Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA

Item# 173954
Save on home heating costs. Blue flame heaters feature easy, economical installation with no vent or chimney required and are extremely safe. Safety pilot has complete automatic shutdown capability. If oxygen levels fall below safe levels, oxygen depletion sensor shuts off gas flow. Matchless pushbutton starter. Not for sale in California. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Primary Heating Application: Wall, Vent-Free: Yes, BTU Output: 30,000, Blower Included: No, Heat Settings: 2, Fuel Type: Natural gas, Igniter: Matchless push-button starter, Thermostat Included: Yes, Remote Included: No, Oxygen Depletion Sensor: Yes, Dimensions W x D x H (in.): 26 3/4 x 8 x 23 1/2H Heat Settings: High and Low Note: Not for use in elevations over 5000ft. Heater is free standing (with optional base Item #173958, sold separately) or can be mounted on wall Can use optional blower, Item# 173957, sold separately Includes thermostat
Average Customer Rating:
4.872 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (39 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 of 39(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Review 1 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ventless Heater

,
July 14, 2009
By riverman
from Denver, Co
"With the cost of natural gas escalating I needed to do something different
in my apartments. I installed a ventless heater with a fan to heat a 700 sf area.
All the heat stays in the apartment and none goes outside. The heater works so efficiently that the tenants said they have to leave it off most of the time
because it heated them out. I also installed a propane ventless heater in
my mountain cabin of 1500 sf. I am putting these heaters in all my apartments.
A great product for anyone. The heater looks good, operates efficiently and can be installed anywhere you want it.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Tracker258
North Carolina Mountains 
 
Please wait while more information about Tracker258 is loaded.
Additional information about Tracker258 could not be loaded.
PromCom and Northern One Two Punch
June 14, 2011
"Great for heating large area with good seal or second heat source!! And with the price its hard to beat!!"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Gas Heater

,
March 23, 2009
By TabBb
from San Felipe, Baja CA Mex.
"This heater works great. We have a 1200 s.f. home and installed the heater in the living room. It heats the living,dining,kitchen area quickly. In about 10 min. the temp is up 10-15 degrees. Eventually the whole house is heated.
It is a very economical way to heat the house.
Ours is on a propane hook-up.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great garage heater

,
March 23, 2009
By CraigT
from St. Louis, MO
"I installed the heater in a insulated 30 X 25 garage and it works great. The blower helps a great deal, in addition I installed a ceiling fan in the area of the heater and it will heat my garage up in no time. The installation was a breeze and it doesn't look bad either. It's up off the floor so spraying out the garage is also no sweat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
March 23, 2009
By cmays03
"I bought this for my two car garage so i could work in there during the winter. I love it works great and warms the garage up in no time. I thought it would be expensive to run this as much as i do and it really doesnt cost that much at all."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Procomm Nat. Gas Heater

,
March 22, 2009
By crashax
from Columbus, IN
"I have had a total of three of these heaters. They are excellent. One I have used for 6 years without issues. One heater has been able to heat and maintain a comfortable temp in a six car garage all winter in Indiana. The other 2 heaters were used to heat a home all winter, after a big flood took out our furnace. One was used on each level, of about 2000 Sq FT. They work excellent are are extremely dependable. The best part is that they work without electricity. While the thermostats are not as precise as a regular furnace, they work rather satisfactory."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater

,
March 19, 2009
By GB1204
from Sioux Falls, SD
"The heater works fine. I have an non-insulated garage and if I use a fan sitting beside it I can get the temp to 60 degrees in an hour. I would prefer if it had its own fan but did not order one because I did not think it would be powerful enough so I can't cut that part of the project. I had it professionally installed for about $250.00.
There is an odor from it so I also installed a good carbon monoxide detector and it never registers any carbon monoxide. It would be better if my garage were insulated, which I will gradually do over time but I do suggest having some sort of ventilation. If I were to buy one again I would most likely buy a vented one to eliminate the odor, similar to what one would get from a Nipco heater or a karosine - burning type unit. This is my honest opinion. Take it with a grain of salt!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heat

,
March 16, 2009
By lainey85624
from Arizona high dessert
"I bought this heater to replace my RV furnace. I have it in a well vented area and I am so very happy with the comfort level of this heater. I bought the 30,000 btu so that I could use it in my shop if needed. Even on the lowest setting it is perfect and efficient."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater for the price

,
March 16, 2009
By gvanbrock
from Ohio
"I purchased this heater for a garage workshop. It is great. On the coldest days I need only to set it at 2 on the thermostat. I would recommend this heater for anyone seeking to heat an additional room."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

procom heater

,
March 16, 2009
By sackie
from colorado
"great heat i have it in a glassed in porch and it is great i would recommend this to anyone who need clean heat in a porch or garage"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Automatic Blue Flame Heater

