Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

"Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

Item# 173690
"Use this portable heater anywhere you need a blast of heat. Great for tents, campers, RVs, hunting, fishing, workshops, garages, cabins and more. Two heat settings produce 4000 or 9000 BTU, heating a 200 sq. ft. area. Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Igniter Pilot light, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Heat Settings 2, Blower Included No, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Needs Direct Venting No, Thermostat Included No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 200, Remote Included No, Category Type Radiant heat, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 x 13 x 15, BTU Output 9,000. Lightweight and easy to carry with fold-down handle for compact storage Uses 1-lb. or 20-lb. propane tank neither included Provides 3 to 6 hours of heat with 1-lb. propane cylinder and 48 to 110 hours with a 20-lb. tank Swivel out feature for easy connection to liquid propane cylinder and hose Automatic low oxygen safety shut-off Accidental tip-over shut-off for added safety CSA certified Not for sale in MA"
Average Customer Rating:
4.772 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(254 Reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (254 reviews)
5 stars
211
4 stars
37
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
248 of 254(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Review 21 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool heat

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Evanston, WY
We purchased the heater a couple of years ago and have really enjoyed it. I ordered the accessories to hook it up to a large bottle and that is real handy if I am at a craft show outside. The portability is the best part of it though. It is great for hunting, picnicing, snowmobiling,etc. We have done that and more.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life saver when power goes out in sub zero weather

,
January 16, 2012
By
from Northern, NY
Living in Northen NY our temps can get below -20 and the power can be out for hours or even days if we get a ice storm. I bought this heater for a quick emergency heat supply for my family for times when I'm at work and I can not be at home to hook up the generator. Sure it's not meant to be a long term heats source but I will say it can keep a room heated for hours with no issue. On 1/13/12 we had a ice storm hit and we heated a 12x20 foot room with the heater and once the heater was turned on the room raised three degrees with in 20 minutes of being turned on high setting. With in the month I plan to purchase two of the big buddies set up to run off two 20 lb. tanks to heat two different areas of the house for emergency heat if needed.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Heater!

,
January 18, 2012
By
from Blackfoot, Idaho
I purchased this heater as a supplemental heater for my fifth wheel camp trailer. When camping, the camper's furnace will deplete the battery very quickly, so we needed a source of heat that would keep us warm each night. The Buddy Portable Heater fits the bill perfectly and keeps us warm on those cold nights. It will operate nearly all night on a small propane cylinder and it can be connected to the main gas line on the trailer through an adapter hose. It has an anti-tip safety device to turn the heater off in case it tips over but the heater has a good base and will not tip over easily. The bottom line is that the Buddy Portable Heater is a great little heater and has performed well for our needs.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love My Mr. Buddy

,
January 17, 2012
By
from Reno, NV
We have an RV...we could do without our Mr. Buddy, but it would be tough. The operation system is so simple even my wife does not mind using it! In fact, if my wife wasn't married to me she would ask Mr. Buddy for his hand! We love our Mr. Buddy! The heat generated immediately after clicking the pilot on is so much appreciated. It is perfect for "taking the edge off" of a cold night/morning. You will not regret this investment!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect little heater

,
January 17, 2012
By
from Mpls., MN
This heater has worked awesome for me for 4 years now. It will heat for a good 5 hours on a 1 pound cylinder. Just screw on a cylinder or use a hose with a 20 lb. tank and it will run for 5 days straight! I use it mostly in my portable fish house, and I never even smell the exhaust fumes. Its durable, reliable and I recommend it to anyone that wants a good product for their money.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice portable heater

,
November 5, 2011
By
from New Jersey
I purchased this heater primarily for when I have to work in the garage during the winter months. I'll also use it for camping, and for emergency use. The unit is well made, is easy to use, gives off quite a bit of heat, and very safe to use. The propane canisters can be gotten fairly cheap, in the camping/fishing dept. at major discount department stores.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane heater

