Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E

Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E

Item# 173896
Deluxe stove is all cast iron and features a front door with gasket, plus a spring handle and latch. Two cooking lids facilitate frying pan or teakettle. Removable slide damper makes cleaning out ashes easy and acts as a draft control. Unit has 6in. flue. This item is not for sale in CA, CO, MA, NJ, OR and WA. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Blower Included No, BTU Output 106,000, Clearance from Corner in. 36, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 36, Clearance from Side Wall in. 36, Dimensions W x D x H in. 25 x 37 x 29, Door Opening W x H in. 12 x 10 1/2, Firebox Size W x D in. 14 x 31 1/2, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Full Load Run Time Hours 6-8, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,200, Igniter Manual, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 27, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Stove, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included No, UL Not UL listed. All cast iron construction offers better heat radiation Flue Type Round Cannot be installed in mobile homes
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (35 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 of 35(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Review 1 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A little disappointed

,
September 2, 2014
By flyboy231
from Grand Rapids, Michigan
"I purchased this stove on 7/29. It arrived via freight on 8/29, which was within the time frame as stated when I purchased it. No problem so far.
I started assembling the stove the next morning. One hinge pin on the feed door was bent so it would not seat properly. I heated the pin with a propane torch and, using a set of vice grips, was able to straighten it enough to seat. After closing the feed door and turning the handle to check for proper operation, when re-opening the door, a portion of the 1/4-inch fiberglass rope gasket fell out of it's seal channel. It was just hanging down. Inspecting the gasket, I found that there had been no sealant applied to that portion of the gasket.
I called the toll free number for Vogelzang listed on a flyer included with the shipment. "Customer Service" was not an option to select from the voice menu. So I emailed Vogelzang requesting direction on how to get the gasket fixed.
The next business day, I receive a short, curt email directing me to call a different 800 number for customer service. I called that number, described the problem with the gasket and was told I needed to use hi-temp silicone to re-attach the gasket. That was it. No apology for poor QA at the factory and no offer to send me a tube of silicone to fix their defective product. I will say that, overall, the stove is of high-quality, but obviously factory QA was lacking on my unit and customer service was poor. I'll recommend the stove, but beware of potential poor customer service from the manufacturer if there is a problem with your unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
By Vogelzang Product ExpertOctober 1, 2014
I am terribly sorry for the issue you had with the bent hinge and the Silicone Sealant. I am not sure of the customer service agent you spoke with but if you would please call our care team at 800-750-2723 we will gladly send you some replacement silicone and a new seal at no charge. Please ask to speak with Lindsey or Anthony regarding this issue.Vogelzang
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heat

,
February 25, 2014
By mary52
from VT
"I have had a lot of problems with the new air tight stoves.
They seem to pollute the air more, outside and inside. So in taking a step back, I tried this stove. It keeps the house warm, I cook on it, very clean burning, the air is cleaner ,in and outside my house. I love it.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+20points
26out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little stove !

,
February 4, 2014
By Jnickname
from Central NY
"This is a great little stove. Heats my garage well. I put the grate in the bottom, seems to help the air flow. The only problem i have with it is everybody seems to want to
open it to mess with the fire !!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for smaller spaces, combined uses

,
September 17, 2013
By pinkmoody
from Georgia
"Great little stove and heater! Installed in my small cabin, I get more than enough heat and can cook on it, too. That saves even more room by combining uses and eliminating the need for a cook-top, and using the available heat-shield allows the stove to be set less than 18" from walls when properly installed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cheap Heat

,
February 7, 2013
By LetRBuck
from Eureka, NV
"I heated a 20x40 uninsulated metal shop building with one of these. I made mine more efficient with a piece of half-inch steel plate cut to cover the burners, which do not seal very well. Use some stove cement and stove paint and it looks professional."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect stove for a work shop

,
January 16, 2012
By stratford
from Shelton ,CT
"I did a lot of wood working and during the winter need a stove that didn't break the bank yet kept me warm during those cold winter days. This stove was perfect for my 30 x 30 detached shed with a vaulted ceiling it still managed to keep me toasty warm. Takes a longer log than my Vermont Castings stove and was great at thawing out my boots and gloves after a New England snow storm. I would purchase this stove with out question."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
36out of 47found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than satisfied!

,
January 11, 2012
By JeremiahJohnson
from Tennessee
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"purchased this item after much investigation and just happen to get it on sale. I am heating a single story 1500 sq ft home with this unit and couldn't be happier. I had been given a lot of pros and cons of usuing a non-airtight, cast iron stove, but I had also read elsewhere this was the most efficient of its type (the boxwood design). I love iot and so does my wife we are almost addicted to feeding and stoking it. Though the only flaw is that as stated here in other reviews, it will not burn all night without maintenance, but how many stoves do? Went from a $500+ electrical bill in the winter usuing central heat unit, to $165 a month using this unit. for the cost of 2 months electric I used to use, I bought this stove, a through-the-wall kit, chimney pipe, built a hearth & clearance wall and 13 ricks of wood. I sit and count the xtra cash on hand while I sit by my warm, crackling stove. Thanks EPA! The only con is that the grate you can get for this item is poor quality, fell apart after 2 months of use and I replaced with firebrick, the firebrick allows this unit to be much more effecient and with less attendace, wish I had started with firebrick in it. HINT: if you use this stove, be sure to mark (i used soapstone) the perfect settings on your hearth air control and your damper, then it's a lot easier to start the fire and walk away until it needs a log."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+24points
40out of 56found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater for Garage

