Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG

Item# 173636
This Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater is a quiet, vented heater for residential and commercial use that easily heats a 1.5- to 2-car garage. Requires only 1in. clearance from ceiling with 2 included angle brackets which means heater is up and out of the way. Power exhaust allows for vertical or horizontal venting. Customers are responsible for checking their local codes and Ordinances for approved installation and usage. Venting kit required sold separately, Item#s 28794 or 29794. Optional thermostat also available sold separately, Item# 173641. Igniter Spark, Fuel Type Natural gas, BTU Output 45,000, Dimensions L x W x H in. 25 1/2 x 19 x 12, Vent-Free No, Product Type Forced air, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 120, Blower Included Yes, Oxygen Depletion Sensor No, Remote Included No, Thermostat Included No. Heats 1.5- to 2-car garage Requires only 1in. clearance from ceiling Power exhaust allows for horizontal or vertical venting Designed for right or left side piping, electrical and flue connections by simply rotating 180 Tubular heat exchanger Note Due to BTU loss through exhaust gases, heater runs at approx. 81 operating efficiency Venting kit required sold separately, Item#s 28794 or 29794 Optional thermostat also available sold separately, Item# 173641
Average Customer Rating:
4.606 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (109 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
106 of 109(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easiest Install-Best Price-Most Heat

,
February 19, 2008
By projectman50
from Chaska, MN
"I purchased Mr. Heater model MHU45NG 45,000 BTU unit for my 26x28 2-car garage with 10 ft. ceilings. This heater is awesome, the blower distributes a mega heat source. I am able to heat my garage on sub-zero days from 20F inside to 68F within 20 minutes. I wired in a Honeywell digital thermostat and control the garage temperature to 40F all winter. It has been a very cold winter here in Minnesota this year, and my Mr. Heater allows me to do many winter projects, I would otherwise have to wait till Spring to do in my garage.
I would recommend Mr Heater to any homeowner that loves a warm garage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater Garage Heater

,
November 16, 2006
By nuthinman
from Taos, NM
"Purchased the Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater to install in a 30'x28' garage. This heater is awesome, it heats my garage up to a comfortable 65 degrees in minutes, even though it may be 15 degrees outside. It's quiet, efficient, and spreads the heat throughout the garage. I chose it as it is compact and space saving with it's only 1" clearance to the ceiling.
Installation was simple, and after adjusting for an altitude of 7000', it fired right up and has not missed a beat since. I would highly recommend this heater to anyone. It is and A1 unit.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ideal garage heater!

,
September 13, 2012
By gd9704
from Northeast Ohio
"This unit replaced a 25,000 BTU radiant heater from the same company. The radiant unit put WAY too much moisture in the air of my garage--condensation on windows and mold in the corners of the finished garage was the result. This heater has almost twice the power at 45,000 BTU's and being vented means the byproducts of natural gas combustion (water!) goes outside instead of in my garage! Installation wasn't too bad--venting out the ceiling and roof was probably the most difficult part of the installation. An extra set of hands is a must to get it installed on the ceiling. The unit is quiet and powerful. I'm very happy with this one!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater 45.000 BTU Garge Heater

,
May 14, 2012
By NortherntoolJockey
from Winthrop, MN
"This is great heater that performs execellent. The installation brackets are very effective. Remember that you must buy the optional exhaust hardware. It would be nice if that was included, but it is not included with similar heaters either. It is also a little loud, but for the price and performance the unit delivers, I give it my strongest "BUY IT" recommendation."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Experience report

,
May 14, 2012
By RolFar
from New Buffalo, MI
"I have now used my furnace for a full season and am delighted at the job it does in my 2 bay work area."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Heater

,
May 14, 2012
By JMG440
from Ohio
"Bought this heater for my "barn" / Man-Cave and it does a great job. I can keep barn at about 50 degrees during winter and I can quickly raise temperature to 65 degree when I plan on spending more time in building."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GReat Heater

,
May 7, 2012
By csker3
from Reedsville pa
"Nice heater. Great Price. Installs easily and fairly quiet operation."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater 45k btu

,
October 19, 2011
By Boog22
from Michigan
"Just purchased Mr. Heater with 45000btu through Northern Tool. Unit was easy to install and instructions are same as on the internet they send you so you can review installation before unit arrives. Ran gas, electric and bought thermostat from local hardware and installed myself. Unit is light but will need another person when installing. Unit fired right up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater 45,000 BTU

,
October 17, 2011
By taggart
from St. Thomas, ON
"Bought this heater for for my garage that i turned into a woodworking shop. Heats the 600 sqft no problem and quickly. It was easy to install with the exhaust kit sold separately. Also added a programmable thermostat works awesome.. Now I hang out on Sunday's build Muskie lures and watch football on a 50" plasma that I mounted on the wall"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater Natural Gas Heater works great

