Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX

Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX

Item# 173690
Use this portable heater anywhere you need a blast of heat. Great for tents, campers, RVs, hunting, fishing, workshops, garages, cabins and more. Two heat settings produce 4000 or 9000 BTU, heating a 200 sq. ft. area. Blower Included No, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Thermostat Included No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 200, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Category Type Radiant heat, BTU Output 9,000, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 x 13 x 15, Heat Settings 2, Igniter Pilot light, Needs Direct Venting No, Remote Included No. Lightweight and easy to carry with fold-down handle for compact storage Uses 1-lb. or 20-lb. propane tank neither included Provides 3 to 6 hours of heat with 1-lb. propane cylinder and 48 to 110 hours with a 20-lb. tank Swivel out feature for easy connection to liquid propane cylinder and hose Automatic low oxygen safety shut-off Accidental tip-over shut-off for added safety CSA certified Not for sale in MA
Average Customer Rating:
4.793 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(227 Reviews) 227
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (227 reviews)
5 stars
190
4 stars
33
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
223 of 227(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater

,
October 15, 2014
By ejohn123
from Minneapolis, MN
"The Mr Heater portable buddy that I purchased at Northern Tool was priced right, arrived on time and has worked as expected since I received it. This is the third Mr Heater product I have used in recent years and they all have worked up to my expectations. I'm full y satisfied. Thanx!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater.

,
November 3, 2013
By kkm5862
from Northeast tx
"Bought for a camping weekend in NE Tx. Low was 40 degrees and this was almost too much heat in our tent. Part of the night only used the pilot light. When it got really chilly the heater did fine on low. We use a fleece blanket to sleep between and layers of blankets under us. Also wear layers and a hat to keep in body heat. Standard cold camping necessities. Keep the heater out if drafts and on a fairly level surface to keep the safety features from turning of the pilot. Keep at least a small ventilation path in a tent as a safety precaution."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Elevation

,
October 28, 2013
By DerekW
from Oregon
"I bought this heater. It was delivered just in time to take it on a camping trip. I fired it up at home just to make sure it was in good working condition. It heated up nicely. I went camping at 4200 feet elevation. The pilot lite started up fine but the heater would not get going at all. To say the least I froze all night! The pilot light would only stay on for about 10 seconds at a time! This heater is supposed to work at 7000 feet! Don't count on it! So much for a light little hunting heater!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertOctober 29, 2013
We apologize for the issue you are having with our MH9BX heater. The heater is intended to work at the 4,200 feet you were camping at. We would be happy to help you in our Technical Service Department. If you would like to speak with us, please call 1-800-251-0001.Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great heater

,
September 29, 2013
By beerdranker
from broken arrow, ok
"I love this little heater
I use it in my workshop and in my little shack/cabin in the woods
the only downside is the adjustment knob/lighter feels a little on the wobbly side. takes a bit of getting used to.
other than that I'm really happy with the little heater so far. I start it on high and adjust it to low when the chill is gone. I think I will get the adapter for the big tank so I can use it for extended periods of time.
mr heater is good stuff
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertOctober 17, 2013
Thank your for your feedback! We do apologize for the fact that the knob on your unit is not sturdy. We can replace the valve control and/or knob to clear up this issue for you. You have a one year manufactures warranty from the date of purchase.

Call Mr. Heater at 1-800-251-0001!Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Buddy

,
April 23, 2013
By deek1234
from Sunnyvale, CA
"I purchased this heater for my RV and couldn't be happier. The heater works exactly as I'd hope easily heating the RV on cold evenings. I hooked this heater up to the main propane in the RV and it works flawlessly. I got a chance to find out how rugged the heater is first hand when I knocked it off the steps of my RV and it fell to the ground. Nothing broke and only a few scratches from the trip.
Northern shipment was fast and as expected."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater, Great Price

,
April 23, 2013
By 7825
from Upper Michigan
"Best price on the Internet, very fast shipping. I use this for heating my Ice Shanty works so well I can just use the pilot light after initial warm up!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool heat

,
April 23, 2013
By awyogal
from Evanston, WY
"We purchased the heater a couple of years ago and have really enjoyed it. I ordered the accessories to hook it up to a large bottle and that is real handy if I am at a craft show outside. The portability is the best part of it though. It is great for hunting, picnicing, snowmobiling,etc. We have done that and more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

