Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA

Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA

Item# 174336
Mr. Heater Portable propane heater offers efficient temporary heat for construction sites, agricultural buildings, industrial workspaces, remodeling jobs and more. Features a high-output fan to maximize air circulation, 10-ft. hose and regulator tank sold separately. High-temperature limit switch/flame safety. Compact and lightweight with attached carrying handle. CSA certified. Clearance from Side Wall in. 24, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 12 hrs. per 20-lb. tank on low, Remote Included No, Thermostat Included No, Blower Included Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 115, Heating Capability sq. ft. 800, Oxygen Depletion Sensor No, Blower CFM 300, BTU Output 35,000, Clearance from Corner in. 24, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 24, Category Type Forced air, Regulator Included Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 x 11 1/2 x 14, Needs Direct Venting No, Igniter Piezo. Heater shuts off with loss of flame or power supply Made-to-last - Rugged, durable steel construction High Temperature Limit Switch Minimum required tank size 20 lb. sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (38 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
36 of 38(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good for small room, but not metal building

,
November 14, 2013
By boostnm3
from Hickory NC
"I bought this for my 20x20 metal building. My building is 12' tall at the peak. I brought it home, hooked up my full bottle, and went in the house for about an hour. Came back to my building and it didnt feel much different. It did take some of the chill out but not enough to feel it unless you were close to the heater. This heater would probably work good for a low ceiling building or something smaller. I think 35k is just not very efficient unless you have a smaller building. Good heater for the right size. Also another good thing, is the heater is not very loud. My father in laws forced kerosene heater heated my building in 20 min. It is 125k btu."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works warm and well

,
September 17, 2013
By Clendenin11
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Used this product at my camp when my regular blue flame heater stopped working last December. Kept our area warm, and it doesn't take long to go from very cold to nice and warm. Highly recommended."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
By Mr. Heater, Product ExpertOctober 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding the MH35FA! We appreciate the great review!Enerco
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. Heater

,
May 7, 2012
By handydandybr549
from Thayne, Wyoming
"It is a very handy portable heater. I am able to carry it with me to job sites with no trouble, and place it exactly where I want for instant heat. Just plug it in, turn on the gas, push the striker, and hold for 30 seconds. It's perfect for cold winters."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

41K BTU Propane Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By Phil17
from VA
"Seems adequate for the size job I'll need it for in my 30X36 garage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

quality heater, but not enough

,
January 17, 2012
By MajorWedgee
from Omaha, NE
"everything about it seems to be put together well, but it just wasn't enough for my 2 car, 400 sq ft un-insulated garage in single digit temps. I have to let it run for 2 hours to get it somewhat warm in there. by then the fumes are so strong you need to open the door, and there goes all your heat.
good heater, just not for my situation"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr. heater propane and electric heater

,
January 16, 2012
By MREarl
from Bay Area, California
"Hi would say that in order to use this heater, crank it up , heat your space and then turn it off. By using it in a vented space you will be able to save on the amount of propane you use.
It won't take long to heat a 2 car garage and then you can close off the garage and it will stay warm for some time, until you need to reheat the space.
This is a nice light weight heater that is transportable and easy to use. I would recommend it for any working area . Its quick and efficient!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr heater 35,000 btu

,
January 16, 2012
By seamus
from NC
"Works as advertised. I have a large 3 car garage and this works fine to take the edge off on very cold days. It's a little loud and constant but nothing outrageous. If I were wanting to heat the whole garage comfortably I would probably go up one size. Nice size for storage not too big or heavy. Nice quality for price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Just works

,
January 16, 2012
By BarryJ
from Idaho
"I bought this heater to warm up my shop during the long Idaho winters. I have a wood burner also but it takes at least an hour to heat things up with it. The Mister Heater warms thing up quickly so I can go to work immediately. It just saves so much time, I don't have to walk the 100 yards back to the house and wait while the wood burner heats thing up. Thank you for the great products and great service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value, Quality

,
January 16, 2012
By CaptSkibi
from Byron Center, MI
"I've used this heater a few times in my garage. The heater is relatively quiet compared to other similar sized heaters I've used in the past. Use is fairly simple, with a hose for the propane and electric required to run the fan.
Startup is simple:
1) connect propane hoses
2) connect electricity
3) open valve on propane tank
4) push & hold control valve button, then simultaneously push the ignitor button until the unit lights.
One thing I have noticed is that unit does not emit as strong smell as a kerosene unit would.
My only complaint is that there is not a quick connect fitting (or an easier location to get at) to connect the propane hose to the heater itself. Therefore, I just leave this end connected (disconnecting from the propane tank only) when not in use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mr heater HS35FA

