Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

"Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

Item# 173690
"Use this portable heater anywhere you need a blast of heat. Great for tents, campers, RVs, hunting, fishing, workshops, garages, cabins and more. Two heat settings produce 4000 or 9000 BTU, heating a 200 sq. ft. area. Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Igniter Pilot light, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Heat Settings 2, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Blower Included No, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Needs Direct Venting No, Thermostat Included No, Category Type Radiant heat, Heating Capability sq. ft. 200, Remote Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 x 13 x 15, BTU Output 9,000. Lightweight and easy to carry with fold-down handle for compact storage Uses 1-lb. or 20-lb. propane tank neither included Provides 3 to 6 hours of heat with 1-lb. propane cylinder and 48 to 110 hours with a 20-lb. tank Swivel out feature for easy connection to liquid propane cylinder and hose Automatic low oxygen safety shut-off Accidental tip-over shut-off for added safety CSA certified Not for sale in MA"
Average Customer Rating:
4.772 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(254 Reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (254 reviews)
5 stars
211
4 stars
37
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
248 of 254(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Review 1 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good little Heater

,
February 10, 2016
By
from Vermont
Bought this to use as auxiliary heat in our 21' RV. The unit is more frugal on propane and very quiet since it has no fan.
Low setting will get things toasty in about 30 mins when temp outside is below freezing. Will run for hours on a one lb LP bottle.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater

,
January 14, 2016
By
from dallas tx
awesome heater puts out more heat than I will ever need.
a little stubborn to start first time but after that simple..would buy again
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
January 14, 2016
By
from Brunswick Ga
I love this thing! Use it in my shop and in my hunting blind. Keeps you nice and toasty!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Useful and Practical Heater

,
January 13, 2016
By
from New York, NY
This is a good heater for the money, and it makes a big difference on cold nights. I use it on my sailboats for instant heat and in just a few minutes, it warms it up from the very low thirties to fifty degrees F. If I let it run it will get warmer but usually there's no need to. I have used on nights as cold as 12 F and it worked fine even on low.
Northern Tool did a great job getting it out quickly; It arrived sooner than expected. It was well packaged and there was no damage.
Having said how happy I am with it, there are a few things to be aware of. First, you get what you pay for and this a great heater for the money. Having said that, it isn't perfect. The low oxygen sensor works, but sometimes it is a little wonky to get started again. I found the quickest way to restart it is to open the hatch, and start it outside, then bring it back in. Also, if I leave the hatch open just a very small amount, it seems to heat more efficiently (It reminds me of my VW Beetle and opening the vent window just a hair).
Moving the heater can be done while it is lit, but one must be gentle. If you move it too quickly, the pilot light will go out. Once I slowed down a little, moving it is rarely an issue.
The manual suggests six hours on low. I am not sure if this is the case, although it does seem to be somewhat close to that. This week I will attempt to time it and see what the actual times are.
The propane cylinder will sweat quite a bit as it gets towards empty. Be careful what you set it on as there will be a puddle.
The heat is good heat, but it is very directional; towards the front and equally up. I am experimenting with a small fan, but not directly pointing onto the face of the heater. This should help a bit and I will update this along with my burn times.
Finally, propane heat is a "wet" heat. I get condensation in the boat. Leaving the hatch open a bit helps and the fan I mentioned in the previous paragraph will help a lot. I am getting a solid fuel stove that will solve the problem, but I will continue to use this for instant heat while the coal, wood, pellets, etc. heat up.
In summation, it is a very worthwhile investment and heats well. It is a good value.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent backup heat

,
January 12, 2016
By
from Winchester, IN
I use this to heat my garage for projects or as backup heat for a greenhouse. It heats a medium sized room OK. It burns through the small cylinders in a couple of hours, so I do hook it up to a grill sized cylinder.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heat source when power is out

,
January 9, 2016
By
from Spokane WA
Product worked flawlessly. Put out lots of heat and kept home warm during long term power outage.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought this because everyone else had it

,
January 8, 2016
By
from McKinney, Tx
I bought this to keep us warm while watching my oldest daughter play HS Soccer. As freshman parents, we were unprepared the first season but the parents of upperclassmen all had this heater - or some version of it. We bought it because they all had it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
January 3, 2016
By
from Greenville,Ca.
I keep a buddy heater at my house for when the power goes out in the winter....which it does quite often where I live in the mountains.It is safe to use indoors , with many safety features. It is enough to keep my little house warm . I love my buddy heater. I have told my friends about this heater so that they could get one too.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable Buddy Propane Heater

,
December 14, 2015
By
from Indiana
I first encountered the Portable Buddy Propane Heater on a sailboat charter. On chilly mornings I would fire up the heater and in a matter of minutes it would have the entire cabin toasty warm. I found the heater easy to operate and intuitive in nature. After returning from the charter I immediately bought the same unit to have at home to heat the garage and workshop when needed. I can't say enough good things about this little dynamo of a heater.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
December 14, 2015
By
from San Diego
My Wife has suffered a "Spinal Cord Injury" and the cold really causes her a lot of nerve pain. Purchasing and using this heater has helped her a great deal. I just turn it on prior to any activities out of her hospital bed and within five minutes, she can feel the warmth. It's surprising the amount of heat even on the low setting. This is a very wise choice for providing warmth to your loved ones. You can't go wrong with this heater. It's a wise choice. I believe we will experience many years of warmth from our heater.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
December 12, 2015
By
from Jacksonville Florida
Bought this to use in my garage and what a great little heater it is. Heats up a good size area around the work bench keeping me comfortable. I use the 1lb cylinders but it can be used with the adapter to hook up the 20 lb cylinders. By it you won't regret it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall pretty good

