Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP

Item# 174335
Propane-powered heaters deliver efficient, intense radiant heat that warms objects, not air, so theres virtually no heat lost to the surroundings. Specifically designed for construction sites to give you total portability no electrical cords, clean and quiet operation no noisy blowers to stir up dirt and debris and fast, reliable heat. Also ideal for patios, poolside areas, loading docks, workshops and sheds. 10-ft. hose allows for directional movement without moving tank. Tip-over safety switch shuts unit off if accidentally knocked over. Even if it does tip over, the heavy-duty welded frame can withstand thermal shock and years of use. Includes handle bars and wheels. Propane tank not included. BTU Output 35,000, Clearance from Corner in. 40, Igniter Piezo, Regulator Included Yes, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 40, Thermostat Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 x 8 x 27, Heating Capability sq. ft. 800, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 12 hrs. on a 20-lb. tank, Remote Included No, Category Type Radiant heat, Clearance from Side Wall in. 40, Needs Direct Venting No, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes. Uniform Heating - Wide heating area Economical - No electricity required Made To Last - Rugged, durable steel construction Added Value Features - Folding handle and transport wheels Recommended size tank 20 lb. THIS APPLIANCE IS UNVENTED AND MUST BE USED ONLY IN A WELL VENTILATED AREA
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (30 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
29 of 30(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Construction Heater

,
October 15, 2012
By dvranish
from Aitkin MN
"I have been totally satisfied with this heater. It functions correctly every time and is easy to start. What else can I say except I intend to get another one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect heating solution for my guitar shop

,
October 15, 2012
By Brian44
from Camas, WA
"I was looking for a small, ventless heater for my guitar shop (640 sq. ft.) and spotted this unit on the web site.
Previously, I had been using a diesel powered salamander (95K btu) which was WAY too much and required an open door or window due to fumes, which was self defeating.
The 20 lb. propane tanks are easy to handle and the heater puts out just the right amount of heat for the area, safely. I do a lot of spray work for finishes and this unit is just right for curing the finishes in damp and cool weather.
I recommend this one wholeheartedly for any use that it is suited to!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By Woodcutter3300
from Dearborn , Michigan
"I purchased this heater to knock the chill out of my garage since it is not insulated. I was pleasantly suprised to find out how efficient it was and how quickly it warmed up the area. With the 12 foot hose that comes with it , I find it easy to hook up and economical to operate . It is easy to light with the self igniter and does a tremendous job for the value. Other friends of mine have commented on how much heat it produces. I have other Mr Heater products and find them just as useful."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmth on the deck

,
January 16, 2012
By hawkeye254
from PA
"I have two of these units. I live in PA and use the deck all winter long. Reliable and warm. Simple to use, a great deal for the price!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Heater

,
January 9, 2012
By Craig161
from Toledo, Ohio
"Wow! It's am awesome heater. I bought it for my garage and it works great. My friends call it the trumpet heater, because when you fire it up it plays a trumpet note for a brief moment. It gives off very few fumes. I would recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heater

,
November 25, 2010
By Redvette
"This is a great heater I have a 1200 sq ft shop with tall ceilings , I bought 2 of these I tried both of them , I ended up giving one to my neighbor that has the same size shop because 2 was too much! These are the best Propane heaters I have ever used."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet Heat

,
November 18, 2010
By JR00
"Great for my shop. It is very quiet which is nice."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does a good job

,
November 18, 2010
By santanatjcl
from El Dorado, CA
"Looked like it wouldn’t do the job but it surprised me.
I have a 30 X 25 shop heats it great
Wish I had bought it sooner
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
May 25, 2010
By tjup
from Yreka,Ca.
"Used the heater to heat my 600 sq ft workshop. A fairly inexpensive way to heat and works well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty

,
May 24, 2010
By Joeg180
from Albany, NY
"This very light, but very warm job site heater. It quickly brings my cold (and well ventilated garage to a comfortable temperature. The unit is compact and easy to store. Another great product from Mr. Heater!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Construction Heater

,
February 26, 2010
By JoeToolMan
from Warren, Michigan
"Have been using this for a patio heater Michigan. It works great. Much better than a typical patio heater because it sits low to the ground and throws the heat at you and under the patio table. Have used it in temps as low as the 20s. Caution- Would not be practical if little children were around. Also, wind impacts efficiency, but that is true of most outdoor heaters."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Heater in the right application

,
February 25, 2010
By EcoCycle
from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
"I used this heater for my 500 sq ft shop. It heated it well, however after 8 hours of it burning away, I would find myself a little groggy from the fumes.
I replaced the unti with another Mr. Heater product, the 45K BTU "Big Maxx" No more fumes. The Big Maxx was also more efficient in using less propane to maintain the same temperature.
This heater is ideal for a patio or any place you need portable heat directional heat."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater

,
February 23, 2010
By Mjsjagman
from Austin Texas
"I am absolutely amazed how well this little heater works. It is so easy to light and the heat is instant. It heats better than the forced air heaters I have used in the past, with no odor associated with the forced air heaters. Because it is so easy to move, I keep it within about ten feet of the work area and even in temperatures in the forties it keeps me comfortable. Priced very well! Thanks for a great product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heater

,
February 22, 2010
By chief290
from upstate NY
"I bought this for my garage heater works great. i like that it is on wheels this makes it easy to move"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater

,
February 22, 2010
By jjar11j
from Maine
"Works great very easy to use and keep thing nice and toasty."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heats a lot, costs a little

,
December 25, 2009
By edro
from Chesnee, SC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I needed a propane heater I could use with a 20 lb. propane tank to heat 20'x24' metal quonset type poolroom/workshop. I used slotted flats and EMT conduit supports to mount on wall. I could not have made a better choice for this application. I have had no problems with this heater. It is quiet and hot and quickly heats the entire building. The Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater — 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP has far exceeded my expectations. I have recommended this heater to many friends. Thanks Northern Tool and Mr. Heater for this very economical heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps you toasty........ As long as.

,
November 2, 2009
By aztoolman
from Mauriceville, TX
"Great heater. Would recommend it to anyone who needs a heater for their shop or patio. I like that it warms by radiant heat , not the air in the area you are trying to heat. The only thing is about this kind of heat is you have to be in the path that the heater radiates its heat. This is why it works so well as a patio heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater ROCKS!

,
March 23, 2009
By Spunjawa
from Phoenix, AZ
"Entertaining on the patio in the winter months can be a bit chilly - even in Phoenix. Mr Heater puts the heat right where it's needed and is very easy to move around - unlike the 'mushroom' type patio heaters that just burn the top of your head and leave your feet cold. I have also used this heater for emergency outdoor plumbing repair work at night during the winter and it kept me nice and warm. I highly recommend this heater!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shop Heater

,
November 26, 2008
By jon123
"I have a large work shop & the heater works great. IT heats the back side of the shop good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Radiant Construction Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35LP
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Two heat levels: either off or full on.

,
November 20, 2008
By Gilitos
from Cincinnati
"Nicely made, puts out lots of heat, but there is no provision for controlling the amount of heat: it's either full on or off. I would have chosen a different heater if anywhere in the ad copy it had mentioned this fact."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.