Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B

Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B

Item# 173668
The Mr. Heater Little Buddy gives you a powerful 3800 BTU of heat whenever and wherever you want. With the handy comfort-grip handle, the Little Buddy is easy to take anywhere - great for decks, patios, campsites, workshops and emergency situations. No matches are necessary - the Little Buddy features a push-button start with a single control gas valve and spark ignitor. For safety, the Little Buddy features a sturdy 8in. diameter base for stability, low oxygen shutoff, tip-over safety shutoff and a heavy-duty wire guard. Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Blower Included No, BTU Output 3,800, Heating Capability sq. ft. 100, Category Type Radiant heat, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 5 1/2 hrs. on a 1lb. tank, Thermostat Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 8 1/2 x 8 x 10, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Igniter Pezio, Needs Direct Venting No, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Regulator Included Yes, Remote Included No. 45 heating angle directs radiant heat where it's most needed Heavy-duty wire guard for safety Single control gas valve Easy-grip handle Sturdy 8in. dia. compact stand minimizes footprint Uses 1-lb. disposable propane cylinder not included CSA certified Not for sale in MA
Average Customer Rating:
4.535 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (58 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
55 of 58(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works good

,
October 13, 2014
By short12
from wi
"I haven't had a chance to use a lot yet but works great so far.took it out of the box hooked up the propane cylinder and fired it up. seemed a little slow to get going but throws plenty of heat for a compact unit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Everyone was jealous

,
November 20, 2013
By DBhatesCold
from Alpharetta, GA
"We use this for sitting in the stands during High School Football and Lacrosse games. Works very well. Only things I'd say I wish it had was some way to heat lower to the ground. Kept us very warm, had to point it away several times. But no heat gets to our feet so our feet stayed pretty cold."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

,
January 14, 2013
By txhardhead
from Houston, Texas
"Bought this heater for my deer blind. all windows & door open. Season ended and never got heater to work. Propane bottle full, heater level, plenty of fresh air, burner would not light. Pilot came on, but after holding button for max of 2 minutes it went out, burner never came on. Its new, wish I could find receipt. Would not buy again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
13out of 19found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertNovember 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our MH4B Little Buddy Heater! Quality is extremely important to us. Please call our Technical Service department at 1-800-251-0001 and we will do everything we can to get your heater working.Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible!

,
October 8, 2012
By ReginaldDude
from New York, NY
"The heater didn't work from day one. The heater never would light for me. I would never buy this product again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
11out of 27found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertOctober 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and review! We would be happy to help. Please give us a call at 1-800-251-0001 to speak to our Tech Service Department!Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heats a small area well.

,
May 22, 2012
By CR250RIDER
from Washington State
"I have had this product for 4 years, I have used it in tents, outside, in a garage, and in a cargo trailer. It usually performs well but will blow out during windy conditions. I usually have to tilt it forward to get it to light, and get the honey comb to completely ignite. The auto shut off works very well, but I have never had it shut off due to low oxygen. It is a great product, heats well for such a small size. I am looking into buying the Big Buddy, because I like the fan to blow the heat around instead of it just rising out of front of the heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Camping Companion!

,
January 20, 2012
By hotrodwildcat
from Kansas
"Just ordered a Mr. Heater Little Buddy on sale price, and I can't believe I ever did without! I'm a penny-pincher - even more these days - so even though I've had my eye on one of these for quite some time, I waited until it went on sale to buy. If I had known how nice the Little Buddy was, I would have easily paid full price a long time ago!
We have used it twice now going tent camping where it got below 20 degrees each night. The Mr Heater Little Buddy was more than a little buddy - it was man's best friend that night! (not to mention wife and kids, too!) It was a great way to provide a little extra heat as we were getting ready for bed. It heats up fast, but for a bigger tent it takes a little while to actually warm up the tent. Our tent has partitions, or "rooms", and if you zip up the rooms it heats individual smaller spaces up very nicely. Then in the morning, crank it up a few minutes before you crawl out of your cozy sleeping bag to take the bite out of the frigid morning air.
Just used it a few times, but it has been GREAT!
P.S. Also makes a nice workbench heater! I dug it out of the camping stuff to use on my workbench doing some household repairs in a garage that was 14 degrees. I was able to take my gloves off and handle small screws and such, without freezing my fingers stiff before I finished the repair project.
Thanks Northern Tool and thanks Mr. Heater! Excellent Product!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My little buddy

,
January 20, 2012
By Teaspoon
from angie, la.
"This little heater is great for my tent when I go hunting. It does not take up much room and easy to work. Had it for two winters and still like new."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

letmetellyou

,
January 18, 2012
By letmetellyou
from Lowell MA.
"very nice unit, I own 2 of em. never had a problem.Great for warming smaller areas..or to take the chill out of a larger area. unit is very sensative. if you bump it. IT WILL SHUT OFF. this is a safety feature in case it tips over. one pound propane tank runs about 3-4 hours."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heater heats my truck tent up nicely!

