Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

Item# 173690
"Use this portable heater anywhere you need a blast of heat. Great for tents, campers, RVs, hunting, fishing, workshops, garages, cabins and more. Two heat settings produce 4000 or 9000 BTU, heating a 200 sq. ft. area. Blower Included No, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Thermostat Included No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 200, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Category Type Radiant heat, BTU Output 9,000, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 x 13 x 15, Heat Settings 2, Igniter Pilot light, Needs Direct Venting No, Remote Included No. Lightweight and easy to carry with fold-down handle for compact storage Uses 1-lb. or 20-lb. propane tank neither included Provides 3 to 6 hours of heat with 1-lb. propane cylinder and 48 to 110 hours with a 20-lb. tank Swivel out feature for easy connection to liquid propane cylinder and hose Automatic low oxygen safety shut-off Accidental tip-over shut-off for added safety CSA certified Not for sale in MA"
Average Customer Rating:
4.785 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(237 Reviews) 237
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (237 reviews)
5 stars
198
4 stars
34
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
232 of 237(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Review 1 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Portable Buddy

,
January 14, 2015
By rg500nut
from Reno, NV`
" For the money spent, I think this little prortable heater is the "cat's meow". I am using in a Sprinter van for camping and it will keep the inside of the van very comforatable for our cool ights camping in the Sierra Mountains. Even in the summer, temperatures drop to 25-30 degrees at night and even with the insulation in the van, my wife, my two pugs and I get a little cool before daybreak.
I look forward to using it this spring...... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater

,
December 28, 2014
By Cjarp22
from Huckaby Texas
" An excellent buy for what it can do
Will easily hear a 10x10 room and keeps the chill out
Very quiet, we use them in our deer blinds and will run you out heat wise if ran on hi
Very quite and small propane bottles will last up to 2 hours
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Portable Buddy

,
December 21, 2014
By Kevin57
from Fuquay Varina, NC
" Bought this heater to use at my work bench in my garage and in our RV.. It heats up the area very quickly, it's very light and easy to move around, and it's easy to operate. I ordered it online via Northerns website and had it shipped to my nearby store for pickup. No problems at all.
It has exceeded my expectations.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Heater

,
December 21, 2014
By R2727
from Elmira, NY
" This heater is easy to use and throws a ton of heat for a portable unit. The 1 lb propane tanks last much longer than I thought they would so this heater is economical as well. I'm very impressed with this heater's performance, looks and reliability. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hunting

,
December 20, 2014
By RTCR
from Piedmont, SC
" This product is great for both my sons when they go hunting. I bought each of them one. I can't wait to give it to them on Christmas. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater

,
December 19, 2014
By Jarrell
from Mount Airy,NC
" Works great for small space. Have used it in my deer blind and small building. Great buy for the price. Quick delivery. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product at a Reasonable Cost

,
December 18, 2014
By macreid
from Mansura, LA
" Product generates lots of clean heat. The days of freezing in a deer stand are over for me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mr buddy heater 9000 btu

,
December 17, 2014
By bbbobo
from montegut,la.
" use it in my deer stand and works great with no noise and the right amount of heat on low to be comfortable on cold days.I own two of these for same reason and very pleased.I have a 20 # bottle on each with the hose option and last two seasons easily.i would and do recommend this product to others. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good gift

,
December 3, 2014
By xb14
from Lino Lakes, MN
" I have not used this yet but I think it will be perfect. It is to be used as a gift for a relative who will most likely use it the most for ice fishing. Will report back if review needs to be changed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too small for my 200' sq ft shed

,
November 1, 2014
By twilkos203
from Connecticut
" My shed is uninsulated, approximately 200 sq ft and is 12' hign at the peak. I tried using this heater on a 45 degree windy day with all doors closed and it really didn't warm up the shed at all. I'm going to return it and exchange it for the Big Buddy 18,000 btu heater that has a blower. I think the blower will make a big difference. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertNovember 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and review! The MH18B, Big Buddy, will be a much better heater in your application. The MH9BX is good for 200 square feet on the high end, but not big enough for any more than that. The Big Buddy will be much better for you. Thanks again for the feedback!Enerco
Review 11 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater

,
October 15, 2014
By ejohn123
from Minneapolis, MN
" The Mr Heater portable buddy that I purchased at Northern Tool was priced right, arrived on time and has worked as expected since I received it. This is the third Mr Heater product I have used in recent years and they all have worked up to my expectations. I'm full y satisfied. Thanx!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater.

