Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"

"Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"

Item# 173850
"Fully assembled and ready to go, the Weed Dragon is ideal for use around the home and garden. Homeowners can now kill weeds, or melt ice, safely and naturally - without exposing children or pets to chemicals Kit includes a 27in. torch with plastic grip, flame adjusting needle valve, hand-tighten P.O.L. fitting and spark lighter. CSA certified. Not for use with disposable cylinder. U.S.A. Hose Length ft. 10, Max. BTU 100,000, Regulator Included Yes, Tank Included No, Burner Head Single, Handle Length in. 27 1/2, Automatic Igniter No."
Average Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Review 1 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

quality product

,
April 28, 2014
By vipernut1
from MN
"Very good product. I give it 4 stars because I think it could be a little bit longer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome piece of equipment

,
September 17, 2013
By bambam19
from Mt. Washington, KY
"Awesome product for easily getting rid of weeds. Easy to use and reliable. I have a problem with bermuda grass and this talkes care of it and the seeds for next year as well from all weeds."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home User

,
September 14, 2010
By Duggan
from Upstate South Carolina
"I purchased this product to get rid of weeds around lawn fixtures. It worked so well that I have used it to kill wild grass, ants, and other growth. I also use it to start my grill when using a wood fire. I purchased one for my brother as he kept mine too much and he is most pleased. Well made and seems to work as well after several seasons as when new."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Weed Dragon

,
August 30, 2010
By beersb
"Good product; however, since weeds will grow back more vigorously (now fertalized) I would use it as a distant starter for preplaced piles of debri. I used this product alot will working on my land."
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Weed Dragon Torch

,
May 24, 2010
By OR20175
"Product works well, is easy to use. Stubborn weeds will always return but this "flame-thrower" certainly sets them back. Actually fun to use."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Red DragonTorch

,
February 23, 2010
By Anonymous
from New Mexico mountains
"Purchased the 1000,000 BTU model. Plenty of heat for weed burning and ice melting.. Flame control squueze valve a must purchase for propane savings. Red Dragon Customner Care phone line offered prompt assistance regarding question about left/right handed threads. Torch has ample hose length and is well constructed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great multi purpose tool

,
February 16, 2010
By bridgesb1
from Stilwell, Kansas
"I purchased this torch for myself and I quickly became the neighborhood phenomenon! I intended to use this torch for garden work, because I wanted to save $ on weed killers...it has paid for itself over and over. It's a plus that I am doing the right thing by the environment by eliminating toxic chemicals. I have also used the torch to melt the snow and ice on my walkways and driveway! After my son borrowed it, I had to beg for its return! That is probably the only negative I can think of....everyone wants to borrow it....+)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not so much for snow & ice, fine for weeds

,
January 18, 2010
By BigW
from Maryland
"This seems to be a solid, well-made product. I bought the little hand cart for it to haul the cylinder around the yard and that's a good idea. I also got the little hand trigger thing, which is a sensible addition. You don't want to be constantly turning the thing on and off as you use it, and the hand trigger keeps it burning low as you are moving around the yard to the next target.
The one downside of this version is that it really isn't powerful enough to melt huge quantities of snow and ice quickly. If you are thinking you will be able to clear your driveway of 2 inches of ice without chemicals with this, think again. Maybe you could do a couple of concrete steps, but that is about it. You should probably step up to one of the larger torches if your primary interest is melting snow & ice. Of course, the bigger the torch, the more fuel it uses in operation, so if you aren't mainly looking for winter help and just want to kill weeds, this would be a better choice. This one, particularly with the hand trigger, is nice and easy on the gas.
I give the product 4 out 5 only because they advertise the ice & snow melting capabilities of it, but you really shouldn't buy this version if that is your main use. This a garden burner for killing weeds, get the red dragon for ice."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool with many uses around the yard