,
April 23, 2013
By Shupedogg
from Smithfield, UT
"Works great for emergency heating and when you need a little more warmth in the tent when camping with the family."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Heater

,
April 23, 2013
By Jeff0
from Lancaster, PA
"I own both the Buddy and Big Buddy Heaters, and I love them both. This heater is especially great for smaller areas and for just tossing int he back of the truck to bring with. The life from the propane cylinders is excellent, and it warms up my race trailer quite nicely on cold nights. I take it with me to all races early and late in the season. And I use it in to heat my garage when I work on the car in the winter. love this little heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome

,
January 14, 2013
By Scorpio262
from Alamo City Texas
"I have had my little Buddy for 3 yrs now and not 1 single problem, works every time use it camping and in my hunting blind... Thinking of purchasing another, you would never go wrong with this heater"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

High Altitude use

,
January 14, 2013
By Steve7929
from Hillsboro,New Mexico
"If you are planning to use this heater or other ventless heaters propane heaters be aware that the manufacture and Northern Tool DOES NOT tell you unless you contact them that their use above 4500 feet elevation is NOT Recommended. These heaters are set for sea level operation and a 9000 BTU heater at 4000 feet elevation is only good for 6000 BTU. So if you are buying these heaters and heading out west beware when using them.
Contact the ventless heater manufacture to confirm their usage over 4500 feet elevation.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little Buddy

,
October 17, 2012
By CaptFixit
from Adirondacks
"This is a great little portable heater both in size and output. It's not so large that it gets in the way when set on the floor. The adjustable heat setting speeds warming and easily adjusts down as the area warms up. The spark igniter means no need for a separate lighter or matches, simply carry the unit to area to be heated and its ready to go. We never leave the unit on unattended, but it's reassuring to know it also comes equipped with low oxygen and tip over safety features."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
21out of 42found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater portable buddy covers 9000 square feet

,
October 15, 2012
By CDMB
from NC
"The heater works very well in a deer box stand keeps you warm. You have to actually turn it off for a while it gets to hot sometimes.Really do not know what it feels like in anything bigger have not tried it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best little heater!

,
October 15, 2012
By lynasita1
from Albuquerque, NM
"I bought this to hopefully extend my season in Chama, NM. I have an RV there on a half-acre that is off grid. This more than met my expectations! It warmed up 240 sq ft of space by 7 degrees in about 40 minutes on the low setting. Made the biggest difference in the morning, without having to draw on the batteries or use the blower on the furnace. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome lil' heater

,
October 15, 2012
By jonniep
from Bloomer, WI.
"I started it up out of the box. incredible little heater.
I will enjoy keeping warm in the portable ice shack this year. Very much recommended :)
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buddy Heater

,
August 20, 2012
By ja1244
from Tucson, AZ
"I have used this little gem to heat my camper in the winter for years. I recomend it to customers because it will keepy toasty all night and is far more economical than a buying a $500 built in camper furnace."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater Buddy

,
August 14, 2012
By GE66
from Grand Prairie Texas
"This was my best friend when the furnase fail in my converted garage shop last winter. Great product. Variable heat settings. Ran it off a 20 pound bottle."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater B Good

,
May 7, 2012
By Olympia
from Oak Harbor, Washington
"Use my little Mr. Heater in my motorhome when I am without electricity and want to keep the motorhome's heater from cycling. Prolongs my camping and preserves my batteries in cold weather. Good little unit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Winter Camout

,
January 28, 2012
By Adventure1
from Lexington, KY
"I bought this unit specifically for use on this years Winter Campout. This is a trip taken every year when we expect the temperatures to plummet. Though it was not sub-zero this year the temperature did stay around freezing the whole weekend. The Heater worked great. It was the perfect size to utilize in the tent at night and in the morning (plus for the trips to the make shift latrene). The only reason I gave this 4 stars is it was a little rough on the usage of fuel. My reading on this said it would give a good 4 hours per can of fuel but I found it to be closer to 3 hours per can. Besides the fuel the unit is very stable and the safety tip switch worked as it should. I would definately recomend this product to any and all of my friends."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm

,
January 22, 2012
By wisepig0287
from Suffolk, VA
"This heater works great for me. The last time I used it it got down to 25 degress F and we stayed warm in my camper with only this heater on. I have a hose to connect it to a 25# propane tank and I have used it several times (at least 25 hours) and still have plenty of propane.
It does have a little problems with the lighter but I used a match when there are issues and it lit right up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.