Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

"Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

Item# 173690
"Use this portable heater anywhere you need a blast of heat. Great for tents, campers, RVs, hunting, fishing, workshops, garages, cabins and more. Two heat settings produce 4000 or 9000 BTU, heating a 200 sq. ft. area. Thermostat Included No, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Igniter Pilot light, BTU Output 9,000, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Heat Settings 2, Category Type Radiant heat, Heating Capability sq. ft. 200, Remote Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 x 13 x 15, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Needs Direct Venting No, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Blower Included No. Lightweight and easy to carry with fold-down handle for compact storage Uses 1-lb. or 20-lb. propane tank neither included Provides 3 to 6 hours of heat with 1-lb. propane cylinder and 48 to 110 hours with a 20-lb. tank Swivel out feature for easy connection to liquid propane cylinder and hose Automatic low oxygen safety shut-off Accidental tip-over shut-off for added safety CSA certified Not for sale in MA"
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(238 Reviews) 238
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (238 reviews)
5 stars
199
4 stars
34
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
233 of 238(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Review 21 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane heater

,
October 17, 2011
By Possumrod
from Catawba,S.C.
" Excellent product. I use it mainly for hunting in duck and deer blinds. I would recommend this product to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
December 4, 2010
By bravodeltatango
from KY
" I used one of these during deer season to heat my 25 foot camper. It used less gas than the onboard forced air furnace and didn't run my batteries down. It was 20 degrees out and I had to open a roof vent! Woundn't have believed that this thing would have worked so well. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My hunting buddy

,
January 19, 2012
By Wolf99
from North Mississippi
" I take mine with me everytime I go hunting. It works great. No more sitting cold for me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best little heater ever!

,
January 18, 2012
By Bestever
from chvinc@hotmail.com
" I have to say this little heater is the best! From Ice Shacks to utility heat in the garage to emeregency heat, this fits all small purpose needs. Easy to operate and quality made! I really can't say enough great things about this heater. Several friends also have them and I have not heard a single complaint. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value, Great heater

,
January 18, 2012
By Tmeier
from Argyle, WI
" I was shocked at how much heat was produced by this heater. I worked great for short usages and for extended periods. It is compact and easy to use for fishing, hunting or working in a garage, while producing heat where you need it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love My Mr. Buddy

,
January 17, 2012
By duggan1
from Reno, NV
" We have an RV...we could do without our Mr. Buddy, but it would be tough. The operation system is so simple even my wife does not mind using it! In fact, if my wife wasn't married to me she would ask Mr. Buddy for his hand! We love our Mr. Buddy! The heat generated immediately after clicking the pilot on is so much appreciated. It is perfect for "taking the edge off" of a cold night/morning. You will not regret this investment! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm and cozy in the hill country

,
January 17, 2012
By westtexashunter
from Edwards County Tx
" I have both the buddy heater and the big buddy heater. I use them (only one at a time) with the 12' hose to heat my hunting cabin. These heaters work great on cold nights to keep my shack warm. I very seldom run one over the low setting unless it is in the lower 20's
Easy to use, and very clean burning. Occaisionally they will go out if hit by a breeze, but I think that is the O2 sensor "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By BRoy
from Baltimore, MD
" We used this in an old, drafty pop-up camper during 30 degree nights and it kept the camper warm. We also use it to quickly heat a room at deer camp and it never lets us down.
Get the hose and regulator adapter and you can run this off of a 20 pound tank. It works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hunters Dream

,
January 17, 2012
By doityourselfer55
from Marion, Il
" Used this product in my tree stand box. Worked wonderfully. Was ale to shed many layers and stay super warm. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mr. Buddy

,
January 17, 2012
By jds81155
from Mineola, TX
" I like the safety features, especially when used in a small area. It heats great but uses quite a lot of fuel. I suggest getting a 5 lb cylinder instead of 1 lb size so it does not have to be changed daily in cold weather or run out in the middle of the night. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little heater

,
January 16, 2012
By boweevil
from wetumpka,al
" This is a very easy to operate heater.compact and portable. Can be used inside or outside will warm a large room with a minimal amount of gas. Very economical. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and safe heater

,
March 14, 2011
By happycampers
from Santa Paula, CA
" I have to say I was concerned at first buying a propane heater indoors, but the Heater Buddy did the trick! It was easy to use, great instructions on using in and out doors, and it was safe so I didn't stay awake all night worrying! It kept the chill off the tipi that we rented and we were able to get it warmed up in a hurry on high and then set it to the low setting. If I was in a bigger space, I would have needed the larger one with 2 tanks, but this one is nice a portable and you just have to change out the tank more often. I will be buying the adapter with the hose to a large tank in the future. Great product, durable and does what it says! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater Boat Buddy

,
November 25, 2010
By Serenisea
from San Rafael, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" We bought a Mr. Heater Buddy (single propane canister) from Northern Tool last winter to use on our 37 foot sailboat. It really takes the chill off and is very safe to take inside the boat. We first saw one on our friend's boat, and it worked so well, we had to have one. I highly recommend it, and Northern Tool has the best price we found--internet or bricks & sticks retail! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the right heater

,
May 31, 2010
By JaBoy
from Mansfield, Connecticut
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I have a rather cool bedroom in the dead of winter. I purchased the Mr. Heater unit to take the chill off. With it's Hi and Lo settings it makes a big difference. The small LP bottles only last 2 hours so I purchased the extension hose and use my 20lb Grill bottle in the winter. I do get a little order so I plug in a sented candle and it takes the odor away. For the money it's a good buy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Portable Buddy

,
January 14, 2015
By rg500nut
from Reno, NV`
" For the money spent, I think this little prortable heater is the "cat's meow". I am using in a Sprinter van for camping and it will keep the inside of the van very comforatable for our cool ights camping in the Sierra Mountains. Even in the summer, temperatures drop to 25-30 degrees at night and even with the insulation in the van, my wife, my two pugs and I get a little cool before daybreak.
I look forward to using it this spring...... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater

,
December 28, 2014
By Cjarp22
from Huckaby Texas
" An excellent buy for what it can do
Will easily hear a 10x10 room and keeps the chill out
Very quiet, we use them in our deer blinds and will run you out heat wise if ran on hi
Very quite and small propane bottles will last up to 2 hours
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for those cold days in the garage

,
January 18, 2012
By Scaleguy
from Portland, Oregon
" I have had one of these Mr. Heater Buddy heaters for about 3 years now. I have used it while fishing, camping, and working on cars. This thing is great! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 17, 2012
By cw86
from Rolla MO
" I purchased this product to heat a small workshop, heater does a great job and gives off little if any odor. Small bottles last as long as advertised, haven't not used with a bigger bottle. Would recommend to anyone looking for a small portable heater that is user friendly. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mr heater buddy heater

,
January 17, 2012
By huntergirl
from Bridgman, MI
" I love this mr heater buddy heater. I use it in a 4x6 hunting blind in Michigan and it keeps me toasty warm. It's easy to light , doesn't make noise and is lightweight enough to carry, even with a propane canister. I wouldn't dream of hunting without it. Yeah, I'm a girl and this girl doesn't like to hunt cold. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heater

,
January 17, 2012
By jvr001
from northern WI
" I use this in my enclosed deer stand and camping it is effective and quiet "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.