Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

"Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"

Item# 173690
"Use this portable heater anywhere you need a blast of heat. Great for tents, campers, RVs, hunting, fishing, workshops, garages, cabins and more. Two heat settings produce 4000 or 9000 BTU, heating a 200 sq. ft. area. Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Igniter Pilot light, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 6, Heat Settings 2, Clearance from Corner in. 6, Blower Included No, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Needs Direct Venting No, Thermostat Included No, Category Type Radiant heat, Heating Capability sq. ft. 200, Remote Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 x 13 x 15, BTU Output 9,000. Lightweight and easy to carry with fold-down handle for compact storage Uses 1-lb. or 20-lb. propane tank neither included Provides 3 to 6 hours of heat with 1-lb. propane cylinder and 48 to 110 hours with a 20-lb. tank Swivel out feature for easy connection to liquid propane cylinder and hose Automatic low oxygen safety shut-off Accidental tip-over shut-off for added safety CSA certified Not for sale in MA"
Average Customer Rating:
4.772 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(254 Reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (254 reviews)
5 stars
211
4 stars
37
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
248 of 254(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Review 21 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Heater

,
December 21, 2014
By
from Elmira, NY
This heater is easy to use and throws a ton of heat for a portable unit. The 1 lb propane tanks last much longer than I thought they would so this heater is economical as well. I'm very impressed with this heater's performance, looks and reliability.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hunting

,
December 20, 2014
By
from Piedmont, SC
This product is great for both my sons when they go hunting. I bought each of them one. I can't wait to give it to them on Christmas.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater

,
December 19, 2014
By
from Mount Airy,NC
Works great for small space. Have used it in my deer blind and small building. Great buy for the price. Quick delivery.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product at a Reasonable Cost

,
December 18, 2014
By
from Mansura, LA
Product generates lots of clean heat. The days of freezing in a deer stand are over for me.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mr buddy heater 9000 btu

,
December 17, 2014
By
from montegut,la.
use it in my deer stand and works great with no noise and the right amount of heat on low to be comfortable on cold days.I own two of these for same reason and very pleased.I have a 20 # bottle on each with the hose option and last two seasons easily.i would and do recommend this product to others.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good gift

,
December 3, 2014
By
from Lino Lakes, MN
I have not used this yet but I think it will be perfect. It is to be used as a gift for a relative who will most likely use it the most for ice fishing. Will report back if review needs to be changed.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too small for my 200' sq ft shed

,
November 1, 2014
By
from Connecticut
My shed is uninsulated, approximately 200 sq ft and is 12' hign at the peak. I tried using this heater on a 45 degree windy day with all doors closed and it really didn't warm up the shed at all. I'm going to return it and exchange it for the Big Buddy 18,000 btu heater that has a blower. I think the blower will make a big difference.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertNovember 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and review! The MH18B, Big Buddy, will be a much better heater in your application. The MH9BX is good for 200 square feet on the high end, but not big enough for any more than that. The Big Buddy will be much better for you. Thanks again for the feedback!Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater

,
October 15, 2014
By
from Minneapolis, MN
The Mr Heater portable buddy that I purchased at Northern Tool was priced right, arrived on time and has worked as expected since I received it. This is the third Mr Heater product I have used in recent years and they all have worked up to my expectations. I'm full y satisfied. Thanx!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater.

,
November 3, 2013
By
from Northeast tx
Bought for a camping weekend in NE Tx. Low was 40 degrees and this was almost too much heat in our tent. Part of the night only used the pilot light. When it got really chilly the heater did fine on low. We use a fleece blanket to sleep between and layers of blankets under us. Also wear layers and a hat to keep in body heat. Standard cold camping necessities. Keep the heater out if drafts and on a fairly level surface to keep the safety features from turning of the pilot. Keep at least a small ventilation path in a tent as a safety precaution.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Elevation

