Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"

"Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"

Item# 173635
"The Mr. Heater Big Buddy provides temporary heat for barns, sheds, cabins, campers, patios, garages, sporting events, hunting blinds and more. Dual heating system combines radiant heat comfort with convection heat air flow for maximum heating efficiency. 4000, 9000 and 18,000 BTU with the capacity to heat up to 400 square feet for up to 108 hours on 20-lb. propane tank. Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 3-12 hrs. on two 1-lb. tanks, 50-220 hrs. on two 20-lb. tanks, Blower Included Yes, Needs Direct Venting No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 3/4 x 11 x 16 7/8, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Remote Included No, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Thermostat Included No, Category Type Forced air, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Igniter Matchless push-button starter, Heat Settings 3, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, BTU Output 18,000. Up to 108 hours of use CSA certified Uses one or two 1-lb. or one 20-lb. propane tank propane not included with optional hose connections Items 173645, 173646 Blower fan uses A/C adapter Item# 172641, sold separately or 4 D-cell batteries not included Minimum tank size 1 lb. Not for sale in MA"
Average Customer Rating:
4.735 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(667 Reviews) 667
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (667 reviews)
5 stars
543
4 stars
94
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
8
649 of 667(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 173 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Review 21 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mr heater big buddy heater

,
December 5, 2015
By
from blaine, minnesota
bought this for my portable fish house. so far it works great. stays warm inside and the fan moves the heat good enough to keep it somewhat even. it would have been nice if they had a thermostat installed so i don`t have to keep starting it when it cools down. otherwise nice and portable unit.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Buddy

,
December 4, 2015
By
from Tx
Works great... I am getting about 6 hrs of burn time on the "low" setting with two refilled tanks, not complaining, I get allot of burn time for the amount of fuel that is in those tanks after refilling. Wife loves it, she carries it around with her. Loud clanking noise on igniter during startup will get a deer's attention when used in a hunting blind.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Usage

,
December 4, 2015
By
from Holbrook, NY
For use in my farm garage. Found the unit to be great. Would like to purchase the 6 volt plug in elec. supply. Did not like the warning about the mismatch of size D batteries.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater

,
December 4, 2015
By
from TN
It is a great unit. Use it in the shop most of the time which is not insulated. Keeps the chill out. Does a good job for where I use it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Buddy

,
December 4, 2015
By
from kingsport,tn
I bought this because of power outages in the winter. I have not used it yet but the directions seem easy to follow. I talked to a friend of mine. He has used this heater in the warhouse and it keeps it comfortable. I thought if It worked there it would work in my house.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater

,
December 3, 2015
By
from Minneapolis MN
Multiple uses. Great for extra heating in cabin or fishing. Can use small propane tanks or hook up to larger one. Would I recommend this to a friend and family? You bet!
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
December 3, 2015
By
from Birmingham, AL
My Buddy Heater kept me and my son toasty warm in our deer blind this year. Love the fan option on the heater! I would recommend this to anyone that hunts or to use in their shop!
Stan
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater and super price

,
December 3, 2015
By
from Memphis
Bought heater to use in house if we loose electricity. Also will use when camping. Decided on the Big buddy with the two burners. You need to buy filter to keep from repairs. I will use 20 lb. propane tank and my existing propane hose It worked perfectly,(hooking on to the filter.) The filter hooks directly to heater.
Cranked it up last weekend and puts out a fair amount of heat without using blower . Easy to set up and use. Use of this heater just depends on application and area to be heated.
Ordered this online and picked up at local store.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
December 3, 2015
By
from Dallas, TX
Great product. Puts out a lot of heat. Safe for indoors. Took me a while to realize I had to hold down the pilot lite to light it due to the pilot light gas shut off value. Probably said this in the instructions but real men don't read instructions. Nice safety features also. tip over shut off, low oxygen shut off, etc. All in all a great buy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

heater is great

,
December 3, 2015
By
from usa
mr heater big buddy works great . wish it came with adapter to plug blower into wall outlet
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
December 3, 2015
By
from Virginia
Worked great right out of the box, just attach the butane tanks and off you go, literally, extremely light and portable. Haven't used the fan option yet (haven't purchased the optional AC adaptor) but suspect that it shouldn't be needed in most of my applications. I've been waiting years for a nice compact powerful heater that can be taken anywhere outdoors. Here it is. Used only twice for a couple hours each so can't comment on longevity.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BIG BUDDY

,
December 3, 2015
By
from Watseka IL
This product was everything it claimed it to be, very easy to use and works perfect for little areas
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product !!

,
December 3, 2015
By
from TN
Very easy to use and serves the purpose well. Works great in the home or shop.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fair backup heat when the power goes out

,
December 2, 2015
By
from mooresville, nc
The 18,000 BTU heater was purchased to provide greatroom heat in the event of a power outage. The unit uses 2 "personal size" propane bottles. One side (one bottle is for Low and Medium heat settings and the other side (using the other bottle) ignites for "High", meaning both bottles are then in use. The literature indicates for outside use a 20lb tank can be connected, however it would only support the low and medium heat settings. I feel this is not the best design as it does not allow "high" heat setting usage except when both a 20lb tank and a "gas containing personal bottle" are attached.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater and Value

,
December 2, 2015
By
from Louisiana
We've used this in our camper that has two bedrooms and two bathrooms and had to turn it off in the middle of the night b/c it made the entire camper warm enough. It works great and doesn't burn fuel fast. Highly recommended. Grabbed this one on sale for a really great price. Very glad I did!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best

,
November 30, 2015
By
from Joshua, Texas
This is my second one of this brand I have bought (my son took the first one). This is great for the deer blind or the work shop especially since you use either the small bottles or with the quick disconnect hose you can use larger bottles. That flexibility makes this unit a very great heater for the size.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home Garage Mechanic

,
November 29, 2015
By
from Wichita, Ks
I bought this with the thought of heating my garage to work on my cars in the winter months. We had Ice Storms this Thanksgiving weekend and we were without power for 12 hours. I wasn't ready to drag out the generator and use it so I thought I'd try this newly purchased Mr. Heater. It worked great keeping the main part of the house warm while we waited for the power to be restored. Really happy with this purchase.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Buddy Heater

,
November 28, 2015
By
from East Tennessee
A good quality propane heater. I recommend going directly to a 20 lb. propane tank on less you only want a few hours of heat from the 1 lb. tanks, which would be great for duckblinds.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
November 12, 2015
By
from Minnesota
This heater was bought to be used in a portable fish house and testing it out, it should do the trick. I have a 20 lb tank, a T to connect to, and a 12 foot hose. Should work great in the fish house!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tuff portable heater

,
November 3, 2015
By
from Winston Salem NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I bought all the accessories like case, a/c adapter. Using the hose with regulator and a 20# tank I tested all fittings along connections and internally and there were no leaks.
The instructions clearly tell you how to start and stop it. Make an exception and read them.
Heater fired right up, blower was strong. I finally have something to weather a bad storm with.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.