Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Propane Torch Kit - 500,000 BTU

Propane Torch Kit - 500,000 BTU

Item# 17384
Burns weeds and stumps Heats roof materials, water and sand. Thaws pipes, heats motors, melts ice and snow. With 10-ft. hose, safety P.O.L. Valve & flame head. CSA certified. U.S.A. Max. BTU 500,000, Min. Propane Cylinder Size lbs. 20, Tank Included No, Handle Length in. 27 1/2, Hose Length ft. 10, Burner Head Single, Automatic Igniter No. For use without a regulator - connects directly to a 20-lb. or larger tank Length of Burner Head 6 1/2 in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 10(80%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Propane Torch Kit - 500,000 BTU
Review 1 for Propane Torch Kit - 500,000 BTU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works...

,
September 17, 2013
By dtrunzo
from PA
"Needed something quick and easy to kill the weeds growing in my gravel driveway. This does the job... I budgied the tank to a dolly I have and just wheel it around the driveway. Easy and quick. Does go through the propane pretty quick and it can be loud. But it does what I need it for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Propane Torch Kit - 500,000 BTU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane Torch Kit-500,000 BTU Torch Kit

,
January 16, 2012
By joseph44
from charlotte,nc
"Have used this torch to kill grass, melt snow and also to melt ice and then dry sidewalk. Is easier than shoveling and does a better job. Have been using the same propane tank for the last five jobs. I would highly recommend this product, especially for icy conditions as I do for my parents who are senior citizens."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Propane Torch Kit - 500,000 BTU
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not For Ice

,
January 16, 2012
By NewEnglandGuy
from Newington, CT
"I got the torch to de-ice a treacherous set of icy steps. With a full tank of propane and 10 degree weather, it didn't put a dent in the ice. It made it a little wet, but that was it. It will make snow disappear instantly, but who would use it for that. 500,000 btu sounds like a lot, but now I see why the railroad uses jet engines to thaw tracks...you need millions of btu to make it worth the effort.
I'm sure it works well on weeds and it does a great impersonation of the sound of a 747 taking off."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Propane Torch Kit - 500,000 BTU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane Torch Kit - Money well spent

,
June 2, 2010
By CHESML
from South Eastern MO
"Living in a rural area that is subject to more than it's share of Ice in the winter and weeds in the summer, this torch is the best I have used of the three I have owned. It handles ice up to an inch thick with ease and is very effective in removing weeds and unwanted foliage if you are trying not to use chemicals to kill the weeds. I would recommend this unit to anyone who needs the help with Ice and weed control. Overall penny for penny the best torch I have used yet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Propane Torch Kit - 500,000 BTU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

500,000 BTU Torch

,
June 1, 2010
By ruralhomeownr
from Mountains of NC
"I bought this product a number of years ago and continue to use it frequently (inspite of escalating propane prices) to burn weeds, brush, bees nests and thaw a frozen iron pipe in shallow ground. I would highly recommend this product to anyone. There is some noise associated with its use. Think of a passenger jet under full acceleration."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Propane Torch Kit - 500,000 BTU
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Propane Torch Kit

,
February 24, 2010
By Behnke
from Maine
"Very useful tool, questionable quality and way overpriced for what you get."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Propane Torch Kit - 500,000 BTU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like a jet engine

,
November 2, 2009
By JiminTX
from Houston, TX
"I bought this to burn weeds and it works great. You just need to get them hot to kill them, no need to burn them into oblivion. I go back after a couple of days when they've died to burn them up. BE CAREFUL! With the high output of this unit it would be easy to burn more than you intend to. I haven't used it to burn stumps yet but plan to.
Because this doesn't use a regulator, when you hook it up to the tank you have to follow directions and slowly open the tank valve until the line is filled and pressurized before opening it fully or the check valve in the tank will shut off the gas flow.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Propane Torch Kit - 500,000 BTU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Propane torch

,
November 2, 2009
By crawl312
from Memphis, Tn
"I like this torch as it is easy to use although a rolling cart for the tank would make things easier. Its limitation is that it cannot be used in wind and one has to be careful what is being worn. Otherwise it works well."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Propane Torch Kit - 500,000 BTU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Propane torch kit

,
March 7, 2007
By Jamesbo
from Kingston., N.H.
"I have wanted one of these for years, because I needed something, other than salt or other melting substances, to clear ice from walkways in the Winter. I needed to keep a walkway clear for Emergency personnel to safely access my house. I "guessed" at which torch to purchase because I was unfamiliar with using them. The product descriptions in the catalog provided enough information to make that guess - just how many BTU's heat did I want. This torch does exactly what I wanted. I'm still learning how to use the torch effeiciently, but this doesn't prevent me from saying it's what I've needed all these years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Propane Torch Kit - 500,000 BTU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
March 7, 2007
By Rockman
from Blue Ridge Summit, PA
"This torch kit is an excellent product, great workmanship and design. I would recommend it to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.