Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

"Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

Item# 173690
"Use this portable heater anywhere you need a blast of heat. Great for tents, campers, RVs, hunting, fishing, workshops, garages, cabins and more. Two heat settings produce 4000 or 9000 BTU, heating a 200 sq. ft. area. Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Igniter Pilot light, BTU Output 9,000, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Heat Settings 2, Category Type Radiant heat, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Needs Direct Venting No, Thermostat Included No, Blower Included No, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Heating Capability sq. ft. 200, Remote Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 x 13 x 15. Lightweight and easy to carry with fold-down handle for compact storage Uses 1-lb. or 20-lb. propane tank neither included Provides 3 to 6 hours of heat with 1-lb. propane cylinder and 48 to 110 hours with a 20-lb. tank Swivel out feature for easy connection to liquid propane cylinder and hose Automatic low oxygen safety shut-off Accidental tip-over shut-off for added safety CSA certified Not for sale in MA"
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(238 Reviews) 238
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (238 reviews)
5 stars
199
4 stars
34
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
233 of 238(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Review 21 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome

,
January 14, 2013
By Scorpio262
from Alamo City Texas
" I have had my little Buddy for 3 yrs now and not 1 single problem, works every time use it camping and in my hunting blind... Thinking of purchasing another, you would never go wrong with this heater "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

High Altitude use

,
January 14, 2013
By Steve7929
from Hillsboro,New Mexico
" If you are planning to use this heater or other ventless heaters propane heaters be aware that the manufacture and Northern Tool DOES NOT tell you unless you contact them that their use above 4500 feet elevation is NOT Recommended. These heaters are set for sea level operation and a 9000 BTU heater at 4000 feet elevation is only good for 6000 BTU. So if you are buying these heaters and heading out west beware when using them.
Contact the ventless heater manufacture to confirm their usage over 4500 feet elevation.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little Buddy

,
October 17, 2012
By CaptFixit
from Adirondacks
" This is a great little portable heater both in size and output. It's not so large that it gets in the way when set on the floor. The adjustable heat setting speeds warming and easily adjusts down as the area warms up. The spark igniter means no need for a separate lighter or matches, simply carry the unit to area to be heated and its ready to go. We never leave the unit on unattended, but it's reassuring to know it also comes equipped with low oxygen and tip over safety features. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
21out of 42found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater portable buddy covers 9000 square feet

,
October 15, 2012
By CDMB
from NC
" The heater works very well in a deer box stand keeps you warm. You have to actually turn it off for a while it gets to hot sometimes.Really do not know what it feels like in anything bigger have not tried it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best little heater!

,
October 15, 2012
By lynasita1
from Albuquerque, NM
" I bought this to hopefully extend my season in Chama, NM. I have an RV there on a half-acre that is off grid. This more than met my expectations! It warmed up 240 sq ft of space by 7 degrees in about 40 minutes on the low setting. Made the biggest difference in the morning, without having to draw on the batteries or use the blower on the furnace. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome lil' heater

,
October 15, 2012
By jonniep
from Bloomer, WI.
" I started it up out of the box. incredible little heater.
I will enjoy keeping warm in the portable ice shack this year. Very much recommended :)
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buddy Heater

,
August 20, 2012
By ja1244
from Tucson, AZ
" I have used this little gem to heat my camper in the winter for years. I recomend it to customers because it will keepy toasty all night and is far more economical than a buying a $500 built in camper furnace. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater Buddy

,
August 14, 2012
By GE66
from Grand Prairie Texas
" This was my best friend when the furnase fail in my converted garage shop last winter. Great product. Variable heat settings. Ran it off a 20 pound bottle. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater B Good

,
May 7, 2012
By Olympia
from Oak Harbor, Washington
" Use my little Mr. Heater in my motorhome when I am without electricity and want to keep the motorhome's heater from cycling. Prolongs my camping and preserves my batteries in cold weather. Good little unit. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Winter Camout