,
March 16, 2009
By Dave29902
from Beaufort, SC
"Unit came quickly and was complete. This unit was to upgrade a manual unit that is used in our guest cottage. It always lights guickly as long as the pilot area is clean. If you expereience a problem lighting the pilot get out your vacuum and clean the area completely. Gas pressure is sooo.. low that any dust will divert the gas from the ignighter.
Great unit and Good price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
February 13, 2009
By ChrisDNJ
from NJ
"This unit works great, heats up fast and no odor. I use my room ceiling fan and it works very well. I did purchase the add on fan, but it is a little loud. It is a very worth while way to heat up your area"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
January 6, 2009
By 67pontgto
from Vernal, Utah
"This is a great little unit! It was easy to install and it works great! It keeps our double car garage about 50 degrees on the lowest setting. My wife loves having a warm car on a cold winter morning. The spare fridge even works in the winter now. Don't bother with the installation kit - the supply hose is only about a foot long and way to short to complete the job unless you have a gas source that close."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the ticket for the shop

,
January 3, 2009
By martys
from Wausau, WI
"The shop I needed the unit to heat is an insulated 500 sq. ft space with an attic; it was plumbed with black pipe fed natural gas.
The unit installation was easy with well documented instructions. The unit fires quickly and takes the chill out of the Wisconsin winter. Since the overhead is 9 feet and the space spans 25 feet over a vehicle, I installed a fan above the unit to push the warm convected air into the room and have a ceiling fan to move the air to the floor. The thermostat sensor is located behind the unit against and outside wall so I relocated it about 6 inches from the lower side of the cabinet. The temp regulation is very effective.
I am highly satisfied with its performance and makes the shop a full year work area. The lesson I learned was connection of the flex gas line and shut off valve (not supplied) required a variety of fittings to mate to the unit. Also since I have non insulated windows there is some condensation that develops at colder temperatures. Opening a service door slightly reduces the humidity.
There is no odor from the hot air and it is a high quality well designed unit. I can recommend it as a cost effective heating solution. I will be installing similar Procom units in a 3 season room and insulated garage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Silent, but hot...

,
November 25, 2008
By misterkos
from Eastern Oregon
"The good parts: it's silent. It produces quite a bit of heat. No detectable odor. The amount of moisture is not a problem if there's quite a bit of outside air coming in.
The bad parts... In most places, you really do need to circulate the air to prevent hot ceiling and cold floor. The thermostat isn't very effective. It is slow reacting and the temperature swing is kinda large. On low thermostat settings, it appears to not be able to crank up to high heat. It heats the wall behind and above the heater to VERY warm. Too warm to hold your hands on.
If you need cheap heat in 400 to 800 square feet, this can definitely do it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heater for low cost

,
November 21, 2008
By Bigbike4
from Rogersville TN
"I bought this heater to heat my entire home (about 800 sq. ft) with 8' ceilings. The heater arrived 5 days after ordering. It took less than 20 minutes to install on the cinderblock wall of my living room. I went from trying to heat a house with kerosene, to a nice WARM home with an rudementary thermostat (unit has a elementary thermostat with 5 settings). Installation was quick and easy. I DO RECOMMEND buying the supplimental install kit which contains everything you need to hook this up to your existing natural gas line.
I am using my own fans to circulate the air in the rooms to provide even heating and my house is mostly insulated. This heater really rocks!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No time off from the honey do list

,
November 20, 2008
By CHOPPERDAVE
from MILFORD, CT
"This heater works so good in my garage, now I can't use the "its a bit too cold to do that" line. It everything in the garage at managable temperatures. No more hand bones aching from hold tools at below freezing temps. It was very easy to install."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom vent free 30K BTU heater

,
November 20, 2008
By Anonymous
from Michigan
"Order came quickly and damage free. Attached to dry wall (not studs) with no issues. Had to run 20 feet of black pipe to heater location. Took longer than instructions stated to purge air from gas line during intial start up. Some minor odor after start up, not bad. Heats up 32 x 24 room quickly. Five position heat control works well. Did not go with the blower, I have a ceiling fan running in revease which works great and is quit. Will be ordering second one for the garage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
November 18, 2008
By lovejr5
from Mississippi
"I would recommend this heater to anyone. This is the first winter we have been warm in our den without having to bring in an electric heater as backup. I love the fact it has a thermostat control. This is going to be a great help on our gas bill."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

blue flame heater

,
November 18, 2008
By drew460
from Detroit, Michgan. Go Wings
"I have the 30,000 btu unit, and it works great. I also bought the optional blower and it's a little weak,but the unit puts out alot of heat. I use it to heat a large room that the forced air unit just can't seem to heat. This saves me money on the heat bill because I can heat just that room, and turn the rest of the house down to 60 and run the force air unit less. Would work better if the room had a ceiling fan to move the warm air off of the ceiling."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ProCom Blue Flame Vent-Free Natural Gas Heater - 30,000 BTU, Model# MN300TBA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good garage heater

,
November 17, 2008
By DBlas1
from Leawood, Kansas 66211
"I bought this heater some time ago but just installed it this week. It was a very easy installation procedure. Instructions are very clear and easy to follow. Heater makes a difference in an over-sized three car garage."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.