no heat yet last winter and it did a great job keeping it warm in there I just love it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps 28' toyhauler warm in winter

,
April 20, 2012
By Mofo1111
from Oxnard CA
"I bought this for our 28' toyhauler. The built in heater of trailer is highly inefficient due to design and wastes ALOT of propane. I was refilling trailer propane tanks rather quickly. The trailer would also stay colder toward the rear of trailer. The Mr. Heater Big Buddy states 8 hours of use on low setting w/2 1lb propane bottles. We go camping in the high desert in winter(sometimes snows). I set trailer thermostat to 65 degrees. I set heater on top of the stove(it could make the floor rather warm). I start Big Buddy Heater and leave on low setting before bed. Sometimes I turn it to high to pre-heat the trailer for a couple of minutes then turn to low setting. I wake up and shortly after it runs out of propane. The trailer heater turns on MUCH less and sometimes not at all(saving me ALOT of propane). I was nervous about using inside, but it states indoor/outdoor use. I leave a window slightly cracked for air(oxygen). My trailer has built-in LPG detector, carbon monoxide detector and smoke detector. Mr. Heater has tip over turn off sensor and low oxygen sensor w/turn-off. With all those safety mechanisms, I felt relatively safe. I woke up with no headaches or carbon monoxide related illness. PLEASE USE AT YOUR OWN RISK INDOORS!
I have also used it for outside sporting events such as my son's night football games.
I DO have a TRUE STORY to tell! Me and my family were camping. It was my wife's dad'd birthday, so there was drinking involved that night(weird, huh?). I was tired and went to bed. I set Big Buddy heater up for the night on low as usual. When I woke up in the morning about 5AM to use bathroom, I checked on heater because it felt colder in the trailer. The heater was missing. My wife's dad had rented a very small trailer for him and his wife to camp in. It was small, tight, and had no heater. When I was asleep, my wife took the heater over to his trailer so her parents wouldn't be cold that night. I told her that she better go over there and check on them and make sure that they weren't dead, because the trailer they were in was small and built tight with only one window. Well, they were ALIVE. They were a little cold. The heater's low oxygen shut-off sensor activated. Her dad said it ran out of propane early in the night. When I checked the propane bottles to refill, they were still FULL. Now you know the safety features work well.
I would highly recommend this product! It is efficient, keeps a rather large trailer from getting too cold in winter, and has excellent safety features."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

machine

,
February 13, 2012
By Machine1
from Appleton, WI
"Product worked as it should. Lighted fine, heated up my ice shanty as expected. I would buy another one if this one ever quits."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Costs twice as much to actually setup

,
January 24, 2012
By AquaB
from Long Island NY
"I ordered this heater. I read the questions and realized that to use it with a regular 20 ib cylinder I would need a hose assembly.
I followed the instructions and ordered the F273072 hose assembly. According to the instructions you can use the "F273702 OR F272702
HOSE ASSEMBLIES WITH FUEL FILTERS (F273699)" No. That isn't true. You MUST use the assembly with a fuel filter. It doesn't hook up without it according to the distributor.
If I hadn't thrown out the receipt I would have returned this item. So after buying the item, I had to buy the hose assembly and now I have to order the filter. They don't tell you that in the description page.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
January 21, 2012
By Tractor50
from South Dakota
"There is nothing negative about this product. We lost power and had to use it to stay warm for a week."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.