Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

"Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

Item# 173690
"Use this portable heater anywhere you need a blast of heat. Great for tents, campers, RVs, hunting, fishing, workshops, garages, cabins and more. Two heat settings produce 4000 or 9000 BTU, heating a 200 sq. ft. area. Blower Included No, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Thermostat Included No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 200, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Category Type Radiant heat, BTU Output 9,000, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 x 13 x 15, Heat Settings 2, Igniter Pilot light, Needs Direct Venting No, Remote Included No. Lightweight and easy to carry with fold-down handle for compact storage Uses 1-lb. or 20-lb. propane tank neither included Provides 3 to 6 hours of heat with 1-lb. propane cylinder and 48 to 110 hours with a 20-lb. tank Swivel out feature for easy connection to liquid propane cylinder and hose Automatic low oxygen safety shut-off Accidental tip-over shut-off for added safety CSA certified Not for sale in MA"
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(230 Reviews) 230
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (230 reviews)
5 stars
191
4 stars
34
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
225 of 230(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Review 21 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater B Good

,
May 7, 2012
By Olympia
from Oak Harbor, Washington
" Use my little Mr. Heater in my motorhome when I am without electricity and want to keep the motorhome's heater from cycling. Prolongs my camping and preserves my batteries in cold weather. Good little unit. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Winter Camout

,
January 28, 2012
By Adventure1
from Lexington, KY
" I bought this unit specifically for use on this years Winter Campout. This is a trip taken every year when we expect the temperatures to plummet. Though it was not sub-zero this year the temperature did stay around freezing the whole weekend. The Heater worked great. It was the perfect size to utilize in the tent at night and in the morning (plus for the trips to the make shift latrene). The only reason I gave this 4 stars is it was a little rough on the usage of fuel. My reading on this said it would give a good 4 hours per can of fuel but I found it to be closer to 3 hours per can. Besides the fuel the unit is very stable and the safety tip switch worked as it should. I would definately recomend this product to any and all of my friends. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm

,
January 22, 2012
By wisepig0287
from Suffolk, VA
" This heater works great for me. The last time I used it it got down to 25 degress F and we stayed warm in my camper with only this heater on. I have a hose to connect it to a 25# propane tank and I have used it several times (at least 25 hours) and still have plenty of propane.
It does have a little problems with the lighter but I used a match when there are issues and it lit right up. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Have propane, will heat

,
January 20, 2012
By NT12
from Huntsville AL
" This heater was extremely easy to use, produces an even burning over its surface, and gives off heat as advertised. All you have to do is screw on the 1lb propane tank and follow the lighting instructions. The only con is the location of the Pilot setting where the pilot lights. On my unit, when the knob is directly over the Pilot position and I push down, nothing happens. I have to turn the knob slightly past this position to actually make the spark and light the pilot. This is inaccuracy in the manufacturing process. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My hunting buddy

,
January 19, 2012
By Wolf99
from North Mississippi
" I take mine with me everytime I go hunting. It works great. No more sitting cold for me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Buddy Heater

,
January 19, 2012
By Anonymous
from pa
" This has to be one of the best investments that i have made sense i have been hunting. I can now stay in my hunting blind all day and never get cold. This has to be the easy product i have ever bought to use. Simply screw propane bottle on and push the red button holding down for 30 seconds and release.After the safety feature built inside are clear of any propane fumes it will let you turn the the knob on high and enjoy the heat of this lite com pack heater. This heater is very lite and easy to carry out into the woods with you or where ever you need to carry it to "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best little heater

,
January 18, 2012
By oldguyontheriver
from motorcity
" this heater is perfect for any small heating need i currently use it to heat my hunting blind(not noisy) very easy to light seems to heat quickly and last a good amount of time on one propane cylinder i plan to buy more "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best little heater ever!

