Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B

Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B

Item# 173635
The Mr. Heater Big Buddy provides temporary heat for barns, sheds, cabins, campers, patios, garages, sporting events, hunting blinds and more. Dual heating system combines radiant heat comfort with convection heat air flow for maximum heating efficiency. 4000, 9000 and 18,000 BTU with the capacity to heat up to 400 square feet for up to 108 hours on 20-lb. propane tank. Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 3-12 hrs. on two 1-lb. tanks, 50-220 hrs. on two 20-lb. tanks, Blower Included Yes, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Thermostat Included No, BTU Output 18,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Category Type Forced air, Heat Settings 3, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 3/4 x 11 x 16 7/8, Igniter Matchless push-button starter, Needs Direct Venting No, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Remote Included No. Up to 108 hours of use CSA certified Uses one or two 1-lb. or one 20-lb. propane tank propane not included with optional hose connections Items 173645, 173646 Blower fan uses A/C adapter Item# 172641, sold separately or 4 D-cell batteries not included Minimum tank size 1 lb. Not for sale in MA
Average Customer Rating:
4.723 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(585 Reviews) 585
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (585 reviews)
5 stars
475
4 stars
81
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
8
567 of 585(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 162 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Big Buddy

,
November 28, 2006
By DavidH
from St. Paul, MN
"I purchased the Big Buddy to provide extra heat in my four season porch. I've tried various electric space heaters, but none provided the heat I was hoping for. The Big Buddy has done an excellent job! The room has never been so warm during winter. For the first time, my family enjoys the four season porch the entire year. The cost to operate the unit is very cheap when one uses an external 20 pound tank. I would not recommend using the 1 pound tanks. They are convenient, but don't last long at the high or medium settings. The unit is very easy and safe to use. All my children use the unit for occasional extra heat, and there has never been a problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable

,
December 3, 2013
By TonyMarmot
from Texas
"I originally purchased the Buddy 4,000btu heater about six years ago. After being impressed with the Buddy heater I purchased a Big Buddy 18,000btu a year after. I have enjoyed the Big Buddy 18,000btu a little more than the Buddy 4,000btu because of its built in fan and heating capability. The Big Buddy 18,000btu is very versatile from low, medium, and high heat. I could not ask for a better product. All the Mr. Heater products I have purchased over the years have been reliable and easy to use. I like the fact that they have a built in safety for dangerous carbon monoxide levels. I have used propane appliances for over thirty years and highly recommend using fuel filters on all propane appliances. I have seen some owners neglect installing a propane filter and they eventually incur problems. I like the design of the Mr. Heater filters and have installed them on every propane appliance I own. Don't think fuel filters are a gimmick unless you plan on being cold on your next camping trip."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mr. Heater Big Buddy

,
January 4, 2013
By Piscator
from Muskegon Michigan
"Warms a 16 ft by 12 ft shed in less than ten minutes on high, with the larger propane tank and AC adapter. Tip over stops works well. Runs very nicely on low with the blower. Michigan winters are cold, especially on the shores of Lake Michigan, and losing power is a real danger here. This unit gives me great peace of mind as an emergency back up. Currently it heats an Amish built shed, insulated, well enough to work in on snow blowers if needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Survival Preparedness Gear, too!

