Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"

"ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"

Item# 173957
"Having a great heater is important but, this thermostat/blower is a key addition, because it quickly spreads warm air. Designed for use with all vent-free heaters over 10,000 BTU, including Item#s 19854, 19857, 177201 and 177202. 6 4/5in.L x 5 3/5in.W x 5in.H. Includes 1 Blower, Control Type Manual/automatic, Amps 0.3, Works With Item#s 173951, 173950, 177201, 177202, Rated Watts 27, Dimensions L x W x H in. 6 3/4 x 5 5/8 x 5, Material Type Plastic, Watts 27."
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (60 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
8
49 of 60(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Review 1 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blower fan kit

,
May 26, 2015
By Rhodey
from Memphis
" I purchased the blower fan kit and installed it with ease. It's an added benefit to have with my pro com heating unit. Does an excellent job of distributing the heat. It's not a necessity but I preferred to get it since I have a big room. I am pleased with it thus far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom heater fan

,
April 23, 2015
By ProComLover
from WV
" Exact Fit, works great. fast delivery. would highly recommend, improves stove function. very simple install. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buyers Remorse

,
March 30, 2015
By caliper1976
from New Hampshire
" I am mystified at the positive reviews for this blower. I found it to have a small influence on the circulation of the heated air. I am wondering if perhaps the unit is defective. You can hold your hand in front of the unit 3 to 4' away at the level of the fan and feel almost no movement of air. Temperature 1 foot above the unit was approx. 85 degrees and 5' away a foot lower than the thermometer but in line with the blower, if it can be called that, it was 35 degrees cooler. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice addition

,
February 1, 2015
By KMP4896
from Wisconsin
" Working great so far on our 800 sq ft cottage - nice to be able to use the electric baseboard heaters less and this more! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BLOWER

,
January 11, 2015
By WES38
from PA
" BLOW WORKS VERY GOOD,BUT THE AUTOMATIC DOES NOT WORK. WILL CALL FOR HELP WITH THIS "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
January 8, 2015
By Shoptech101
from Walton NY
" This is a must have when you buy a Procom heater. Helps circulates the heater perfectly! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Says it all

,
January 5, 2015
By Chief71
from NC
" Fan is a little noisy when it is running but does the job. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3 Position Switch

,
January 3, 2015
By daytho
from Kimball, TN
" This item comes with a three position switch with settings of ON-OFF-AUTO. You can switch between ON for those frosty mornings until the room comes up to temp. Then simply turn it to AUTO to maintain the temperature. Simple and basic. It meets all my expectations. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fan

,
January 1, 2015
By NodakinWI
from Western WI
" This has a relative high temperature turn on thermostat. It will only come on if the heat box is over a present normal temperature. It does have a manual but I really don't want it to run all the time. The unit is in a larger insulated multi car garage and is intended to keep the garage about freezing. The heater comes on but never hets hot enough for the fan to come on. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good output

,
December 11, 2014
By hwaller
from Webbers Falls, OK
" This fan installed easily and unlike the squirrel cage version I put in another heater there was no problem with bearing binding. Some reviews mentioned a thermostat cycling problem but this one kicks on when the heater has run long enough to get hot and then runs for a few minutes after flame shutdown until the heater has cooled. Good product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Have

,
December 11, 2014
By HeadBangingAllWinter
from Raymond, ME
" This little blower works great, providing just the right amount of airflow to push the heat out and away from the heater. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Optional blower unit for ProCom heater

,
November 26, 2014
By BKirk
from Pittsburg,NH
" Simply installed and plugged into the wall outlet. It moves the heat across the room well and helps to quickly warm room. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

thermostat blower

,
November 23, 2014
By susanfox
from OH
" i can't use this product until i get the heater to put it on. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-11points
0out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Must have!

,
November 18, 2014
By Molsen77
from Gillette, WY
" Must have accessory for the garage heater. Install was simple and it does an OK job of moving the warm air throughout the space. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro com auto blower unit

,
May 26, 2014
By Fraserdad
from Michigan
" The unit is easy to install. I like that you can switch the unit off or on. I use auto mode it's the best for my use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not perfect, but needed

,
February 5, 2014
By DW61
from North, NC
" I use the fan on manual 100% of the time. I only use the heater when I am working so I turn the heater off when I am not there or get too warm. For my use I would have preferred a two-speed fan switch to the manual and auto switch positions. The fan is quiet, and the switch is easy to get to. It does seem a bit pricey for what it is, but the heater I have really benefits in heating the area with the fan. You can fabricate one of your own from a small cabinet fan and save a few $$. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

More efficient

,
February 4, 2014
By Db32
from GA
" I have a glow warm 12000 BTU propane 3 burner heater. It heated alright but this fan fit it perfectly an its puts out more heat now on the same setting! So more heat for the same propane burnt! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cannot work correctly on Automatic

,
December 26, 2012
By YourPCTech
from GA
" The temperature sensor on this fan is too far from the heat shield to allow it to turn on while the flame is burning. Result: Fan only turns on "after" the burner flame turns off -- and then, only for a few minutes.
The fan noise is tolerable, but not even close to "quiet" if you're in the same room with it -- and I'm hearing impaired.
I'm enough of an engineer to correct the design when I have the time (DON'T attempt it yourself). ...But don't buy it unless you want to manually turn the fan off and on -- the automatic setting is useless...
However, the Procomm heater works *great*. Love it. With fan would make it much better, though...
Wish it worked...
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
15out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth installing with the heater

,
December 7, 2012
By Jed51
from Albuquerque, NM
" I installed this fan with a new MD5TPA, and I'm glad I did. Unlike some reviewers, I've had no problems with it, and don't find the noise level objectionable. I highly recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ProCom Automatic/Manual Thermostat Blower - For Heaters Over 10,000 BTU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

,
October 8, 2012
By gras
from Wyoming
" This fan and therm. is a nice unit, very easy to install and works well. The fan is pretty effective and very quite. It is nice and I would buy again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
19out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.