,
October 17, 2011
By CRCOP
from Sparta TN
"Great Heater using it for business office about 600 square feet and it will burn you out. Would recommend this product to anyone. Thinking of buying another to put in my basement. you wont go wrong with it. Easy to mount up and wire in. Gas line and vent was some work but well worth it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heater

,
October 11, 2011
By Yoda1
from Red Deer Alberta
"The Heater works awsome, heats my 20x24 garage in minutes in cold weather. Would definitly recomend it to everyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mr. Heater

,
June 17, 2011
By mwhitfield108
from Calgary, AB, Canada
"The heater is quieter then a similar product I have used in the past. The Installation instructions could be a bit better regarding the thermostat hookup but a rep from the factory promptly answered emails and set me straight."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Garage heater

,
June 13, 2011
By paraquack
from burlington VT
"For the money you can't buy a better heater anywhere. It is easy to install good, easy to follow directions venting is simple to do using the vent kits availble. Also the gas connection kit is versatile. Overall the heater goes in easy is economical to run quiet operating and doesn't take up alot of space thanks to the low profile mounting brackets."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Garage Heater

,
March 21, 2011
By TomN33
from Hoffman Estates, IL
"I have had this heater for two winters now and love it. I use it mostly for doing projects in my 2-car garage. It warms the space very quickly. The 45,000 BTU's are perfect for my garage. I installed the unit by myself and it was simple due to it's compact/light design. I use it with a basic Honeywell programmable stat. For the two winters I've never had one problem with it. I have recommended this heater to both friends and family."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
March 21, 2011
By sparky158
from Green Bay, Wis
"This heater is really easy to install, with simple tools and modest mechanical skills. I had it installed in one day,including running the electricity and gas to the unit.
I like the design, in that it is a horizontal unit and that helped to maximize headroom in my workshop. I also liked being able to vent out the sidewall, so I didn't need a roof penetration.
This heater heats up about 1600 sq.ft area in less than 15 minutes to a comfortable working temperature. I would definately recommend this heater to others,as I've had not a single issue with it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heats my greenhouse

,
March 18, 2011
By citrusguy
from Lake Jackson, Texas
"I bought this heater just in time to save all my plants in my greenhouse. I have a 15' x 22' greenhouse and it warms the space within a few minutes. It replaced my old heater that had a pilot light, produced about the same amount of heat, but had a much bigger footprint.. This one is nice in that it is more compact and I don't have to worry about lighting a pilot light each winter. It is also much safer because it has a forced fan purge of air to clean out any collected gas just before lighting off the flame. It does contain foiled fiberglass insulation. We will have to see how that holds up to the warm humid condtions of the greenhouse when the heater is off."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater Installation

,
March 16, 2011
By DKKZH
"This heater was easy to install. The instructions were complete and easy to follow. I really like the fact that you only needed 1 inch of clearance from the ceiling so it is really out of the way. It works great and really met our needs for heating our three stall garage in the winter!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

heater

,
March 14, 2011
By gwghummer
from Hackensack, NJ
"the heater keeps a commercial fire sprinkler control room at about 56 degrees which is low as I can set the thermostat control. The thermostat is very difficult to impossible to adjust. I would have like to keep the thermostat at 40 degrees."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
regguy1
NE Ohio 
 
Please wait while more information about regguy1 is loaded.
Additional information about regguy1 could not be loaded.
About thermostat
June 2, 2011
"This is an issue with the thermostat not the heater, I have a basic Honeywell thermostat that allows a 40 degree setting. All you needto to do is change the T-Stat"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great unit

,
March 14, 2011
By davidn
"I read the reviews on the unit and went with the 45,000 Mr Heater unit. The service, crating, and delivery time from Northern Tool was excellent and I could not have ask for a better place and unit to deal with. The unit is very well built and operates at a much quieter noise level than I expected. There is no vibration to the unit and heats the garage very well and I should know because I have retired from heating and air conditioning trade after 47 years and have installed many units.
I can find no cons to this unit and would recommend this unit to all.
Thanks
davidn
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Natural Gas Garage Heater - 45,000 BTU, Model# MHU45NG
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Awesome!

,
March 14, 2011
By ScottinMich
from Lapeer, MI
"This heater is just what I needed! Mine arrived in excellent shape. I was glad (and surprised) to see no damage from shipment from UPS.
The install was pretty easy (with the help of a second person to get it to the ceiling). Hookup was straight forward, and it has works as expected! It is not very loud either, about as loud as a fan running.
Has kept my garage at 50* all winter. I am heating a 24x24 garage and when I go out there, I turn the thermostat up and it raises the temperature to 65* in about 20 minutes.
It runs a lot in my garage, but I expect that to change once I get the garage insulated! I expect it will heat without running very much at all.
I would (and have!) highly recommend this heater to friends. It sure beats having to live with the smell of those kerosene heaters that my neighbors use!
One of the best purchases, for my house, that I have made so far!
I hope this helps someone who is considering buying this heater!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.