,
November 24, 2012
By Mooses
from MN
"If you live in the Northern Plains, winter survival is something you give some thought to. After watching Superstorm Sandy out east, and seeing people going for a long time with no power and heat, a person needs to think about what would happen here? Of course we don't expect a storm like Sandy, but then the East Coast didn't, either. "DIsaster" kind of implies that you don't know what's coming or what to expect.
Besides the many obvious everyday uses for this heater, well covered in other reviews, this also can provide a very good source of emergency heat in a disaster. It clearly won't heat a house. It will keep an area warm enough to survive and be moderately comfortable.
Keep in mind, this heater without propane is kind of like a gun without bullets. Pretty to look at, but not worth much. You need to plan to have enough propane to make this useful. A 1# bottle of propane contains 22,000BTU. If you are using 18,000 BTU per hour on high, you can see that a single cylinder will last just over an hour. You would need a lot of these expensive cylinders in order to last a sort of minimum duration of 14 days. Better to use 20# bottles. The advantage of these is they also work on your barbecue grill, so you have emergency cooking.
A standard 20# nominal fill tank then contains about 440,000BTU. (It is not clear that all modern OPD equipped tanks actually will hold 20 pounds. It may be as low as 16#. The person filling your tank can tell you exactly how much is in it.)
440,000 BTU will give you 24 hours running at max output. Dropping back to the medium setting, 9000 BTU, will double that time. You need to think carefully about how much propane you need to keep for emergency stock. If you figure you can get 2 days from a tank using it it sparingly, you can do a pretty fast calculation of how much to have on hand. Also remember, propane cylinders should not be stored inside.
SUMMARY
This is a very nice heater. It provides very clean, efficient heat. The ability to use 1# cylinders or larger tanks adds great versatility. Besides recreational and utility use, this heater can provide an important part of disaster preparedness.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

clean heat

,
March 21, 2011
By buckmaster50
from dallas, tx.
"this heater is more than i expected. heats 750 sq. foot room in freezing temps. a must for indoor propane heating. *use the filter recommended when using a 20 lb. tank!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the one to buy

,
December 12, 2012
By Prestnb1
from San Antonio, TX
"Very handy heater. With the two cylinder attachments it will allow you to have both heat elements on and that will heat up a hunt cabin or man cave in no time. You will be able to turn it down to one element to maintain the heat. When it is really cold you can turn on the vent fan to circulate the heat better. Excellant buy. Works like a charm."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life saving product!

,
December 7, 2010
By Hardwaternut
from Waterford, New York
"I am a tournament ice fisherman. Sometimes I spend as much as 4 or 5 nights out on the ice in all types of weather. Rain, heavy snow falls, sub zero temperatures, all in a portable cloth tent like shanty. My buddies nicknames for me include "Hard Core" and "CRAZY!" I love it! I live all year for my sport. Can't wait each year for the ice to form.
I have tried other heaters and have been left disappointed and even once had some serious problems due to the cold weather when my heater quit.
Then I found Mr. Heater Big Buddy! I can't say enough good things about it. One night the temp. with the wind chill fell to -35. I didn't find out until the next day when someone told me about it. I was plenty warm with my heater and it wasn't even set on the "high" setting.
On one trip, a storm came up as I was setting up camp. Before I could get Mr. Heater into the shanty, it had become packed with snow and iced over. I dug the snow and ice out of the pilot light and she fired right up. Amazing piece of equipment!
The only problem I ever had with her was one cold night she kept shutting off on me. I pulled out the manual and realized I had not changed the fuel filter in over a year. I removed the filter. She fired right up and ran great the rest of the night, to save my life in -10 degree weather. As soon as I got home, I got another filter, as you shouldn't run her without one. And running her without one in that emergency didn't harm her. She still runs great. I now carry an extra filter. So, the only problem I have ever had with her was my own dang fault!
I just remembered... a couple of years ago, we had a power failure that lasted three nights. My small generator would only run the fridge and the sump pump. So, I dug out Mr. Heater. and bought several 20 lb. tanks of propane. I already had the optional hose for the larger tanks from my fishing trips. I hooked her up and she heated the family room, a 15 by 20 foot room, with NO problem. We camped out in the family room, cooking on my camp stove. We were comfortable, all seven of us, in our own home, when everyone else was having to go to shelters. And, it was warm enough that our pipes didn't freeze,while our neighbors pipes did.
GO BUY A MR. HEATER BIG BUDDY TODAY!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Litttle BIG Heater Ever.

