Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"

"Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"

Item# 173635
"The Mr. Heater Big Buddy provides temporary heat for barns, sheds, cabins, campers, patios, garages, sporting events, hunting blinds and more. Dual heating system combines radiant heat comfort with convection heat air flow for maximum heating efficiency. 4000, 9000 and 18,000 BTU with the capacity to heat up to 400 square feet for up to 108 hours on 20-lb. propane tank. Clearance from Corner in. 6, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 3-12 hrs. on two 1-lb. tanks, 50-220 hrs. on two 20-lb. tanks, Thermostat Included No, Blower Included Yes, Needs Direct Venting No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 3/4 x 11 x 16 7/8, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Remote Included No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Igniter Matchless push-button starter, Category Type Forced air, Heat Settings 3, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, BTU Output 18,000. Up to 108 hours of use CSA certified Uses one or two 1-lb. or one 20-lb. propane tank propane not included with optional hose connections Items 173645, 173646 Blower fan uses A/C adapter Item# 172641, sold separately or 4 D-cell batteries not included Minimum tank size 1 lb. Not for sale in MA"
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(623 Reviews) 623
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (623 reviews)
5 stars
506
4 stars
87
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
8
605 of 623(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 173 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Review 1 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Buddy Heater

,
March 23, 2015
By Camper2015
from Richmond, Va
" I used the heater for the first time this year in a 6 man tent. The temprature was 2 degrees an I stayed warm all night. The other guys I was with all slept in their trucks with heat on all night. The heater is well worth the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
March 6, 2015
By JRock1
from Minneapolis, MN
" I bought this heater to heat my portable fish house. Now I only need one heater, the big buddy, to do the job that took two smaller heaters before. I use the heater on low or medium during the day and turn it up to high when the temperature dropped at night. It kept us plenty warm. I hooked the big buddy up to a bulk tank for more convenience. Great heater, I would recommend this heater to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As Advertised

,
February 25, 2015
By rnm2
from TX
" Very good source of heat speacially when used with internal fan. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heater

,
February 21, 2015
By Sidearm
from Ladysmith Va.
" Well made and efficient, purchased for my wife to use on front porch on cold days and nights. would recommend this product to anyone, Thanks to Northern Tool for a pleasant purchasing experience. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delivers as promised

,
February 10, 2015
By JohnG2005
from Fort Worth
" This heater is great for indoor use. No heat proof surface required and clearance to combustible materials is minimal and only in front. Easy to light and delivers warmth quickly to a large room or outside while using bbq or entertaining. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heate

,
February 3, 2015
By Dobransky
from New York
" Best buy ever. Everybody should have it. Perfect heather for everything. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It puts out heat.

,
February 2, 2015
By Jerm1
from North Dakota
" It does put out heat. I'm disappointed with the blower fan. Does not move very much air. Only used it in garage so far. More of a convection heat then forced air. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater

,
January 20, 2015
By Gdawg54
from Pa
" Use this in my Game-room works perfect keeps the temp right around 70 prior to use low 60's Great product ! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comes in handy!

,
January 10, 2015
By NCRidgerunner
from NC Mountains
" Purchased for workshop and hunting. Came in handy during power outage at cabin last week. Picked up the 20# propane tank adapter and definitely recommend! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little heater

,
January 8, 2015
By ATMJET
from Fairfield, CT
" Product is easy to handle, set-up and use. Puts out a nice amount of heat for the size. Needs the fan though. I am going to connect it to a 20lb tank. Right now just using 2, 1lb tanks, which are easy to connect also. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awsome

