Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"

"ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"

Item# 173957
"Having a great heater is important but, this thermostat/blower is a key addition, because it quickly spreads warm air. Designed for use with all vent-free heaters over 10,000 BTU, including Item#s 19854, 19857, 177201 and 177202. 6 4/5in.L x 5 3/5in.W x 5in.H. Works With Item numbers 173951, 173950, 177201, and 177202, Control Type Manual/automatic, Dimensions L x W x H in. 6 3/4 x 5 5/8 x 5, Includes 1 Blower, Material Type Plastic, Rated Watts 27, Watts 27, Amps 0.3."
Average Customer Rating:
3.646 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (48 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
7
38 of 48(79%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Review 1 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

thermostat blower

,
November 23, 2014
By susanfox
from OH
"i can't use this product until i get the heater to put it on."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Must have!

,
November 18, 2014
By Molsen77
from Gillette, WY
"Must have accessory for the garage heater. Install was simple and it does an OK job of moving the warm air throughout the space."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro com auto blower unit

,
May 26, 2014
By Fraserdad
from Michigan
"The unit is easy to install. I like that you can switch the unit off or on. I use auto mode it's the best for my use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not perfect, but needed

,
February 5, 2014
By DW61
from North, NC
"I use the fan on manual 100% of the time. I only use the heater when I am working so I turn the heater off when I am not there or get too warm. For my use I would have preferred a two-speed fan switch to the manual and auto switch positions. The fan is quiet, and the switch is easy to get to. It does seem a bit pricey for what it is, but the heater I have really benefits in heating the area with the fan. You can fabricate one of your own from a small cabinet fan and save a few $$."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

More efficient

,
February 4, 2014
By Db32
from GA
"I have a glow warm 12000 BTU propane 3 burner heater. It heated alright but this fan fit it perfectly an its puts out more heat now on the same setting! So more heat for the same propane burnt!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cannot work correctly on Automatic

,
December 26, 2012
By YourPCTech
from GA
"The temperature sensor on this fan is too far from the heat shield to allow it to turn on while the flame is burning. Result: Fan only turns on "after" the burner flame turns off -- and then, only for a few minutes.
The fan noise is tolerable, but not even close to "quiet" if you're in the same room with it -- and I'm hearing impaired.
I'm enough of an engineer to correct the design when I have the time (DON'T attempt it yourself). ...But don't buy it unless you want to manually turn the fan off and on -- the automatic setting is useless...
However, the Procomm heater works *great*. Love it. With fan would make it much better, though...
Wish it worked...
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
15out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth installing with the heater

,
December 7, 2012
By Jed51
from Albuquerque, NM
"I installed this fan with a new MD5TPA, and I'm glad I did. Unlike some reviewers, I've had no problems with it, and don't find the noise level objectionable. I highly recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

,
October 8, 2012
By gras
from Wyoming
"This fan and therm. is a nice unit, very easy to install and works well. The fan is pretty effective and very quite. It is nice and I would buy again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
19out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice N Quiet

,
May 14, 2012
By Ryanm
from Toledo, Ohio
"Pushes air nicely and is virtually silent in operation. It has a short chord so don't put it too far from an outlet or plan to use an extension. Fit perfectly with the knockout panel of the Procom dual flame 30,000BTU heater. Overall great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Heater Fan

,
January 11, 2012
By NCFjr
from Maine
"For the price its a good deal but the thermostat has a mind of its own, works sometime, my heater is in the garage and I run the heater and fan on manuel only when i'm out there."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

No problem

,
January 10, 2012
By sy308
from Upstate NY
"I purchased this with my "Bejing smog" heater and used it once. It worked well. Used in the manual not automatic mode though."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

it blows

,
January 9, 2012
By mcguyver
from riverview fl.
"installation was easy.thermostatic switch on fan for auto operation is junk.fan will turn on and off in 1 or 2 second intervals.basically as soon as the fan turns on it cools the switch and it turns off and 2 seconds later it turns back on.have to switch fan to constant instead of auto for it to work right.will have to relocate or replace the thermostatic switch with a lower temp threshold for proper operation."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

,
January 9, 2012
By Lee474
from Belvidere, Il
"This is the second of these I tried (returned the first for same problem) and this one doesn't work either. The "automatic" temp sensor will not turn the blower on. If you want a fan on continuously it is fine but why waste energy for when the burner isn't on? Even when manually turned on it just barely blows a little air more than by natural convection. I'll be returning this one too. Junk unit and is a waste of money (kind of pricey too)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Thermostate Blower for ProCom Heater

,
January 9, 2012
By MeBobl
from Southern New Hampshire
"Very simple to install, and works great if turned on to "manual". The fan has both Auto and Manual settings. The Auto setting is suppose to turn on automatically when the built-in thermostat heats up. So far I've had the unit on for over an hour on auto setting and the fan will not turn on. I've been just using the manual switch and it does a great job moving the air. I just have to remember to turn it off when I leave the room or it will just stay on all day."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Manual Mode Fan ONLY!!!

,
March 27, 2011
By FatCobra
from Silverdale, Wa
"This blower works well when it is set to the on setting. The Auto / thermostat controlled setting does not work. I've had the heater run for 2 hours and the thermostat would still not turn on the fan in the Auto position. It's not worth the expense to send it back for a replacement. And it sounds like from other reviewers I would still have a good chance of not getting one the would work in the Auto position. No Quality Control on this product.
I would recommend this fan if you would be happy with it only operating in the manual mode.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent heater thermostat blower

,
March 15, 2011
By mjscherp
from Ohio
"This thermostat blower works very well on our heater. I would definitely recommond getting one for your heater. You can turn on the fan so it runs all the time, turn it off, or turn it for the thermostat to control it. We have used it all this winter and are very pleased with the quality of blower.
We also have a ceiling fan in the same room and I believe it adds to the circulation of the heat as well.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fan, what fan?

,
March 14, 2011
By KDA1974
from Branford, CT
"Ok, good to have a fan to push air thru the heated unit, but the fan's not strong enough to feel much out of the front. Definately better than nothing. For the cost, it's fair. Just a let down."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ProCom fan

,
March 14, 2011
By jmw91553
from Buford Georgia
"Easy to install. Works great circulating heat but is rather noisy. I would recommend it to anyone that needs a little more circulation than the heater by itself if you can tolerate it as background noise."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good deal

,
December 24, 2010
By w00ty
from Hickory, NC
"I think this is a good deal for the money. This little fan does a lot. I have read reviews that this fan doesn't move much air. I agree but if you look at the cost of the fan and the size you can figure that out before you buy it. Also if the fan moves air to fast it will start to cool the air. This fan is just a small circulation fan and does a great job. Once I installed the fan I didn't have to turn the heater up so high."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Accessory Item

,
November 17, 2010
By HiTecRedNec
from N/E PA.
"I bought 2 of the Propane vent-free heaters from Northern Tool and put these blowers in both of them. They will work without them but they work better with the blowers installed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.