Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

"Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

Item# 173690
"Use this portable heater anywhere you need a blast of heat. Great for tents, campers, RVs, hunting, fishing, workshops, garages, cabins and more. Two heat settings produce 4000 or 9000 BTU, heating a 200 sq. ft. area. Blower Included No, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Thermostat Included No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 200, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Category Type Radiant heat, BTU Output 9,000, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 x 13 x 15, Heat Settings 2, Igniter Pilot light, Needs Direct Venting No, Remote Included No. Lightweight and easy to carry with fold-down handle for compact storage Uses 1-lb. or 20-lb. propane tank neither included Provides 3 to 6 hours of heat with 1-lb. propane cylinder and 48 to 110 hours with a 20-lb. tank Swivel out feature for easy connection to liquid propane cylinder and hose Automatic low oxygen safety shut-off Accidental tip-over shut-off for added safety CSA certified Not for sale in MA"
Average Customer Rating:
4.777 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(229 Reviews) 229
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (229 reviews)
5 stars
190
4 stars
34
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
224 of 229(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Review 21 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane heater

,
October 17, 2011
By Possumrod
from Catawba,S.C.
" Excellent product. I use it mainly for hunting in duck and deer blinds. I would recommend this product to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
December 4, 2010
By bravodeltatango
from KY
" I used one of these during deer season to heat my 25 foot camper. It used less gas than the onboard forced air furnace and didn't run my batteries down. It was 20 degrees out and I had to open a roof vent! Woundn't have believed that this thing would have worked so well. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My hunting buddy

,
January 19, 2012
By Wolf99
from North Mississippi
" I take mine with me everytime I go hunting. It works great. No more sitting cold for me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best little heater ever!

,
January 18, 2012
By Bestever
from chvinc@hotmail.com
" I have to say this little heater is the best! From Ice Shacks to utility heat in the garage to emeregency heat, this fits all small purpose needs. Easy to operate and quality made! I really can't say enough great things about this heater. Several friends also have them and I have not heard a single complaint. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value, Great heater

,
January 18, 2012
By Tmeier
from Argyle, WI
" I was shocked at how much heat was produced by this heater. I worked great for short usages and for extended periods. It is compact and easy to use for fishing, hunting or working in a garage, while producing heat where you need it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love My Mr. Buddy

,
January 17, 2012
By duggan1
from Reno, NV
" We have an RV...we could do without our Mr. Buddy, but it would be tough. The operation system is so simple even my wife does not mind using it! In fact, if my wife wasn't married to me she would ask Mr. Buddy for his hand! We love our Mr. Buddy! The heat generated immediately after clicking the pilot on is so much appreciated. It is perfect for "taking the edge off" of a cold night/morning. You will not regret this investment! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm and cozy in the hill country

,
January 17, 2012
By westtexashunter
from Edwards County Tx
" I have both the buddy heater and the big buddy heater. I use them (only one at a time) with the 12' hose to heat my hunting cabin. These heaters work great on cold nights to keep my shack warm. I very seldom run one over the low setting unless it is in the lower 20's
Easy to use, and very clean burning. Occaisionally they will go out if hit by a breeze, but I think that is the O2 sensor "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By BRoy
from Baltimore, MD
" We used this in an old, drafty pop-up camper during 30 degree nights and it kept the camper warm. We also use it to quickly heat a room at deer camp and it never lets us down.
Get the hose and regulator adapter and you can run this off of a 20 pound tank. It works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hunters Dream

,
January 17, 2012
By doityourselfer55
from Marion, Il
" Used this product in my tree stand box. Worked wonderfully. Was ale to shed many layers and stay super warm. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mr. Buddy

,
January 17, 2012
By jds81155
from Mineola, TX
" I like the safety features, especially when used in a small area. It heats great but uses quite a lot of fuel. I suggest getting a 5 lb cylinder instead of 1 lb size so it does not have to be changed daily in cold weather or run out in the middle of the night. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little heater

,
January 16, 2012
By boweevil
from wetumpka,al
" This is a very easy to operate heater.compact and portable. Can be used inside or outside will warm a large room with a minimal amount of gas. Very economical. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and safe heater

,
March 14, 2011
By happycampers
from Santa Paula, CA
" I have to say I was concerned at first buying a propane heater indoors, but the Heater Buddy did the trick! It was easy to use, great instructions on using in and out doors, and it was safe so I didn't stay awake all night worrying! It kept the chill off the tipi that we rented and we were able to get it warmed up in a hurry on high and then set it to the low setting. If I was in a bigger space, I would have needed the larger one with 2 tanks, but this one is nice a portable and you just have to change out the tank more often. I will be buying the adapter with the hose to a large tank in the future. Great product, durable and does what it says! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater Boat Buddy

,
November 25, 2010
By Serenisea
from San Rafael, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" We bought a Mr. Heater Buddy (single propane canister) from Northern Tool last winter to use on our 37 foot sailboat. It really takes the chill off and is very safe to take inside the boat. We first saw one on our friend's boat, and it worked so well, we had to have one. I highly recommend it, and Northern Tool has the best price we found--internet or bricks & sticks retail! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the right heater

,
May 31, 2010
By JaBoy
from Mansfield, Connecticut
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I have a rather cool bedroom in the dead of winter. I purchased the Mr. Heater unit to take the chill off. With it's Hi and Lo settings it makes a big difference. The small LP bottles only last 2 hours so I purchased the extension hose and use my 20lb Grill bottle in the winter. I do get a little order so I plug in a sented candle and it takes the odor away. For the money it's a good buy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for those cold days in the garage

,
January 18, 2012
By Scaleguy
from Portland, Oregon
" I have had one of these Mr. Heater Buddy heaters for about 3 years now. I have used it while fishing, camping, and working on cars. This thing is great! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 17, 2012
By cw86
from Rolla MO
" I purchased this product to heat a small workshop, heater does a great job and gives off little if any odor. Small bottles last as long as advertised, haven't not used with a bigger bottle. Would recommend to anyone looking for a small portable heater that is user friendly. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mr heater buddy heater

,
January 17, 2012
By huntergirl
from Bridgman, MI
" I love this mr heater buddy heater. I use it in a 4x6 hunting blind in Michigan and it keeps me toasty warm. It's easy to light , doesn't make noise and is lightweight enough to carry, even with a propane canister. I wouldn't dream of hunting without it. Yeah, I'm a girl and this girl doesn't like to hunt cold. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heater

,
January 17, 2012
By jvr001
from northern WI
" I use this in my enclosed deer stand and camping it is effective and quiet "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buddy Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By dakotaboy
from Forman, North Dakota
" I bought this heater to use in our deer hunting shack, which is 6'x10'. Even on 0 degree days we had to turn it to low after we got the shack warmed up. I bought the optional hose to hook up to a 20 pound LP tank. We use our hunting shack for about 2 weeks and we would go through too many small bottles. So if you plan on using it a lot and have room for the 20 # tank i suggest buying the hose for the big tank. I also use the heater ice fishing in a 4x8 flip up with a cheap tarp for a covering. On 20-30 degree days it keeps us warm on just low, but colder than 20 we usually keep it on high and does a great job. We just use the small bottles in the fish house because of the small area.
If you use it on high a lot make sure the carry handle is folded back, I didn't and the handle started rippling from the heat.
Overall this is a great little heater and well worth the price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

handy and very easy to carry

,
January 17, 2012
By iride
from Alabama
" We travel alot in an r.v. when at varius events our mr.buddy heater is at our sides.It is compact and easy to carry and very warm ..people always crowd around us just to get warm..(.We love it ,at ballgames ) "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.