,
January 8, 2015
By larrcom10
from charlotte nc
" amazing .....Here is my review. I live in Charlotte NC we have a mild climate and I have a 1.5 car garage with a little back room as well so about a 16' x 25' area and I have had a forced propane heater that heats in 5 minutes but is smelly and loud. this unit heats up to a reasonable temp in about 15 minutes and will continue to heat to a more than comfortable temp in about 30 minutes. It is very quiet and no smell. We recently have had temps dipping to the 12 degree mark and it still works fine. Everyone should own one as back up and as far as problems with others follow directions and u will b fine. I have the ac power cord and fuel filter have not used D batteries or little propane tanks but ac adapter and 20 lbs tank work great and I do have the little tanks ready for camping. You cant go wrong get it "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater

,
January 2, 2015
By Jack233
from Anderson,South Coarolina
" I bought this heater to use in my Gazebo and it heats very well, small that it doesn't take up a lot of space works better than a large tall heater that I have been using "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

big buddy heater

,
January 1, 2015
By RhUT
from Ut
" I love the heater. I have two smaller ones but the big buddy heats my small workshop great. Im sure it will work good for an emergency heater as well. it will run with 1 or 2 1# bottles or a 20-40# tank with adapter. A filter is recommended with the larger bottles. Its size is a bit overkill for my Ice fishing tent but that's what I have the smaller one for. However it has the lower settings and would work there too. It also has a quick connector for a second method of attaching to a larger tank but it requires a regulator and a filter is not available with that setup. I prefer the adapter that attaches to the same connector as the 1# bottles (with a filter) large refillable tanks can have contaminants and could plug the orifice so the recommended filter. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winter workshop is open

,
January 1, 2015
By cba940
from Glenwood Springs, CO
" This is just what I've been looking for to heat up my garage in the winter. As a precaution I put a carbon monoxide detector in there as well and I was surprised that it didn't register anything after two hours of running. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BIG BUDS

,
December 28, 2014
By DESIGNERS
from RICHMOND, MN
" THIS BUD HEAT CAN BE USE IN YOUR GARAGE TO HEAT WHEN YOU WORK ON ANY PROJECTS, TAKE IT ALONG FISHING ENJOY INSTANT WARM HEAT. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater/Big Buddy

,
December 27, 2014
By Sidelines
from Greensboro, NC
" This is a great product that warms garages and soccer sidelines. It is lightweight so it is easy to move around. The blower is a nice feature. The smaller units would work fine, I wanted the ability to heat a larger space if needed, having the three settings allows a nice range . "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very easy to use

,
December 26, 2014
By r59ick
from USA
" not real fuel efficient but is easy to use and works flawlessly "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heat

,
December 24, 2014
By baltimoron
from maryland
" works very good especially in medium to small rooms "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Well

,
December 19, 2014
By jay8288
from Fresno, Ca.
" Received the item in good shape. No dings or missing parts. So far with 2 cans the propane it works very well. Better than 2 radiant dish heaters. Fan is noisy but it works. Will be adding a 6v power supply soon. Room is 20x27x8 and for California winters it keeps the room comfortable. Can't ask for anything more. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I Needed

,
December 14, 2014
By Bubba61
from Saginaw Bay Area, MI
" I am an avid amateur woodcrafter / woodworker. I don't have enough space or access to the basement for most of my work. So I use my attached 2 car garage and it gets COLD in MI. My girlfriend gives me half the space as a workshop. The garage is 400 sq ft with a 12 ft uninsulated ceiling, one uninsulated exterior wall, and the garage door on the 4th wall. I tried radiant heaters, ceramic heaters, even old fashioned milkhouse heaters. None took the chill off without running for a few hours, and running up the electric bill.
Earlier research on propane heaters warned against using them in a garage. Then I found a review about Mr. Heater. It claimed to be safe for indoor use. Further research backed up that claim ( feel free to do you own research as well ). I invested in the BigBuddy MH 18B. I puts out 4K / 9K / or 18,000 BTU/hr. On HI with the fan it brings my workshop/garage from <40 deg to 60 and over in 45 min. The outdoor temp was high 20's to mid 30's. I am EXTREMELY SATISFIED with my BigBuddy. My only regret is that I didn't buy the filter and a longer hose. I am ordering them tonight.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.