,
January 28, 2012
By Adventure1
from Lexington, KY
" I bought this unit specifically for use on this years Winter Campout. This is a trip taken every year when we expect the temperatures to plummet. Though it was not sub-zero this year the temperature did stay around freezing the whole weekend. The Heater worked great. It was the perfect size to utilize in the tent at night and in the morning (plus for the trips to the make shift latrene). The only reason I gave this 4 stars is it was a little rough on the usage of fuel. My reading on this said it would give a good 4 hours per can of fuel but I found it to be closer to 3 hours per can. Besides the fuel the unit is very stable and the safety tip switch worked as it should. I would definately recomend this product to any and all of my friends. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm

,
January 22, 2012
By wisepig0287
from Suffolk, VA
" This heater works great for me. The last time I used it it got down to 25 degress F and we stayed warm in my camper with only this heater on. I have a hose to connect it to a 25# propane tank and I have used it several times (at least 25 hours) and still have plenty of propane.
It does have a little problems with the lighter but I used a match when there are issues and it lit right up. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Have propane, will heat

,
January 20, 2012
By NT12
from Huntsville AL
" This heater was extremely easy to use, produces an even burning over its surface, and gives off heat as advertised. All you have to do is screw on the 1lb propane tank and follow the lighting instructions. The only con is the location of the Pilot setting where the pilot lights. On my unit, when the knob is directly over the Pilot position and I push down, nothing happens. I have to turn the knob slightly past this position to actually make the spark and light the pilot. This is inaccuracy in the manufacturing process. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My hunting buddy

,
January 19, 2012
By Wolf99
from North Mississippi
" I take mine with me everytime I go hunting. It works great. No more sitting cold for me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Buddy Heater

,
January 19, 2012
By Anonymous
from pa
" This has to be one of the best investments that i have made sense i have been hunting. I can now stay in my hunting blind all day and never get cold. This has to be the easy product i have ever bought to use. Simply screw propane bottle on and push the red button holding down for 30 seconds and release.After the safety feature built inside are clear of any propane fumes it will let you turn the the knob on high and enjoy the heat of this lite com pack heater. This heater is very lite and easy to carry out into the woods with you or where ever you need to carry it to "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best little heater

,
January 18, 2012
By oldguyontheriver
from motorcity
" this heater is perfect for any small heating need i currently use it to heat my hunting blind(not noisy) very easy to light seems to heat quickly and last a good amount of time on one propane cylinder i plan to buy more "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best little heater ever!

,
January 18, 2012
By Bestever
from chvinc@hotmail.com
" I have to say this little heater is the best! From Ice Shacks to utility heat in the garage to emeregency heat, this fits all small purpose needs. Easy to operate and quality made! I really can't say enough great things about this heater. Several friends also have them and I have not heard a single complaint. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little heater

,
January 18, 2012
By bnsfham
from Western Illinois
" I have had this heater for about 7 years now, and have used it for everything from heating an ice fishing shanty to thawing water pipes in my crawl space. Where it has been most handy though, is thawing out pipes in the well pit for my shallow well. It just runs and runs. I have the fuel filter and extended hose kit to run it off of a 20lb tank as well. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value, Great heater

,
January 18, 2012
By Tmeier
from Argyle, WI
" I was shocked at how much heat was produced by this heater. I worked great for short usages and for extended periods. It is compact and easy to use for fishing, hunting or working in a garage, while producing heat where you need it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Heater!

,
January 18, 2012
By Mobius
from Blackfoot, Idaho
" I purchased this heater as a supplemental heater for my fifth wheel camp trailer. When camping, the camper's furnace will deplete the battery very quickly, so we needed a source of heat that would keep us warm each night. The Buddy Portable Heater fits the bill perfectly and keeps us warm on those cold nights. It will operate nearly all night on a small propane cylinder and it can be connected to the main gas line on the trailer through an adapter hose. It has an anti-tip safety device to turn the heater off in case it tips over but the heater has a good base and will not tip over easily. The bottom line is that the Buddy Portable Heater is a great little heater and has performed well for our needs. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for those cold days in the garage

,
January 18, 2012
By Scaleguy
from Portland, Oregon
" I have had one of these Mr. Heater Buddy heaters for about 3 years now. I have used it while fishing, camping, and working on cars. This thing is great! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.