,
January 10, 2012
By Hartley
from Tennessee
"This heater works great to heat up my 1200 sq ft shop. I would not recommend it for home use but would be great in a cabin or garage because it is very messy. I also bought the magic heat reclaimer to go with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent stove for the price

,
April 5, 2011
By mack22
from Atlanta Ga
"we put this whole system in for under 1200 bucks, (stove, pipes, labor) and thats not too shabby! The problem is this stove is no longer available. There are others that cost a little more, I will say I'm a pretty big fan of the Vogelzang."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boxwood comfort

,
March 20, 2011
By otter
"LOve me new stove, It heats my small house quite quickly and stays warm for a long time.. It's easy to get wood in and easy to clean out...... I'm sorry I didn't get it in earlier in the season so I could use it more..."
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heats the whole house

,
March 15, 2011
By Niteprowl2
from Mountain City, TN
"I use it in the basement but when I do, It heats the upstairs so it is really heating about 2600 sq. ft. Lasts about 4-6 hours which is better than my old pot-belly stove. Was easy to put together. Saved a considerable amount this year on my electric bill."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great stove for price range.

,
December 1, 2010
By Shoveahead10
"Heat output is great. Easy to overheat if you don't pay close attention to it. Never smokes as long as damper is in the open position. For the price and the saving it's great. Not a set it and forget it unit.
Temp guage a must for a novice. NOT a Airtight unit! But I still like it.
"
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deal!

,
October 12, 2010
By sigman1
from Clarkton, NC
"This has been a really great stove. This will be our second winter using it. It is very easy to set up out of the box, and we had it installe in just a few hours and ready to go! As our only source of heat in our 1200 sq. ft. home, it does an excellent job. Keeps it nice and toasty. It is a little hard to regulate at times, but Im sure it is the draft in our area. I have 2 butterfly drafts. 1 at the stove, and one in the flu. It seems to help alot by playing with them. The only thing I didnt like was the grate for in the fire box. It warped and broke after just 2 months. Overall, its wonderful!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Very Efficient

,
October 4, 2010
By Kurt57
from Chicago, IL
"This stove will take in longer logs than a lot of modern ones - and that's a good thing because you'll be feeding it a lot more often! It goes through wood pretty rapidly - but it does put out a decent amount of heat.
This is NOT an airtight stove - it's closer to a good fireplace. It's easy to light, never smokes, and it's all cast iron. Depending on the quality of wood, you might find yourself having to feed it in the middle of the night - I've never found it putting out any heat after 8 hours.
For the price - it's good. I'm saving up for something a little better!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
jjkdutch
MI 
 
Please wait while more information about jjkdutch is loaded.
Additional information about jjkdutch could not be loaded.
a little help!
October 25, 2011
"Put a damper in your exhaust pipe and adjust it down. The wood will last alot longer and you'll get more heat. Heater does not have to be air tight for great heat."
+1point
1out of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat it for the money!

,
February 18, 2010
By Firkaag
from New Hampshire
"This little stove is easy to assemble and install even for someone like me who is not too handy. For the price you cannot beat it! I would also recommend purchasing a grate for the inside to keep the wood of the bottom of the stove."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model#

,
February 17, 2010
By ToolManKitz
from Cortland, OH
"I am very pleased with this model wood burner from Vogelzang. I wanted this model because it offered a larger BTU output and door size than any comparable model I could find locally. Also, I am pleased that it is all cast iron and not steel for stability against warpage. The assembly was very easy and fast. By the way the quality is great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for any room

,
February 15, 2010
By Ruuuuu
from new haven, CT.
"excellent for the whole house or even garage or basement even for log cabin"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model#

,
February 15, 2010
By tgunn
from Ozarks/Florida
"I put this im my 30' X 60' insulated work shop in the southern hills of MO.
I have a 3.5 ton H/A in shop, the elec heater was not afforordable to use in these cold winters of global warming?
So as an older retired family we have watched our lifes work and savings disseapear?
This Vogelzang 106,000 warm up quick and has a cook top for when the power goes out and provides warmth & cooking. We have the smaller Boxwood in a cabin in the woods of Fl that provides warmth and cooking as well!
Don't get me wrong, for the money it works great, it is not compleatly air tight. Which means you have to feed it, we have plenty of woods, as we live in them.
Vogelzang has a whole area of heating products! We are looking at two others to put in our homes that are more air tight and will burn for hours! You get what you pay for just as you reap what you sow!
"Hope for the best prepare for the worst" You must stay warm & have a way to cook ,these products do both!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

nice little stove

,
January 1, 2010
By OkieZeke
from NW Arkansas
"Bought this stove to heat a 32' by12' enclosed porch with lots of windows. Easy to assemble and install. Easy to light and very well behaved once it gets going. Use the ash door to control air for the fire, doesnt even need the vent on the big door. Would keep temp in the 60's all night in sub freezing weather. Had to refill with wood 2 or 3 times a night.
Burns great with the door open, no smoke out the doorway. Made a firescreen for it and enjoyed watching the fire.
This stove just doesnt have the capacity I need to heat this poorly insulated room, but would do great in a smaller room, or one with more insulation and fewer windows."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vogelzang 106,000 BTU Deluxe Boxwood Stove, Model# BX42E
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Stove

,
December 28, 2009
By Ozarkhills
from Mansfield, MO
"This is a great stove. We use it as are only heat source upstairs. It has no problem keeping 1200 sq ft toasty warm. It does require a little more babysitting then more modern designs but that is part of the enjoyment from wood heat IMHO. Just make sure your wood is well seasoned and your chimney is as straight as possible and you should never have any smoke issues."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.