,
January 18, 2012
By Bestever
from chvinc@hotmail.com
" I have to say this little heater is the best! From Ice Shacks to utility heat in the garage to emeregency heat, this fits all small purpose needs. Easy to operate and quality made! I really can't say enough great things about this heater. Several friends also have them and I have not heard a single complaint. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little heater

,
January 18, 2012
By bnsfham
from Western Illinois
" I have had this heater for about 7 years now, and have used it for everything from heating an ice fishing shanty to thawing water pipes in my crawl space. Where it has been most handy though, is thawing out pipes in the well pit for my shallow well. It just runs and runs. I have the fuel filter and extended hose kit to run it off of a 20lb tank as well. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value, Great heater

,
January 18, 2012
By Tmeier
from Argyle, WI
" I was shocked at how much heat was produced by this heater. I worked great for short usages and for extended periods. It is compact and easy to use for fishing, hunting or working in a garage, while producing heat where you need it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Heater!

,
January 18, 2012
By Mobius
from Blackfoot, Idaho
" I purchased this heater as a supplemental heater for my fifth wheel camp trailer. When camping, the camper's furnace will deplete the battery very quickly, so we needed a source of heat that would keep us warm each night. The Buddy Portable Heater fits the bill perfectly and keeps us warm on those cold nights. It will operate nearly all night on a small propane cylinder and it can be connected to the main gas line on the trailer through an adapter hose. It has an anti-tip safety device to turn the heater off in case it tips over but the heater has a good base and will not tip over easily. The bottom line is that the Buddy Portable Heater is a great little heater and has performed well for our needs. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for those cold days in the garage

,
January 18, 2012
By Scaleguy
from Portland, Oregon
" I have had one of these Mr. Heater Buddy heaters for about 3 years now. I have used it while fishing, camping, and working on cars. This thing is great! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Propane Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By ebug
from Chino, CA
" The propane inlet for mr heater. The cylinder hangs from the fitting. Sounds scary but works well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 17, 2012
By cw86
from Rolla MO
" I purchased this product to heat a small workshop, heater does a great job and gives off little if any odor. Small bottles last as long as advertised, haven't not used with a bigger bottle. Would recommend to anyone looking for a small portable heater that is user friendly. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love My Mr. Buddy

,
January 17, 2012
By duggan1
from Reno, NV
" We have an RV...we could do without our Mr. Buddy, but it would be tough. The operation system is so simple even my wife does not mind using it! In fact, if my wife wasn't married to me she would ask Mr. Buddy for his hand! We love our Mr. Buddy! The heat generated immediately after clicking the pilot on is so much appreciated. It is perfect for "taking the edge off" of a cold night/morning. You will not regret this investment! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm and cozy in the hill country

,
January 17, 2012
By westtexashunter
from Edwards County Tx
" I have both the buddy heater and the big buddy heater. I use them (only one at a time) with the 12' hose to heat my hunting cabin. These heaters work great on cold nights to keep my shack warm. I very seldom run one over the low setting unless it is in the lower 20's
Easy to use, and very clean burning. Occaisionally they will go out if hit by a breeze, but I think that is the O2 sensor "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mr heater buddy heater

,
January 17, 2012
By huntergirl
from Bridgman, MI
" I love this mr heater buddy heater. I use it in a 4x6 hunting blind in Michigan and it keeps me toasty warm. It's easy to light , doesn't make noise and is lightweight enough to carry, even with a propane canister. I wouldn't dream of hunting without it. Yeah, I'm a girl and this girl doesn't like to hunt cold. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heater

,
January 17, 2012
By jvr001
from northern WI
" I use this in my enclosed deer stand and camping it is effective and quiet "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By BRoy
from Baltimore, MD
" We used this in an old, drafty pop-up camper during 30 degree nights and it kept the camper warm. We also use it to quickly heat a room at deer camp and it never lets us down.
Get the hose and regulator adapter and you can run this off of a 20 pound tank. It works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hunters Dream

,
January 17, 2012
By doityourselfer55
from Marion, Il
" Used this product in my tree stand box. Worked wonderfully. Was ale to shed many layers and stay super warm. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.