Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS

Item# 173652
The ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater produces an impressive 70,000 BTU to warm virtually any space. Features ultra-quiet fuel delivery system with half the noise of conventional forced air heaters. Compact, portable design is one-third the weight of comparable heaters. Fuel Capacity gal. 3.2, Volts 120, Product Style Radiant, Dimensions L x W x H in. 22 x 15 3/8 x 21 5/16, Full Load Run Time Hours 7, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 53, Fuel Type Kerosene, Thermostat Included No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,750, BTU Output 70,000. Electronic controls Built-in accessory outlet Tip-over switch
Average Customer Rating:
4.45 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
17 of 20(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Review 1 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heater

,
September 17, 2013
By HHHHE
from Los Angeles
"Bought this heater last year 2012 and it worked for about a month then wouldn't stay on. After a few phone calls I found out that the internal cooling fan was broken. Seems that is was a design flaw and they fix it free but why wasn't it a recall ??? If that fan has been upgraded this is a great unit....."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Propane Heater

,
May 7, 2012
By Reidus
from Cable, Ohio
"Purchased heater after reading many reviews. The selling point for me was that it is quiet and puts out a lot of heat. I do agree with how quiet it is and it puts out a lot of heat also!! After a weeks worth of use for about 4 hours a day the cooling fan busted. I contacted customer service and they sent a new fan and I installed it and haven't have any issues since. Was pretty upset that it broke within a week though. They acted like this was a known issue for the heater. The new fan blades are a more flexible blade than the orginal, which I assume withstands the heat better....i hope so at least!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beware

,
March 3, 2012
By marsbar42
from birchwood, wi
"I bought the pt-55-ss about 4 years ago (same unit only 55,000 btu). The high pressure fuel nozzle is bad and now I can't find parts because the unit is obsolete. Can't even get parts from the manufacturer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very warm and happy

,
January 18, 2012
By deron
from Dayton, Ohio
"I recently purchased the Protemp Sunstream portable heater. It really is quieter and less smelly than the old torpedo style kerosene heaters. It is also more fuel efficient , so overall I think this is I great heater and the price was right too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Protemp Sunstream K1 Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Wall10
from Southern Maine
"This little heater is one of the best products I have purchased. Relatively quiet, fool proof add K1 plug in to power outlet No fumes like most torpedo heaters. My wife doesn't complain if I run it in attached garage or cellar. It has holes in reflecting shield which further reburns any unburnt fuel thus eliminating the smell. Everyone & I mean Everyone who sees this in action says I got to get me one of them. Where can I get one? where else-- But Northern Tools. You won't be disappointed!! besides you can even carry in the back seat floor of a car."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro-Temp Sun-Stream Portable Kerosene Forced Air H

,
January 12, 2012
By JMS50
from York, NY
"I purchased this heater recently to use in my "very cold" uninsulated garage built in the 1970's. I am semi-retired now at age 61 yrs and getting into "long overdue projects" that I have been dreaming of completing someday. Thanks to the Pro-Temp heater, I am warm, comfortable, and "ready for action" as I happily complete my "to-do list of projects" . Even my wife (still working--ha!ha!) is liking me better as I no longer spend these winter days by the TV. Thanks to Northern Tools for keeping our marriage a happy one!! i rate this as 5 stars!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Protemp Sun-Stream

,
January 9, 2012
By captnken
from Portsmouth Va
"I really like this heater, it's quiet operation and fuel efficiency is a big improvement over the older forced heaters, it also has less kerosene fumes. I would recommend this product to anyone, however I do have one complaint, I wish it was 150,000 btu, guess I'll have to buy another one to get that."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This thing ROCKS

,
December 26, 2011
By FWYSGT
from Central Ohio
"Great heater. We use it OUTSIDE at family gatherings where everyone seems to gather to smoke cigars and drink. We constantly get compliments on it. The only bad thing about it is you cannot turn the heat down. In a closed garage it will run you out in about 30 minutes. We originally bought it for emergencies due to our frequent power outages"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pro temp kerosene heater

,
November 14, 2011
By Arnieee
from Athol, Id
"Check the price of 1-K kerosene before you buy, I read a review that said it was a multi fuel.It is NOT. Kerosene 1-K id $10.00 per gallon.
I would have re-thought my choice, nice heater.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
InTheGarage1234
Central NY 
 
Please wait while more information about InTheGarage1234 is loaded.
Additional information about InTheGarage1234 could not be loaded.
$10/gal for Kerosene??!!
January 31, 2012
"Wow. You might want to shop around for another kerosene supplier. Kerosene should be about the same price as diesel- about $4 or $4.50 per gallon if you buy from a gas station. I've only seen the prices you're talking about if you buy from a hardware store in 1 gallon containers. That said, if you really are stuck with $10/gal pricing, I don't blame you for regretting the purchase but that's not the heater's fault."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater, Runs Quiet, Multi Fuel = yes!

,
October 11, 2011
By SmoothDog0
from Toms River, NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This exact heater arrived at my door step, and to my surprise the box stated 'Factory Tested for MULTIPLE FUELS: Kerosene, JP8/Jet A Fuel, #1 & #2 Fuel Oil, #1 & 2 Diesel.
I was pleasantly supprised when I read this, and have tried it with Home Heating Fuel Oil #2 from the local oil comapny, Kerosene and Diesel from the local station. all burn perfect! can't even tell the difference once it's in the tank.
Product is quiet, throws out tons of heat virtually instantly, and with no smell once started.
side note: product does emit a small puff of smoke for half a second upon start up, and another small puff upon shut down. besides that the unit operates with no smell what so ever, def. a great buy!
run so quietly, you can actually have conversations with your friends, standing right over it in normal tone!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater...