,
December 4, 2015
By
from Charlotte, NC
I got this because of the reviews of people saying that if you tent camp in fall/winter you have to have this. I love to go camping when its cool outside and my wife does not like the cold. to combat this I bought the portable buddy to heat up our tent and make the experience enjoyable for her. there are four of us, two kids 10 and 8. we just went to a campsite on thanksgiving week. temps were down in the high 30's at night. Ive got a huge 12x15 cabin style eureka tent with a partition. plan was to put the air mattresses on one half and use the partition so the heater didn't have to heat the whole place. the good...
-this heater will not bring temps back to normal houses but will knock the coolness out of the air... my 10 year old slept in boxers.
-looks good and worked efficiently.
-nice orange glow is pleasant and relaxing to sit around.
the bad...
-reviews say that a 1lb. propane can will last 6 hrs. on low and 3-4 hrs. on high... NOT TRUE. one can lasted me 4 hrs. on low repeatedly through the night... I started at 630pm and changed cans at 1030, 230 and 630 like clock work.
-when its on low, its kinda noisy like the flame is flickering and about to go out. especially noisy when its about to run out of fuel. its seems its most natural function is to run high. quiet and efficient at that level.
-the propane can will freeze up on you with nearly a thick layer of literally snow on the outside of the can which can be uncomfortable to handle at 230am.
all that said. I wouldn't trade this thing if for nothing. just pointing out the goods and bads. the product is well worth it. I plan to get the hose extension that connects to a 20lb propane tank (like the one on your grill). make sure you get the hose with a filter on it. using the big tank will eliminate changing the bottles out and will allow me to run it on high. had I run the heater on high all night I think the tent would have been more than toasty. was commenting to my wife that you could use the heater a lot of places like at a soccer game or just hangin on the back porch on a chilly night.
highly recommended!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable buddy heater

,
December 3, 2015
By
from TX
The heater is light, efficient, and goes anywhere! Went ahead and ordered the carry bag as we'll
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Valve Sticks

,
November 13, 2015
By
from Atlanta
The old version of this with a separate plunger button for the igniter is great. I have been using one for many years.
The new version with the igniter plunger button combined with the gas valve is not great. After the unit heats up the valve knob sticks and will not turn at all in either direction.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertNovember 16, 2015
Thank you for your review. Please call us at 1-800-251-0001. We would like to take a look at this heater and replace it for you. Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best little heater I ever Owned

,
November 10, 2015
By
from New Jersey
Heater was easy to set up with the extended hose and filter. I hooked it to barbeque grill tank and installed it in a greenhouse with the tank outside. It works perfectly. We can leave one of the windows cracked open for ventilation and it still gets quite warm in there.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buddy heater

,
September 23, 2015
By
from Indiana
Well built in America. Well thought out design. Zero clearance wall mountable; 30" above, 6" to each side, 0" to wall & floor.
I am using the smallest version in a 5 x 10 ice fishing hut. The pilot alone will raise room temp. 20 degrees, low setting 35 degrees, high setting will drive you out.
I use a 20 lb. grill tank with the F273704 PLASTIC hose with no filter or regulator. If you use a rubber hose, oil from the rubber hose will leach from the hose and form a tar in the hot burner orifice and render the heater useless.
With common sense care and once a year minor cleaning, this heater should last 20 years.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good power outage heater

,
February 23, 2015
By
from Small Town, TN
Last week we had an ice storm and the house power failed. For seven hours we relied on this little heater to keep our den warm where we sat on the couch listening to the radio and passing the time. Room temp was ~67F to start with and the room temp climbed a little to ~68F with this heater on low.
It won't heat a cold house but it kept the chills away for a few hours no problem. It was a nice neat little package for an "emergency". No odors like kerosene (my fall back heater if the power stayed out for days and if the house got really cold). No splashed fuel or leaks.
I also use this little gas heater in the garage on cold evenings. I sit it right on the work bench and it gets the job done.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Portable Buddy

,
January 14, 2015
By
from Reno, NV`
For the money spent, I think this little prortable heater is the "cat's meow". I am using in a Sprinter van for camping and it will keep the inside of the van very comforatable for our cool ights camping in the Sierra Mountains. Even in the summer, temperatures drop to 25-30 degrees at night and even with the insulation in the van, my wife, my two pugs and I get a little cool before daybreak.
I look forward to using it this spring......
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater

,
December 28, 2014
By
from Huckaby Texas
An excellent buy for what it can do
Will easily hear a 10x10 room and keeps the chill out
Very quiet, we use them in our deer blinds and will run you out heat wise if ran on hi
Very quite and small propane bottles will last up to 2 hours
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Portable Buddy

,
December 21, 2014
By
from Fuquay Varina, NC
Bought this heater to use at my work bench in my garage and in our RV.. It heats up the area very quickly, it's very light and easy to move around, and it's easy to operate. I ordered it online via Northerns website and had it shipped to my nearby store for pickup. No problems at all.
It has exceeded my expectations.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.