,
November 3, 2013
By kkm5862
from Northeast tx
" Bought for a camping weekend in NE Tx. Low was 40 degrees and this was almost too much heat in our tent. Part of the night only used the pilot light. When it got really chilly the heater did fine on low. We use a fleece blanket to sleep between and layers of blankets under us. Also wear layers and a hat to keep in body heat. Standard cold camping necessities. Keep the heater out if drafts and on a fairly level surface to keep the safety features from turning of the pilot. Keep at least a small ventilation path in a tent as a safety precaution. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Elevation

,
October 28, 2013
By DerekW
from Oregon
" I bought this heater. It was delivered just in time to take it on a camping trip. I fired it up at home just to make sure it was in good working condition. It heated up nicely. I went camping at 4200 feet elevation. The pilot lite started up fine but the heater would not get going at all. To say the least I froze all night! The pilot light would only stay on for about 10 seconds at a time! This heater is supposed to work at 7000 feet! Don't count on it! So much for a light little hunting heater!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertOctober 29, 2013
We apologize for the issue you are having with our MH9BX heater. The heater is intended to work at the 4,200 feet you were camping at. We would be happy to help you in our Technical Service Department. If you would like to speak with us, please call 1-800-251-0001.Enerco
Review 14 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great heater

,
September 29, 2013
By beerdranker
from broken arrow, ok
" I love this little heater
I use it in my workshop and in my little shack/cabin in the woods
the only downside is the adjustment knob/lighter feels a little on the wobbly side. takes a bit of getting used to.
other than that I'm really happy with the little heater so far. I start it on high and adjust it to low when the chill is gone. I think I will get the adapter for the big tank so I can use it for extended periods of time.
mr heater is good stuff
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertOctober 17, 2013
Thank your for your feedback! We do apologize for the fact that the knob on your unit is not sturdy. We can replace the valve control and/or knob to clear up this issue for you. You have a one year manufactures warranty from the date of purchase.

Call Mr. Heater at 1-800-251-0001!Enerco
Review 15 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Buddy

,
April 23, 2013
By deek1234
from Sunnyvale, CA
" I purchased this heater for my RV and couldn't be happier. The heater works exactly as I'd hope easily heating the RV on cold evenings. I hooked this heater up to the main propane in the RV and it works flawlessly. I got a chance to find out how rugged the heater is first hand when I knocked it off the steps of my RV and it fell to the ground. Nothing broke and only a few scratches from the trip.
Northern shipment was fast and as expected. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater, Great Price

,
April 23, 2013
By 7825
from Upper Michigan
" Best price on the Internet, very fast shipping. I use this for heating my Ice Shanty works so well I can just use the pilot light after initial warm up! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool heat

,
April 23, 2013
By awyogal
from Evanston, WY
" We purchased the heater a couple of years ago and have really enjoyed it. I ordered the accessories to hook it up to a large bottle and that is real handy if I am at a craft show outside. The portability is the best part of it though. It is great for hunting, picnicing, snowmobiling,etc. We have done that and more. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

,
April 23, 2013
By Shupedogg
from Smithfield, UT
" Works great for emergency heating and when you need a little more warmth in the tent when camping with the family. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Heater

,
April 23, 2013
By Jeff0
from Lancaster, PA
" I own both the Buddy and Big Buddy Heaters, and I love them both. This heater is especially great for smaller areas and for just tossing int he back of the truck to bring with. The life from the propane cylinders is excellent, and it warms up my race trailer quite nicely on cold nights. I take it with me to all races early and late in the season. And I use it in to heat my garage when I work on the car in the winter. love this little heater. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome

,
January 14, 2013
By Scorpio262
from Alamo City Texas
" I have had my little Buddy for 3 yrs now and not 1 single problem, works every time use it camping and in my hunting blind... Thinking of purchasing another, you would never go wrong with this heater "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.