,
January 31, 2011
By brokenarrow
from DFW
"Heats my four car garage in ten minutes and then I have to shut it off, even with ventilation. Highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

great when it works

,
January 28, 2011
By PORT29
"great heat quite but i am having trouble locating a new spark plug for the unit it will not ignite . not sure the product is worth the trouble only got to use it one season"
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shop heater yet

,
November 17, 2010
By JeDaCo
"I tried using a propane 'bullet' heater in my pole-barn shop, but the noise made it uncomfortable and the moving of tanks was a task. This heater is quiet by comparison and puts out great heat. Simple to use, easy to fill. I have a CO monitor in the shop and it didn't go above zero even after two hours, so I guess it is 'leaky' enough to keep the levels down. Only small issue is the fuel cap...a bit hard to screw back on. Otherwise this is wonderful!"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Model #PT-55-SS

,
November 2, 2009
By midwestjoe
from Iowa
"Very impressed with this little heater. Quiet & efficient. Have used it in my 2 car garage & it worked great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater !!

,
July 15, 2009
By rodder
from Chanute, KS
"I recently had a 1000 sq. ft. garage built and was looking at heating options. After many considerations I found that a kerosene heater would best fit my needs. I decided on this unit and wow, it is awsome. It's very quiet, heats my garage quickly, and the 3 gal. fuel capacity last a long time. The smaller size, and with a handle on top, makes it easy to carry around, even full of fuel. I would recommend this heater to anyone. You won't be disappointed!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic heater

,
February 2, 2009
By RandyMc
from Tipp City, Ohio
"I wasn't sure about the reviews when I read them. How could something be so good that nobody had anything bad to say about it? Well let me tell you. I plugged this thing in and within five minutes I believed evey one of those reviews. I have a kerosene radiant heater (the round one) that's rated at 23,000 BTU. Now I think it's actually 5,000 at best compared to this thing. Tremendous heat from this new heater. Much, Much better than expected. Just wish it had a thermostat, but it works so well I can live without it. Thanks Northern for having this on sale, and for the reviews that led me to buy it.
Randy"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable Furnace!

,
November 17, 2008
By JoeZ
from Saratoga Co NY - border
"Used to have a 'salamander'...had to leave the garage door halfway open, yell a-lot and take advil for the headaches! NOT SO with this little gem. I plug in the cord, put it outside the door, hit the switch and it fires up automatically. I bring it in after about 2 minutes. Runs quieter than my electric 10k space-mod and WAY quieter then the normal salamander-type. I have an uninsulated 40' x 25' block garage and live in upstate NY. So far...about 18 outside was the coldest. I would run it for maybe a half hour, get the joint up to about 75 and then just let my radiant 40 (10k btu) maintain it. Seems easy on gas (K1) too. I do put it outside for shutdown also. Has a separate cooling fan on a thermostat after you kill the flame keeps running to cool the unit.. I put K1 conditioner in the fuel and can't even smell fumes after coming back in from the cold. Nice size, pretty easy to handle with a full tank, though not light. I was going to mess around with wood or pellets, but all considered (@$4/gal K1), the fuel cost is similar and the initial investment way less (if you can even FIND pellets). Good solution for garages/workshops and tons of heat. Recommended!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

kerosene forced heateer

,
January 25, 2008
By nairbs
from 100 miles outside chicago ILL
"small heater great for garage or shop,forced heat out to five feet, easy controls
fill tube is a little tight to body to fill but just used bendable fill funnel. bought two
but only needed one for two car garage. QUIETEST HEATER ON MARKET !
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

forced air heater

,
January 24, 2008
By kanibblingpin
from Cape Neddick, Me
"I use this heater to warm up my shop. It has been very reliable and is very quiet when its running. My only complaint is that it doesn't have any way to control the temp. of the area being heated."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ProTemp Portable Kerosene Radiant Heater - 70,000 BTU, Model# PT-70-SS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One word describes this heater... Phenomenal!!!!

,
October 30, 2007
By Nevada1
from Fernley,Nevada
"This heater went above and beyond my expectations! Last winter (2006) I was looking for a high output kerosene heater to heat my garage. There were many to choose from,but I was looking for one that was QUIET. A tall order to fill,at least I thought,until I stumbled upon this one. Its really THAT quiet! You can actually stand next to the heater and talk to a friend (who is also in the same garage) at a normal tone of voice. Talking on the phone while your right next to it is also not a problem.You can also hear the radio in the garage without turning up the volume. Most forced air kerosene heaters are noisy,but not this one! About as much noise as a small fan. No fuel pump noise,no constant ignition noise,just the soft sound of radiant and convection heat filling the room. This heater is also VERY light. Easy to pick up and move! It has excellent safety features,and remains cool to the touch anywhere on the unit during operation. I had no problem maintaining 80 degrees F in my two car garage,when it was ten degrees F outside,and thats with the man door open more than half way!! If your looking for a kerosene heater that is QUIET,very light weight,safe, looks cool doing the job,and can heat up to 1400 square feet (three times the size of your average two car garage),then look no further. Here it is. I almost forgot to mention this... Its only 21" long,21" high,and 12" wide! As for quality,I would rate it 100%. Fit and finish is excellent,and it has a durable and easy to clean powder coated finish. It comes packaged well,and the shipping was fast. Get one. You'll thank yourself later."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.