,
October 28, 2013
By
from Oregon
I bought this heater. It was delivered just in time to take it on a camping trip. I fired it up at home just to make sure it was in good working condition. It heated up nicely. I went camping at 4200 feet elevation. The pilot lite started up fine but the heater would not get going at all. To say the least I froze all night! The pilot light would only stay on for about 10 seconds at a time! This heater is supposed to work at 7000 feet! Don't count on it! So much for a light little hunting heater!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertOctober 29, 2013
We apologize for the issue you are having with our MH9BX heater. The heater is intended to work at the 4,200 feet you were camping at. We would be happy to help you in our Technical Service Department. If you would like to speak with us, please call 1-800-251-0001.Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great heater

,
September 29, 2013
By
from broken arrow, ok
I love this little heater
I use it in my workshop and in my little shack/cabin in the woods
the only downside is the adjustment knob/lighter feels a little on the wobbly side. takes a bit of getting used to.
other than that I'm really happy with the little heater so far. I start it on high and adjust it to low when the chill is gone. I think I will get the adapter for the big tank so I can use it for extended periods of time.
mr heater is good stuff
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertOctober 17, 2013
Thank your for your feedback! We do apologize for the fact that the knob on your unit is not sturdy. We can replace the valve control and/or knob to clear up this issue for you. You have a one year manufactures warranty from the date of purchase.

Call Mr. Heater at 1-800-251-0001!Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Buddy

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Sunnyvale, CA
I purchased this heater for my RV and couldn't be happier. The heater works exactly as I'd hope easily heating the RV on cold evenings. I hooked this heater up to the main propane in the RV and it works flawlessly. I got a chance to find out how rugged the heater is first hand when I knocked it off the steps of my RV and it fell to the ground. Nothing broke and only a few scratches from the trip.
Northern shipment was fast and as expected.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater, Great Price

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Upper Michigan
Best price on the Internet, very fast shipping. I use this for heating my Ice Shanty works so well I can just use the pilot light after initial warm up!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool heat

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Evanston, WY
We purchased the heater a couple of years ago and have really enjoyed it. I ordered the accessories to hook it up to a large bottle and that is real handy if I am at a craft show outside. The portability is the best part of it though. It is great for hunting, picnicing, snowmobiling,etc. We have done that and more.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Smithfield, UT
Works great for emergency heating and when you need a little more warmth in the tent when camping with the family.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Heater

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Lancaster, PA
I own both the Buddy and Big Buddy Heaters, and I love them both. This heater is especially great for smaller areas and for just tossing int he back of the truck to bring with. The life from the propane cylinders is excellent, and it warms up my race trailer quite nicely on cold nights. I take it with me to all races early and late in the season. And I use it in to heat my garage when I work on the car in the winter. love this little heater.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome

,
January 14, 2013
By
from Alamo City Texas
I have had my little Buddy for 3 yrs now and not 1 single problem, works every time use it camping and in my hunting blind... Thinking of purchasing another, you would never go wrong with this heater
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

High Altitude use

,
January 14, 2013
By
from Hillsboro,New Mexico
If you are planning to use this heater or other ventless heaters propane heaters be aware that the manufacture and Northern Tool DOES NOT tell you unless you contact them that their use above 4500 feet elevation is NOT Recommended. These heaters are set for sea level operation and a 9000 BTU heater at 4000 feet elevation is only good for 6000 BTU. So if you are buying these heaters and heading out west beware when using them.
Contact the ventless heater manufacture to confirm their usage over 4500 feet elevation.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little Buddy

,
October 17, 2012
By
from Adirondacks
This is a great little portable heater both in size and output. It's not so large that it gets in the way when set on the floor. The adjustable heat setting speeds warming and easily adjusts down as the area warms up. The spark igniter means no need for a separate lighter or matches, simply carry the unit to area to be heated and its ready to go. We never leave the unit on unattended, but it's reassuring to know it also comes equipped with low oxygen and tip over safety features.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
21out of 42found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Propane Heater - 9000 BTU, Model# MH9BX"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater portable buddy covers 9000 square feet

,
October 15, 2012
By
from NC
The heater works very well in a deer box stand keeps you warm. You have to actually turn it off for a while it gets to hot sometimes.Really do not know what it feels like in anything bigger have not tried it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.