,
January 16, 2012
By packrat58421
from Vergas MN
"I think that the Mr Heater model HS35FA is a very fine heater easy to use the instructions are well writen it lites very easily and produces a lot of heat quickly. I am using it in a 10X10 shed with no isulation and have no problem heating it up and then shuting it down after the room gets to working temp and working until it cools if left on continualy it would get to hot for me to work well. the only comlaint would be the noise of the fan but not having been around any other heater of this kind wouldn't know if this noise is excesive but would recomend this to anyone. Packrat"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job

,
January 16, 2012
By jlsperko
from Nashville, TN
"I bought this heater for those days / evenings where it pretty cold outside... cold enough where your hands would go numb out in the garage while wrenching. I have probably used this heater a half dozen times or so, just to take the chill out of the air and bring up the garage a few degrees.
I typically only run it for 10-15 minutes, and I am good to go. I have a 3 car garage, and just want that 'chill' gone. This does the job, and I don't keep it continually running as I don't need to. These are on days in the 30s, so it isn't bitter cold, but cold enough where you want the garage a few degrees warmer.
Overall, I am very satisfied. A little bit of noise, but that is to be expected. I would purchase again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

,
January 16, 2012
By NAH87
from NJ
"excells in all areas excellent heater highly recomended to all"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
January 16, 2012
By NCRockets
from Stokesdale NC
"I got this heater for my Lake House while I wad repairing and rebuilding. This is a great little heater for smaller areas (200-400Sq Ft) though it will knock the chill off in a house of 1500 sq ft. I now use this heater in my 400 sq ft shop and it is doing a fine job.
Please be careful not to place the unit to close to or blowing directly toward flammable materials.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heater review

,
January 16, 2012
By Macnut101
from Kissimmee, Fl.
"we used this type of heater at a partially enclosed outdoor stage and with one on each side of the stage it kept the area and stage pretty warm"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By dke612
from Northern MI
"This is a very nice little heater. Heats my 2 car garage in about 10 to 15 minutes and is not too noisy as some of the larger heaters I have used.
Very easy to start if you hold the button like it says to do.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
December 16, 2011
By pql1
from Minnesota
"It was time to get my own heater instead of trying to borrow one when I have a project to do. I got my new Mr. Heater out for the first time last night. Easy to get hooked up to a twenty pound tank and just as easy to get it fired up. The noise wasn't too bad, it's not silent by any means but the sound was not overpowering compared to other heaters of this style I've used in the past. Had it on for a couple of hours and was reading 47 on the thermometer, not too bad considering my garage isn't insulated and it was about 22 outside. No need for gloves anymore. Makes it easier and more enjoyable to spend quality time at the workbench on a Minnesota December evening !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome heater for a great price!

,
October 18, 2011
By MLH2011
from Los Angeles, California
"I purchased this heater last winter to heat my 900 sq. ft . garage. It's well built and fires right up every time. It does an amazing job of heating my garage in a short period of time. Awesome product!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

forced air mr. heater

,
November 24, 2010
By frank0972
from Arlington,Texas
"this is a great product for keeping a 2 car garage warm,just be sure to have a vent or leave a door cracked for fresh air .i actually had to turn it off occasionally because it got a little warm while working on my car.you wont be disapointed with this one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turbo charged heater

,
November 23, 2010
By DRV1
from Southern California
"Easy to assemble with included hose and regulator. Heats my 2 car garage in about 15 minutes. Very noisy while running but very effective. Well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Portable Propane Forced Air Heater - 35,000 BTU, Model# MH35FA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

,
November 23, 2010
By Stephen07
from Council, Idaho
"Handy heater for "temporary" heating needs. I use this in my semi insulated garage when I need to work in it. This heater works well even down to single digits to take the chill out of the air. Note: it needs to be plugged into a 110 v. outlet in order for it to work. Also be aware that this unit makes a pretty fair amount of noize when operating, so you will have to turn up your radios!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.