Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Kerosene Heater - 50,000 BTU, 1200 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MH50KR"

"Mr. Heater Portable Kerosene Heater - 50,000 BTU, 1200 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MH50KR"

Item# 173661
"If you need to warm your construction site, barn, factory, sports team or warehouse fast, this heavy-duty kerosene heater can really turn on the heat. Dimensions L x W x H in. 32 x 14 1/4 x 14 1/2, Amps 10, BTU Output 50,000, Fuel Capacity gal. 4, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 0.37, Fuel Type Kerosene, Full Load Run Time Hours 11 hrs., Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,200, Igniter Direct spark, Product Style Forced air, Volts 110. CSA certified Easy-off access panel Overheat safety shutoff Continuous ignition Improved styling lets you look good while you heat up 2.5-gallon jug of Sunnyside Kerosene, Item# 24105 not available online is available at Northern Tool + Equipment stores"
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 10(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Kerosene Heater - 50,000 BTU, 1200 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MH50KR"
Review 1 for "Mr. Heater Portable Kerosene Heater - 50,000 BTU, 1200 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MH50KR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product, definitely pick one up!

,
January 7, 2014
By S2K05
from Greensboro, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this heater for my shop about 3 years ago. I have another forced air propane heater as well since Ive got a somewhat larger shop than this calls for. Since then I can say that this product has performed awesome. Every time I hit the switch it fires without so much as an issue. I thought at the beginning of last year that it was done for, but to my surprise just bad gas. Drained it, filled it back up, cleaned filters and boom its back again. Thing has worked time and time again without failing! And ive never once replaced a thing on it, just clean the filters once a year and it keeps going!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertJanuary 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review and feedback!Enerco
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertJanuary 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review and feedback!Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Mr. Heater Portable Kerosene Heater - 50,000 BTU, 1200 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MH50KR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

a great heater

,
April 23, 2013
By edward111
from tenn
"fast simple and warm . easy to start warms my garage very quickly. no smell , wouldnt go another winter with out one. very light weight but wish that it had wheels. still a great heater"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Mr. Heater Portable Kerosene Heater - 50,000 BTU, 1200 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MH50KR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kerosene Heater

,
April 23, 2013
By Jeffrey1
from Lake Tapps, Washington
"Got this heater for my detached insulated two car garage/wood shop. I was using two of the freestanding kerosene heater and I took forever to heat the shop. I admit this heater creates some noise but I can take the shop temp. up 20 degrees in 30 min. Then just use it as I need it. Why didn't I get this heater years ago?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Mr. Heater Portable Kerosene Heater - 50,000 BTU, 1200 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MH50KR"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked well, until it didn't !!!!!!

,
October 22, 2012
By joca0966
from Lexington,NC
"I purchased this heater from Northern Tool 12/5/10. I used it to heat my work shed. Since I purchased it, I have used it <10 hours. Yesterday, when I took it out of storage from it's original box, and placed clean fuel in it, The tank stated leaking, and it wouldn't work at all. The previous kerosene heater I owned, was a cheap model I purchased at a local home center and it worked for 12 years without so much as cleaning the air filter.
Don't waste your money on this product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertOctober 23, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you are having issues with the heater after only a few years of use. We would be happy to speak with you regarding this. Please call our Tech Service department at 1-800-251-0001.Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Mr. Heater Portable Kerosene Heater - 50,000 BTU, 1200 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MH50KR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

All it boasts and more..............

,
May 7, 2012
By Craig013
from Pennsylvania
"I purchased this heater for use while putting a large addition (900 sq ft) on my house over this past winter. This heater works so effectively you can't even keep it on for long. My room is 30' x 30' with a 19' cathedral ceiling and we were able to work in just a T-shirt after only about ten minutes of run time. Great product! Would highly recommend to all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Mr. Heater Portable Kerosene Heater - 50,000 BTU, 1200 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MH50KR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Portable Kerosene Heater - 50,000 BTU

,
January 21, 2012
By SuperSport396
from Buchanan, New York
"*Nothing to set up opened the box took the sterofoam packing out of one end pulled it out, put kerosene in it plugged it to the wall outlet flicked the toggle switch to "ON" and it fired right up !
*Tested out the new Kerosene heater, the inside of the garage was 32 degrees to start 10 minutes later the thermometer I set up in the garage read 60 degrees. My garage is a (2 car garage with 11 foot ceiling and metal doors that radiate the cold)
*This is an amazing heater it is a multi fuel unit, Kerosene, #1 or #2 Diesel Fuel, #1 or #2 Fuel Oil , and JP8 (Jet A Fuel).
*I would recommend this to anybody, the larger 125K and greater units have wheels would be nice if an optional wheel kit was available, but it is still easy to handle even without wheels.
This is truely a 5 star product"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Mr. Heater Portable Kerosene Heater - 50,000 BTU, 1200 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MH50KR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Heater

,
November 24, 2010
By Rick203
from Connecticut
"I bought this heater for my 2-car garage and it heats it up fine. The heater runs good on both kerosene and diesel fuel. I wish I bought the next size bigger 75000 BTU because the garage is drafty no fraught of the heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Mr. Heater Portable Kerosene Heater - 50,000 BTU, 1200 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MH50KR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Heater

,
June 1, 2010
By EricR
from Owensboro, KY
"This heater does the job. It doesn't use too much fuel and will run you out of the shop if you leave it running too long! You won't have to worry about getting cold again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Mr. Heater Portable Kerosene Heater - 50,000 BTU, 1200 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MH50KR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful heater

,
June 1, 2010
By kevan
from Baltimore, MD
"This heater definitely puts out a lot of heat. It's also very portable and worked well even on some outdoor projects in the winter. I didn't notice them mentioning it in the write-up about this heater, but it in multi-fuel so you can just burn diesel in it if you want to. Diesel is way cheaper than Kerosene.
The only thing I didn't like about this heater is the very short and strangely place power chord.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Mr. Heater Portable Kerosene Heater - 50,000 BTU, 1200 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, Model# MH50KR"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good little heater

,
June 1, 2010
By SJustice
from Ohio
"I bought this for my workshop/barn and have had no problems at all with it. It would be nice if it had a larger lip raised around the fuel fill cap, but only needed because of the stupid "no spill" kerosene cans that you have to use these days, not because of any problem with the heater itself."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.