,
October 17, 2011
By
from Catawba,S.C.
Excellent product. I use it mainly for hunting in duck and deer blinds. I would recommend this product to anyone.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
December 4, 2010
By
from KY
I used one of these during deer season to heat my 25 foot camper. It used less gas than the onboard forced air furnace and didn't run my batteries down. It was 20 degrees out and I had to open a roof vent! Woundn't have believed that this thing would have worked so well.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater Boat Buddy

,
November 25, 2010
By
from San Rafael, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
We bought a Mr. Heater Buddy (single propane canister) from Northern Tool last winter to use on our 37 foot sailboat. It really takes the chill off and is very safe to take inside the boat. We first saw one on our friend's boat, and it worked so well, we had to have one. I highly recommend it, and Northern Tool has the best price we found--internet or bricks & sticks retail!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater

,
January 14, 2016
By
from dallas tx
awesome heater puts out more heat than I will ever need.
a little stubborn to start first time but after that simple..would buy again
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My hunting buddy

,
January 19, 2012
By
from North Mississippi
I take mine with me everytime I go hunting. It works great. No more sitting cold for me.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value, Great heater

,
January 18, 2012
By
from Argyle, WI
I was shocked at how much heat was produced by this heater. I worked great for short usages and for extended periods. It is compact and easy to use for fishing, hunting or working in a garage, while producing heat where you need it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm and cozy in the hill country

,
January 17, 2012
By
from Edwards County Tx
I have both the buddy heater and the big buddy heater. I use them (only one at a time) with the 12' hose to heat my hunting cabin. These heaters work great on cold nights to keep my shack warm. I very seldom run one over the low setting unless it is in the lower 20's
Easy to use, and very clean burning. Occaisionally they will go out if hit by a breeze, but I think that is the O2 sensor
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By
from Baltimore, MD
We used this in an old, drafty pop-up camper during 30 degree nights and it kept the camper warm. We also use it to quickly heat a room at deer camp and it never lets us down.
Get the hose and regulator adapter and you can run this off of a 20 pound tank. It works great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hunters Dream

,
January 17, 2012
By
from Marion, Il
Used this product in my tree stand box. Worked wonderfully. Was ale to shed many layers and stay super warm.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mr. Buddy

,
January 17, 2012
By
from Mineola, TX
I like the safety features, especially when used in a small area. It heats great but uses quite a lot of fuel. I suggest getting a 5 lb cylinder instead of 1 lb size so it does not have to be changed daily in cold weather or run out in the middle of the night.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wagons ho!

,
January 17, 2012
By
from austin,tx
we keep one of these under the seat in the horse drawn wagon for the cold days on the trail. really make a difference in what would be a miserable ride due to freezing, rainly weather. several people have added them to their wagons and trailers after seeing how warm everybody is on wagon 6! (Salt Grass Trailride)
thanx for keeping us toasty!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little heater

,
January 16, 2012
By
from wetumpka,al
This is a very easy to operate heater.compact and portable. Can be used inside or outside will warm a large room with a minimal amount of gas. Very economical.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and safe heater

,
March 14, 2011
By
from Santa Paula, CA
I have to say I was concerned at first buying a propane heater indoors, but the Heater Buddy did the trick! It was easy to use, great instructions on using in and out doors, and it was safe so I didn't stay awake all night worrying! It kept the chill off the tipi that we rented and we were able to get it warmed up in a hurry on high and then set it to the low setting. If I was in a bigger space, I would have needed the larger one with 2 tanks, but this one is nice a portable and you just have to change out the tank more often. I will be buying the adapter with the hose to a large tank in the future. Great product, durable and does what it says!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the right heater

,
May 31, 2010
By
from Mansfield, Connecticut
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have a rather cool bedroom in the dead of winter. I purchased the Mr. Heater unit to take the chill off. With it's Hi and Lo settings it makes a big difference. The small LP bottles only last 2 hours so I purchased the extension hose and use my 20lb Grill bottle in the winter. I do get a little order so I plug in a sented candle and it takes the odor away. For the money it's a good buy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.