,
January 17, 2012
By FastFoodMike
from Reno, NV
"Bought this for camping and have used it in a standard tent and in my 8 foot truck bed which has a canvas top which acts like a tent for camping. When it's 40 out I can only run it 10 minutes or so before the whole area is hot. Cans run out pretty fast but 1 can makes it thru the night when turned on intermittingly. I warm the tent up for 10 minutes, turn it off, fall asleep and only turn it back on if I wake and for only 10 more minutes to warm, shutdown then sleep. Have been surprised at the heating capacity of this thing. The other thing is it's go no smell like other camping heaters."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little buddy heater

,
January 17, 2012
By Chedder
from Grove City, MN
"I got this heater to use for deer hunting and ice fishing and it is so easy to use and works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little Buddy Life Saver!!

,
January 17, 2012
By trailraisins
from Lodi, OH
"Last winter we bought Little Buddy for our hunting shacks but when the power went off in our cabin we retrieved the 2 heaters, hung a blanket over the door to the kitchen and stayed toasty warm until the power came back on 5 hours later. I don't know what we would have done without our Little Buddy heaters...they saved us!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

portable

,
January 17, 2012
By outside
from Northern Maine
"I use this to keep warm in the deer blind and on the ice just enough to take the edge off and get the hands warm or turn it up and drive you right out.
Mr. Buddy did this right easy to use and very portable
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mr Heater is good

,
January 17, 2012
By TheOrganizer
from New Jersey
"I take my little heater with me on every outdoor adventure. It is light enough and small enough to pack in my car without taking up much space."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

my mr buddy

,
January 16, 2012
By oscar65
from loves park il
"i throughly love my mr buddy heater does an exceptional job of keeping my deer blind toasty on those cold midwest morning and have hunted many times were it not for my mr buddy hunting for any lenghth of time would have been impossible"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little heater

,
January 16, 2012
By frankot55
from henderson ky.
"bought this heater for hunting blind worked great ,wish it had the ability to redirect the heat toward your feet but other than that works as it is designed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good and portable heater that works well.

,
January 16, 2012
By ke4hie
from Lower Alabama
""On the initial start-up it took a while for the center to get orange but did heat well.
It could be even better if the top part would tilt so one could direct the heat & if there was a high-low setting. Some propane cylinders do not fit the base well. Other than that, it worked fine in my shooting house and my pop-up camper."
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

lil buddy heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Wildlifeguy
from Maryland
"Fantastic little heater - easy to use push button operation, compact size and warms a small work space or hunting blind perfectly and runs pretty long on a bottle of propane, can even be used indoors, with ventilation..only con is the head is not adjustable and is fixed, but not a big problem...when used with the Mr. Heater propane refill, it is cost effective to refill bottles and take a couple along on an outing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable Heat Source

,
January 16, 2012
By riptide
from Starbuck, Wa.
"I have had my 4 Little Buddy heaters for over a year now, I use them in my open Guide Boat, they have never failed to ignite and have always provided efficient
heat to keep my customers comfortable !
Northern Tool is always a worry free supplier and once the order is made, I never have to worry about receiving it. Thank you for your service ! - Riptide
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!

,
January 16, 2012
By DMW71
from Crosby, Texas
"I bought the Mr. Heater Little Buddy last deer season (2010) to use in my blind for those really cold south Texas blue northers. I was a little apprehensive aboout it, never having used a portable heater before. NO PROBLEMS!! Just screw in a 1 pound propane cylinder, push the igniter button so the pilot light comes on, hold the button for 15-30 seconds, and you are in business. I have a deer blind that it a homemade 4'X8' plywood blind, and even with all the small gaps that haven't yet been sealed, this little heater will flat out warm you up!! I can only run it for 10-20minutes at a time, no matter how cold it is, because this heater works really well. I have never times it, but I get roughly 4 hours or so from a one pound canister of propane. I also like the fact that if the heater tilts too far over, it will automatically shut down, In fact, that is how I turn it off; by tilting it over. I don't even bother with picking it up and pushing the off button.
If you are looking for an affordable, dependable heater, I highly recommend the Mr. Heater little Buddy!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Little Buddy - 3800 BTU, Model# MH4B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

When you need a little heat.

,
January 16, 2012
By CharleyB
from Ironwood, Michigan
""If you're cold, this is the ticket. I've used this heater to thaw the pumphouse at the cabin in nothern Wisconsin. Used it to help warm up the cabin bedroom in the morning. And use it regularly at home here in Chicago to heat the garage/workshop. It's real easy to use. No need for matches since it has an easy self ignighter and keeps a comfort zone in small areas, ie.ice fishing tent. It's small and compact yet throws a lot of heat . I've tryed other similar heaters, but they just didn't stand up to heavy use like the "Mr. Heater" line. I have been using this one for eight years now and I'm considering purchasing another for backup and multiple uses, although this one shows no sign of breaking down. There's a lot of junk out there now and it's nice to have a sturdy, reliable product that I can depend on without worry. Thanks!!!""
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.