,
March 14, 2011
By JoeWorker
from Osage Beach, MO
"I bought this to heat an 8'x15' enclosed porch and it has worked Great.
I installed a Co2 detector just to be safe and it has never tripped, even after 10 hours of use. No fumes No fuss.
I opperate it off 1) 20lb bottle with the optional hose.
I purshased 2 hoses thinking you needed both of them to opperate from an external source but you don't.
You can hook up 2) 20lb bottles at once but when they run out you don't have a spare.
So I use one at a time and just switch them when empty.
One 20lb bottle will last about 5 days using it around 8-10 hours per day.
Don't forget to purchse the A/C adaptor to opperate the Fan.
Its' cheeper than batteries.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Saved a life

,
January 9, 2012
By wgtlft
from New Hampshire
"With all the electricity out for about a week due to a ice storm there was no heat for anyone. My mother who is in her eighties was without heat and freezing to death. Luckily my neighbor had a Mr Heater (Big Buddy) that he allowed me to use and I was able to set it up so my mother had heat. After the crises was over I bought one so I would always have a way to keep warm when no heat was available. If you buy one get the accessories needed to attach a big LP tank to it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Heater on the Planet for Indoor Use!

,
December 4, 2010
By iseeamoose
from Shaver Lake, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We have a small cabin in the forest with no electricity and when it gets cold (15 to 23 degrees at night) this heater solves all our problems. It uses propane but is vent free so we are okay using it inside our well sealed cabin. We even bought a carbon monoxide detector to make sure we are okay and it there are no leaks. If heats our cabin like a champ. The heat element is great but the fan is what makes it work especially well. We would not consider buying any other heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Solution!

,
January 9, 2012
By CanadianTrucker
from Renfrew, Ontario, Canada
"We have recently built a cabin and then a bunkie up on a hill overlooking a beautiful valley. We were considering all kinds of heating options for our little bunkie (12' x 12'). Some of the options were at a cost of over $1000. When we saw this heater we decided at this cost we could try it. We are so happy with the Big Buddy from Mr Heater that we have never considered anything else. It heats our little bunkie quickly even in -21 C temps! I had to open the window as it got too warm! Also it does not give off any fumes. I have respiratory problems but I have no trouble with this product! The low oxygen alarm, and tip off saftey features are great! We have connected it to a 20 lb propane tank so we dont have to use the little camper style bottles. I love the versitality of this unit! Dont hesitate! This isa great product! I am a truck driver and have nothing to do with the company. I am just enthusiastic about this product!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mr heater big buddy 18000 btu heater mh 18b

,
October 11, 2011
By oleboy1
from vermont
"this propane heater seems to be a fine product. I tried it last night in my grand kids treehouse. It kept it nice and cozy .It is easy to operate once you get the hang of it.I also purchased the 12 ft. hose with regulator . It was easy to hook up and the length is good. The heater is not noisy .I also bought the 110/6volt for the fan that also works on batteries. It worked well but a thermostat to shut down the fan would have made it even better.I definately would reccomend this unit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Big Buddy

,
March 17, 2011
By LuvOutdoors
from Dallas - Fort Worth, TX
"This is a great product. I used it outdoors and indoors when we had that really cold spell. Indoors it was great with no smell at all and it really heated up the sunroom (mostly glass) in a hurry, much faster than the electric heater we usually use. I took it outside so I could enjoy a cigar and this kept me toasty warm even when the temperature was in the high teens. The fan on the heater is a real plus. For the price you cannot beat it. I used this heater with the small camping bottles that fit on the side and I also used it with the large grill size gas cylinders and the optional hose. It worked great with both."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product-Helpful tips included

,
November 4, 2012
By Jimmy16
from Northern VA
"The Big Buddy heater does a great job at warming my two garage or my 40 ft enclosed racecar trailer on cold days. It easily warms my uninsulated garage from 50 to 60 F in about an hour on a 35 degree day.
I used it for several seasons with the small 1-lb propane bottles but you burn through them too quickly when the heater is on high. I bought the 12 ft hose and filter/adapter as recommended to connect a 20 lb propane tank.
Like others, I had a tough time getting the pilot to light from the 20-lb tank. Don't know why, it's just stubborn.
This is the procedure that worked for me:
Connect the hose and adapter to the propane tank using teflon tape to seal the threads. Yes, I keep the tank outside. Then connect the adapter to the heater fitting. A nice feature allows you to route the hose under the door and close it fully. Open the tank valve only a half turn. I also connected a 1-lb bottle to light the pilot. I could not get the pilot to light without the 1 lb bottle. Turn the knob to light the pilot. It usually takes several "clicks". You have to hold the button down for 10 seconds once you light the pilot so it stays lit. Then turn the heater up to medium and let it run for a minute to get it warm. Then I turned the button back to pilot. Unscrew and remove the 1 lb bottle. The pilot should stay lit at this point as you're using fuel from the large tank. Slowly turn the tank valve all the way open. Now turn the heater up to low, med, or high as needed. Turn on the fan switch and enjoy many hours of heat.
I use the power adapter all the time as the fan moves the heat around much quicker.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Big Buddy