,
November 19, 2008
By HandyDW
from Ohio
"This product is simple to use, easy to setup, and has a multitude of uses around the yard. I've used it for all seasons to melt ice on concrete steps, to burning off weeds from a flower bed, to starting a controlled burn of brush without the use of other fuels. It something everyone should have in there tool shed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Torch Kit

,
August 11, 2008
By JR33
from Placerville, CA
"Great product and great value. Easy to use and kills weeds quick. I even use it to get rid of that pesky ivy when herbicides have no affect."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flame weed dragon torch kit

,
August 11, 2008
By daveandjanis
from in Grafton Ohio, on 6 acre mini farm
"This works great. After just a couple of times burning the weeds around deck
and walkway, weeds are gone for good! I use to pull them out by hand every
week or use Round up, but was worried about my pets. It takes a couple of minutes to get the hang of this, I lost a few annuals and scorched bottoms of a few bushes the first time! Instructions say stay 16 inches away from plants, you have to. Great product, I've already recommended it to others.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice torch

,
April 16, 2008
By yardbird
from VA. Beach, Va.
"It's easy to use and works real well on getting rid of weeds. Great alternative than useing chemicals on lawn."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Weed Dragon Slayer

,
April 14, 2008
By maintman101
from Watertown Ct
"We initially purchased the Weed Dragon for melting ice build up in our parking lot.Now its Spring and we will soon put it to use burning weeds.We bought the cylinder dolly for it (a must)and it make it a lot easier and safer.The quality of the Weed Dragon is good and it is simple to use.All in all it is a great value."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Weed Dragon Torch

,
January 14, 2008
By Groomerman
from Maine
"This product works great. I do wish it had a trigger so that it can run on low flame and then when needed you could pull trigger for maximum flame. Other than that it is a great product and saves a bunch of time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

I Never Had a Dragon Before

,
October 15, 2007
By PeterB555
from Middle of Connecticut, fairly rural, 4 acres
"So far the torch has worked great on driveway weeds and grass. Waiting for winter to see how it works on brick walkway ice and snow. I also sprang for the optional squeeze valve so it would easily blast when needed and go back to the pilot flame between weeds. It's very sturdy and well made. In fact, you feel the weight after a bit. Good to switch hands from time to time. The 100,00 BTU seems just the right amount for this purpose. For an extra thrill, I use it at dusk. The flame shows brightly and you can still see the weeds. Bright sunlight washes out the appearance of the flame, making it rather hard to see just how expansive it is."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weed dragon

,
October 15, 2007
By KE1116
from PA
"Works as advertised! pretty economical on the propane as well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit

,
July 9, 2007
By gemphdpe
from Rolla, MO
"This is an excellent product. I attached it to my propane tank and started
torching those weeds! The flame can be easily adjusted with the adjustable
needle valve. The 10 foot gas hose makes it convenient to move around the
weeding area. This product is great if you want to kill weeds and grass without
using herbicides.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does what it is supposed to do!

,
July 9, 2007
By Knuckledragger
from Ohio
"The Weed Dragon works great! We go it to use in place of spraying and it does what it is supposed to. However, weeds will come back but it is no fault of the product. Some weeds are more stuborn than others and require a bit more time to kill. Any seed that are still present in the ground or that blow in from wind will still germinate.
The product is well made and reasonably priced. I'm not sure why anyone would need more BTUs than what this thing delivers to kill weeds."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Flame Weed Dragon Torch Kit - 100,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Burn them up!

,
July 6, 2007
By BBQER
from Warwick,RI
"The Weed Dragon is the best control for weeds that I have found in 25 years of gardening! It takes a little work every 8 days or so and the weeds vanish. This also helps to control pests that use the weeds as cover and or food! I have a persistent problem with earwigs(they can devour a parsley plant in one night), but this year no worrys so far!! I highly recommend the Weed Dragon as an organic control and it also keeps weeds at bay on the patio and driveway areas. Buy one now you won't regret it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.