Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"

"Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"

Item# 173639
"Fuel filter for Portable Buddy heater Item# 173690 and Big Buddy Item# 173635 heater. Due to contaminants found in propane tanks and propane hose assemblies, Mr. Heater strongly recommends the fuel filter be used any time the Portable Buddy or Big Buddy are used with a 20 lb. to 40 lb. propane cylinder. Fuel Type Propane, Compatible With Buddy heaters, Product Type Filters."
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Review 1 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works

,
May 20, 2016
By
from East Earl, PA
Seems to be working, time will tell. This winter will be the true test of the filter
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Fuel Filter

,
January 15, 2016
By
from Shreveport, LA
I use these with extension hose and Mr. Heater in deer stands, work great.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not trap oil as claimed

,
December 1, 2015
By
from South Park, CO
When you get bulk propane bottles refilled, along with the propane you also get some fine lightweight oil in your tank. This oil has clogged lanterns and small heaters we have used to the point that those units no longer work.
I bought two of these filters and put one on a lantern and the other on a new Mr. Heater Buddy Heater using a 20 pound propane tank.
I have had no problems with the propane lantern but the Buddy heater spits when oil gets to the pilot flame....sometimes putting out the flame.
I turned the Buddy heater upside down on newspaper and got about half a teaspoon of oil that came out of the flame tube overnight.
I tried contacting Mr. Heater directly through their site by email but have not heard back. I did not find any number for customer service either.
The filter appears completely sealed like a regular gasoline fuel filter so I can't see inside to see how much oil, if any, has been trapped.
So for the Buddy Heater hooked up to a 20 pound tank with a hose, this filter has been useless. You can't hook it up wrong so maybe this filter is defective. I just wouldn't trust that my Buddy heater won't quit working because of the oil problem. I didn't notice any warranty. I just want this product to do what it claims to do. I believe they may have modeled it after Mr. Obummer - never does what it claims.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertDecember 4, 2015
Thank you for your feedback and review. We do not get complaints on the fuel filter, so we are interested to hear more about this. The fuel filter prevents the oil substance in most hoses from getting into the Buddy Heaters. This is why it is recommend to use the fuel filter when using the extension hoses. The fuel filters can fill with oil and need to be replaced annually based on usage. Perhaps that is what is happening here.

Give us a call at 1-855-663-0660 or email us at interactivetech@us-egi.com and we can help with this! Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best heater I own!

,
November 25, 2015
By
from New Jersey
I have this heater in my 12 ft. x 12 ft. greenhouse. it works wonderfully well. We leave 2 top vents open a bit and it keeps it toasty warm in there. Our plants love it, we love it. A barbeque grill size tank lasts about 3 to 4 weeks right now. we don't know how much propane it will use in January and February, but it is very worth it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater filter

,
October 18, 2011
By
from j.mccausey@hotmail.com
Purchased this filter couple yrs. back after having trouble with Mr. Heater unit not wanting to light. Ended up purchasing new Mr. Heater, but installed this filter on new unit. Installed easily and I guess it's working fine - no problems starting new unit. I would recommend this unit to everyone purchasing Mr. Heater units - to much water in supplier propane tanks.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buddy heater fuel filter

,
March 14, 2011
By
from Apache Junction, AZ
I had issues keeping my Buddy Heater lit last fall during the Michigan deer hunt and ordered a thermocouple for it from Northern and had it sent to my brother-in-laws in Michigan as I live in AZ. He installed this for me and a friend of his recommended a fuel filter. I found it easily at Northern and sent it to my brother-in-law, who also installed it. This is a great situation for me to just send them and they get installed! Result: warm deer blind next November!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality, better price

,
June 1, 2010
By
from Ohio
Looked all over for one of these. This one's not only great quality, but the best price I could find on the net.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

neat little device

,
February 15, 2010
By
from northern Ontario,Canada
This little fuel filter expands the usage of my Buddy heater by using a larger 20 or 30lbs. propane bottle with an extension hose instead of the little 1lbs. throw away ones.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

protects like a champ, even with heavy use

,
January 9, 2010
By
from Houston, TX
Last year, our ancient gas heater failed and we were quoted about $1500 to replace it and the venting to meet current codes. At first, we used our Mister Heater Big Buddy Heater for emergency heat. But it has worked out so well, it's all we've used since last Fall, often running 24x7. I'm certain that's way higher than typical use. And we've used bulk tanks most of the way, so we were careful to install these filters immediately. It's amazing how much money we've saved on both electricity and our gas bills! We haven't had a lick of trouble in spite of this atypically heavy and constant use, between 5-10 lbs. a day. And that's the point of these filters. Luck had nothing to do with it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Relatively inexpensive insurance

,
March 26, 2009
By
from Central Texas
Hopefully, I'll never know if this is a necessary propane accessory. I have run a bottle through it, and no problems with my MrHeater Big Buddy yet. I'm sure it catches debris that could cause problems in the small orifices of a propane system. On the other hand, I have run propane heaters in the past with no filter, and have had no problems with them either.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Necessary Accessory

,
March 17, 2009
By
from Caliente, CA
This filter will greatly prolong the life of Mr. Heater propane heaters by preventing nozzle clogs. A must-have accessory!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters

,
August 11, 2008
By
from Nelson, WI
This filter just makes good sense for maintaining reliability in using the heater. Having this extra precaution is worth the possible failure.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fuel Filter

,
January 14, 2008
By
from Northern Florida
This item works just as it should, youdon't have to worry about contaminates in the fuel or from the tank getting to the heater
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Fuel Filter

,
January 14, 2008
By
from Wilkes-Barre, PA
These filters are easy to install and highly recommended to protect your Mr Heater catalytic heater from debris that might come from bulk gas containers or from the connection hoses. Well worth the price to protect a good product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to replace

,
March 8, 2007
By
from Virginia
This filter small, and is so easy to replace the original with. Easy to handle, and inexpensive compared to other models filters. Would suggest all who get the Big Buddy replace their original factory filter with this one for optimum protection and performance.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Filter

,
March 7, 2007
By
from CA
The filter was easy to install. I have had no visible changes in the preformance to to dirty promane plugging any thing up. I attribute this to the filter being in place. I do know people who have used the product with out the filter and after the first winter season, they experienced problems. If they would have used the filter and changed it after each season, I feel that their problems would have never surfaced.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fuel Filter - A must for Safety

,
March 7, 2007
By
from NH
If you use a 20lbs tank with Mr. Buddy - do not think twice - go for this filter.
Safety pays always.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Mr. Heater Fuel Filter for Buddy Heaters, Model# F273699"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Buddy Fuel Filter

,
November 19, 2006
By
from Seattle, WA
Cheap insurance for your heater.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.