,
January 9, 2012
By 3855
from Fallon, NV
"Outstanding product, heats my 2-car garage in about forty minutes and remains comfortable allowing hours of cold free work environment. Definitely worth every penny. Easy to operate, and doesn't take up alot of space."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Terfst
Colorado 
 
Please wait while more information about Terfst is loaded.
Additional information about Terfst could not be loaded.
Mr. Heater
January 17, 2012
"I checked all the reviews before buying this product. It performs exactly as stated and is nice for using inside enclosed areas, such as a trailer. When the wind is blowing hard outside and you are cold inside, this is my choice. Safety shutoff is a nice feature to have just in case."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
BruceHill
Northwestern New Jersey 
 
Please wait while more information about BruceHill is loaded.
Additional information about BruceHill could not be loaded.
Nice Area Heater
January 16, 2012
"I have a steel building sectioned off for use as a work shop and I use this heater by my work bench. Now, when a winter project comes up, I crank up my Big Buddy, the shop area warms up nicely and our nasty cold damp NJ winters are a little more tolerable. The small bottles are handy for an emergency, sick goat etc,but the hose adapter for the large propane tank is the way to go if portability is not required."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hunting Camp Heater

,
October 10, 2011
By digimanmike
from Charlotte, NC
"At our hunt club we have many small camping trailers. Every trailer has a Big Buddy heater because there is no equal. We buy old camping trailers, tear out the existing heaters even if they work and put in a Big Buddy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this little heater!

,
November 27, 2010
By soapman
"After several years of heating my garage work shop with a 22000 btu kerosene heater, I decided to try a propane space heater. This heater is a big improvement over the kerosene heater it replaced. The garage is just as warm without the need for messy kero refueling or the fumes. I purchased the optional hose adapter to operate from a 20# tank, so tank changes are fewer then with the 1# cylinders. I also suggest buying the AC adapter rather than deal with batteries unless you are in a remote location with no power."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

small heater makes good, clean heat

,
August 21, 2012
By underp2
from MA
"small heater makes good, clean heat. Definitely worthwhile to plug in to get the fan going."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

strong heater

,
May 7, 2012
By murphyg
from Nevada
"I bought this heater to use in my camper shell but after the first couple uses, I feel like I could use it to heat my entire garage (one car). For my camper shell, I never turn the heat dial past medium and I wake up in the middle of the night having to unzip my sleeping bag. Super easy to use, just allow for plenty of ventilation. Even with my camper windows open six inches, the BIg Buddy pumps plenty of heat. I am a fan for sure."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Sniper44
from Artesia, New Mexico
"I used this heater in a 17 foot 1966 Shasta, while Elk hunting in December in the high mountains of New Mexico. Temps at night were in the low teens. I thought that I would have to run the Big Buddy on high to supplement my built in camper heater. Boy, was I wrong. While using the Big Buddy heater, the camper heater, hardly ever came on. Had the camper heater set at 65 degrees. It was hard to believe how effective the Big Buddy was. I loaded ithe Big Buddy up with two 16 oz. bottles and ran it on low for 6 days, about 6 hours per day and the bottles still had some propane in them.
When we returned home, I used the heater in my shop to go ahead and empty the bottles. It still ran another 6 hours on the medium setting.
I have since bought another. Next month, I will buy one more to keep in the shop hooked up to a 100# tank outside. When it gets cold, I will maybe,use two in the shop. My shop is 14x20and not insulated.
In ending, all I can say, is that these heaters are the best types that I have ever owned!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.