Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"

"Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"

Item# 173635
"The Mr. Heater Big Buddy provides temporary heat for barns, sheds, cabins, campers, patios, garages, sporting events, hunting blinds and more. Dual heating system combines radiant heat comfort with convection heat air flow for maximum heating efficiency. 4000, 9000 and 18,000 BTU with the capacity to heat up to 400 square feet for up to 108 hours on 20-lb. propane tank. Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 3-12 hrs. on two 1-lb. tanks, 50-220 hrs. on two 20-lb. tanks, Blower Included Yes, Needs Direct Venting No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 3/4 x 11 x 16 7/8, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Remote Included No, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Thermostat Included No, Category Type Forced air, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Igniter Matchless push-button starter, Heat Settings 3, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, BTU Output 18,000. Up to 108 hours of use CSA certified Uses one or two 1-lb. or one 20-lb. propane tank propane not included with optional hose connections Items 173645, 173646 Blower fan uses A/C adapter Item# 172641, sold separately or 4 D-cell batteries not included Minimum tank size 1 lb. Not for sale in MA"
Average Customer Rating:
4.735 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(667 Reviews) 667
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (667 reviews)
5 stars
543
4 stars
94
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
8
649 of 667(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 173 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Review 1 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
January 11, 2016
By
from Tyler, TX
Very light and easy to work and generates a good amount of heat.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

buddy heater

,
January 10, 2016
By
from Appleton,WI
Heater works great. I use a 20lb tank and my 2 car garage stays plenty warm. Its been almost 2 weeks and I still am on the first tank,
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best little heater

,
January 8, 2016
By
from nevada
Mr. heater big buddy is one off the best propane portable heater I have used, with it's fan that can run on batteries and or electricity, is a very handy option. each one poune tank on low last about 5 hr. With 2 tanks on low gives you 10 hours of use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Buddy Heater

,
January 8, 2016
By
from Choctaw, OK
I have several of the big buddy models. The three levels of heat and the battery/AC blower makes this heater a must for all, but very small enclosures. I have had excellent performance from all.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater and fairly efficient

,
January 8, 2016
By
from Texas
I have an older Mr. Heater Portable Heater and for some reason, this new heater does not produce the same odor when operating. Not unpleasant, but you are aware that propane is burning.
With two 1# cylinders, I get 10 hours of heat on low. Since I only run it higher to warm things up faster, I haven't documented the times for each level, but you could do the math.
I have obtained refillable cylinders and do my own refills which keeps me from needing a 20lb tank connected or paying the huge price of 1lb cylinders at a store. Based on my current propane costs, this heater costs me 12 cents per hour to run on low and that is fine with me.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

,
January 7, 2016
By
from Northern CA
Got it for my motorhome and I love it. Easy, safe, and warm :)
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent heater, super portable.

,
January 7, 2016
By
from Raleigh, NC
This heater is easy to use, light to carry, safe for indoors, and puts out a great deal of heat. I use mine to heat my garage, and as a backup plan for my home. I have not yet purchased the hose for use with a regular 20 lb tank, but plan to do so soon.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Big buddy kicks out heat!

,
January 7, 2016
By
from Stillwater, MN
Good product, price and service from Northerntool.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buddy Heater

,
January 6, 2016
By
from Pelham, AL
Wonderful product does a great job. Use it for hunting and outdoor activities. Also use it on construction projects.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Heater

,
January 6, 2016
By
from Appleton Wis
Nice heater for the price - Great for the purpose of heat in the ice shack and larger hunting blinds
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Thought Out

,
January 5, 2016
By
from NH Woods
Very nice little heater. Very simple to use, well made, and really cranks out the heat. My main purpose was for emergency heat with hose/regulator and two 20 lb tanks, but will use with one pounders for many other uses as well.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I expected

,
January 4, 2016
By
from League City, Texas
Easy to operate and works great. Had not trouble operating. Out of the box and it is ready to go. I use the 1lb propane tanks so the unit is very portable. I also learned how to refill the 1lb tanks on line. WhooHooo! Cooking with gas (as they say over the pond)
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep Warm

,
December 31, 2015
By
from TX
This product will keep you warm in your shop, deer stand or on the patio. Consider the addition of a hose and tank kit as well as the AC power supply.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Buddy Heater Dual Pane

,
December 28, 2015
By
from northwest AZ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Look folks I have had my original one 10 years and it is still going strong- I use every winter couple of times a year to heat my 5th wheel. I have also used in a 10 in 10 degrees and kept warm. I has become an old friend. I recently bought another for a second trailer and for working outside. I have also bought the portable one too for hunting blind.
In todays society of disposable this is one enduring company. I will say that on 1 pound tanks it does not last long on duel pane so use a 20 gal tank. You will get 2 full nights on full on a 20 gal on full in about 10-20 degrees indoors. This will work indoors without ventilation in an RV. Be careful in tent will melt tent if touches. You Cannot go wrong with this ! worth every penny! And I do not work for the company writing this !
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heat Big Buddy

,
December 25, 2015
By
from Castro Valley, California
Easy to use and produce plenty of heat. Works great following the instructions to ignite the pilot by pressing down and holding it for one or two seconds and then ignite the pilot. Hold the control knob for a few seconds then fully release the knob. Then press down the knob just enough to move the knob to the lowest setting to start the burner. Heats up a room of 300 sq ft quickly when both burners are on producing 18K BTU/h of heat.
Cleaning burning with good safety measures.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Big Buddy

,
December 24, 2015
By
from Devine TX
Works great. Heats 400 sq ft fast. Thinking I will buy another for the shop. I got it at a good price. If you buy this heater you won't regret it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Heater

,
December 18, 2015
By
from Las Animas, CO
We love our Big Buddy heater, it is an emergency heater when our power goes out. I also use it out in my shop.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Effictive

,
December 12, 2015
By
from Chicagoland
Well made heater, performs excellent. Fan works well to circulate heat. Appreciate the safety features.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big buddy

,
December 6, 2015
By
from Colorado
I use this heater for ice fishing and all hunting and camping activities as well works excellent and is safe for the indoor use, I defiantly recommend this heater
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Mr. Heater Big Buddy Indoor/Outdoor Propane Heater - 18,000 BTU, Model# MH18B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost perfect

,
December 5, 2015
By
from Newport Beach, CA
It is a great little heater. Almost too good. It puts out so much heat even on the low setting that I wish it had some kind of thermostat.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.